Disc Golf Center
Newport, OR 
Wilder DGC Share
Uploaded By: joy4all Hole #17 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
What I expected from an Oregon Coast DIsc Disc Golf course

1    5/25/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: daveftn420
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You need every shot on this beautiful course. Very peaceful and challenging. Coming from the Charlotte area, I am used to long up and down holes and this felt like Brackett's Bluff coastal to me.
Cons: Not enough people have used the course to beat down all of the rough. We spent too much time looking for discs that we knew where they went, but couldn't see.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to move back so I can hit this place up more! Rogue Brewery is right down the road for a break, finish or both

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good course

2-4    3/25/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: SpinDoctor
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging!
-Good baskets.
-Pretty good flow between holes.
-Good mix of forehand and backhand throws from the tees.
-No shortage of obstacles to throw around.
-Lots of elevation changes, from the tees and from approach shots.
Cons: -Fallen trees on #8 made it difficult to get to the basket, but made for a really cool ace run tee shot.
-Difficult course to traverse; you really need to be in shape.
Other Thoughts: I played 3 rounds with 5 people and none of us lost a disc. We did use spotters on several holes, and even then, had to spend several minutes looking for some throws that went off the main path.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Must've been high...

1    1/3/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: bschwitt
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's the first course on the Oregon Coast! The environment is amazing and beautiful. As someone who vacations here twice yearly at the least, a disc golf course is a welcome addition to the area. This course is an extreme challenge for being a par 3 with heavily dense trees and shrubs.

This is a true technical course, designed with finesse players in mind. You cannot just chuck a disc for distance and hope for the best and try for par or else you will lose you disc and possibly overshoot the target.
Cons: If I had not had a played with someone, I would have not had any of my discs by the time I exited the course. Each hole we spent about 10 minutes trying to find our disc per throw. The fairways are at best as wide as running trails... because that's what they are, when you are lucky. Other times, there is no fairway at all, just small patches of cleared land between large growths of fallen tress, blackberry thrones, and native brush.

You cannot play this course without a spotter unless you're looking to lose your discs. This disappoints me because I would like to be able to just go out and have a good time out there on my own and get to know the course.
Other Thoughts: Bring a med kit... my uncle fell in a hole that went up to his waste. I nearly fell down a ravine.

Wear full length pants and shirts, even if you're a precision thrower, you're going to need to trek across some sort of untamed fauna.

I've been learning to play and honing my skills on the Central Coast of California where the courses are generally more open, and even the courses with trees or parts of courses with trees still have open space. This course was definitely culture shock for me, and while it's cool and technical, for a power thrower like myself this course is hell. If you chuck one too far it'll get lost.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs work

1    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: mopar
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage/easy course navigation
Quality Baskets
Decent Elevation Change
Numerous trees make for a variety of lines
Not crowded at all, out of the way
Rogue brewery and Distillery are 2 miles away
Fun times to be had :)
Cons: The number 1 con and the major issue is the underbrush; Dense salal and ferns and other plants require much clearing.
Wood chip tee pads with log edges...pretty uneven (a rake would have helped)
Some minor drainage issues with large puddles/standing water in the middle of the fairway in places, but this kind of thing is pretty common in Oregon.
Steep drop offs with dense brush can make retrieving discs from errant shots difficult at times.

Other Thoughts: This course has a ton of potential but there is no way it should be rated a 4 star course in its current state.
A cheap rake chained to the tee signs would have helped the woodchip teepads a lot.

The underbrush is simply to thick. I am one who likes trees and other obstacles, but dense underbrush (often in the fairway) is an issue.

This course could end up becoming similar to Hornings Hideout's Canyon Course. Other than 2 holes, the distances are all short similar to the canyon course. There is a decent amount of up and down elevation change and semi dense forested holes; also similar to the canyon course.

I don't know if there will ever be enough foot traffic to really clear the underbrush like it would need to be cleared in order to become a course of the canyon courses' quality however.

That underbrush will grow back on its own unless there is much more heavy equipment taken through the area to clear it...and with the ravines and sharp elevation changes that may not be possible. I'm worried that the terrain makes it difficult to improve further.

I had fun and the course has potential, but it leaves a lot to be desired in its current state.

