Disc Golf Store
Rock Hill, SC 
Boyd Hill Share
Uploaded By: snoogenz569 Hole #8
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Deucey

2-4    10/6/2007   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Boyd Hill is a fun little deuce or die course. It knows what it is - and it plays to it. It doesn't try to bring into play tough par 3's that wouldn't fit with the course's flow. But even with nothing but deucable holes, some of them are challenging in their own way. There are forehands and backhands, along with fun gap hits. A few mandos. Some holes even bring some nice elevation into play. Overall it brings a very fun element to the game - especially when set next to Winthrop Gold every October. That's one of the biggest pros to the course - after playing grueling golf on the Gold course over at Winthrop, its nice to come down and be reminded why you enjoy disc golf.
Cons: It isn't as nicely kept up - there's some random trash scattered on the course at times. I'm not sure if all of it is from disc golfers, though. That isn't to say it is poorly kept up - but it definitely could use some cleaning up in places.

Most of the cons - such as lack of long holes, lack of par 4's, etc would really be nitpicking. Those things do keep it from being a championship calibre course, but they don't keep it from being a fun place to golf.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course any time I visit Rock Hill. It isn't Winthrop Gold, but as I already said - that's what makes it fun. Everything can be deuced, every hole is fun. Playing skins on this course is a good time, playing doubles is a good time. Just remember when you hit Boyd Hill that its more about some chill time golf than about playing something that'll challenge every part of your game.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/15/2010   1/15/2010
Review By: CalebC83
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are several difficult shots between or around trees make the course interesting. Shorter holes make the course ok for beginners as well.
Cons: The first part of the course is played near the road and parking lot and is very open and not scenic. All of the holes are pretty short so if you can throw a good distance fairly accurately it should be pretty easy to stay under par.
Other Thoughts: Overally a good course for beginner to intermediate players.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In town for the day...

2-4    10/21/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: Shodai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some nice settings and neat elevation differences make for interesting play. The more open holes were very nice to play and fun. I enjoyed them. Wooded holes increase the difficulty and challenge even the advanced players. I had enough fun playing there that I played 2 more times that day before heading back to Charleston. If its your first time there, play it once casually and then play a second round and really try. You'll enjoy it more the second time around after you've seen each hole and how its played. My score went down each round.
Cons: Some holes are set in the woods and have VERY NARROW fairways. NOT for beginners. Will aggrevate you as you learn the course and the elevations and the tight fairways on some holes. Bring your "A" game as accuracy is a must in the woods. Will be difficult to play the first round. Suggest playing two rounds if you want to enjoy it.
Other Thoughts: Free to play with available parking and not far from the Winthrop courses if you want to try more than one course in Rock Hill. I wish I had played my third round at Winthrop. It was fun and I cant really complain.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 thrilla in rock hilla

5+    12/30/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: cool little course in rock hill, close to winthrop. a good warm up course if you plan on playing winthrop. good signs at all holes, concrete pads, ace runs and good use of terrain
Cons: can be a little sketchy at times. there was a stolen moped in the woods on hole #9 . broken glass is everywhere, not many trashcans or any benches
Other Thoughts: a very fun course to play. there are a couple of tricky holes #6 has a double mando, which makes for a tough shot. # 13 is tucked behind a group of trees and is easily overshot and into the creek. # 16 is a short straigh ahead shot w/ only the basket showing. nice layout for the amount of space available, i find this course to be more challenging than the lakefront course at winthrop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Some very creative shots

1    8/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My buddies and I played this course first thing in the morning as a warm up to Winthrop but found ourselves really enjoying the challenges that Boyd Hill had to offer. The course started kind of slowly but the shots required, especially on the back 9, were tremendous.
Cons: This course is not in a very good area of town. I'm glad we played first thing in the morning before anyone else was awake (we were finished and gone before anyone else was on the course). Broken glass all over the course and clearly this park was not well maintained. It's really too bad considering some of the creativity that went into designing the holes
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make a habit of playing this course, but it's worth a visit if you play with some friends for sure. I wouldn't recommend playing it as the sun goes down, but first thing in the morning as a start to a full day of disc golf is great. Get there early, enjoy the challenge, and get out!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better Than Average

5+    10/18/2007   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/15/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Big Chipper
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun mixture of technical elements. The wooded areas are very tough. Holes aren't very long...an arm saver this close to Winthrop.
Cons: Backs up to the projects. Broken glass everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I concur that this is one to be played in groups and not solo.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Undrerrated

5+    1/22/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.9 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course has open and wooded shots
-Many different lines
-great course for beginners because most holes are in the 250 ft range but can be challenging for more advanced players.
-The wooded terrain makes for a nice contrast to Winthrop which is only a couple of miles away
-the locals are very friendly and helpful
-new concrete teepads are great and are placed in better locations than the previous dirt pads
-Great use of the creek and mandos to provide some excellent risk/reward oppertunities.
Cons: -locals dont reccomend playing the course solo
-broken bottles are fairly common on the course
-A lot of the signs have been broken or vandalized
Other Thoughts: This is a very underrated course. Possibly due to its close proximity to Winthrop. The last time I played, the course appeared to be cleaned up a lot and I could tell that the local club has put a lot of effort in to making Boyd a great course. If the course was in a better area I would definitly rate it higher

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Boyd Hill

1    1/22/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Recently added concrete teepads have been a big improvement to this course. Very createful use of mandos, and nice use of elevation make this a fun course to play.
Cons: Would benefit from nice tee signs. Lots of litter on and around course.
Other Thoughts: Boyd Hill has some potential and the newly added teepads looks promising. If there is continued work done here the course could become quite nice.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Boyd Hills

1    10/4/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 151  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well established park with other amenities. Terrain variety.
Cons: Neglected course. Tee signs not up to date/standard. Trash. Broken glass, tetanus shot waiting to happen.

Other Thoughts: The setting is a nice park with the first holes on maintained lawn. After hole 4, the course plays across a small ravine with a creek in it, into a non-maintained, heavily treed, hilly area. Hole six has the most insane mando ive ever seen. A small opening between two trees right in front of the teepad. I think this is to keep you from going for the basket as the fairway goes back across the same ravine and the mando will force you to lay up to the ravine. You don't want to go into the ravine. After hole six the course has several tight wooded tee shots that are tough but fair. You can work on controlling your midrange drives on those holes. The course then plays back towards the front of the park where it is more open, but still with lots of foliage to deal with. Overall it's a fun course, you don't need to be a big arm thrower to do well here. Accuracy and playing casual rounds with your friends would be best for this course. In other words, its hard to take this course too seriously for the following reasons.
The overall course looks to be neglected for the most part. The tee signs need maintenance. I got lost several times, some tee signs are missing, others have a little arrow below the sign on the post, but even that doesn't help sometimes (hole 12/13). There are HUGE amounts of broken glass, don't wear flip flops. The glass tells me a lot of people play this course, so its pretty popular.
Its also popular with the homeless community, which starts to appear later in the day. Its probably not a good idea to be there later in the evening on your own.
There are a couple of issues with course design, such as trees being too close to the baskets, hole 16? has trees on 2 sides of the basket, two feet away from it.
Crazy mando on hole 6. Crossing fairways, I think, on holes twelve and five. I couldn't find teepad 12 so maybe this isnt the case.
With a little bit of TLC, this course could be better than it is, in its present condition. I enjoyed playing there but compared to what else is offered in the area, it would not be my first choice. i typically give higher ratings for courses that have the minimum - established teepads, teesigns, and real baskets. But the condition of the course keeps it from getting anything higher than a 2.5, if it was cleaned up and maintained this course could get a 3 rating easily.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.