Valley Springs, CA 
New Hogan Dam - West Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #12 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 345ft.   3 / 485ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful, fun & challenging

1    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Strong design. Great shot variety required. For the most part, holes felt distinctive and flowed well. Lots of different hole distances.
- Fun big downhill throws where you can watch your disc flyyyyy. 17 is epic
- Decent signage. Maps on 1st teepads are very helpful.
- Hilly, rocky, lightly forested, & grassy. This is prime disc golf terrain.
- Great wildlife viewing. We saw a group of deer and a large vulture during our round
- I thought I'd be griping about the dirt teepads but they were flat and packed down. No problems at all, even after a rainy day.
Cons: - The baskets aren't the best. They're shallow and the chains seemed thinner which led to some frustrating putts. Flags or markers would have been extremely helpful. Also an indication of basket position would have been nice. We had to do a lot of scouting before teeing off.
- Burrs EVERYWHERE. My dogs and shoes got blanketed.
- Rattlesnake country.
- Sometimes obstructions (bushes, trees) were too close to the basket. There were approaches where I intentionally threw into a bush or tree knowing that it would catch my disc for an easy drop in.
Other Thoughts: This course is quite pleasant and challenging! I had a wonderful day here soaking in the scenery and throwing discs.

Use some caution and planning before playing here. Bring lots of water, avoid this course on a hot day and be prepared for burrs. Water and bathrooms are a bit of a walk away from the course. The water out of the drinking fountain was the some of the tastiest and pure I've ever had. I think it came directly from the reservoir yummm

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Scenic

2-4    12/31/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: gusisfishin@gmail.co
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots. Baskets in great shape. Water hazards along the lake starting with hole 11. The bank - when the lake is UP - is steep into the water and rocky under the water. You'll get your disc back when the water goes down.
Cons: Not that I could find.
Other Thoughts: Hole 11 is fun. Over the water is a long shot, or, go around. It's a nice sized cove.
Hole 17 - almost 800 feet in the long position. But watch out. I went past it on my second shot and nearly ended up in the water about 150' past it. That hole is a kick to shoot at. I'm such a beginner - I had no idea I could throw a disc that far, even down hill.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Play this course

2-4    4/20/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Steve D.
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several beautiful basket placements on this course. This side is very challenging. Great variation of shots required.
Cons: This course still has dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: The wind on this side is sketchy, bring your A game. Several new long holes really open this course up. This side used every disc in my bag. Well marked and easy to navigate, this side gets my vote if I could only play one of the courses. Great job with new layout Hogan Team!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Almost Epic Course

5+    10/8/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 142  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 30.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of great shot selection. Lots of land. Most holes range from 250 to 500 feet with hole #17 coming in at over 700+. Absolutely beautiful course in late winter early spring. The land has lots of oaks scattered over the property with rocks sticking out of the ground throughout. All of the baskets are in great shape. The course has several water hazards along the lake shore when the lake is high enough. Most holes are strategically placed in the middle of tree groves or boulders so that even the shortest holes are challenging.
Cons: This course can get very rough in the summer months, with lots of weeds and stickers. Wear long pants, boots and gators. $4 to get into area, not that bad considering you get 36 wonderful holes and a beautiful lake. Watch for rattlesnakes in summer.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful scenic piece of property to put a course on. This course is very similar in how it plays and looks to stafford, skyline, black butte or casitas: beautiful CA wilderness areas. This course tends to dry out faster than those other courses so has a shorter optimal time to play, but is still very playable in summer just prepare.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.