St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN 
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #10
3 / 270ft.   4 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

5+    7/23/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Apes of wraith
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all open, wooded, long, short mostly right but some left. The use of the elevation change here is perfect on hole sixteen you shoot over a valley and through some woods and into the open. Every time I come here these days it seems they are making this course better they added landscaping rocks around almost all the tee boxes and a few boulders around some of the greens.
Cons: Confusing to newcomers ask somebody most of the people that play here will gladly point you in the right direction. A little foolery and groups of morons not playing the course in correct order. One occasion of a poacher picking up my disc even after I told him it was down there and let him play through because his group was 1 person smaller than mine I ran him down and got it back.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on hole eighteen if you shoot RHBH you can turn a disc over right at a playground full of kids if you hyzer too much to the left there is a nasty swamp that is sure to prolong your round quite a bit if you toss one in there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    7/21/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 60  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Gorgeous course with mowed "fairways", long grass "rough", and wood chip "greens"
- Great use of elevation, especially hole 18 - pictures and videos don't do it justice
- Except for hole 10, every hole was very par-able, but also challenging.
Cons:
- The wooded holes weren't as nice, and the mosquitoes were bad
- Standing water on a few holes
- I can see why they call it "Leftwood", several dog leg right holes
Other Thoughts:
For the first 8 holes and the last 2 holes, I felt like I was on a real golf course, or at least one designed for disc golf. Minnesotans may be crazy for enduring an 8 month winter, but they know how to do a disc golf course the right way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/11/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Sargentgeneral
Played: 110  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Nice technical course
- Mix of different throws and distances
- Great baskets and wood chips
- Has some great elevation shots
- Partly wooded and partly open
- Nice fairways
- Not too many bugs for a wooded course
Cons: - Could lose a disc in the thick woods
- Needs better signs
- Susceptible to standing water after rain
Other Thoughts: Got turned around in the course and didn't know where to go first time I played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recently expanded to 18

5+    1/28/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakewood hills is a sprawling course set on some rolling hills in White Bear Lake, MN. It weaves in and out of the woods and up and down the hills. The course features quite a few doglegs to the right. RHBH throwers will need to throw a lot of anhyzers and straight shots. It's nicknamed "Leftwood".

The course has nice ample concrete tee pads. Most holes have both long and short tees.

A wide variety of terrain is used, presenting a diverse array of challenges. You will have to throw a few as far as you can, navigate wooded fairways, throw up and down hill, to the left, and to the right. A few holes are ace-able with a putter, a few are nigh unreachable for even the biggest arms. The long holes make for a challenging 3 and there aren't many <200' gimme 2's.

It's near a YMCA, 4 softball fields, and a picnic area. There is a working water fountain, bathrooms, picnic area, and a play ground next to the course.

On Sunday afternoons in the summer there is a league for just a few dollars. More info on the website.

There are reasonably nice wooden benches on the majority of the holes.

Nice baskets.

The course sees a low to medium level of traffic. Not much hassle involved with playing here. *Since the expansion a week ago, the traffic level during peak times has picked up a lot. Word of mouth seems to be bringing in a lot of first timers*
Cons: The course is not easy to navigate. There is little to no signage and the way it's laid out doesn't flow very naturally. Get a map or ask someone to show you the way. * I don't consider this to be a big detractor but, this problem is now even worse with the new holes. They flow pretty well, but the course is even harder to navigate now. Expect hoppers who play the course in the wrong order*.

There used to be bag holders on a bunch of holes but people have broken them all and vandalized the benches.
Other Thoughts: Lakewood was recently expanded to 18 holes by combining old 10 (651) and 11 to form a long, wooded, challenging par 4, and adding in 5 new holes. The new holes are tightly wooded and add another dimension to Lakewood. Bumping my old score of 3.5 up to 4.0 to account for the new layout. Great course for Eastsiders.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/6/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 77  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun long course. Some woods, some open, elevation used well. I liked the new holes in the woods but they still need some work. This course has everything. Long, Short, Right, Left, Up & Down. I have not played this course since last year and am excited to see what they have done with the new holes.

All the tee pads are in good shape.

The fairways were mowed.

The course has a decent flow. (New holes are a bit hard to find)

Challenging but would still be fun for beginners.

