St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN 
Lakewood Hills Share
Uploaded By: keepDGobscure Hole #10
4 / 570ft.   4 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 More than it seems

5+    6/29/2008   2/24/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 85  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 29.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course designed for the advanced player. This course will test the distance of your drives and the accuracy of your teeshot.

14 holes starting over a dry swamp, moving into a more open field, into the woods at hole 9, back out into the open at hole 12, finishing with a tougher than it looks downhill on 14. The holes are consistently fun to play but they will make you work for par. The terrain changes as well as the use of trees/bushes will make sure you don't stick to your usual 3 disc round.

You will find the teeboxes in pretty good shape and there is reasonable signage. The fairways have been mowed well every time I have been there.

The design is fairly classic Minnesota, putting together many elements frequently seen on local courses. It will reward the lefty or rhfh thrower with several holes made just for then
Cons: Some of the fairways in the field area are very near each other. I found the flow confusing at times. They did put up extra signs in places to help with this but a map would be smart the first time you go.

There is a fenced garden in the middle of holes 2 and 3. I have been there when gardeners are present so look before you drive.

If it had a few more holes, and there is plenty of room for that, it would be a more frequent destination for me and a course worth targetting if you were in town for a week or 10 days.
Other Thoughts: Parking is very good with Hole 1 near the lot. There is also a playground so bring the kids.

I rarely find lines to play this course and it is long enough that 1 or 2 times through makes for a good day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the other 4 holes?

5+    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: edrift101
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lakewood Hills is a great 14 hole course with lots of variety. The elevation changes constantly and there's a ton of room to really stretch out your arm - especially on holes 7 and 8.
Cons: The layout it a bit confusing - especially the jump from hole 3 to 4. So, bring a map the first time you play here.

No water holes - hole 14 doesn't count.
Other Thoughts: There's talk of adding a couple more holes in the wooded section of the course, which would be a VERY nice addition.

Also, I really hope that they replace the new "basket" on Hole 11 with another Chainstar in the near future.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/30/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The reason I gave this course a 4 is because it has so much that it throws at you. For starters, it has a variety of shots that are in the woods and if you get off track a little, you're going to have to get really lucky to par. Then there are three holes, number 4, 6, and 9, where you can't see where you're throwing too, with 6 and 9 being relatively severe anhyzers with heavy woods. Holes 7 and 8 are two long holes that are very tough to par. Along with all that, there are elevation changes on most holes. Water only comes into play on 14, and that's if you get a little carried away.
Cons: This course would be significantly better if they added 4 more holes to it as well as some signs to show newcomers where to go. Also, losing a disc on number 2 or number 4 is quite likely, being that there is some sort of hill with knee high brush all over it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in the making

2-4    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are some nice holes which present a challenge to beginners and advanced disc golfers alike.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation change on this course and most of their isn't a lot of trouble as the course is fairly wide open.
Other Thoughts: First tee indicator along with the rules of disc golf for newbies would be a good idea.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Half-Finished Masterpiece

2-4    6/8/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 136  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One cool thing about this course is its variety. It has terrain, super long holes, several hilltop drives and a few challenging wooded holes thrown right in the middle. This course will stretch you. I used every disc in my bag last time, and was missing some that weren't.

Apparently this course was professionally designed as 18 or 27 holes, so i guess you could compare it to a partially-finished painting. Looking at it this way, its an outstanding half course, and screams potential for much more if ever expanded. Maybe not its designer's masterpiece, but were it completed, it would no doubt be a work of art.
Cons: The only thing it lacks is water. You could call this a compliment, but if this course were 18 holes, I would be out here alot more often. Which is sad, since there is plenty of space to expand up to at least 18, and I know they do for the sundog leagues.

The dirt pile/landfill? on one of the earlier holes is also kind of an eyesore, and a real shame on a course that is otherwise quite pretty
Other Thoughts: On last hole, watch out for the road, discs like to skip off it into the pond beyond.

Overall a very good course, four holes away from being great.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center