Roxboro, NC 
Sasquatch DGC Share
Uploaded By: tnscboy Hole #3 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Lesser of the Beasts

1    11/2/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sasquatch may be the lesser of the two monsters in the Roxboro are, but that's no slight. Sasquatch shares the same wonderful terrain and scenic beauty as Rockness. (if far fewer rock outcroppings) And if it doesn't have as much umph in its general design, it has a few different tricks up its sleeve.

The best trick that Sasquatch is hiding is the water. There are three legitimate carries and each brings its own charm. 2 allows for a safe shot by cutting across the smaller section of water and then playing on land from there. 3 offers no such solution. It's straight across a section of water to a steep hillside. (Though some brush should prevent a roll back into the water) 17 is the gem of the course though. Tee is on the edge of the lake. The basket is on a long peninsula 200 feet and change out from the tee and a few dozen feet to the left. The well placed throw that sails out over the water and fades onto the land, right next to the tee will be memorable indeed. It's a fantastic way to close out the course.

Sasquatch also boasts some of the best tee signs that I've seen, with a ton of information and the hole map drawn onto the stomach of the course's namesake monster. The best part? On the signs for the water crossings, the Sasquatch is standing in water.

Other than that, Sasquatch takes page from Rockness and not in a bad way, or the most part, these are fine wooded holes that offer tight, challenging fairways with a decent amount of elevation from time to time.
Cons: I like natural tees in theory, but I've seen flatter natural tees than these. Occasionally, I teed off from a slightly different spot if it was flatter and free of loose rocks/divets. And of course, only the white set has that awesome set of signs. I played whites, but I can see how people might struggle to locate the reds or blues precisely.

What does take it down a notch below its cousin to the south west is the holes that are in the power line corridor. They aren't poor holes or anything, but Rockness doesn't have anything so basic. 18 in particular, is a bit anticlimactic after the fantastic 17. Still, a better tee off situation would make this course a full four stars in my mind.
Other Thoughts: Combined with Rockness, Sasquatch makes an awesome day trip. Sasquatch might be slightly the lesser, but these two beasts make a killer combo.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

It's a Samsquanch, Ricky!

2-4    4/13/2013   4/14/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with a lake. The tee signs are awesome, cute little sasquatch dude and very informative. Three tee locations, red, white, and blue, if I recall correctly but this review is mostly from a white perspective (cuz that's what I played, sucka). Not bad variety, you have some fairly open holes sprinkled here and there but mostly technical woods holes and of course the lake comes into play on ~4 holes. The wooded holes are generally on the shorter side but fairly designed, hardly much pinball action unless you aren't very good at disc golf (hey, we were all bad once). Not crowded at all, we might have been the only people playing there on a lovely Saturday afternoon (the park was packed otherwise). It flows alright, the white tees aren't too much trouble to locate, just look for the Sasquatch signs and benches. Pretty sure there was a bench at every white tee.
Cons: Specifically, the tees are very natural and rutted right now, bummer. When you're praying for a perfect shot over the lake so that you don't lose your disc, you really really want a smooth teepad. Speaking of the lake, hole 2 is frightening. You have two different baskets to throw at but neither one is much disc losing hazardous than the other. One is on a peninsula (not bad, I like it) the other on the bank and behind a barrage of big trees so if you don't hyzer over the lake just so and throw too straight you can easily kick back into the water.

For the holes being no longer than they are, it seems like you do as much walking between holes as you do actual playing and a lot of feels like you're going uphill all the time. Strange.

Biggest complaint is that the course plays over and along lots of trails and park roads. The trails didn't look very popular but still. Discers beware of others.

A couple of tee signs had the basket position in the wrong place. No biggie. Not intuitive at all where you start the course. The transition to hole 17 is long and semi-confusing. The first few baskets are old and beat to hell.
Other Thoughts: Still though, this is a really fun course. Reminds me a lot of Lake's Edge (Reidsville). Some concrete tees would greatly boost the fun factor. Bring some throwaway discs for a few holes, a Roc and an Eagle for example.

