St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN 
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #6
3 / 219ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun free course

5+    8/19/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best free courses I have played. A good variety of holes, elevation and a bit of water, combined with long, short and medium holes.

Some challenging holes and a few ace opportunities.
Cons: The course is not super compact and doesn't flow quite as well as great courses do, with a couple holes requiring a fair walk to go from basket to the next pad.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun Course

5+    4/21/2016   4/21/2016
Review By: C.M.L.J.
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This Course has a great design and it's very fun to play at.
-Great Wooded area and Open field tees it also has a uphill tee that are at 17 and 18.
- Benchs and garbage cans around almost every tee.
- 3 Par fours
- well maintained course

Cons: - Can get crowded in the summer.
- High school track team run on the course some times.
- Can get very muddy.
- hole 1 can be a pretty bad water hazard after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: It's a great free course I would put it on the top 10 in Minnesota.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Championship Course!!

1    4/6/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: mjz22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: FUN!! Challenging with great variety of different approaches, distances, obstacles, and elevations. Excellent course design!!
Cons: crowded (what else can you expect from an awesome course that's FREE), quite a few golfers on this course could learn some golfing etiquette (taking 3 mulligans at the tee when you have two groups standing right behind you waiting)
Other Thoughts: I would sure love to try this course again - hopefully it won't be as crowded.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    3/15/2016   3/16/2016
Review By: Hazard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The course area is quite large with a wide variety of holes, from open field holes, to holes in the woods along with different levels of elevation.
2. Long concrete tee pads. Long and short available on most holes.
3. Baskets are in good shape.
4. Relatively easy to find your way from hole to hole.
5. Course is maintained well.
6. Lots of parking.
7. Tee signs that show you the lay out of the hole are pretty accurate.
8. Trash cans and benches at most holes.
9. Close to the Twin Cities.
Cons: 1. Course is usually busy on nice days.
2. During the summer they have lots of baseball games there, so parking on those days might be difficult.
3. During the summer and fall there is a lot of foliage off the fair way, so it may be hard to find your disks if you have a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a great course for Intermediary players. The mixture of open fairways, the woods and changes in elevation makes you have to think about the throws you make. If you are in the twin cities and are looking for a course to play, this wouldn't be a bad one to hit. Hole #18 has you throwing from atop a large hill to a basket down below, which is a great way to end such a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Extremely fun and challenging course

1    9/12/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 249  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course in a multi use park in St. Paul.

Discraft Chainstar baskets, all in good repair, and caught well. No issues here. One pin position per hole.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Two tees per hole (on most holes). Some were showing some wear, but they were generally long and grippy, and played well.

Lots of up and down here. Not severe elevation, but enough to make you change up shots. Ends with a really nice ski hill type Top Of The World shot.

Lots of nice signage, and tons of "Next Tee" type signs made navigation here extremely easy.

Wonderful diversity of shots here. I don't often use the phrase in reviews, but you definitely have the opportunity to "use every disc in your bag" here. From short, technical 200' holes, up to long 500' legit par 4's...and everything in between. Even the open holes tended to have some sort of challenge. An excellent job was done to avoid repetitive holes, as well.

Free to play! With so many great P2P courses in the area, it's a bit surprising this is free, at least for now. Plenty of parking, as well...and brick and mortar bathrooms to boot.
Cons: No water. Not a biggie, IMO, but worth mentioning.

Only one pin position per hole isn't great, and there seemed to be options, for at least a large amount of the holes.

As mentioned above, some of the tee pads could use some cleanup.
Other Thoughts: Based on some of the standalone features, this course would usually rate a 4.0 by my standards...but sometimes you walk away from a course with a giant smile on your face, and it just feels good. Lakewood was that sort of place for me. As an Int player that throws around 350-370', I had an absolute blast here. From what we were told, they've done a ton of work here (see: long wooden bridge on hole 1), and it shows.

This was definitely the biggest surprise of our weekend in the Twin Cities, and if I get back, I'm definitely playing it again. Don't let the current rating fool you...this is a gem.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course.

1    6/27/2015   6/27/2015
Review By: Rotala
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Consistent teepads. My first time playing the course was met with excellent signage for hole information and where the next tee box is located.

The difference from the front 9 to the back 9 is amazing. Open shots on the front and tree punishment on the back 9.

Elevation changes were nice to see compared to flat courses.
Cons: Trash in some areas, but typical of a free to play course.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people playing today, which is nice to see.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Winter Review

