Tuttle, OK 
Schrock Park Share
Uploaded By: BHolicki Hole #8 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 263ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good woodsy little 9 holer

1    11/15/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a nice mix of open and moderately wooded holes. Also it uses the elevation that is present to its best potential.
This course uses the creek and trees well and keeps you on your toes.
It has good signage and nice blue painted DGA baskets. Also there are a few benches and trashcans as well as a playground and a pavilion. Rounds should play quickly here.
Here are my hole observations:
1-creek on the left side and a couple of trees upon approach
2-mostly open with trees that guard the basket
3-has a couple of trees to navigate around off the box and the creek is on the left
4-throws over the creek, basket out in the open
5-is an open shot
6-uphill shot has trees that challenge on the right side
7-slightly uphill shot basket by a cedar tree
8-downhill shot and wide open
9-creek on the left with the basket fairly close to the creek.

Cons: The tees are a bit short in spots and appear to have been cut/reused from somewhere else. This doesn't bother me that they reused concrete its just inconsistent in some spots.
Backtracking from 4's basket to 5's tee throws the flow off a bit.
Throwing across/over/next to the road on a few holes could be a safety issue if the park were busy.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and it has more variety than most of the 9 hole courses that you will play. I would say that its "semi" beginner friendly, outside of the water threat. It still has good lines that need to be hit but its not a course that is going to frustrate you so bad that you want to pack it up and leave.
They really did use the land that was available to the fullest.
If you are south of the OKC area and want a quick playing round on a moderately wooded course that has a nice little water threat to keep you honest, then hit this one up.
I think you will be glad you stopped by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

serious 9 holes

1    10/24/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -challenging holes, not at all a pitch & putt niner for most players
-creek in play on 1, 4, 9
-ranges from mostly open to moderately wooded with large, mature trees and high ceilings
-clean park, nice but small tees, great baskets and signs
Cons: -tees are on the small side, but plenty of flat ground next to the tees
-walking path loops around the park, in play on a few holes
-pavilion could come into play on an errant throw
Other Thoughts: This course surprised me. It has a few holes that really make it feel like a big boy course, not just a little nine hole city park. I really like how the creek comes into play on holes 1 and 9 and you have to throw over it on hole 4.

A few holes have quite a few large trees in the fairway, hole 4 has a low ceiling going over the creek, hole 2 has a soccer goal to avoid in the fairway (don't get stuck behind it), and there are minor elevation changes on 6 (slanted green), 7 (uphill), and 8 (downhill).

I thought this course was a lot of fun and I look forward to stopping by again. Should be possible but rewarding to shoot under par here for most amateur players. It's a good place to bring beginners and easy to play multiple rounds.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Beaut

2-4    6/15/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the more balanced courses (from an overall play standpoint) for a nine-holer in the OKC metro area. Open looks, tunnel shots, lefty, righty, elevation up, elevation down, multiple lines, and forced lines. Deceptively wooded with old growth (= hard) and the occasional high grass rough. Both force players to maintain control and plan a viable attack as well as add a degree of creativity for get out of jail shots. The pictures on DGCR show the winter "foliage" and it's a much more daunting amount of green in the spring/summer. It was well maintained for the most part. Baskets were immaculate. The small creek is in play on two holes (1, 4, and 9) but it only keeps an average righty BH honest on hole 1. The short length of that hole is also compounded by the OB "sidewalk" to the right. The navigation was simple and the baskets and basic DGA signs indicated next tee locations. The course didn't feel crowded or crammed in, but rather was well thought out for both variety and flow. One recognizable dichotomy on the course comes from the flatness of the front half to the elevation demands on the back half.
There is little risk of a lost disc as the underbrush in the wooded holes is just grass/weeds with no thicket. Only a seriously awry throw would come close to OB near the cow fences.
The park also featured a playground and pavilion just off the first tee (not in the way though). No bathrooms on the course proper, but there are public restrooms to the east of hole 2's tee that were open on the day I played.
Cons: Any issues with the course are of the truly minor kind. It's a little bit of a drive from OKC proper, but no worse than what most people on one side of the city have to do to get to a course on the far side of town (think Norman to Edmond or vice versa). Short, quick play since only one hole over 300 ft but that's a minor quibble as well (I played 9 holes at a rather leisurely 40-ish minutes). Playing through twice helped me feel like I was getting more bang for my travel time. The tees varied widely in size. Some where REALLY small (think 3x5). No benches other than stumps from recently felled trees in the first few holes. No garbage cans on course proper, only by the pavilion and they were overflowing. Limited parking near the pavilion though there is ample up by 7/8 near the Senior Center. The only hole that seemed crammed in/forced was hole 1. And it played right next to the loop road that navigated through the park. This road was in play on 1 and 6 and to a limited degree on 5. Might be an issue on a busy park day but I was the only guy using the park for most of my rounds. Need some weed-eating at two tees that are out of the way of main mowing effort but it wasn't African bush or anything. Saw some large, dead branches especially hanging directly over 1st tee as a result of the recent spat of powerful storms that have ripped through the state.
Other Thoughts: This was a pretty fun course to play. Great recreational course. I read the reviews the day I decided to go out to the course for the first time. Heathen's review echoed in my mind throughout both rounds and I recognized almost every observation contained in his review. Overall a good fun factor and I believe average or beginner arms will enjoy the variety in this small package. Power drivers with no middle game will find it a challenge on about half the holes so I think it's worth just about any player's time. I've told a few golf friends about it and encouraged them to try it out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A treat in Tuttle