I will play it again but I won't be making the hour drive from Corvallis to often.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 rjnehmer

5+    11/11/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: rjnehmer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Truly a 'wild' experience. This course offers a setting that is unique to any Oregon disc golf course I've played. Hucking across ravines filled with hemlock, Sitka spruce, and carpets of moss hearkens many a 'Tolken moment' of reflection. Undoubtedly, it's a place where one takes their time because of the sheer rugged beauty of the place.
Cons: Not for beginners; very rough terrain (needs some trampling, but fairways are relatively open); use a spotter on most holes (disc loss factor can be high); if you're going to play a full round, plan on at least 2 hours.
Other Thoughts: This place is amazing!!! By the way, all the tee pads are currently graveled and wood chipped to perfection. No more mud bogging.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

1    10/22/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Huge 18 hole course
-Beautiful scenery
-Nice and new baskets
-Quite a variety of different hole types
-Each hole has a plaque that shows what the hole is like, including some pretty creative names for the holes
Cons: -Tee boxes are still a work in progress
-Wear some shoes that have grip cause its pretty hairy if your off the fairway
-Not for beginners
Other Thoughts: A group of 4 of us played this course at the end of October. Lets just say I am still dreaming about this course. It is very challenging for the beginner (me!). The people that have made this course have put a lot of time and effort into. There were many diffent place where they put steps in to make it easier on the player to get to place to place. Make sure that you have at least one spotter. I really enjoyed the natural feel of this course. I need to play this course again, hopefully when it's not pouring.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Epic Rustic

1    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: playr4jc
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery is amazing! Every hole forces you to shoot somewhere around a ravine or over crazy brush and thorny bushes, so you better have your technical game up to par :) Hole 9 is an amazing straight shot over a ravine where the basket sits on the side of a hill blocked by a tree.
Cons: Cons? Honestly just hole ten where we didn't heed the other person's reviews and overshot to the left. Yeah, we lost 2 disc there - even the machete we brought couldn't help us.
Other Thoughts: We went right after a spout of rain and wasn't too muddy, all the trees offer a decent protection. There aren't any trash cans, so pack it in and pack it out. OOOhh, and most importantly you should really print out the hole-by-hole description written by the other reviewer because the baskets aren't always easy to see/find. *I hope you find time to come out to this little gem hidden away.*

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wilder than most

1    10/14/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: Discbear
Played: 276  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Newport Oregon area was in great need of a course as there is not a course within 50 miles of there. The baskets are brand new, top quality. It's a very quiet course and we did not see another person. It's very clean. I saw only a few pieces of trash. I applaud the efforts of all involved here because an incredible amount of work has been done here, carving an 18 hole course out of dense forests and canyons. There are a few nice ace run holes. There is a good variety of long and short holes as well as left to right, right to left and some straight on throws.Wildlife is present. It is a work in progress and will continue to improve. My thanks to all those who sacrificed to make this course happen.
Cons: The course is currently in a very tough to play condition. I would say that a spotter or 2 is mandatory on most of the holes. Some of the holes require great imagination to create a fairway. Your risk of injury here is greater than at most courses as the footing is erratic with heavy undergrowth and holes, vines downed logs and ravines to negotiate. Also there will be a some slippage on muddy tee areas wet logs and steep canyon lies in the long rainy season. There is a type of thorny plant present there that I am unfamiliar with,but you will find it. You will probably fall or trip somewhere on the course. A few of the tee pads are currently a little tough to find but at least when you find them they are numbered. The wind can be a monster on some of the more exposed holes, but you can make that a fun challenge.
Other Thoughts: The course will certainly get a lot better as more work is done and as more players establish paths and tromp down the brambles and vines. If you are brave enough to play it solo and throw honest golf shots, you have my personal guarantee that you will lose at least one disc and maybe even ten of them. May the Oregon coast establish more disc golf courses, maybe even at the abandoned Neskowin golf course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Wild...

2-4    10/12/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc golf course on the Oregon Coast (rarity)
- Very scenic
- Baskets have nice yellow tops, very easily seen
- Nice layout, with many holes position you throwing over ravines
- Many unique and challenging lies
Cons: - Dirt teepads
- no signage yet (this will change, it is a new course, so print a map right now)
- 150ft ravine on the eastern portion of the course will be a disc graveyard
- lots of dead underbrush on the western portion of the course needs clearing
- Many unique and challenging lies
- Course still thick with salal in places (SPOTTERS NEEDED)
Other Thoughts: I have lived and worked in Newport for over ten years and was delighted when I heard that folks were getting together to put a disc golf course in. When a couple friends took me through the area, you could definitely see the potential: many shots are across ravines and past large doug firs. Baskets in a coastal forest certainly look good.

