Disc Golf Center
Rock Hill, SC 
Boyd Hill Share
Uploaded By: snoogenz569 Hole #2
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Boyd Hills

1    10/4/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 164  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 36.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well established park with other amenities. Terrain variety.
Cons: Neglected course. Tee signs not up to date/standard. Trash. Broken glass, tetanus shot waiting to happen.

Other Thoughts: The setting is a nice park with the first holes on maintained lawn. After hole 4, the course plays across a small ravine with a creek in it, into a non-maintained, heavily treed, hilly area. Hole six has the most insane mando ive ever seen. A small opening between two trees right in front of the teepad. I think this is to keep you from going for the basket as the fairway goes back across the same ravine and the mando will force you to lay up to the ravine. You don't want to go into the ravine. After hole six the course has several tight wooded tee shots that are tough but fair. You can work on controlling your midrange drives on those holes. The course then plays back towards the front of the park where it is more open, but still with lots of foliage to deal with. Overall it's a fun course, you don't need to be a big arm thrower to do well here. Accuracy and playing casual rounds with your friends would be best for this course. In other words, its hard to take this course too seriously for the following reasons.
The overall course looks to be neglected for the most part. The tee signs need maintenance. I got lost several times, some tee signs are missing, others have a little arrow below the sign on the post, but even that doesn't help sometimes (hole 12/13). There are HUGE amounts of broken glass, don't wear flip flops. The glass tells me a lot of people play this course, so its pretty popular.
Its also popular with the homeless community, which starts to appear later in the day. Its probably not a good idea to be there later in the evening on your own.
There are a couple of issues with course design, such as trees being too close to the baskets, hole 16? has trees on 2 sides of the basket, two feet away from it.
Crazy mando on hole 6. Crossing fairways, I think, on holes twelve and five. I couldn't find teepad 12 so maybe this isnt the case.
With a little bit of TLC, this course could be better than it is, in its present condition. I enjoyed playing there but compared to what else is offered in the area, it would not be my first choice. i typically give higher ratings for courses that have the minimum - established teepads, teesigns, and real baskets. But the condition of the course keeps it from getting anything higher than a 2.5, if it was cleaned up and maintained this course could get a 3 rating easily.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Boyd's n the Hood, aka, the Glassy Knoll

5+    6/28/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 205  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course has a great variety from doglegs to wide open to tight, wooded holes. Course surprisingly has really good elevation changes on some holes.
- I love the last six holes. There's a great variety of layouts and interesting hole placements. They're not overly difficult, but each one is uniquely different from the others. Great way to close the round.
- It's challenging for such a short course- 4600 feet total, only 1 hole over 400 ft.
- Lots of risk/reward birdie holes. #13 is a short downhill hole, with basket nestled between trees and drop-off to creek less than 20 feet behind. You can go for the pin and either land close for a birdie, or have shot roll away for a challenging up and down for par.
- Course uses every square inch of the park to squeeze in 18. No long walks between basket to next pin. It's good for getting in a quick round.
Cons: Course is littered with trash. The biggest problem is there are broken glass bottles on many holes, especially in the back of the park, holes #6 - 12. The course isn't in the best part of town, and you can tell the locals don't respect the park.
- Course needs better tee signs. Some of the original signs are missing, or have been replaced. Even the original signs only consist of hole number and distance. A hole layout is important on the course considering the tight layout.
- Holes are too close and overlap each other. Tees for #6 & #12 are right next to each other, so if not paying attention can easily go from #5 basket to #12 tee.
- Pay extra attention to tee shots on wooded holes, #6 & #8 - 11. Thick underbrush, and some TIGHT fairways present potential risk of losing discs.
- Hole #6 has a double mando, where you have to go through 2 sets of trees to a tiny opening in even more trees and over a creek. Hole has lost disc written all over it. I don't like forced, unnatural mandos. They need to be done the right way, like on #18.
Other Thoughts: This course has grown on me the more I've played. I was surprised how much more I liked it the second time around. I've reflected this by improving my rating.
- Favorite hole is #14. 402 footer that can force you to cross the creek twice if you can't land in a narrow, tight fairway. It takes two good throws to get to the basket and get your 3 on this hole.
- As mentioned above, the last 6 holes are really good. Plenty of variety in all of them. #18 is a great closing hole. Another good risk/reward hole.
- Course would probably be better if it was only 12 holes, but I understand why they wanted a full 18. Most of the course is good, just didn't like the holes in the woods.
- Course has potential to be even better. If it was only a little bigger, and much cleaner, it'd be a solid course. Still, it's a great compliment to Winthrop and worth the 5 minute drive for a quick round.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.


7/9/2007   3/24/2008
Review By: kpkirishy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beginning of the course seemed pretty promising. The entire course was pretty challenging.
Cons: Short; very dirt with litter and broken bottles. Many of the holes were cramped together and jammed up against thick brush covering a creek bed. One mistake and you'll be looking for your disc for a while.
Other Thoughts: this course was okay but needs a clean up and would be better if it had a little more space.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.