Valley Springs, CA 
New Hogan Dam - East Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #5 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 427ft.   4 / 596ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Allot of Fun

1    12/29/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: gusisfishin@gmail.co
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of stuff to throw through.
Works on your accurancy.
Pads are natural, but, in great shape.
Maps at the #1 T Box
Cons: Could not find fault on the course.
Other Thoughts: Fun to shoot.
Lots of long shots, but, you have to go through trees on every hole.
I think I hit every tree out there. I'll have to play it again just to make sure I didn't miss one.
The course was nice and cool today, but, I've been to this lake in the summer - and it's HOT and DRY. Bring lots of liquids and dress cool for summer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

1    7/2/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large open area that's mostly disc golf dedicated. There's a nice mix of reachable shots with some scattered trees and more open longer shots. It is fun once in a while to get to rip some longer drives, and this course offers several chances to do that.

There are some elevation changes that come into play, they add some interest to several of the otherwise pretty straightforward holes. There are a couple fun pin positions tucked into rocks or near some of the big oaks on the property adding some fun to the short game. The tees are natural, but are all level and firm so I had no issues with them.
Cons: You don't need a whole lot of technical skills to score well here, it emphasizes distance and controlled hyzer shots. Even the holes that have more trees in play don't call for very interesting line shaping. Things get a little repetitive out here, despite some creative use of the few features that are available.

A few of the later holes play pretty near a picnic area, I don't know how often it gets used but it could be a safety issue. Some of the signs don't really give a great idea of the hole layout, there are a couple spots where this course is right near the west course and it's not clear which basket you're supposed to shoot to. There are also some spots where navigation isn't very obvious. There are plenty of foxtails when the grass is a little longer, pants or gaiters help keep your shoes and socks from filling up with them.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the course pretty long, though there's not too much chance of losing discs or much punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will find some challenges in the distance and wind, but the course won't test a full range of disc golf skills. There are some nice views from the top of the hills, and the course makes for a nice walk. It's worth a stop here to play both courses if you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hulk's Hogan

1    7/11/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: This is a beautiful rural and secluded DGC that is quite a workout, but well worth the drive and effort. For the most part it's bombs away, but you better have decent aim on some holes featuring the trees. I loved the elevation changes, and hiking the course was pure bliss. Variety of tee shots required and available. Easy to navigate and find the next holes with helpful signage.
Cons: Young tee pads and hole signs, but nothing that takes away from the experience. Could use a trash can or two out there.
Other Thoughts: I played the East course first, and thoroughly enjoyed myself. It was a bit dryer and warmer being higher and more inland from the lake. New Hogan Dam is a master example of a 36-hole Disc Golf wonderland, with West comparable to Stafford, and East comparable to Skyline. I look forward to coming back in the future with my family!
==================
Uniqueness: A (similar to Nape/Skyline but with it's own mellower character)
Difficulty: A- (long, breezy, & elevation)
Fun Factor: A (one of the better hiking courses out there, challenging yet playable)
Aesthetics: A (ideal DG rugged terrain, clean, great layout)
-------------------
Overall: A

Stev D.

2-4    4/20/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Steve D.
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really interesting basket placements in the rocks and under giant oaks. Good selection of righty and lefty holes.
Cons: Dirt tees are flat and large, but still dirt.
Other Thoughts: Great course! The new layout is the best of the old and bunch of new holes that are challenging. Legitimate par 4s and many long 3s are made tougher by the wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The East Side is Alright

2-4    10/21/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
• Decent shot variety
• Some nice views
• Interesting wildlife here and there
• Tees are better defined than they were
• Restrooms and water nearby with additional facilities (e.g. BBQ, fishing, cleaning station, etc…)
Cons:
• Tees are still dirt
• A little tricky to navigate in spots
• Needs a bit more variety
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• Bring a map

Random Thoughts:
So obviously you need to read both the East and West reviews to know what you're getting out here and since there are two courses I felt like I was cheating the course by reviewing them separately. I'd rather see this listed as one big course because that's basically what it is. But having said that, my thoughts on the East course are that it's just ok. But that doesn't mean it's easy. There are a number of holes that, while pretty open, are quite long, so you will need to be consistent to score well out here. Overall though, the holes have well defined routes that aren't particularly difficult to make par on but birdies will require long shapely shots. The tee areas are in much better shape now for the most part. They are dug out better and more level. They almost look like they're prepped for concrete which of course would be great. The baskets are all in good shape so no worries there. Navigation can be tricky as there are so many holes within close proximity. The map is a must. What I'd like to see on this course is a bit more use of the trees and terrain, but having said that, there are a few memorable holes here and there. And I'd like to say again, that this is a nice destination course. Due to its location, I suspect it's not convenient for anyone, but I enjoy loading up the BBQ supplies and heading here. With all the amenities and the atmosphere/views, it makes for a fun relaxing day.

Bottom Line:
A good companion course to the West course but would not be all that interesting all by itself. But hey, you can never complain too much about a site with 36 holes on it. Kudos to the course designers for continuing to make improvements to this course. And again, I'd definitely review this course higher if it were one course. It's doing the course a disservice to split them up. So, of course, now go read the West review.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Almost Epic

5+    10/8/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 142  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 30.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of great shot selection. Lots of land. Most holes range from 250 to 500 feet Absolutely beautiful course in late winter early spring. The land has lots of oaks scattered over the property with rocks sticking out of the ground throughout. All of the baskets are in great shape. Most holes are strategically placed in the middle of tree groves or boulders so that even the shortest holes are challenging. The east course lacks the water hazards of the west course but still offers amazing views of the lake.
Cons: This course can get very rough in the summer months, with lots of weeds and stickers. Wear long pants, boots and gators. $4 to get into area, not that bad considering you get 36 wonderful holes and a beautiful lake. Watch for rattlesnakes in summer.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful scenic piece of property to put a course on. This course is very similar in how it plays and looks to stafford, skyline, black butte or casitas: beautiful CA wilderness areas. This course tends to dry out faster than those other courses so has a shorter optimal time to play, but is still very playable in summer just prepare.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.