Update: This course just isn't being played enough to keep nature at bay on the fairways. Poison ivy abounds and until they get better tees it's going to sit under a 3 disc rating for now.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not quite there yet

1    1/21/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic park that has elevation and water mixed throughout. Lots of potential here. Course seems very balanced. New baskets on 90% of the holes. Designed to have dual tee pads whites/blues. Situated in a very developed clean park area with restrooms and camping available.
Cons: Navigation I think comes into play here especially if you are trying to play the blues. There are "next" tee signs fastened to the baskets but they only point you to the white tee pads. The blue tee pads are hard to find and in bad shape. Hole 2's blue pad had a tree 2 feet of the ground where you couldn't even tee from it. The fairways for the blue tee pads are really rough and boarder on the edge of unplayable. It would be nice if all the tee pads whites and blues had a better tee "box" area. 3-4 of the holes utilize "walking trails" I don't know enough about the park to know how busy these trails are but it would have been nice to see them design around that.
Other Thoughts: I played this course from the blues and white tee pads by myself for the first time. From the whites the course is playable and a good time can be had here with fair lines that will challenge most levels. From the blues the course flow is challenging with longer than expected complicated transistions from basket to next tee pad only to arrive at a more primitive tee pad with an even more impossible/raw looking fairway. This course needs more time to open up and a fix some navigation issues after that I can see my rating going up a whole point. Lots of potential here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bigfoot's course

2-4    12/25/2012   12/25/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - Two layouts here and for the most part it really changes up the difficulty of the course. The white tees give you a pretty good short technical course with no overly difficult shots; even newer players would have fun on the whites.

The blues add more length, make you shape the disc quite a bit and on more than one occasion force you to hit an early tight gap. A lot more risk/reward from the blues in that you can try to bite off more on some of the longer wooded holes but it can punish you. The water is in play from the blues as well and while none are long water carries the danger is there.

Overall the course combines a lot of technical wooded golf with a lot of elevation change and a few more open holes in the mix. The course is well balanced in that holes move from left to right and right to left. It also mixes in some more open fairways under power line's and in a field.

The greens here are tricky and fast in some places. A lot of them tail off the end of the fairway left or right and make you work the disc towards the end of the flight.

Equipment - Most of the baskets are new and good. There are hole number's on posts in the color of the tee. Good signage showing you the way around the course and to the next tee.
They added in some neat Sasquatch foot prints around the course that add a nice touch.

Atmosphere - Really awesome land for a course by the lake. Nice views when you're by the water and rolling wooded hills. Solid park overall with some other amenities. I was virtually alone out there and it was nice but it's Christmas so I'm not sure how much traffic is there on the norm.
Cons: Layout - There are some holes where the angles seem to harsh from the blues. I think some trimming back on the fairways in a few places is necessary.

Some holes are close to walkways and areas you might run in to other park goers. Not sure if it's really an issue but be mindful.

There are a couple of holes that seem a bit forced, though it may be just the mediocre nature of those holes juxtaposed against some of the better ones.

Equipment - Natural pads and here something more permanent is necessary. A lot of the tees are on uneven ground and makes footing difficult. There are a few places where you tee from a walking path.

The first few baskets are older and kind of warped. There's no signs showing distance, hole layout and basket location which is a problem because there are more than a few blind shots even in the winter.

The next tee signs on the baskets are nice but they all point towards the white tees, another for the blues would be helpful because on occasion it's hard to locate.

Atmosphere - Most of my complaints here are from the new nature of the course. There's a ton of 2" tall little stumps everywhere you'll step or trip on because they're hidden in the leaves. Off the fairways it's thick, this place needs some wear. A lot of briars and prickly holly trees about the course as well.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential and with some more work and time for the course to wear in I foresee me going back and bumping this course up.

I wish the lake was incorporated more than it was, the course starts off with water holes and makes you think you'll get a lot of more of that than you do.

This one gives the Roxboro area another solid course and imo this one tops Rockness. I endorse people to make a trip of it to play both in a day.

EDIT: After going back and playing the course again and looking at shots from both pads I recommend an All-Star layout for two reasons. 1. Some of the natural blue tees are very uneven and loose. 2. Some of the white tees are just funner.

Whites - 2, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 18
Blues - 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17

(note: I'm not sure which pin 2 white plays to but in my preferred layout it would play to the peninsula basket.)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sweetness

1    10/20/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes set in a nice little park along the shores of a pretty little lake. What's not to like there? This course is new, and will surely improve as it gets tweaked, and played.

