Mt. Berry, GA 
Log Cabin Course Share
Uploaded By: joshtheninja  

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Pretty setting, don't hit the deer!

1    7/18/2015   11/11/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: Beautiful course on a private college campus. Though they have a gatehouse you are usually welcome before 7pm and have access to the course(also the course at their mountain campus).

Hiking trails, roads through the woods for biking etc.

It's overall a beautiful place and great to get away from the hustle of the city.

The baskets are not new, but in good shape and well balanced.

The layout is mostly pastoral and falls over rolling hills and though the holes are not particularly long the are well thought out and interesting.

It's a fun play for sure in a nice setting. I would take a half day to play this course, the Winshape 9 and then hike and tour the old churches or hike to the reservoir.
Cons: Navigation; you see baskets around, but there is no signage directing you to the start or which tee is next.

The tees are natural and only marked in number by a small flat square paver in the ground. Which though beautiful it's not very useful, and in the words of Tony Wilson,"nothing useless can be truly beautiful".

As I said earlier it's a bit short and the shots only vary as much as the land lets it, and for a GA course it's not at all wooded.
Other Thoughts: Great place to spend a day in nature, but probably bring a guide. I don't think a first timer could easily navigate alone.

The first hole starts by the stairs of the log cabin chapel, which is kind of cool. I played here while my wife was at a wedding rehearsal and it was a pretty good diversion.

Will be playing again.

 Very good course

2-4    7/17/2014   9/9/2014
Review By: Huntsville_TM
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is kept in good condition because it is in the middle of a college campus.
Baskets are in good condition.
Cons: Some pins incorrectly marked. The tee markers are difficult to see because they are just square stones level with the ground.
Other Thoughts: This course has been redesigned in recent years. Some of the pins are mislabeled because of this. However, the course is laid out on a beautiful college campus. It requires a lot of walking but the scenery is wonderful. There are wild deer roaming around the course and campus.

Tee markers can be difficult to find. They are just flat stones laying on the ground which makes it easy to mow around I suppose. There are many open holes but a few of them have enough trees to create some obstacles. Several holes feature elevation changes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: doddworley
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Beautiful setting and abundant wildlife. Course in good shape. Pretty much wide open.
Cons: Nothing technical here.
My main reason for the low rating: it is very confusing due to not tee markers, and no basket markers. I was pretty much just looking from the very small tee pad at five different baskets and throwing at one of them. It was very frustrating to play here. Not recommended at all

 Nice course.

2-4    8/6/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: gbbiv
Played: 131  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Beautiful campus and surroundings. Decent baskets. Cool tee markers. Not used that much.
Cons: Kind of tough to find your way around the course. No tee pads. It was really challenging that they didn't have the basket in the right holes... meaning the numbers didn't match the tee marker that was pointing at the basket... after some walking around I think I figured most of it out.
Other Thoughts: I'm very new and really enjoyed the course once I found my way around. Not sure it would be all that challenging for more experienced players. But there is another 18 on the back half of the campus so making the trip seems well worth it.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.