Newport, OR 
Wilder DGC Share
Uploaded By: joy4all Hole #8 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 290ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Unique

1    5/29/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: jjp016
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Awesome forest setting. Not crowded at all. Pretty clearly marked. Definitely challenging.
Cons: Dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Very unique course in heavily wooded evergreen forest. Tons of dropped trees along the way in addition to massive ravines adding not only a technical challenge, but a physical challenge as well.

Wilder DGC - Oregon Coast's First 18 Hole Course!

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Located on the Oregon Coast on an old logging property, Wilder DGC is 18 holes of rugged beauty! Mostly tight and technical, this disc golf course requires precision and at times, power. There are a few open holes along the road but for the most part, the course plays along pathways through the dense forest. Par for the course is 56 due to the two par 4's (#10,#16), with holes ranging from 212 - 458 ft (w/ exception of 123 ft hole #9). Informative tee signs along with the new DISCatchers help to navigate although there are multiple blind shots that will require scouting the hole out first! Over time this course will become one of the better courses in the state but for now it still needs work off the fairway. Be sure to print off a map ahead of time as well to help with navigation. They do have a nice kiosk near the practice basket/hole #1 but a hard copy never hurts.

Favorite Hole(s): Hole #2 - a technical 235 ft ace run with a high risk/reward due to the tight lines and steep ravine off to the right. Hole #6 - a 247 ft shot with a tight fairway forcing players to make it through the uprights toward a blind pin tucked off in the trees to the left. Hole #8 - a 290 ft shot with a huge risk/reward due to the large ravine on either side of the pin. The hole trails from left to right along the spine of the hill, requiring a lot of skill and some luck!
Cons:
This course is still quite rugged on and off some of the fairways, with tons of dense underbrush and ravines that can be unforgiving. Some of the holes like #15 and #18 have little to no fairway, making laying up quite difficult. The steepness in a few areas like hole#9 can be a bit treacherous as well. Especially, when it rains so be sure to wear good hiking shoes and be ready for anything. Due to the overgrowth in some of the areas, locating the next tee can be tricky too at times but the club does a good job trying to make it as easy as possible for first timers by using next tee markers on the yellow bands of the baskets. Last, gravel tee pads might be an issue for some although I had no issues. However, they could begin to loosen up and erode over time but for now they are perfect.

Least Favorite Hole(s): Holes #15 and #18 due to being so overgrown.
Other Thoughts:
This course was the highlight of my trip from a disc golf standpoint, offering beautiful scenery and a great challenge. Although there were a few issues with the course, as mentioned earlier, the local club/designers have done a terrific job with this coastal gem. While here for the first time, I was fortunate enough to hit my first ace in the state of Oregon as well! I threw a Star TL down the middle on hole #6, smashing directly into the chains dead center. Good times.

NOTE:
Rogue Brewery is within minutes of Wilder and is the perfect place to end up at after a fun round through the woods. It has great food (I had the Reuben) and excellent micro brews. In order to get to either or you first walk through where the beer is made. Pretty epic and the growlers are well priced!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get Wild

5+    7/24/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: Rakoz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: - Moderate length
- Good use of elevation and space (you'll be surprised how close many of the holes are to each other).
- Gorgeous views
- Gorgeous Forest
- Like Hiking and Discing all in one.
- Active club plays often, works fairly often
- Weather plays big role. Beautiful days = easy pars
-AT THE COAST
- 2 other courses now in area.
- You get a lot of exercise going up and down those ravines.
-Instant Replay Sports collects wayword discs. They give you $1 off if you bring in a found disc (and an additional $2 if your a club member).
Cons: -Even moderate disc traffic can't keep fairways clean.
- HEAVY foliage eats discs.
- Spotters nearly required for some holes
-Weather plays big role. Rough days = even easy holes turn to bogeys.
- Gorge-eous. As in Gorges. HUGE Canyons. Eats Discs
Other Thoughts: Get ready to go a little wild and crazy or don't come play. High risk, high reward course with really no ability for course mastery! High Re-playability. My new home course since moving to the coast.