However, anyone who's ever walked on non-paths through coastal rain forest knows: the ground is uneven, with many old logs, and pine needles lying on the ground, so you never know if you're standing on solid ground or not. And God help us when it rains. I think we'll be playing in extra toughs.

This is most definitely a NEW course in a rough, wild area. Even though folks have gotten together to clear most fairways, there is still a lot of underbrush in the form of salal and salmonberry. I'm bringing a machete with me whenever I play here. And spotters are a MUST currently. There are made stairs and paths down the more steep inclines/declines (holes 7 & 9).

Holes 3, 5, 7, and 8 have a 100 foot ravine in play, thick with salal and other underbrush lining it, so if you shank, or it kicks of a tree, it's gone. 3 and 5 the ravine is on the right; 7 it's 20ft behind the basket. I've already lost two discs to that ravine.

I played my first round with the baskets installed and scored (by the par 56 info on here) a 51, with two bogeys. So if you're accurate, many birdies are possible. As reference to people in the Corvallis area, my average at Willamette is about -2, Adair +2, and Bryant +3-4. I'm not going to go and immediately say it's too easy. The course rewards accuracy, but I could see having a horrible time if you have an off day. I took extra time between every shot, with the focus both on scoring without losing a disc. To me, the most unique thing about the course was some of the creative lies that occur when you kick off a tree or shank. I was put in many an interesting position throwing at some weird angles.

The biggest negative for me are the teepads, which are wood chips surrounded by logs. Seeing how the Oregon coast gets perpetually soaked every winter, these teepads are going to be mud pits eventually, even with chips. That being said, laying concrete teepads in some of these holes is probably going to be a royal pain, but without it, play in your muck boots.

As many here know, new courses are always rough and need to be played a lot before they become "broken in": paths and landing areas get the underbrush trodden down, etc. It's going to take a lot of play to do that to this course. The very nature of the ground (mentioned above) will always make it uneven and make many lies a challenge. I also think that much of the dead stuff around the course should be piled and burned.

The signature holes are:
3: The first longer hole. Plays through a field of doug fir, slopping down to the right into the ravine. Basket is up on a ledge behind it.
7: You're up on one ledge with the basket across from you around 240ft with a ravine in between you. The deep ravine is behind the basket, so don't overthrow. Pretty hole.
9: Ace run. You're a little more than 50ft. above the basket about 120ft across with a ravine in between. Another fun placement and pretty hole.

Lastly, I would say that currently this is not a course I would bring a beginner or folks that have a harder time getting around. To me this is a course for the hardcore folks. Casual players will probably be exhausted and frustrated playing the course in its new, raw form.

Thanks to Alma B., Jason N., Stephen B., and the Ford Foundation for having the drive and motivation to put a course in such a challenging place. I'm very grateful to have it here.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Stephen Burdick Co-Designer

5+    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: joy4all
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Natue and disc golf hikers paradise.

Hole 1: This plays a nice straight shot that veers 30 feet left at end. Disc needs to break at 220 feet left. Sides are lush dark grren foilage. Fairway is flat. Stay in fairway as sides will punish your next shot.

Hole 2: This shot is a short 200 footer that shoots across a ravine that is the fairway to hang right a bit. Going to far right short of the basket will equal punishment of a larger ravine that runs the length of the hole and descends 100 feet. Blind shot

Hole 3: This is a beauty and the basket is visible. 300 feet strraight over rolling hillside. To the right is the large steep ravine. Plenty of room to land to the left and straight. Overshooting the basket will lead to the ravine as it hugs the ravine hillside at a high point.

Hole 4: This shot plays blind but follows a crescent moon pattern with basket ending right behind some old growth stump and down timber. First 80 feet fly over intersecting ravine that ties into the large ravine. Natural beauty shot.

Hole 5: This plays the lush fairway and runs over 300 feet with a descending fairway that trickles up to plateau where basket is place on another ridge top. The length of hole has the large steep ravine to the right but left and straight is wide. The hole is called the Wildest for a reason.

Hole 6: This is a straight shot playing through a 100 foot narrow stretch of some serious heavy brush opening up into the logging forest for the remaining distance with the basket tucked in between three standing timbers. Blind shot but high ceiling throughtout entire course.

