Disc Golf Store
St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN 
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #2
3 / 266ft.   3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A free 18 hole course what more can ya really ask for?
- This course is well maintained, grass in the rough is about knee high which made it a pain to find a few discs off some bad drives. (My fault obviously)
- Lots of elevation changes, some great landscaping all along the course was great to see.
- Wasn't very crowded today, a good amount of groups were both in front and behind me but I didn't have to wait very long to tee off when I caught up to the group in front of me, which was nice to get a quick 18 in after work.
- Some of the best tee pads I have seen for a free course, extra padding around the pads for your follow through.
- Some very challenging holes, at least for me on this course which made it fun to play on!
- Front 9 were on rolling hills and nice and open to soak up the sun before you head to the back 9 that run through the woods.
- A few nice ace runs throughout the back 9, came close to nailing 2 of them, but took a birdie instead!
- Huge skatepark at this park as well, for those of you who skate, it looked pretty flooded today, so I am not sure if they really manage the skatepark as much!
- Very easy to find right off 694 and White Bear Ave.
Cons: - If your going to play this course, make sure you bring bug spray, once I hit hole 3 it started to get buggy and didn't let up whatsoever, once I got to the back 9 it was miserable, bugs all over the place, hard to focus on your shot when your ankles are getting bit up left and right
- Very confusing layout if it's your first time out, I got lost after hole 3 and couldn't find hole 4 till I ran into someone coming to play hole 2, needed to ask where the hell is hole 4?
- Was a little flooded on some holes that don't always have water, but we have had a good amount of rain the past few weeks.
- A lot of walking paths cut right through the fairways, which was a pain had a ton of walkers that I needed to wait on to get through so I could throw.
Other Thoughts: - Some signage directing you to the next hole would be nice besides just on the tee pads of previous holes, quite confusing layout.
- Fairways were nicely cut at normal grass length, but edges were rough, maybe spend a little extra time and cut those down a bit, can be a pain looking for a disc in that, with all the blind holes!
- Other than that I couldn't complain to much, hopefully I will get back out there for the league they have every Sunday!
- I will defiantly play this course again and again, just a little bit of a drive for me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/24/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a pretty crowded city park, there is a pavilion at the start, a walking path by a few holes, some baseball fields, so there might be some spilloff onto the DG course. Shouldn't be major interference, but it's possible.
- Back half of the course is set in a wooded section of the park, which have some of the more interesting holes. The highlight is #10, a tight multi-shot hole with two hyzer routes off the tee, around trees on the left. It is important to finish left here, as the next shot has lots of trees on the right side to get around. Some water on the right halfway as well. Tough hole. A bunch of other holes need good accuracy, like a RHBH anny on #9, a RHFH flex line on #13, a hyzer around some water on #12, and some very straight shots on #14 and #15. #16 is another tougher hole, a valley shot through a gap that ends out of the woods.
- Most other holes are out in the open, with trees here and there to make things tough. The tricky holes also use dense rough to force lines, like a dogleg right on #6, and a much longer and tougher 557' dogleg right on #7. #8 is another bomber, a slight uphill hyzer off the tee, with a downhill valley finish around a huge tree. Some other cool shots like a blind hyzer on #2 and a blind anny on #4.
- Some healthy elevation changes on a few holes, like a downhill shot on #11 with a blocked RHBH hyzer line, a steep shot up a hill on #17, and the corresponding downhill bomber on #18. Good stuff. Some gentler ones are present in many other spots; like valley shots on #1, #5, #10 and #16. Downhill slopes on #2, #11, #12, #15, and uphill on #3, #6, #9, #13, and #14. A constant feature of the course, which definitely keeps it interesting.
- Decent amount of hazards here, with water present on #1, #10, and #12, that are all in play and definitely dangerous. Thick rough out in the open and some jail in the woods to get into, and also a few tricky basket placements like the pin on top of the hill on #17.
- Nice signs, good teepads, good baskets. Everything in good shape overall. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, like #3 to #4, and #8 to #9. Nothing too bad, but the map helps out.
Cons: - One of the biggest cons is a crammed layout by some holes. #2 and #3 almost share a fairway; since #2 is downhill it is very easy to shank shots right, directly in the business of anyone on #3. #5 also feels a little busy, between #2 and #8.
- Half of the holes here are pretty wide open, with maybe one or two trees to worry about. The elevation changes help out a lot to keep things interesting, but they're still just grip and rip shots.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty fun course that has a nice balance of wooded and open shots. Constant elevation changes in and out of the woods, and both long and short holes in each as well. A pretty good variety of lines, righty and lefty, with some tough doglegs and multi-shot holes. Definitely plays on the easier side, even with some tougher holes mixed in, very well suited to beginners or intermediate players. Worth checking out at least once, for any skill level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good holes, hard to follow

