Carrollton, TX
Greenbelt Park Share
Uploaded By: YoDesigner Hole #7 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good but could be improved

2-4    1/14/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: memphisrider93
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: Nice new signage with pretty nice hole views. nice elevation changes and great views.
Cons: could be layed out a little better I think. 7s Tee is nearly impossible to find if you didnt know the course.
Other Thoughts: Interesting little creek running through the middle of the course adds some fun to it

Good for what it is

1    12/24/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Green Belt does the best it can with what it has. The "river" is used the best it can be. Most shots are either going over it or near it. Brings a high risk/reward to most of your throws. Good mix of distance and elevation.
Great tee signs that make navigation easy, even for your first time out.
Big parking lot and park was relatively clean and well maintained.
Cons: Greenbelt looks like it was made for a RHBH player with no real "bomb" shot. Lacks teepads on all holes and baskets could use some upgrading. Long walk between some holes but nothing to really complain about.
Other Thoughts: Looking at the other reviews I completely disagree. I think greenbelt is worth the trip. It is not even close to a destination course but if you are in the area it is worth the stop. Good use of land and is a very exciting play. There is a big possibility you might have to go swimming for a disc. Great park that is worth playing multiple times.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Meh is so right

1    11/24/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not much different than the old layout except for a couple of holes and one kind of cheesy one. Elevation on a couple of holes on the back. Nice tee signs. Still a lot of 300 foot hyzer shots for the RHBH player. Concrete on some but not enough holes. Pretty open so you can throw just about any shot that you want to throw. Not very busy so you can throw multiple shots and practice.
Cons: Water is nasty. It can be overgrown in spots. The wow factor is not there because it is a lot of the same thing over and over. No shade and not many obsticles except for the water. Super wide open. Watch for snakes during the warmer months. Hole 7 is kind of cheesy.
Other Thoughts: Very meh! Not worth the drive but if your in the area, you can play this and Porter. Not much different than the old layout so you can read that review too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

meh

1    10/6/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: jenb
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some nice views.

Generally safe and mostly clean.

18 tees and baskets with nice tee signs and easy navigation, except for hole 7's tee, which is under the bridge. The tee sign is attached to the concrete near the ground and not easily found.

A little bit of elevation for beginners to learn on, but nothing exciting.
Cons: No restrooms. And no cover either. And don't count on the gas station up the road to have toilet paper. :-(

Only one set of tees, and many of those dirt tees.

Mostly open and flat. Too easy to challenge most experienced players, but the water hazards on almost every hole make for a hostile learning environment for beginners. At least disc retrieval is pretty easy on much of the course, but I wouldn't send a beginner here. All in all, a rather ho hum round. Playing the sidewalk and beyond as OB would have added 2 strokes to my round, so not that much extra challenge to be found there.

Although there are some spots on this course that offer some nice views, a round of disc golf led to encounters with foul smelling water, slimy weeds, dead waterfowl, muddy areas around baskets, etc.

A fairly safe course, but not perfect marks. I wouldn't want to play it after a rain due to dirt tees. And I thought the cables used to mark the ends of the tees posed a tripping hazard.

Scarce trash cans. I carried an empty soda can in my hand for 14 holes before I found a trash can, and it was not located at a tee.


Other Thoughts: I'm sure I'd learn to love it if I lived there, but everyone in my group agreed it was a course to never play again, especially with so many much better courses in the area. It wasn't one of those courses we immediately wanted to play again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bring a pole

1    10/7/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Mowed fairways
- New tee signs
- Unique use of elevation on several holes
- High risk/reward on most holes
- Made some of the easier holes more challenging than the old layout
Cons:
- The creek is wide and murky and in play on nearly ever hole
- Hole 5 is much shorter in this layout, no longer bomb-able
- Hole 7's teepad is apparently in the street, according to the map [Update: the teepad is apparently under the bridge]
- Muddy around the back half
- No teepads on most holes
Other Thoughts:
- There's a good chance you might lose some discs if you do not bring a pole (golf ball retriever) with a hook on the end. If you do bring one, the creek isn't quite so bad

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.