Wicked, but Great Course

1    7/26/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Draekane
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Intricate, difficult, and highly challenging course due to the landscape of the course. Lots of ravines, trees, brush, etc... A power-thrower is not going to have a lot of advantage here over an accuracy thrower.
Cons: LOTS of brush. As the description says, spotters are HIGHLY recommended. Almost lost discs three or four times and was just lucky enough to find them. Also, helps to be in pretty good shape as climbing up and down ravines can be tiring.
Other Thoughts: Don't use dark or earth colored discs. I would recommend BRIGHT colors for this course to help make them easier to spot. If you are throwing brown or black discs on this course, just assume you are going to lose a few of them.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wilder DGC Is A Wild Experience!

1    5/28/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in Newport, OR on the coast, Wilder DGC sits in what is a quintessential example of an Oregon coastal forest. The terrain is gouged with deep ravines, ferns and moss cover everything, while most of the course plays under a canopy of towering Douglas Fir trees. The forest floor has that lush, softness to it that makes for such a pleasant hike.
The course itself is first class starting with the course map at the beginning. The signs are great with a hole map, distance, par, hole # and sponsor's name. The natural tee pads, except one, were very smooth and level and just blended in with the entire forest experience. The Discatcher baskets with the bright yellow band are not only easy to spot but they have the hole # and a large black arrow pointing to the next pad. This really helped me playing the course for the first time solo.
Course designers used the ravines very creatively. Although not terribly long, the sometimes technical fairways, constant elevation change, blind basket placements and ever present forest of trees provide for a challenging experience for the average disc golfer.
A couple of holes I really enjoyed were # 7. It's a 247' toss across a deep ravine. The visible yellow basket is cleverly set atop a small but very fairly steep little mound. You must have a accurate throw off the tee here as it's quite tight. Very pretty.
# 9 is very short, just 123', across a very deep little ravine. An ACE run, easy birdie indeed, but any errant throw could have you throwing your second shot from a very uncomfortable position, possibly way down below, for sure.
Cons: The natural tee pads were all level and smooth except for the # 10 hole where the course starts to double back to the beginning. # 10 is 448' and the tee is set low. Most players need that extra run-up here and consequently the natural pad has been torn up quite a bit.
# 18 features the strangest Mando. I looked at the arrow repeatedly to make sure I was reading it correctly. The Mando arrow forces you to throw LEFT, which is the most direct line to the current basket placement. I threw left and ended up with a gimee birdee. If the Mando arrow made you throw RIGHT around the tree, the hole would be much more challenging.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to putt when your heart is beating 225 times a minute. I felt like a Olympic Biathlon competitor after huffing it up and down and sometimes to the bottom of all these ravines. It is a major cardio workout.
The course is a recreational challenging course. True, it's not a great course to take beginners to and Pros/Advanced players won't find the overall challenge here. But for the average recreation player, this is a well done, beautiful and enjoyable course. Just another stellar course for Oregon's already impressive stable of courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wilder-not only a name

1    9/14/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: adiscted
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First 18 hole on the Oregon coast
Only 2 or 3 similar holes
Awesome use of land
Good challenging holes
Beautiful area
Calorie burner ;)
Cons: LOTS of underbrush-still very young and needs some beating in
Spotters absolutely nessacery on many holes
Lots of steep ravines loaded with bushes and downed trees right off the holes and some fairways
No other courses nessacerily close by to hit after or before
Other Thoughts: NOT FOR BEGINNERS! If you're still learning how to control a disc's flight and learning what makes a disc do what it does, you will either lose plastic or spend A LOT of time searching. I personally loved this course, it can be unforgiving, but for what it is and where it's at, it's beautiful! I don't think I'll be making the drive to the coast just for the course again, but make sure to check it out if you're in the area cause it is definitely bound to be one of the best in oregon with some time and traffic to give it more open fairways and hazards.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

