St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN 
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #18
3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Designer Notes

5+    7/24/2011   7/11/2009
Review By: Cgkdisc
Played: 633  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: The 18 holes are finally in and looking good with cement tees and landscaping inspired by Bryant Lake. Rating up to 4.

Original Post:

This course was originally designed as 18 with five additional holes to be cleared in the woods (holes 10 & 11 was being designed as a long par 5). Unfortunately, those have still not been approved after all these years but there's hope. That's a key reason why the routing isn't as clear as it should be. In addition, we were forced to flipflop holes 2 & 3 so the new gravel path was more visible for safety. Although thre's more than enough property for at least 18 holes, the Park Dept does not want to use any more space in the open for disc golf and in fact would really prefer it if holes 13 & 14 weren't there due to winter sledding. That's why they haven't put cement tees on those two holes yet.

I agree with several reviewers that this could be an awesome course with 4 more holes with cement tees and better signs. But sometimes things are out of the control of the designers and volunteers. At least you now have the background and apparently there's still hope for the future from what we're hearing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Windy but fun

5+    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good balance of open and woody holes. Lots of elevation changes, and some nice turns. Had the longest hole in the Twin Cities for a while. You'll want to throw a bunch of times on the last hole off the top of the hill. Usually the park is not very busy.
Cons: Random vegetable garden in the middle of holes 2/3. Lots of wasted space. That bulldozed area in the center of the park has been that way for at least 5 years now. Plus there's about 5 billion acres of land unused other than a token picnic bench here and there. Never once in several dozen visits have I ever seen any of them used other than the one close to the last hole and the pavillion by the parking lot. Why can't we have 18 holes here? It's ALWAYS windy at this park. No matter what.
Other Thoughts: Underwent a remodel a few years ago that I thought made it worse. The layout was always super-confusing, and the new one doesn't make much more sense than the old one. Plus, they significantly shortened the long hole, turning it from a par 5 to a 4.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It Made me come back!

2-4    6/21/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mixture of holes. Wooded, clear, marsh, short, long, elevation change. It makes for a fun day.

Some courses are just too easy, and others have no possibility of being played well, but this one offers rewards to those who make good shots, and I like that in a course.

Many holes have different length's which allows you to tailor the course to your ability.

Also, the last hole has is up on a big hill. It's fun just launching the disc and watching it fly.
Cons: It is hard to navigate the course the first few times, and even after playing it a couple of times I would have a hard time finding my way around.

I got close to nailing a little kid on the last hole once because it is close to a playground (not sure if that should be a pro or con!)
Other Thoughts: Give the course a shot, it's a fun one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best 14 hole course I have played!

1    4/25/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 901  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Fairly beginner friendly (no real places to lose discs at least).

2) Awesome variety on this course. It has everything. A carry over or past a marshy area (and up into the woods). A couple of fairly open holes where ripping a driver is a possibility. Even the open ones have some character though with some holes bending right and a few bending left. Baskets tucked around corners or on sideslopes that can lead to rollaways. Then you head into the woods for some technical shot making. Forced fairways but you do have some throwing options on these holes. Then you leave the woods and finish with an easy birdie chance on #12, a massive uphill/sidehill throw to the top of a massive hill. Then, you get to throw right back down that massive hill to a basket that is fairly open, but the wind and terrain account for some difficulty. #14 is a great hole despite its simplistic design.

3) Nice duel (on most holes) concrete teepads (with the #'s painted on the concrete) allow for a different course on many of the holes.

4) Baskets are in good condition except #11. Basically it looks liek a basket from the teepad but when you get closer it is just basically lathe hanging down, and if you hit the lathe it is in the basket I guess??

5) Garbage baskets on the course and overall that shows with a fairly clean course.

6) High level of maintenance. Turf is good in almost all spots which is always a plus compared to the compacted soils/bare turf on many of the older courses.
Cons: 1) Very poor layout in terms of finding the next hole. #2 shoots out of the woods into the open, then you backtrack 180 degrees from where you came on #2. Then you walk through the woods you ended on #1 and behind #2 tee.I actually played #1, 2, and found 5 tee so I played from there and only then did I figure out where #3 and had to search for #4 too. It is not obvious where #4 tee is either, so that can be confusing.

2) #11 basket is unique, but I would prefer to actually throw into a basket!

3) I think the property could have been used better, in terms of layout (#2, 3, 4) and use of the wooded area. I would have omitted #4 completely and maybe rerouted 2 and 3 slightly. That would have allowed for one more or two more int he woods. It just would have been more balanced.

4) #4 is just a bad hole in my opinion! Almost like it had to be throw in or something. It would be ok if the landfil was finished with turf or something but because there are weeds, stone, etc it just isn't a likable hole.