The park has something for everyone. Skatepark, Grills, Basketball Court, Playground.
Cons: Busy and confusing to find your way through the first time. There are pins and pads everywhere.
There was no signage when I was there and they could really use some.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: ahal09
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long holes make it fun to play, wooded areas give a nice challenge. It is a fairly nice course I have only played it twice but I do enjoy it.
Cons: Very popular course so there is some downtime between holes. I was there and since it is right behind the Y a bunch of little kids where playing in the woods so I elected to not play it. There are places that you could lose a disc very easily. The layout of the course is a little confusing if you are not familiar with it.
Other Thoughts: I like the course and will probably play it again

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/30/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: HighbridgeBound
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: COURSE UPDATE - Six new holes have been added in the woods as of 6/10. They do not have baskets, just chopped down trees fitted with wooden discs on top that have hanging pink sticks. Hit the sticks, it's in. They work for now, but most are now missing some, or most, of the sticks. They are also optional to play, so expect most groups behind you to skip them and hop in front on you as your group hacks through the woods. The first three, holes A, B, and C, are to the right in the woods after hole 1. The tee pads are dirt and hole A's tee pad is on a slope. Follow the cardboard signs and pink ribbons tied to trees and plants to find your way to hole B, which is to the left of the A target down the path and on the left. These first two are heavily wooded, and tough pars, despite hole B being 200-225' (maybe less, but it's slightly uphill). Hole C is the reason you play A and B. Downhill, 250' with trees lining a 30' wide fairway. Beautiful. Ace time. Exit the woods and continue to hole 2. After you reenter the woods on hole 9, take a path to the left of the target to play D, E, and F. Again heavily wooded with a little elevation to shoot over/across on D and F. Targets on E and F are half-destroyed.
Now to review the rest! The open shots use elevation well and a couple dog legs will test your sanity. Hole 7 is a massive right dog leg with woods at the joint, and hole 8 is longer and straight from the pad to target, but it plays like a slight left or right depending on your drive due to the trees and bushes in the fairway. The wooded holes with baskets are great, and hole 14 off the hill is an esteem-lifting birdie opportunity.
Cons: It's getting more and more crowded as the Acorn crowd and refugees from pay courses are discovering it, but playing it in the morning, early afternoon or evening will likely make for a pleasant and smooth round.
Other Thoughts: Lakewood has some of the most variety of any course in the metro. From wide open bombs to finesse shots through tight woods to elevation fun, this course has a bright future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    4/19/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: playmaka3000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a good mix of holes on this course, left and right, short and long, most of the holes are failry open but a few go into the woods, bad shots wont punish you on this course, you will almost always have a shot to make par,
Cons: most of the holes dont challenge your shot making ability, meaning that even if you throw a few wayword drives you can make up for it with a pretty simple 2nd shot
Other Thoughts: this is a fun course to play, its fairly open so you can just let a few go and see what happens with out a hole lot of consequence if you dont throw it well, the final hole is a real fun shot from the top of a hill.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Still one of my top 3

5+    11/19/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 33.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very cool looking long holes, lefty and righty holes, a little bit of everything out there. A couple of my favorite holes are at Lakewood.
Cons: Signage could be better, a couple of the woods holes are hang out spots for trouble makers
Other Thoughts: This course is so under rated. It is a true diamond in the rough and well worth playing

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lakewood Hills Review

5+    10/15/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: drscholl14
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: www.lakewoodhillsdg.ning.com

Has some of the best variety in the state. Wooded holes, open holes, short, long, shaped holes. good elevation for MN, baskets are in great shape. Tee pads on 12 of 14 holes.

Lakewood Hills DG League every Sunday starting early May, 2 00PM, Reg opens at 1 30.

Pros: $5+1 optional Ace Pot (Cash Payouts)
Ams (adv/int):$3 +1 optional Ace Pot (payouts through Fairway Flyerz DG Outfitters)

18 hole layout, CTP every week.
Cons: Limited signage (however we have some bag holders that have hole #s on them now). Only 14 holes, which we are in talks with the city to expand and have been working to eradicate the buckthorne in the woods to see what we have to work with. The punk kids that break things and trash the course (which we do our best to clean up)
Other Thoughts: Myself and a groups of Disc Golfers are diligently working to better this course. Our future plans include, wooden retaining walls on 1 and 11 to save the hills that the baskets are on. More signage, and of course, 4 more holes. Also, hole 11's basket has been replaced with another Chainstar.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.