Right now the pads are all natural, but play OK. The highlights of this course are the beautiful woods and rolling hills it has available. Almost every hole plays through the woods or along the lake. There are a few open holes that use the power line easement or a rare field for a fairway, but be prepared for wooded, technical golf if you come here.

There are a couple well designed holes along the lake and over some small inlets, but water carries are not long or too difficult. There are also alternate pads if you wish to avoid the water altogether. That's a good option so as not to scare away newer players.

Basket positions are well done. The lake and hills are used well to add fun to most holes, and to add some risk as well.

Good mix of lefts and rights. No obvious favoritism towards BH or FH.

New baskets (except first couple!) with next tee sign attached. Plus there are some arrows pointing to the next tee where things can get a little confusing.
Cons: No signs or tee pads yet.

Not a lot of length. If you want to throw huge drives this is not your place.

Would have liked to see more lake views or dramatic water shots. But, as with any park, there were probably limitations.

Walking path and road come in to play several times. This is one of my pet peeves. With this much land it would be nice to eliminate any interference from other park users you can.
Other Thoughts: I will try to update my review after I have played this course again. It is very new, and still needs some love. Right now it looks like it is going to be a super fun, technical course with a few cool water shots to spice things up. I think #3 is a great hole. You must tee of from the woods and throw through a short tunnel out over a small lake inlet to a basket located on a hill side across the water. You get woods, water and a hill all in one hole. Even if you make you shot, there is some roll away risk. Fun hole, that is well done.

This course is also in a great little park with trails, picnic areas, a boat launch, and if I remember correctly, camping. There are also several good courses within a 30 minute drive so IMO this will be a great weekend road trip destination. If you get a chance make sure you put Sasquatch on your wish list. It will be worth your time.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    10/19/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting off I like to let everyone know what Im personally looking for in a course. I love the scenic aspect of disc golf (this includes boulders, lakes, wildlife, and plantlife- I do study horticulture). With that being stated, I rate a course based on a combination of the scenic factor and the overall course aspects (this includes layout, fairway lines, divesity of holes, and amenities)
Great lines that are really fair considering how new this course is
Very scenic lines both over the lake and through the mixed hardwood/pine hilly forests you play through
DISCatcher baskets and with more play/traffic the natural tees will begin to become more and more flat
Cons: A very few holes play under/through the power line right of way. While this could be viewed as a pro giving you a chance to air it out a little, the underbrush the pops up in these places usually consits of brambles/thorns when they are not able to bushhog it, catch it after it has been mowed and not an issue at all really.
Other Thoughts: In combination with the scenic holes (all 3 over the lake and several ones through the woods) and layout of both the fairway and course this place stacks up exactly to a 3.75 in my opinion, being optimistic I will rate it a 4
In combination with the Rockness Monster, the Sasquatch has made Roxboro a great mini-day trip from both the triad and triangle area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Getting Better

2-4    10/23/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: grhomes
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of available scenery. Water in play on a few holes, many open and wooded shots, good amount of hyzer and anhyzer lines, including a few must-overheads. Baskets have markers showing you in which direction the next tee exists.
Cons: Very, very fresh. Stumps/uneven terrain are an issue on just about every "pad". A few lines are a must throw, not much of an alternate path is available.
Other Thoughts: With 15 volunteers and a weekend of work, even without teepads, this course could breach the 4 range. There are areas that need serious grooming, and areas that could use a tree or two less. I would note that it is certainly better to make a course harder than envisioned and simplify it in the future as compared to try and make a course easy and then toughen it (Thanks Matt G.) There is room on this course, with concrete pads, better signage, and some decent cultivation, to become a definite 4.5. There have been chains added to baskets that needed them, and some fairways have been better-cleared.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brand new layout

1    10/4/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: tnscboy
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lot of variation, elevated shots, water hazards, loads of trees. Pin placement is really good. Good mix of anhyzer and hyzer shots required. Both long and short holes on offer. Bunch of holes where water comes into play forces you to play carefully.
Cons: Signage is lacking. Tees have 'next tee' signs, but there is just a number on both the blue and white tees. No indication of where the basket is, how long, or anything else. No benches or trash cans, but course is brand new.
Other Thoughts: Course was just recently installed, so further improvements are likely. Mayo Park is going through a lot of changes to bring in new people and this course is just one of many improvements. I love the terrain, hills, valleys, lakes, and woods. One of my new favorite courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.