5) Tee signs would be helpful and signage pointing you to the next hole in a few locations.
Other Thoughts: This was the third course I played in MN. I started at Kaposia and North Valley the morning before. Obviously this doesn;t compare to Kaposia, but it was a very likeable course overall. A couple of small changes would make this course a lot better but the fundamentals are there for a great course. I want to give it a 4 ranking but I can't so I am going with a 3.5! Very enjoyable 3.5 however!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    2/20/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: jonas
Played: 38  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety to this course, great use of hills, woods, and some water can come into play (#1 and #14)

You start out with some easier holes, but then you work your way into holes where you will need to air it out and eventually work your way into the woods.

The last two holes make the course really unique. On your way up the hill you wonder who designed this thing, but once you reach #14 you see why you had to come up. Great way to finish the course.
Cons: Every now and then the course get busy and there are bottle necks around the course.

Signs to where the next hole is would be very helpful. If a first timer it is extremely easy to get lost.

The hole on #11 was stolen last fall, but they seem to have found an OK replacement.
Other Thoughts: It is only 14 holes and they could build up to 18. I have played this course more than any other and I still find new challenges every time I play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More than it seems

5+    6/29/2008   2/24/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 86  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 30.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course designed for the advanced player. This course will test the distance of your drives and the accuracy of your teeshot.

14 holes starting over a dry swamp, moving into a more open field, into the woods at hole 9, back out into the open at hole 12, finishing with a tougher than it looks downhill on 14. The holes are consistently fun to play but they will make you work for par. The terrain changes as well as the use of trees/bushes will make sure you don't stick to your usual 3 disc round.

You will find the teeboxes in pretty good shape and there is reasonable signage. The fairways have been mowed well every time I have been there.

The design is fairly classic Minnesota, putting together many elements frequently seen on local courses. It will reward the lefty or rhfh thrower with several holes made just for then
Cons: Some of the fairways in the field area are very near each other. I found the flow confusing at times. They did put up extra signs in places to help with this but a map would be smart the first time you go.

There is a fenced garden in the middle of holes 2 and 3. I have been there when gardeners are present so look before you drive.

If it had a few more holes, and there is plenty of room for that, it would be a more frequent destination for me and a course worth targetting if you were in town for a week or 10 days.
Other Thoughts: Parking is very good with Hole 1 near the lot. There is also a playground so bring the kids.

I rarely find lines to play this course and it is long enough that 1 or 2 times through makes for a good day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the other 4 holes?

5+    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: edrift101
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lakewood Hills is a great 14 hole course with lots of variety. The elevation changes constantly and there's a ton of room to really stretch out your arm - especially on holes 7 and 8.
Cons: The layout it a bit confusing - especially the jump from hole 3 to 4. So, bring a map the first time you play here.

No water holes - hole 14 doesn't count.
Other Thoughts: There's talk of adding a couple more holes in the wooded section of the course, which would be a VERY nice addition.

Also, I really hope that they replace the new "basket" on Hole 11 with another Chainstar in the near future.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/30/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The reason I gave this course a 4 is because it has so much that it throws at you. For starters, it has a variety of shots that are in the woods and if you get off track a little, you're going to have to get really lucky to par. Then there are three holes, number 4, 6, and 9, where you can't see where you're throwing too, with 6 and 9 being relatively severe anhyzers with heavy woods. Holes 7 and 8 are two long holes that are very tough to par. Along with all that, there are elevation changes on most holes. Water only comes into play on 14, and that's if you get a little carried away.
Cons: This course would be significantly better if they added 4 more holes to it as well as some signs to show newcomers where to go. Also, losing a disc on number 2 or number 4 is quite likely, being that there is some sort of hill with knee high brush all over it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in the making

2-4    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are some nice holes which present a challenge to beginners and advanced disc golfers alike.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation change on this course and most of their isn't a lot of trouble as the course is fairly wide open.
Other Thoughts: First tee indicator along with the rules of disc golf for newbies would be a good idea.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Half-Finished Masterpiece

2-4    6/8/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 137  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One cool thing about this course is its variety. It has terrain, super long holes, several hilltop drives and a few challenging wooded holes thrown right in the middle. This course will stretch you. I used every disc in my bag last time, and was missing some that weren't.

Apparently this course was professionally designed as 18 or 27 holes, so i guess you could compare it to a partially-finished painting. Looking at it this way, its an outstanding half course, and screams potential for much more if ever expanded. Maybe not its designer's masterpiece, but were it completed, it would no doubt be a work of art.
Cons: The only thing it lacks is water. You could call this a compliment, but if this course were 18 holes, I would be out here alot more often. Which is sad, since there is plenty of space to expand up to at least 18, and I know they do for the sundog leagues.

The dirt pile/landfill? on one of the earlier holes is also kind of an eyesore, and a real shame on a course that is otherwise quite pretty
Other Thoughts: On last hole, watch out for the road, discs like to skip off it into the pond beyond.

Overall a very good course, four holes away from being great.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.