Rock Hill, SC 
Boyd Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Boyd Hill

5+    8/24/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new tee signs
-Closed and Open holes
-great for begginers and seasoned players
-mostly short technical holes
-great layout
Cons: -beer bottles every where over at hole 6
-The creek needs to be cleaned on hole 10
-Some of the course not very well taken care of
-fair ways are right up on each other alot of times but it shouldn't be too much of a factor.
Other Thoughts: All and all this course can test your short game very tight and technical holes along with some open ones too. very well laid out as well.
I would recomend this course for the seasoned players. You might also want to be careful because it isnt in the best part of town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    7/1/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: discgirly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I just played this course again and it's more of less my home course or one of them. The park setting is beautiful and the holes are well connected by arrows, not a lot of walking between holes
Cons: Could use a few longer holes. The longest hole was under 400 feet and everything played like pitch and putt but I think the park is to small for longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Could use a few longer holes.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/15/2010   1/15/2010
Review By: CalebC83
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are several difficult shots between or around trees make the course interesting. Shorter holes make the course ok for beginners as well.
Cons: The first part of the course is played near the road and parking lot and is very open and not scenic. All of the holes are pretty short so if you can throw a good distance fairly accurately it should be pretty easy to stay under par.
Other Thoughts: Overally a good course for beginner to intermediate players.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Some very creative shots

1    8/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My buddies and I played this course first thing in the morning as a warm up to Winthrop but found ourselves really enjoying the challenges that Boyd Hill had to offer. The course started kind of slowly but the shots required, especially on the back 9, were tremendous.
Cons: This course is not in a very good area of town. I'm glad we played first thing in the morning before anyone else was awake (we were finished and gone before anyone else was on the course). Broken glass all over the course and clearly this park was not well maintained. It's really too bad considering some of the creativity that went into designing the holes
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make a habit of playing this course, but it's worth a visit if you play with some friends for sure. I wouldn't recommend playing it as the sun goes down, but first thing in the morning as a start to a full day of disc golf is great. Get there early, enjoy the challenge, and get out!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Undrerrated

5+    1/22/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course has open and wooded shots
-Many different lines
-great course for beginners because most holes are in the 250 ft range but can be challenging for more advanced players.
-The wooded terrain makes for a nice contrast to Winthrop which is only a couple of miles away
-the locals are very friendly and helpful
-new concrete teepads are great and are placed in better locations than the previous dirt pads
-Great use of the creek and mandos to provide some excellent risk/reward oppertunities.
Cons: -locals dont reccomend playing the course solo
-broken bottles are fairly common on the course
-A lot of the signs have been broken or vandalized
Other Thoughts: This is a very underrated course. Possibly due to its close proximity to Winthrop. The last time I played, the course appeared to be cleaned up a lot and I could tell that the local club has put a lot of effort in to making Boyd a great course. If the course was in a better area I would definitly rate it higher

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.