1    10/3/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with some park style areas and some wooded areas. The wooded holes offer some tight technical lines to hit, and enough trees and underbrush to make you work to recover from an errant shot. The park style holes offer wider grassy fairways with enough mature trees to make you think about shot placement, and occasional bushes or thick rough to contend with. There is some elevation, and it's used well to add some fun and challenge. The final hole down the hill is a lot of fun, and it's always nice to end the round on an empty your bag type hole.

There is good length variety, with some reachable shots and a few par 4 holes along with some other nice long par 3s that let you air it out a little more. Though there isn't a ton of hole shape variety, at least this course is unbalanced toward right turning holes unlike many courses. The concrete tees are nice and big, and the erosion control around the pads is an excellent solution for high traffic courses.

Cons: The signage is nonexistent, and the flow of the course isn't obvious at all. That makes it frustrating for first time players who will have to wander a bit to find all the holes, especially with a recent addition of 4 holes. It also means that on the handful of blind holes you'll have to scout ahead to figure out the length and shape of the fairway. There are a lot of right turning shots, and not a whole lot of left turning ones to balance it out and test a variety of line shaping skills. I'm not a fan of long grass rough that adds frustration and not challenge, and there are some areas of the course where the fairways are lined with it.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty challenging, with some legitimate par 4s and several other longer holes as well as some tight wooded shots that could be frustrating for less accurate throwers. More experienced players will find some really nice tests here, but the layout and navigation combined with some nasty disc eating long grass and rough could provide frustration at times for that set of players as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good free course

1    10/2/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a suburban city park with a mix of open and wooded holes. The course layout includes some elevation changes, with multiple blind shots over hills.

The park is nice, with a large parking lot and restrooms. The start of #1 and end of #18 are both near the parking lot, which is nice.

Most of the holes have benches, and some have trash cans. The long tees are nice large trapezoidal ones and are all flat. The short tees were all rectangular.

Even though the overall layout is nonsensical (see the cons list), the individual hole designs are nice. Except for having a lot of holes that curve right, there is a great diversity. I never got bored doing the same shot over and over again.

There isn't much underbrush in the woods, so finding stray discs is usually easy.
Cons: For a first timer, navigation is very difficult. Even with a map, it was sometimes hard to find the next hole (we got lost between 9 and 10). This course would benefit greatly by having more signage, but the layout is pretty nonsensical in the first place. The paths cross over themselves multiple times, and there's one spot with three baskets all next to each other.

Also the course designer included a lot of holes curving right (4, 6, 7, and 9) and none curving left. Being a LHBH thrower, I'm not complaining, but it does get a little repetitive.

There was also a litter problem in the park, with broken glass rampant in the wooded holes and some overflowing trash cans.

The wooded holes had a lot of 4" high stumps in the middle of the fairway which are very easy to trip on.
Other Thoughts: I didn't see any of the hooligans mentioned by the other reviewers. We went on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon, and while there were many groups playing, it didn't seem overcrowded.

If you are going for the first time without anyone who has been there before, definitely print out the map and consult it frequently.

It seems like there is a current effort to improve the course landscaping. Some of the tee boxes have a wire mesh around them with gravel, and there is some nice rock landscaping in a few places. Mulch is being placed around most of the front 9's baskets.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements Being Made!

1    7/20/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course certainly starts out impressively enough at # 1, with it's extra large concrete teepad with the steel grating around it. And then you have the landscape rock outlining the bench and garbage can. Wow! On later holes, the parks dept. was out with heavy equipment building up basket areas and/or teepad areas. What great support you players get here from your parks and recreation people! Remember to thank them when you see them working in the parks. I'll give this this course another half point on it's rating just for their great support.

The holes through the woods are tight forcing you to hit your lines.

# 18 is a masterpiece here and would be on any course. At 345' downhill, it's a great finishing hole but what I really liked about it was, it's not just a "grip it and rip it" throw. It has a window there, it's fairly large, but it still makes you think about it.

Cons: Navigation was not easy for me playing alone the first time. It didn't seem to follow a natural path. This course could benefit from some next tee signs.

And there are an abundance of anhyser holes here. Lefties who are always complaining should find a little happiness here.

