Disc Golf Store
St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN 
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #10
4 / 570ft.   4 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Winter Review

2-4    11/17/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 79  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This review was based on 2 winter rounds so the first pro i will list is shoveled tees! I play a lot in the winter and have huge respect for those who shovel tees at their local courses!
-Very easy to find with just a quick read of the directions on this site.
-Great course map, both on site and online.
-Long and short tees on every hole.
-Nice tee pads, great baskets.
-Beautiful course design! One of the best "balanced" courses i have ever played. *It does not favor Lefty's or Righty's. I found myself using forehand and backhand equally. .*Great pin placements meant even most approaches seem to have both options. *About half the holes were more open and half more technical through the woods.*A good mix of longer and shorter holes, and excellent use of elevation.
-Even under a layer of snow it was easy to see the level of landscaping that had gone into this course. Very impressive for a non pay-to-play.
Cons: -Not much in the con department from what i saw.
-I had come map in hand due to previous reviews mentioning this course could be hard to follow. I can say that those reviews must be a little old or i was just lucky to come play after they had installed a great network of "Next Tee" signs. Navigation was easy.
-Hole 17 could be a challenge in the winter, it being a nicely polished toboggan hill. Besides potential tobogganing traffic...just hope your drive or approach shots don't flip upside down and slowly slide ALL the way down the hill. (like mine did :p)
Other Thoughts: This course was very challenging yet still very inviting. It will challenge even the best of players, and with the short tee option, shouldn't intimidate newer or intermediate ones. It was such a beautiful course that i would happily spend entire days here if i lived in the area. Maybe the best non p-t-p course i have played but will reserve that judgement until i come back in the summer. :)
**For now i would say the locals here are lucky, and this is a great place to get your fix or keep up your skills during the winter!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great city course

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: krupicmd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started playing this course when it was a 12 hole course. More holes were put in to make this a full 18 hole course and improvements are still continuing to be made on this course- very nice to see.

The course itself has a good mix of long, challenging holes, some shorter technical holes, and a couple ace runs- still tough to get- #12 and #14 (other holes can be aced, but these two are the easiest to). The course is mixed with about half of the holes tighter and in the woods, and the other half more open. There are 3 legit par 4s (#7, #8, #10)- even pros can't get in putting range from the 1st shot. Water comes into play on holes #1 and #12 and (pending the amount of recent precipitation) #10.

The course does not favor a forehand thrower or backhand thrower- if you have both shots, you will use them equally. A few holes have varying relief- mainly #18 and #17.

There are a couple bomber holes on this course- 400+ ft holes that are fairly open, but placement is still important for your approach shot. The course is unique, and there are still holes I haven't figured out after playing the course 20+ times.

Signature Hole- #18 -big downhill shot from atop a mound- 325 ft- perfect finishing hole

Tee pads- nice big tee pads, with padding off the tee pad for your follow through- I haven't seen this on any other course. It's nice.

Great maintenance and work put into the course- I wish all courses were similar in this regard. And this isn't even a pay-to-play course.

Landscaping- Rock landscaping around some of the pins and tee pads- woodchips on most greens with a 10 m circle cut around the pins on the holes- also a huge plus.
Cons: Views aren't the best- looking onto baseball diamonds and parking lots- what do you expect from a city course though?

Crowds- The course can get crowded- its biggest Con.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up and Coming Course

2-4    6/6/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my new favorite courses. Many of the tee pads are brand new and they are starting to put in erosion control and wood chips around the greens, which is nice to see. The front 9 offers a variety of relatively open holes, while the back 9 consists of mainly open holes in the woods. The back 9 is definitely more technical and requires some accurate drives. There is also water on several holes and constant elevation changes throughout the whole course, which add even more technicality to the course. There are plenty of birdie opportunities on this course as well.
Cons: The course is quite busy and some of the holes are a little tight together, especially on the first several holes, which can lead to a log jam as people have to wait for others to throw on separate holes.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't believe when I went back and played this course this summer. Considering that it is not pay to play, the course is in awesome condition and appears to be continually improving. I can't imagine how awesome this course would be if it was pay to play, it would also hopefully keep some of the crowd off of the course. Lakewood Hills is an awesome course with some cool features and a lot of variety when it comes to hole selection and layout. Overall, this makes for a very interesting, fun round and it's really not all that difficult, so you can definitely have some low scores while playing here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very impressive!

