Bainbridge, OH
Pike Lake State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #17 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 174ft.   3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Rustic Gem That's Worth The Drive

2-4    4/13/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pike Lake is a largely technical course that maximizes its beautiful surroundings for a hike and a round that the player will remember for a long time. The surroundings are top-notch, as the course is nestled into a rocky, rustic hillside with a stream that runs alongside. Of the 70+ courses I've played, Pike Lake is the most aesthetically pleasing location I've had the good fortune to enjoy. With the mature trees overhead and the sound of the water rushing past, it's easy to forget that you're playing a round of disc golf, which integrates unobtrusively into the landscape.

And that golf is pretty good too, really shining when playing up, down, and alongside a steep hillside on Holes 3-7. The significant elevation changes are exciting, as is Hole 4's high-risk putt to the hill's steep edge. Other course favorites include Hole 12, a long, sweeping beauty that allows big arms to air it out downhill in the forest on an otherwise tightly wooded configuration, and Hole 15, which plays straight ahead and over the gently curving OB stream, feeling almost like an Idlewild 16 in miniature. The elevation and obstacles provide enough to keep the player having fun throughout, even if the general hole design is roughly the same, adjusted for length (more on that under cons).

The course has been quiet and low traffic each time I've visited here, amplifying the rustic atmosphere and natural beauty. I get the sense that because of its remote location, this 18 rarely sees a large number of people.

Each hole features a long concrete teepad and usually a short natural teepad as well, a simple but detailed tee sign with hole diagram, and a Chainstar in good repair.

A permanent outhouse stands near the parking lot.
Cons: While the design is interesting and fun due to the elevation, OB, and trees, most holes play either straight ahead or finish to the right at varying lengths, heavily favoring RHFH and LHBH players. Although there's a lot of variety from tee to pin, a RHBH player may get tired of frequent anhyzer approaches. Also, the course ends with a whimper instead of a bang, as the campground style Holes 16-18 are a bit of a letdown from the earlier elevation and creekside juiced winners (but still fun in their own right).

The walk between Hole 10 and 11 is confusing, even with a map. Basically, backtrack along Hole 10 on the basket side of the stream and follow the next tee sign on the hiking trail board. From there, follow the natural trail some distance to the Hole 11 teepad.

The concrete tees vary in size, ranging from extra large on the road level to pretty small in the hills. This could make for some uncomfortable or abbreviated runups.

Although Pike Lake has short and long tees, the natural red tees can be considerably difficult to find and are likely not worth trying to play.
Other Thoughts: Pike Lake is my favorite course in Ohio, as it blends everything that initially attracted me to disc golf in one fantastic package: hiking, natural beauty, and enjoyable play. Aesthetics give the course a big boost here, but the golf is better than most, and even the less exciting holes (like the campground style finishers) are high fun factor. Take the time to drive to rural Ohio for this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love the woods!!!

1    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a wooded course!!!!but with defined fairways and accuracy is needed here more than distance.
Very challenging with some good elevation changes and water hazards. This is a very scenic course in the middle of no where. Leave your cell phones in the car because they won't work!!
This course has some cement tees. Probably 70% of the course.
It has some long and short tees.
Great baskets that all were in great shape.
Not very busy. We only saw a few other people there for the three days we were there.
You can stay in a cottage for 60$ a night for an economy or 80$ a night for a preferred. The course is within walking distance from a few cottages and the camp ground.
Cons: If you don't like wooded courses don't go here. It is not for you. Some dirt tees that could be slippery in the rain.
Could lose some disc when the foliage comes in.
These really are not cons but more just things to be aware of
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It was maybe just a bit more challenging than my experience level but that takes nothing away from this course. Although some holes where short the trees made it very challenging. If you need to beat in a disc this is the place to go. This a disc golfers dream if you like a wooded course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great challenge. There is a good mixture of short and long holes. Many many trees and elevation changes will challenge you. There is also a little creek that runs through many of the holes. Print out the map layout as this will help you find a couple of holes.
Cons: Most pads are concrete but the hard to reach tees are natural. Short tees, if you play them weren't easily spotted and it looks like an ice storm has caused some trees to bend over the tees. I played from the pro tees as most of them were concrete.
Other Thoughts: I played this in the early spring. I could only imagine how much more difficult this would be once the trees are in bloom. For a similar challenge check out Great Seal.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A serene hike in the woods

1    5/26/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 294  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my kind of course! If you love woods courses with hills and streams then you should love this course.
There's lots to like here, so my Euphoria Factor was high when I finished (and it still is now).
I only played the long tees, so my review reflects that layout.
There's plenty of serenity and solitude. Even though I played on Memorial Day, I was the only person on the course.
The fairways are well cut with very good variety (8 St/ 1 Lt/ 7 R/ 1 S/ 1L), even if they do favor lefties.
Nice elevation changes (7 Flat/ 6 Up/ 5 Down) with several big ups or downs (e.g.: +30 ft or -36 ft.).
There's water in play on 7 holes, but my favorites were 15, with a stream down the middle of the fairway, and 10, with a pretty stream that crosses it.
I like the Chainstar baskets a lot; tee signs are good on the long tees, and there are 10 concrete trapezoidal tee pads. The 8 holes up the hills still have dirt tees, but one can understand the difficulty of getting concrete to them.
There are lots of amenities too: a map and score card online, basic restrooms, a warm up basket, a message board, and tons of benches and trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: -Tee 11 is a very long walk from hole 10. It's essential to follow the map. You have to walk back up 10's fairway. Tees 17 and 18 would also be hard to find without a map.
-The short tees were poorly marked; I only found 3.
-There are a few safety issues. Hole 8 is next to a park road but there's high visibility. Hole 18 is more serious with the basket too close to a picnic area.
-The length variety is low; 13 holes are in the 170-260 ft. range. (2<199/ 11<299/ 4<399/ 1 of 540).
-Some baskets were hard to see because of hills or trees.
-The pars listed on the score card can be goofy. I've never heard of a par 5 on a 369 ft hole with a 20 ft downhill
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975) It's short for a Blue level course, but the woods add lots of challenge to boost the Blue Score Avg.
Course Difficulty: 7 (out of 10)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 15. Stunning beauty of a creek in the fairway that runs the entire length of the hole.

-The course is great for lefties, since it has 7 dogleg right holes and only one dogleg left.
-Hole 12 has 3 tees. There's a white tee of 420 ft.
-Several holes may be longer than the length listed on the tees signs.
-The course is way out in the country, so it's a long, yet scenic, drive from any larger cities, but it's well worth driving even several hours to play. Make the trip if you can.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.