Disc Golf Store
Jamestown, ND
Klaus Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
4 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice and Easy Park Course

1    8/17/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 51  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course takes place in a nice city park which is nestled along a large bend in the James River. I have read some reviews of a flooded course but when I was through it was quite dry.

The layout of the course is fairly decent with most teepads not far from the previous hole's basket. Hole #1 starts right off the parking lot and plays around the park with #18 bringing you back close to your vehicle.

There is very little elevation changes but there is plenty of trees to play around. Multiple holes play right along the river and if you're a RHBH thrower you may be intimidated since all of the water holes has the river on your left hand side.

There are some easy potential ace runs to be had on this course, with most holes being between 200-300 feet long and wide open or with easy lines. There are a few longer holes but most of the time your big drivers will be kept in your bag.
Cons: The signage could be improved, the hole maps make it manageable but since all holes are easily visible from the pads it's not a big con. Also, next hole signs wouldn't hurt.

The pads are very small... like they were made just for stand throws.

A few holes play along a heavily used playground area and people do wander the park (duh) so you need to be very aware of your surroundings before your throws.

No benches along the holes but it is a park, they are around. Same with trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I can imagine this course being a huge pain if the water levels are high. A few of the holes in the middle of the course are right along low lying areas that have semi- to fully permanent wetlands and would be a pain with more water in them.

If you're looking for a nice, casual round that you can play through quickly, this is a good course to hit up if you're in the area! I feel like a 3.0 rating properly reflects this course, it's not very challenging but it is well kept and very manageable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    7/3/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 62  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: i really enjoyed this course. It would be a great course to learn on. The holes are long enough to be challenging but short enough not to be intimidating for new players. There is a good amount of tree cover and almost no rough, or hazards. (a couple holes do skirt the river so you do need to be careful)
Cons: The tee pads are too short, had to take my run up from a few paces behind them. No map online or onsite, actually missed holes #3,#4,#5, on my first play through.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect home town course,This park seemed quite busy when i was there, great to see so many people playing :)

 Bringing everybody back to reality

1    7/10/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 140  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would typically rate this a 3-3.5, but it is definitely not a 3.75 rated course. It is a good amateur/advanced level course, with open fairways and a few mature trees as obstacles. You double back a few times, and as it was very wet when we played, if it was dryer, perhaps the course plays better. It is a 4 on my ND scale, probably much quicker and easier than the reservoir (which I couldn't play), and it is protected from the wind by all of the trees. A few aceable holes, but also a few 200 footers where a deuce is a solid shot.
Cons: Too many holes between 220-250 feet. You get the feeling that each hole is the same as the previous one. You do play across the playground/by it towards the end, and you could run into little ones in your way. Also, it is extremely flooded now, so you may not choose to play the outlying holes, as some others playing behind us chose not to.
Other Thoughts: This looks like a nice setup in a nice park. It's easy to find, but the teepads are like 3'x3'. No, I'm not kidding. Some repetition on holes, but there are a few where most can open up to their full velocity. Beware of picnicers, beware of the swollen river, and play a round or two in a couple of hours, easy. The park seemed pretty busy for a Sunday afternoon in NoDak, it was great to see the Disc Golf love!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: John Erickson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, baskets in good condition. Challenging for beginners and intermediate players alike. Located in a quiet part of town. People use the course, but you don't usually have to worry about being rushed. Good variety of hole length and varying levels of skill required for each.
Cons: Water holes (especially #2 and #14) are a depository for discs, however, more advanced players should usually be able to avoid the water.
Other Thoughts: Water also comes into play on several other holes, but some of it is in water than you can wade in and grab your disc (sometimes the area is actually dry).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course for a small town

6/23/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: Sarumanza10
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is located in a nice park, with mature trees and some holes on the river providing cool scenery, and the occasional family of geese can be a blast to watch. Nice baskets, numbered. Tees have good signs if the punks haven't messed with them. Usually well mowed. Good layout brings you right back to the start.
Cons: The river can be a love hate relationship. It will take a wild shot to throw one in, but if you do, you'll probably find it at the local disc shop after some kids fish it out if you don't. Don't expect them to give it back to you just because your name and # is on it either. There is also some heavy underbrush on holes 3 & 4, lost one in there last night when I let a newbie throw it.
Other Thoughts: The trees can require some high hook shots, or low grass skimmers to get under the branches. They also make for some nice shade, but the sun will be in your eyes late at night. I still like playing later though, as the wind is usually died down.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.