1    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice mix of open and wooded with a natural progression from open to wooded as the round goes on
-Nice, long concrete tee pads
-Garbage cans & benches at nearly every hole
-Dual tees on most holes
-Good signage that includes the shot shaping required, par, distance, and direction to next hole
-Fairly good erosion control throughout with wood chipping (some holes in the woods could probably use more though)
Cons: -No convenient bathrooms on the course
-Because it's good (and free) the course can be quite busy
-There are ponds on two holes, but it requires a pretty lousy shot for them to come into play, this is a little bit of a missed opportunity
-It's not too hard to find your way, but there is a little bit of a walk in between several of the holes
Other Thoughts: First off, I was quite impressed with this course as a whole. It is a very well taken care of course. These are some of the best tee pads I've ever played on, Blue Ribbon Pines included. There is a decent amount of wood chipping for erosion control throughout. The course was surprisingly clean, as busy free courses tend to have a lot of riff-raff at them and consequently more litter... that was not the case here. There are garbage cans & benches at nearly every hole which I would assume help greatly with littering.

The course flows from mostly open field holes with a few obstacles to some rather tight wooded holes starting around hole 9. The course also ends with two more open holes. There is a nice variety of shot shaping required as well as a lot of elevation changes throughout. There are no extreme elevation changes here, but plenty of variety. There is also a decent mix of distance throughout the course as the shortest is somewhere around 165' and the longest is darn close to 600'.

The City of White Bear Lake has put a good amount of effort into this course and it shows. It is easily one of the best, if not the best, free course I have been to in the Metro area. I don't have a lot of courses left to visit in the area, so I'm comfortable in saying that this is one of my favorites in the area. This course is worth a visit and is a good destination course during a day of disc golfing. I didn't need a map the first time, but it may be beneficial to print one off if you don't have the chance to follow a group playing in front of you as I did. I will definitely come back to this course even though it is 30 miles away for me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Really nice course

1    3/30/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: joshyjosh00
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I havent played in about 15 years and I found this course quite challenging and really fun. I only played at acorn which totally changed for the bad but thats a different review. This placed was packed today people lining up at the first tee but then that was also the problem. Really good selection of holes and different shot selections. i was really impressed on how nice the people i ran into where.
Cons: I mentioned the long wait at the first tee. I am a avid ball golfer and one nice thing about the more expensive courses are the players and their care towards the course. I ran into a lot of teens just hanging out being more in the way than anything else They were also just combing the lakes for free disc. I had a really hard time finding hole 10 and finding myself out near the apt building. Hole 17 is a weird and difficult shot but leads you up to a great view with 18. MAPS MAPS MAPS I wish there were maps. I realize that cost money but donations could be awesome or a concession stand. Watch your step when your in the woods. I stumbled on about 20 sawed off stumps. Could be some nasty falls.
Other Thoughts: If nothing maybe put a kiosk out there so we can donate money to the upkeep and improvement on these courses. Or even donate material to the sign making or we can keep spray painting hole numbers. Overall...I would definitely come back. The tees are really beautiful with gravel and raised concrete. Great job white bear lake

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course with major improvments.

1    8/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakewood is a fantastic and well kept park. I don't think the previous reviews reflect the quality of this course. With a redesign and major landscaping work this place is pretty cool. It has water, elevation, open, and heavy woods.

The tee pads are pretty awesome. They are plenty big. I have never seen a course with the diamond pattern around them. There is a diamond screen laid on the ground and filled with small gravel. It looks great and eliminates errosion.

The fairways in the open were mowed nicely and the wooded holes were very clean.

Awesome catching baskets. Chainstars are great.

They were not complete but on many holes they had the 10 meter circle marked and were going to fill in the circle with wood chips.

3 pretty nice par 4's that are tough to get your 3. Those are holes #7, 8, & 10.

The course starts and finishes strong. Hole #1 plays across the water onto a sloped green.
#18 is a very fun finishing hole. You play from the top of the hill with the road backstopping it. Great hole!