Playing on a hot, broiling day I guess I missed the crowds, including the disc-stealing vandals.
Other Thoughts: Nice mix of open and wooded technical holes here. Some excellent engineering work being done by the parks dept.?? (I think). It's nice to see a course that's being upgraded and improved upon instead of the many that I see that are slowly falling into dis-repair and decay.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It Made me come back!

2-4    6/21/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mixture of holes. Wooded, clear, marsh, short, long, elevation change. It makes for a fun day.

Some courses are just too easy, and others have no possibility of being played well, but this one offers rewards to those who make good shots, and I like that in a course.

Many holes have different length's which allows you to tailor the course to your ability.

Also, the last hole has is up on a big hill. It's fun just launching the disc and watching it fly.
Cons: It is hard to navigate the course the first few times, and even after playing it a couple of times I would have a hard time finding my way around.

I got close to nailing a little kid on the last hole once because it is close to a playground (not sure if that should be a pro or con!)
Other Thoughts: Give the course a shot, it's a fun one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best 14 hole course I have played!

1    4/25/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Fairly beginner friendly (no real places to lose discs at least).

2) Awesome variety on this course. It has everything. A carry over or past a marshy area (and up into the woods). A couple of fairly open holes where ripping a driver is a possibility. Even the open ones have some character though with some holes bending right and a few bending left. Baskets tucked around corners or on sideslopes that can lead to rollaways. Then you head into the woods for some technical shot making. Forced fairways but you do have some throwing options on these holes. Then you leave the woods and finish with an easy birdie chance on #12, a massive uphill/sidehill throw to the top of a massive hill. Then, you get to throw right back down that massive hill to a basket that is fairly open, but the wind and terrain account for some difficulty. #14 is a great hole despite its simplistic design.

3) Nice duel (on most holes) concrete teepads (with the #'s painted on the concrete) allow for a different course on many of the holes.

4) Baskets are in good condition except #11. Basically it looks liek a basket from the teepad but when you get closer it is just basically lathe hanging down, and if you hit the lathe it is in the basket I guess??

5) Garbage baskets on the course and overall that shows with a fairly clean course.

6) High level of maintenance. Turf is good in almost all spots which is always a plus compared to the compacted soils/bare turf on many of the older courses.
Cons: 1) Very poor layout in terms of finding the next hole. #2 shoots out of the woods into the open, then you backtrack 180 degrees from where you came on #2. Then you walk through the woods you ended on #1 and behind #2 tee.I actually played #1, 2, and found 5 tee so I played from there and only then did I figure out where #3 and had to search for #4 too. It is not obvious where #4 tee is either, so that can be confusing.

2) #11 basket is unique, but I would prefer to actually throw into a basket!

3) I think the property could have been used better, in terms of layout (#2, 3, 4) and use of the wooded area. I would have omitted #4 completely and maybe rerouted 2 and 3 slightly. That would have allowed for one more or two more int he woods. It just would have been more balanced.

4) #4 is just a bad hole in my opinion! Almost like it had to be throw in or something. It would be ok if the landfil was finished with turf or something but because there are weeds, stone, etc it just isn't a likable hole.

5) Tee signs would be helpful and signage pointing you to the next hole in a few locations.
Other Thoughts: This was the third course I played in MN. I started at Kaposia and North Valley the morning before. Obviously this doesn;t compare to Kaposia, but it was a very likeable course overall. A couple of small changes would make this course a lot better but the fundamentals are there for a great course. I want to give it a 4 ranking but I can't so I am going with a 3.5! Very enjoyable 3.5 however!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Half-Finished Masterpiece

2-4    6/8/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One cool thing about this course is its variety. It has terrain, super long holes, several hilltop drives and a few challenging wooded holes thrown right in the middle. This course will stretch you. I used every disc in my bag last time, and was missing some that weren't.

Apparently this course was professionally designed as 18 or 27 holes, so i guess you could compare it to a partially-finished painting. Looking at it this way, its an outstanding half course, and screams potential for much more if ever expanded. Maybe not its designer's masterpiece, but were it completed, it would no doubt be a work of art.
Cons: The only thing it lacks is water. You could call this a compliment, but if this course were 18 holes, I would be out here alot more often. Which is sad, since there is plenty of space to expand up to at least 18, and I know they do for the sundog leagues.

The dirt pile/landfill? on one of the earlier holes is also kind of an eyesore, and a real shame on a course that is otherwise quite pretty
Other Thoughts: On last hole, watch out for the road, discs like to skip off it into the pond beyond.

Overall a very good course, four holes away from being great.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.