1    2/5/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: Heathen
Played: 164  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a surprising gem of a small course. In a frantic evening of after work course bagging, I hit this one just as the sun was setting.
The course was set back away from the ball fields in a lightly wooded area surrounding a small picnic pavilion and playground. It makes beautiful use of the available terrain in order to present a recreational course with plenty of challenge. A steeply banked creek makes a daunting hazard on holes 1, 3, 4 and 9, and a curved ridge provides a cross sloped green for hole 6, an uphill drive on hole 7 and an elevated tee for 8.
The course was easy to navigate, well marked, clean and maintained. Small concrete tee pads were on every hole and baskets were in nearly new condition with only minor damage on one or two.
Cons: For a recreational park course, there aren't any cons. This is an excellent example of exactly what it is meant to be. But for comparison to the idealized model of the perfect course, a few criticisms are in order.
The tee pads are a bit on the small side. A few extra feet of concrete would be a noticeable improvement to the tee area. The course plays around a pavilion and playground which could become an obstruction to play at times of heavy use, and it lacks benches and trash cans. These short comings are minor concerns, for the most part, with the exception of possible non-player interference.
Other Thoughts: The first hole begins next to the pavilion and plays south along the creek. The structure is located on the far west side of the park behind a small senior center. It is reachable by a narrow, paved single lane road that runs from the ball fields, loops near the pavilion and continues up the hill to the senior center parking lot, providing access back to hwy 37 / Main St.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Glad I Stopped By

1    1/17/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Great, brand new DGA baskets (local school colors)
Great tee signs with layout/next tee arrows
Very good use of available land
Nice fairways with mature trees making you choose your lines carefully
Used the creek well on three holes to make you pause and think about your shot
A little risk/reward
Awesome to work on your line shaping
Great to work on midrange game
A few chances to stretch out your drivers
Good variety of shots right, left, straight
Quick round or two
Good for beginners to intermediate
Good place to take familt/newbies
Drains well (won't stay muddy)
Uses a part of the park that wasn't already in use
Playground for the kids, completely out of the way
No conflict with the other activities in the park
Benches/tables
Picnic pavillions near 1 and 9 great for tourneys/minis
Good parking
Bathrooms/water hydrants
Camping, you must get a permit from the city police chief
Cons: A couple of holes throw across the park roads (not busy)
Distances didn't vary a great deal (NBD)
A couple of areas of bare ground might get slick right after a rain but nothing major
The only times there might be interference from non-DG folks is if there was a family reunion at the pavillions near 1 and 9.
Not many cons just a very good, solid park
Other Thoughts: This is a great quick round to get in if you are passing the area. If you are in the OKC metro it would be worth swinging out this way and playing this course and Wild Horse (10mi away). It is a fun time. Righties or lefties will be on even ground. All in all a great way to use the limited resources in this area to promote DG/exercise. Most of the tees were used slabs that had been cut and moved in. Love the saving money no matter who does it. They did a good job of making them big enough and setting them in not on the ground. Swing by and play this course. Not a destination course but very good 9-holer.

If you want to mix it up, there are lots of safari oppurtunities for even more fun/distance.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward the fun factor which this course had a good deal of.

PM me and tell me how I can improve my reviews to be more "helpful."

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Worth the trip

2-4    12/12/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New baskets.

-Nice, clean, beautiful location. It's right next to a nice little cattle ranch. The cows watched us play.

-a little elevation change

-fairly challenging for a 9 hole

-has 1 350' hole which helps make up for the relative shortness of the rest of the course

-a nice little creek comes into play

-has tee pads and signs on each hole

-great use of trees

-decent variety of open holes with some trees and 1 hole with a right dog-leg
Cons: - the tees were a little too small on some holes. luckily, most of the holes weren't long enough to require much of a run-up

- an ideal course would have some longer holes but this is typical for a 9 hole. I don't expect much more.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little 9 hole on a beautiful piece of land. It just gives off really nice vibes. I'm looking forward to playing here again. Whoever designed it did well. Add larger tees, more trash cans and some benches and I'd give it a 4 out of 5. It might be a nice warm up if you're on your way to play Wild Horse.

I would say this course is a tie with Harrah Lions for my second favorite 9 hole in Oklahoma. My first, of course, is Rotary Park in Perry.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.