Some very interesting wooded holes with elevation coming into play.
Cons: Navigation was pretty difficult in a few areas. Some signs would make this much more enjoyable to play.

I could tell they were still working on the course in a few areas. Once complete this place is going to be sweet!
Other Thoughts: Lakewood was our final course before heading home. We had played 10 courses in the 3 days prior. I was heavily fatigued after playing Minneapolis/St. Paul best course. This course got me pumped up to finish out. It was fun! Make a trip and stay a week in the area. It has some of the best courses i've played. Great grouping of courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/23/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Apes of wraith
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all open, wooded, long, short mostly right but some left. The use of the elevation change here is perfect on hole sixteen you shoot over a valley and through some woods and into the open. Every time I come here these days it seems they are making this course better they added landscaping rocks around almost all the tee boxes and a few boulders around some of the greens.
Cons: Confusing to newcomers ask somebody most of the people that play here will gladly point you in the right direction. A little foolery and groups of morons not playing the course in correct order. One occasion of a poacher picking up my disc even after I told him it was down there and let him play through because his group was 1 person smaller than mine I ran him down and got it back.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on hole eighteen if you shoot RHBH you can turn a disc over right at a playground full of kids if you hyzer too much to the left there is a nasty swamp that is sure to prolong your round quite a bit if you toss one in there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    7/21/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 49  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Gorgeous course with mowed "fairways", long grass "rough", and wood chip "greens"
- Great use of elevation, especially hole 18 - pictures and videos don't do it justice
- Except for hole 10, every hole was very par-able, but also challenging.
Cons:
- The wooded holes weren't as nice, and the mosquitoes were bad
- Standing water on a few holes
- I can see why they call it "Leftwood", several dog leg right holes
Other Thoughts:
For the first 8 holes and the last 2 holes, I felt like I was on a real golf course, or at least one designed for disc golf. Minnesotans may be crazy for enduring an 8 month winter, but they know how to do a disc golf course the right way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/11/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Nice technical course
- Mix of different throws and distances
- Great baskets and wood chips
- Has some great elevation shots
- Partly wooded and partly open
- Nice fairways
- Not too many bugs for a wooded course
Cons: - Could lose a disc in the thick woods
- Needs better signs
- Susceptible to standing water after rain
Other Thoughts: Got turned around in the course and didn't know where to go first time I played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recently expanded to 18

5+    1/28/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakewood hills is a sprawling course set on some rolling hills in White Bear Lake, MN. It weaves in and out of the woods and up and down the hills. The course features quite a few doglegs to the right. RHBH throwers will need to throw a lot of anhyzers and straight shots. It's nicknamed "Leftwood".

The course has nice ample concrete tee pads. Most holes have both long and short tees.

A wide variety of terrain is used, presenting a diverse array of challenges. You will have to throw a few as far as you can, navigate wooded fairways, throw up and down hill, to the left, and to the right. A few holes are ace-able with a putter, a few are nigh unreachable for even the biggest arms. The long holes make for a challenging 3 and there aren't many <200' gimme 2's.

It's near a YMCA, 4 softball fields, and a picnic area. There is a working water fountain, bathrooms, picnic area, and a play ground next to the course.

On Sunday afternoons in the summer there is a league for just a few dollars. More info on the website.

There are reasonably nice wooden benches on the majority of the holes.

Nice baskets.

The course sees a low to medium level of traffic. Not much hassle involved with playing here. *Since the expansion a week ago, the traffic level during peak times has picked up a lot. Word of mouth seems to be bringing in a lot of first timers*
Cons: The course is not easy to navigate. There is little to no signage and the way it's laid out doesn't flow very naturally. Get a map or ask someone to show you the way. * I don't consider this to be a big detractor but, this problem is now even worse with the new holes. They flow pretty well, but the course is even harder to navigate now. Expect hoppers who play the course in the wrong order*.

There used to be bag holders on a bunch of holes but people have broken them all and vandalized the benches.
Other Thoughts: Lakewood was recently expanded to 18 holes by combining old 10 (651) and 11 to form a long, wooded, challenging par 4, and adding in 5 new holes. The new holes are tightly wooded and add another dimension to Lakewood. Bumping my old score of 3.5 up to 4.0 to account for the new layout. Great course for Eastsiders.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.