Bainbridge, OH 
Pike Lake State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #14 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 191ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Stairs

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
One of Ohio's best

5+    9/11/2015   11/11/2015
Review By: Xelto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, very good use of elevation and woods, beautiful scenery. Has my favorite hole in all of disc golf anywhere.

If you're doing the camping thing, there are inexpensive cabins at the park, as well, some of them pet-friendly.
Cons: Way off the beaten path. But worth it. At times it seems like they were trying too hard to make the course interesting.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love the woods!!!

1    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a wooded course!!!!but with defined fairways and accuracy is needed here more than distance.
Very challenging with some good elevation changes and water hazards. This is a very scenic course in the middle of no where. Leave your cell phones in the car because they won't work!!
This course has some cement tees. Probably 70% of the course.
It has some long and short tees.
Great baskets that all were in great shape.
Not very busy. We only saw a few other people there for the three days we were there.
You can stay in a cottage for 60$ a night for an economy or 80$ a night for a preferred. The course is within walking distance from a few cottages and the camp ground.
Cons: If you don't like wooded courses don't go here. It is not for you. Some dirt tees that could be slippery in the rain.
Could lose some disc when the foliage comes in.
These really are not cons but more just things to be aware of
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It was maybe just a bit more challenging than my experience level but that takes nothing away from this course. Although some holes where short the trees made it very challenging. If you need to beat in a disc this is the place to go. This a disc golfers dream if you like a wooded course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great challenge. There is a good mixture of short and long holes. Many many trees and elevation changes will challenge you. There is also a little creek that runs through many of the holes. Print out the map layout as this will help you find a couple of holes.
Cons: Most pads are concrete but the hard to reach tees are natural. Short tees, if you play them weren't easily spotted and it looks like an ice storm has caused some trees to bend over the tees. I played from the pro tees as most of them were concrete.
Other Thoughts: I played this in the early spring. I could only imagine how much more difficult this would be once the trees are in bloom. For a similar challenge check out Great Seal.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A serene hike in the woods

1    5/26/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 362  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 37.4 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my kind of course! If you love woods courses with hills and streams then you should love this course.
There's lots to like here, so my Euphoria Factor was high when I finished (and it still is now).
I only played the long tees, so my review reflects that layout.
There's plenty of serenity and solitude. Even though I played on Memorial Day, I was the only person on the course.
The fairways are well cut with very good variety (8 St/ 1 Lt/ 7 R/ 1 S/ 1L), even if they do favor lefties.
Nice elevation changes (7 Flat/ 6 Up/ 5 Down) with several big ups or downs (e.g.: +30 ft or -36 ft.).
There's water in play on 7 holes, but my favorites were 15, with a stream down the middle of the fairway, and 10, with a pretty stream that crosses it.
I like the Chainstar baskets a lot; tee signs are good on the long tees, and there are 10 concrete trapezoidal tee pads. The 8 holes up the hills still have dirt tees, but one can understand the difficulty of getting concrete to them.
There are lots of amenities too: a map and score card online, basic restrooms, a warm up basket, a message board, and tons of benches and trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: -Tee 11 is a very long walk from hole 10. It's essential to follow the map. You have to walk back up 10's fairway. Tees 17 and 18 would also be hard to find without a map.
-The short tees were poorly marked; I only found 3.
-There are a few safety issues. Hole 8 is next to a park road but there's high visibility. Hole 18 is more serious with the basket too close to a picnic area.
-The length variety is low; 13 holes are in the 170-260 ft. range. (2<199/ 11<299/ 4<399/ 1 of 540).
-Some baskets were hard to see because of hills or trees.
-The pars listed on the score card can be goofy. I've never heard of a par 5 on a 369 ft hole with a 20 ft downhill
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975) It's short for a Blue level course, but the woods add lots of challenge to boost the Blue Score Avg.
Course Difficulty: 7 (out of 10)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 15. Stunning beauty of a creek in the fairway that runs the entire length of the hole.

-The course is great for lefties, since it has 7 dogleg right holes and only one dogleg left.
-Hole 12 has 3 tees. There's a white tee of 420 ft.
-Several holes may be longer than the length listed on the tees signs.
-The course is way out in the country, so it's a long, yet scenic, drive from any larger cities, but it's well worth driving even several hours to play. Make the trip if you can.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.