2-4    11/17/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This review was based on 2 winter rounds so the first pro i will list is shoveled tees! I play a lot in the winter and have huge respect for those who shovel tees at their local courses!
-Very easy to find with just a quick read of the directions on this site.
-Great course map, both on site and online.
-Long and short tees on every hole.
-Nice tee pads, great baskets.
-Beautiful course design! One of the best "balanced" courses i have ever played. *It does not favor Lefty's or Righty's. I found myself using forehand and backhand equally. .*Great pin placements meant even most approaches seem to have both options. *About half the holes were more open and half more technical through the woods.*A good mix of longer and shorter holes, and excellent use of elevation.
-Even under a layer of snow it was easy to see the level of landscaping that had gone into this course. Very impressive for a non pay-to-play.
Cons: -Not much in the con department from what i saw.
-I had come map in hand due to previous reviews mentioning this course could be hard to follow. I can say that those reviews must be a little old or i was just lucky to come play after they had installed a great network of "Next Tee" signs. Navigation was easy.
-Hole 17 could be a challenge in the winter, it being a nicely polished toboggan hill. Besides potential tobogganing traffic...just hope your drive or approach shots don't flip upside down and slowly slide ALL the way down the hill. (like mine did :p)
Other Thoughts: This course was very challenging yet still very inviting. It will challenge even the best of players, and with the short tee option, shouldn't intimidate newer or intermediate ones. It was such a beautiful course that i would happily spend entire days here if i lived in the area. Maybe the best non p-t-p course i have played but will reserve that judgement until i come back in the summer. :)
**For now i would say the locals here are lucky, and this is a great place to get your fix or keep up your skills during the winter!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 27  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A free 18 hole course what more can ya really ask for?
- This course is well maintained, grass in the rough is about knee high which made it a pain to find a few discs off some bad drives. (My fault obviously)
- Lots of elevation changes, some great landscaping all along the course was great to see.
- Wasn't very crowded today, a good amount of groups were both in front and behind me but I didn't have to wait very long to tee off when I caught up to the group in front of me, which was nice to get a quick 18 in after work.
- Some of the best tee pads I have seen for a free course, extra padding around the pads for your follow through.
- Some very challenging holes, at least for me on this course which made it fun to play on!
- Front 9 were on rolling hills and nice and open to soak up the sun before you head to the back 9 that run through the woods.
- A few nice ace runs throughout the back 9, came close to nailing 2 of them, but took a birdie instead!
- Huge skatepark at this park as well, for those of you who skate, it looked pretty flooded today, so I am not sure if they really manage the skatepark as much!
- Very easy to find right off 694 and White Bear Ave.
Cons: - If your going to play this course, make sure you bring bug spray, once I hit hole 3 it started to get buggy and didn't let up whatsoever, once I got to the back 9 it was miserable, bugs all over the place, hard to focus on your shot when your ankles are getting bit up left and right
- Very confusing layout if it's your first time out, I got lost after hole 3 and couldn't find hole 4 till I ran into someone coming to play hole 2, needed to ask where the hell is hole 4?
- Was a little flooded on some holes that don't always have water, but we have had a good amount of rain the past few weeks.
- A lot of walking paths cut right through the fairways, which was a pain had a ton of walkers that I needed to wait on to get through so I could throw.
Other Thoughts: - Some signage directing you to the next hole would be nice besides just on the tee pads of previous holes, quite confusing layout.
- Fairways were nicely cut at normal grass length, but edges were rough, maybe spend a little extra time and cut those down a bit, can be a pain looking for a disc in that, with all the blind holes!
- Other than that I couldn't complain to much, hopefully I will get back out there for the league they have every Sunday!
- I will defiantly play this course again and again, just a little bit of a drive for me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great city course

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: krupicmd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I started playing this course when it was a 12 hole course. More holes were put in to make this a full 18 hole course and improvements are still continuing to be made on this course- very nice to see.

The course itself has a good mix of long, challenging holes, some shorter technical holes, and a couple ace runs- still tough to get- #12 and #14 (other holes can be aced, but these two are the easiest to). The course is mixed with about half of the holes tighter and in the woods, and the other half more open. There are 3 legit par 4s (#7, #8, #10)- even pros can't get in putting range from the 1st shot. Water comes into play on holes #1 and #12 and (pending the amount of recent precipitation) #10.

The course does not favor a forehand thrower or backhand thrower- if you have both shots, you will use them equally. A few holes have varying relief- mainly #18 and #17.

There are a couple bomber holes on this course- 400+ ft holes that are fairly open, but placement is still important for your approach shot. The course is unique, and there are still holes I haven't figured out after playing the course 20+ times.

Signature Hole- #18 -big downhill shot from atop a mound- 325 ft- perfect finishing hole

Tee pads- nice big tee pads, with padding off the tee pad for your follow through- I haven't seen this on any other course. It's nice.

Great maintenance and work put into the course- I wish all courses were similar in this regard. And this isn't even a pay-to-play course.

Landscaping- Rock landscaping around some of the pins and tee pads- woodchips on most greens with a 10 m circle cut around the pins on the holes- also a huge plus.
Cons: Views aren't the best- looking onto baseball diamonds and parking lots- what do you expect from a city course though?

Crowds- The course can get crowded- its biggest Con.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Up and Coming Course

5+    6/6/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my new favorite courses. Many of the tee pads are brand new and they are starting to put in erosion control and wood chips around the greens, which is nice to see. The front 9 offers a variety of relatively open holes, while the back 9 consists of mainly open holes in the woods. The back 9 is definitely more technical and requires some accurate drives. There is also water on several holes and constant elevation changes throughout the whole course, which add even more technicality to the course. There are plenty of birdie opportunities on this course as well.
Cons: The course is quite busy and some of the holes are a little tight together, especially on the first several holes, which can lead to a log jam as people have to wait for others to throw on separate holes.
Other Thoughts: I couldn't believe when I went back and played this course this summer. Considering that it is not pay to play, the course is in awesome condition and appears to be continually improving. I can't imagine how awesome this course would be if it was pay to play, it would also hopefully keep some of the crowd off of the course. Lakewood Hills is an awesome course with some cool features and a lot of variety when it comes to hole selection and layout. Overall, this makes for a very interesting, fun round and it's really not all that difficult, so you can definitely have some low scores while playing here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.