St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #17
3 / 259ft.   3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A great city course

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: krupicmd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started playing this course when it was a 12 hole course. More holes were put in to make this a full 18 hole course and improvements are still continuing to be made on this course- very nice to see.

The course itself has a good mix of long, challenging holes, some shorter technical holes, and a couple ace runs- still tough to get- #12 and #14 (other holes can be aced, but these two are the easiest to). The course is mixed with about half of the holes tighter and in the woods, and the other half more open. There are 3 legit par 4s (#7, #8, #10)- even pros can't get in putting range from the 1st shot. Water comes into play on holes #1 and #12 and (pending the amount of recent precipitation) #10.

The course does not favor a forehand thrower or backhand thrower- if you have both shots, you will use them equally. A few holes have varying relief- mainly #18 and #17.

There are a couple bomber holes on this course- 400+ ft holes that are fairly open, but placement is still important for your approach shot. The course is unique, and there are still holes I haven't figured out after playing the course 20+ times.

Signature Hole- #18 -big downhill shot from atop a mound- 325 ft- perfect finishing hole

Tee pads- nice big tee pads, with padding off the tee pad for your follow through- I haven't seen this on any other course. It's nice.

Great maintenance and work put into the course- I wish all courses were similar in this regard. And this isn't even a pay-to-play course.

Landscaping- Rock landscaping around some of the pins and tee pads- woodchips on most greens with a 10 m circle cut around the pins on the holes- also a huge plus.
Cons: Views aren't the best- looking onto baseball diamonds and parking lots- what do you expect from a city course though?

Crowds- The course can get crowded- its biggest Con.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Up and Coming Course

2-4    6/6/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my new favorite courses. Many of the tee pads are brand new and they are starting to put in erosion control and wood chips around the greens, which is nice to see. The front 9 offers a variety of relatively open holes, while the back 9 consists of mainly open holes in the woods. The back 9 is definitely more technical and requires some accurate drives. There is also water on several holes and constant elevation changes throughout the whole course, which add even more technicality to the course. There are plenty of birdie opportunities on this course as well.
Cons: The course is quite busy and some of the holes are a little tight together, especially on the first several holes, which can lead to a log jam as people have to wait for others to throw on separate holes.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't believe when I went back and played this course this summer. Considering that it is not pay to play, the course is in awesome condition and appears to be continually improving. I can't imagine how awesome this course would be if it was pay to play, it would also hopefully keep some of the crowd off of the course. Lakewood Hills is an awesome course with some cool features and a lot of variety when it comes to hole selection and layout. Overall, this makes for a very interesting, fun round and it's really not all that difficult, so you can definitely have some low scores while playing here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/24/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a pretty crowded city park, there is a pavilion at the start, a walking path by a few holes, some baseball fields, so there might be some spilloff onto the DG course. Shouldn't be major interference, but it's possible.
- Back half of the course is set in a wooded section of the park, which have some of the more interesting holes. The highlight is #10, a tight multi-shot hole with two hyzer routes off the tee, around trees on the left. It is important to finish left here, as the next shot has lots of trees on the right side to get around. Some water on the right halfway as well. Tough hole. A bunch of other holes need good accuracy, like a RHBH anny on #9, a RHFH flex line on #13, a hyzer around some water on #12, and some very straight shots on #14 and #15. #16 is another tougher hole, a valley shot through a gap that ends out of the woods.
- Most other holes are out in the open, with trees here and there to make things tough. The tricky holes also use dense rough to force lines, like a dogleg right on #6, and a much longer and tougher 557' dogleg right on #7. #8 is another bomber, a slight uphill hyzer off the tee, with a downhill valley finish around a huge tree. Some other cool shots like a blind hyzer on #2 and a blind anny on #4.
- Some healthy elevation changes on a few holes, like a downhill shot on #11 with a blocked RHBH hyzer line, a steep shot up a hill on #17, and the corresponding downhill bomber on #18. Good stuff. Some gentler ones are present in many other spots; like valley shots on #1, #5, #10 and #16. Downhill slopes on #2, #11, #12, #15, and uphill on #3, #6, #9, #13, and #14. A constant feature of the course, which definitely keeps it interesting.
- Decent amount of hazards here, with water present on #1, #10, and #12, that are all in play and definitely dangerous. Thick rough out in the open and some jail in the woods to get into, and also a few tricky basket placements like the pin on top of the hill on #17.
- Nice signs, good teepads, good baskets. Everything in good shape overall. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, like #3 to #4, and #8 to #9. Nothing too bad, but the map helps out.
Cons: - One of the biggest cons is a crammed layout by some holes. #2 and #3 almost share a fairway; since #2 is downhill it is very easy to shank shots right, directly in the business of anyone on #3. #5 also feels a little busy, between #2 and #8.
- Half of the holes here are pretty wide open, with maybe one or two trees to worry about. The elevation changes help out a lot to keep things interesting, but they're still just grip and rip shots.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty fun course that has a nice balance of wooded and open shots. Constant elevation changes in and out of the woods, and both long and short holes in each as well. A pretty good variety of lines, righty and lefty, with some tough doglegs and multi-shot holes. Definitely plays on the easier side, even with some tougher holes mixed in, very well suited to beginners or intermediate players. Worth checking out at least once, for any skill level.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very impressive!