2-4    8/5/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
Pros: This course is young and already has a great foundation for a epic disc golf experience. Wilder is one of the very few Oregon coast DGCs and has done a great job in setting the bar high. The signage is on point and accurate for the most part. The holes are fun and creative. This course really has a good variety of hole types as well. Baskets are marked with the next tee direction which makes navigating easier. The scenery is what makes this course shine, awesome mossy stumps and steep moss covered ravines, top notch location in my book.
Cons: This course is young and you could loose plastic if you are not careful. I would suggest beginners taking only putters so they can stay in the fairways...or not play the course at all. The ravines are steep and very dense in places. Trash cans need to be placed, as I could not carry all the trash I found out. Some tees and paths to tees put you blindly in front of another tee.. not huge deal, but could result in confusion or injuries.
Other Thoughts: This course is what RISK/REWARD is all about! Fun, Fun, Fun if you play smart. Not fun at all if you are gunning for the ace on every shot and not thinking about your surroundings. I LOVE this course and would love to have a course like it as my home course. This course will only get better with time and I can not wait. Way to go Wilder and yes you are Wilder than most. Cheers.

One of the hardest short courses I've played

1    7/13/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: hugheshilton
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Finally a course on the Oregon coast!
- Excellent tee signs
- Challenging
- Very technical with lots of finesse required
- Very woodsy feel, beautiful environment
Cons: - No cement tee pads. The current pads are gravel, which is not bad, but it's not as good as cement.
- Course needs to be beat in a bit. Also, it could use some work parties to clear away LOTS of fallen trees all over the fairways.
- Very easy to lose discs. Absolutely bring a spotter.
Other Thoughts: I played here by myself, which is a bad idea in retrospect. Probably half the tees are blind (you can't see the basket), and many have ravines and canyons lining or in the fairways. Most holes are relatively short (in the 225 - 300 foot range) and I could easily reach them distance-wise, but I found myself often throwing shorter shots that I could see land just to avoid losing discs. The ground is absolutely thick with stumps, old trees, ferns, etc. Between that and the canyons and blind tee pads, it's very easy to lose discs. If you're going to go for it on most of these holes, you must have at least one spotter. I spent probably an hour of my round looking for discs and still ended up losing one.

All of that said, I really enjoyed this course. It's beautiful with lots of elevation. It's requires lots of finesse, and rewards you for picking your lines carefully. I do wish I had had a spotter, because I could have gone for it on a lot more holes. It can be punishing because of the canyons and rough ground, but the trees and undergrowth aren't so thick that it's ridiculously hard to throw out of the rough like on some courses. Overall, this is a good course that should get better over time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not for first timers

1    4/25/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: xbombtrackx
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for people who are pretty good
Cons: Bad for first timers
Other Thoughts: I really wanted to try Disc Golf and was super stoked to go play, this was the first course I played. This course is not beginner friendly. Gave it a 4 out of 5 for the people who are decent players. Wear Boots. Use bright colored discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Extreme!

1    5/18/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Ski'ndisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Should be classified as "Extreme"
Great location! Coastal forest in a "very" natural setting.
Good layout, signage is excellent
Challenges you both physically and mentally.
Within a few miles of the Rogue Brewery!!
Will make you appreciate open flat courses!
Cons: Possibly a bit too challenging for many players, otherwise I would've rated it higher on the natural setting alone. Dense undergrowth, trees and numerous steep ravines make a spotter a must, and will test your physical condition.
By the end of the round you wont even consider what kind of disc or throw to make on a hole, you simply just want to make a throw that you can find easily!
Other Thoughts:
This was our 5th course on tour of 10 Oregon courses and it was by far the most difficult and challenging. Being a relatively new player made this round very tough, but I believe most experienced players will be humbled here as well.
Tree's and blind shots are part of the game, but even with a good spotter it took a considerable amount of time to retreive and throw my next shot due to the nature of this course, not a quick round course!
If you want a unique playing experience in a very natural setting, Stop and Play this course! As all the previous posts have noted, you need to be in good shape, wear long pants, boots, bring bug spray and have a desire to be challenged to enjoy playing this course!
I consider myself and my spotter in "good" hiking condition and we were both exhausted by the time we finished.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.