Hole 7: "Dream Boat" This is a true picture gem. Plateau to plateau across a double ravine. Basket stares straight at you mesmerizing you with the yellow halo against the deep multi green pine canvased backdrop of pines. You can go for it, but if you miss long the disc will land into the ravine which grows steep on the backside of the basket, when I say steep, get it at your own risk. This one is for the glory.

Hole 8:"The Yellow Brick Road" a 300 ft crescent moon to the right. 20 foot log path runs the left side with a very punishing ravine the hole way if you miss and to the right side is the deep punishing ravine that runs the hole length. think of a football and stay within that shape. Basket at end comes to a point where the two ravines come together. Disciplined shots are key.

Hole 9: This hole is called, "$", its the money shot. 123 feet, 50 ft descending elevation ravine wall to ravine wall. Basket sits on a small notch on the hillside with wonderfull green moss that the sun breaks through the pines and hits this one area. Trees guard the basket but its a ace run. Missing short will land you looking up at basket for a very steep uphill shot. Very pretty nature shot. Carefull on the paths and will require a more mountain side hiking ability even with the paths.

Hole 10: "Sunset Blvd." From the tee box you have Pacific Ocean view. This 400 footer plays straight but blind as the hill you tee from goes up before it drops off into the fairway blinding you from basket. To the left is ravine the hole way which is a harsh ravine. and to the right is the road. No Trees, no brush.

Hole 11: This 330 ft + shot shoots straight at it with visblity of basket. Disc travels over two mild ravines with plenty of downed timber and limbs but plenty of fairway both sides.

Hole 12: "The Punisher." this shoots straight 300 feet to blind basket behind good old growth timbers. Ravine to the right entire length. This is more of a moderate uphill shot.

Hole 13: This shot plays a 45 degree to the left. It shoots across a mild dip with the roadside to the backside of the basket if you go to long.

Hole 14: "The Fortres" This is a short 200 + footer that shoots across a dip. THe basket is surrounded by timbers and those timbers combine make a bowl in the middle, the basket sits in the bowl. Landing out side the bowl will find a 5 foot high bunker of earth from the trees to shoot over forcing a hyzer putt to attempt a basket.

Hole 15: This 300 footer plays a wide fairway but with desired routes. Basket is blind and disc must turn left out of the box to engage the fairway which will end your shot right. A perfect long distance left to right S shot. Basket is down the hillside in the dip. Heavy brush far left and heavy brush far right and right before basket there is a patch. Very difficult flight path as timbers clutter the main fairway.

Hole 16: This shoot is over 400 feet with a roadside 30 feet right the entire way OB. Left side is heavy brush but passable. This needs to be 400 straight feet testing your ability to drive flat at long distance.

Hole 17: This is a short 250 ft shot to blind basket straight ahead. Its blind due to vegetation that will obstruct your view. No ceiling so any route will do except where mando is to avoid 18 3 tee boxes so shoot straight or to left.

Hole 18: "The End" After all that unlimited ceiling high now one must thread the needle. a ten foot high 100 ft wide skyline gap you pass through to the opening of basket. The gap starts 5 ft off the ground and ends 15ft up. This will challange your control of elevation of drive. To the left is brush. Basket is a 45 midway to the left.
Cons: -This course is for the wilderness hiker who plays, climbing/ hiking ability is required.
-Boots should be worn
-signage will be in November
-Working on trash collection with city currently and hope to have theat established soon. For now, pack it in, pack it out.
-Kiosk not up yet and designer working on a 4 foot by 8 foot roofed one with glass. This will be installed as soon as he finsihes it. Will have locking plexi.
-Scorecards and layout not provided yet and will do so when kiosk is set.
-heavy brush. could spend time looking for disc if not watching your disc close or spotting on certain holes like 5.
-#2 if thrown to long will land on 3 fairway
Other Thoughts: Wildlife- many large birds inhabit the trees. Owls, hawks, eagles, and many other scavengers. Elk and deer tracks abundant. Many chipmunks, squirrels, and banna slugs. May run across red racers or gardener snakes(Nothing Venomous). Seagulls along roadside. Many huckleberry, OR blackberry vineous, edleberry, mtn rasberries everywhere. Be kind to the wilderness and retain your cigarette butts and trash. This is a nature lovers dream and trash abundance will run the joy of that aspect out.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.