1    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 21  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice mix of open and wooded with a natural progression from open to wooded as the round goes on
-Nice, long concrete tee pads
-Garbage cans & benches at nearly every hole
-Dual tees on most holes
-Good signage that includes the shot shaping required, par, distance, and direction to next hole
-Fairly good erosion control throughout with wood chipping (some holes in the woods could probably use more though)
Cons: -No convenient bathrooms on the course
-Because it's good (and free) the course can be quite busy
-There are ponds on two holes, but it requires a pretty lousy shot for them to come into play, this is a little bit of a missed opportunity
-It's not too hard to find your way, but there is a little bit of a walk in between several of the holes
Other Thoughts: First off, I was quite impressed with this course as a whole. It is a very well taken care of course. These are some of the best tee pads I've ever played on, Blue Ribbon Pines included. There is a decent amount of wood chipping for erosion control throughout. The course was surprisingly clean, as busy free courses tend to have a lot of riff-raff at them and consequently more litter... that was not the case here. There are garbage cans & benches at nearly every hole which I would assume help greatly with littering.

The course flows from mostly open field holes with a few obstacles to some rather tight wooded holes starting around hole 9. The course also ends with two more open holes. There is a nice variety of shot shaping required as well as a lot of elevation changes throughout. There are no extreme elevation changes here, but plenty of variety. There is also a decent mix of distance throughout the course as the shortest is somewhere around 165' and the longest is darn close to 600'.

The City of White Bear Lake has put a good amount of effort into this course and it shows. It is easily one of the best, if not the best, free course I have been to in the Metro area. I don't have a lot of courses left to visit in the area, so I'm comfortable in saying that this is one of my favorites in the area. This course is worth a visit and is a good destination course during a day of disc golfing. I didn't need a map the first time, but it may be beneficial to print one off if you don't have the chance to follow a group playing in front of you as I did. I will definitely come back to this course even though it is 30 miles away for me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Really nice course

1    3/30/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: joshyjosh00
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I havent played in about 15 years and I found this course quite challenging and really fun. I only played at acorn which totally changed for the bad but thats a different review. This placed was packed today people lining up at the first tee but then that was also the problem. Really good selection of holes and different shot selections. i was really impressed on how nice the people i ran into where.
Cons: I mentioned the long wait at the first tee. I am a avid ball golfer and one nice thing about the more expensive courses are the players and their care towards the course. I ran into a lot of teens just hanging out being more in the way than anything else They were also just combing the lakes for free disc. I had a really hard time finding hole 10 and finding myself out near the apt building. Hole 17 is a weird and difficult shot but leads you up to a great view with 18. MAPS MAPS MAPS I wish there were maps. I realize that cost money but donations could be awesome or a concession stand. Watch your step when your in the woods. I stumbled on about 20 sawed off stumps. Could be some nasty falls.
Other Thoughts: If nothing maybe put a kiosk out there so we can donate money to the upkeep and improvement on these courses. Or even donate material to the sign making or we can keep spray painting hole numbers. Overall...I would definitely come back. The tees are really beautiful with gravel and raised concrete. Great job white bear lake

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good holes, hard to follow

1    10/3/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with some park style areas and some wooded areas. The wooded holes offer some tight technical lines to hit, and enough trees and underbrush to make you work to recover from an errant shot. The park style holes offer wider grassy fairways with enough mature trees to make you think about shot placement, and occasional bushes or thick rough to contend with. There is some elevation, and it's used well to add some fun and challenge. The final hole down the hill is a lot of fun, and it's always nice to end the round on an empty your bag type hole.

There is good length variety, with some reachable shots and a few par 4 holes along with some other nice long par 3s that let you air it out a little more. Though there isn't a ton of hole shape variety, at least this course is unbalanced toward right turning holes unlike many courses. The concrete tees are nice and big, and the erosion control around the pads is an excellent solution for high traffic courses.

Cons: The signage is nonexistent, and the flow of the course isn't obvious at all. That makes it frustrating for first time players who will have to wander a bit to find all the holes, especially with a recent addition of 4 holes. It also means that on the handful of blind holes you'll have to scout ahead to figure out the length and shape of the fairway. There are a lot of right turning shots, and not a whole lot of left turning ones to balance it out and test a variety of line shaping skills. I'm not a fan of long grass rough that adds frustration and not challenge, and there are some areas of the course where the fairways are lined with it.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty challenging, with some legitimate par 4s and several other longer holes as well as some tight wooded shots that could be frustrating for less accurate throwers. More experienced players will find some really nice tests here, but the layout and navigation combined with some nasty disc eating long grass and rough could provide frustration at times for that set of players as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Leftwood Hills is OK

5+    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees, nice chainstar baskets. Good mix of open bomber and tight woods.
Cons: The newer teepads are set on top of the ground instead of dug in (although that may slowly be getting fixed) meaning there are some throws where going off the teepad is a drop off of like 10 inches. A couple of the new holes are very pinbally in that there is no real clear window through the trees, so you have to aim for one possibility and hope.

Weird layout, there are 2 baskets pretty near each other, and some weird walks. Feels like it could flow a lot better with a different layout.
Other Thoughts: Played here a few times when it was 14 holes, went out yesterday and played the new 18. The issues that made me not really care for it are still there, lots of right turns, as a forehand player it plays really well, but it gets old. The new holes need some trimming still, and the tons of small stumps in the woods is a trip and fall waiting to happen. The course isn't bad, it just isn't that good, I think a 3 is about right for a rating.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good free course

1    10/2/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 23  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a suburban city park with a mix of open and wooded holes. The course layout includes some elevation changes, with multiple blind shots over hills.

The park is nice, with a large parking lot and restrooms. The start of #1 and end of #18 are both near the parking lot, which is nice.

Most of the holes have benches, and some have trash cans. The long tees are nice large trapezoidal ones and are all flat. The short tees were all rectangular.

Even though the overall layout is nonsensical (see the cons list), the individual hole designs are nice. Except for having a lot of holes that curve right, there is a great diversity. I never got bored doing the same shot over and over again.

There isn't much underbrush in the woods, so finding stray discs is usually easy.
Cons: For a first timer, navigation is very difficult. Even with a map, it was sometimes hard to find the next hole (we got lost between 9 and 10). This course would benefit greatly by having more signage, but the layout is pretty nonsensical in the first place. The paths cross over themselves multiple times, and there's one spot with three baskets all next to each other.

Also the course designer included a lot of holes curving right (4, 6, 7, and 9) and none curving left. Being a LHBH thrower, I'm not complaining, but it does get a little repetitive.

There was also a litter problem in the park, with broken glass rampant in the wooded holes and some overflowing trash cans.

The wooded holes had a lot of 4" high stumps in the middle of the fairway which are very easy to trip on.
Other Thoughts: I didn't see any of the hooligans mentioned by the other reviewers. We went on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon, and while there were many groups playing, it didn't seem overcrowded.

If you are going for the first time without anyone who has been there before, definitely print out the map and consult it frequently.

It seems like there is a current effort to improve the course landscaping. Some of the tee boxes have a wire mesh around them with gravel, and there is some nice rock landscaping in a few places. Mulch is being placed around most of the front 9's baskets.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course with major improvments.

1    8/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakewood is a fantastic and well kept park. I don't think the previous reviews reflect the quality of this course. With a redesign and major landscaping work this place is pretty cool. It has water, elevation, open, and heavy woods.

The tee pads are pretty awesome. They are plenty big. I have never seen a course with the diamond pattern around them. There is a diamond screen laid on the ground and filled with small gravel. It looks great and eliminates errosion.

The fairways in the open were mowed nicely and the wooded holes were very clean.

Awesome catching baskets. Chainstars are great.

They were not complete but on many holes they had the 10 meter circle marked and were going to fill in the circle with wood chips.

3 pretty nice par 4's that are tough to get your 3. Those are holes #7, 8, & 10.

The course starts and finishes strong. Hole #1 plays across the water onto a sloped green.
#18 is a very fun finishing hole. You play from the top of the hill with the road backstopping it. Great hole!

Some very interesting wooded holes with elevation coming into play.
Cons: Navigation was pretty difficult in a few areas. Some signs would make this much more enjoyable to play.

I could tell they were still working on the course in a few areas. Once complete this place is going to be sweet!
Other Thoughts: Lakewood was our final course before heading home. We had played 10 courses in the 3 days prior. I was heavily fatigued after playing Minneapolis/St. Paul best course. This course got me pumped up to finish out. It was fun! Make a trip and stay a week in the area. It has some of the best courses i've played. Great grouping of courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements Being Made!

1    7/20/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course certainly starts out impressively enough at # 1, with it's extra large concrete teepad with the steel grating around it. And then you have the landscape rock outlining the bench and garbage can. Wow! On later holes, the parks dept. was out with heavy equipment building up basket areas and/or teepad areas. What great support you players get here from your parks and recreation people! Remember to thank them when you see them working in the parks. I'll give this this course another half point on it's rating just for their great support.

The holes through the woods are tight forcing you to hit your lines.

# 18 is a masterpiece here and would be on any course. At 345' downhill, it's a great finishing hole but what I really liked about it was, it's not just a "grip it and rip it" throw. It has a window there, it's fairly large, but it still makes you think about it.

Cons: Navigation was not easy for me playing alone the first time. It didn't seem to follow a natural path. This course could benefit from some next tee signs.

And there are an abundance of anhyser holes here. Lefties who are always complaining should find a little happiness here.

Playing on a hot, broiling day I guess I missed the crowds, including the disc-stealing vandals.
Other Thoughts: Nice mix of open and wooded technical holes here. Some excellent engineering work being done by the parks dept.?? (I think). It's nice to see a course that's being upgraded and improved upon instead of the many that I see that are slowly falling into dis-repair and decay.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.