Bainbridge, OH 
Pike Lake State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
4 / 227ft.   4 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Pike Lake

1    3/8/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: Kent18
Played: 147  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Pike Lake is a beautiful Ohio state park course. The layout takes advantage of the many hills, streams and scenery of the area. The park itself was well kept and clean.
2) Holes have great use of elevation. I was worried when I did my research that this course's short length may leave me disappointed in having too many easy birdie holes but I have never had to fight so hard to get par on so many of the holes here.
3) Great signature hole 12. Plays off a platform midway up the mountain to a huge downhill "gully" dogleg right, over 500 feet. Hole 15 is pretty good too.
4) Tee signs are basic and durable (some tee signs are just a mess these days) and present on every hole.
5) Benches are placed throughout the course.
6) I can't imagine this course gets backed up at all except in tournaments?
7) ALL the LONG TEES have concrete (they look freshly poured?) Others have said only some were present but I counted 18 concrete tee pads.
8) Restrooms were clean.
Cons: 1) Tee Pads from the SHORT locations are either A) in bad condition and mostly made of gravel B) a simple log that says short tee C) non-existent D )when they are placed; their locations make each hole significantly easier. The designer probably had in mind the very causal family player here for just a weekend?
2) The concrete tees from the LONG PADS were short in actual size and sometimes "trapezoid" shaped versus a true rectangle. (I guess minimal environment footprint was the idea here?) I didn't need the extra step on my drives but my friends did. I was just happy a State park had concrete tees.
3) Of any course I have ever played this is the most Lefty or LHBT friendly course ever. With at least 7, I believe 9 holes that have tough dogleg rights and maybe 2 that were dogleg lefts it kind of felt unbalanced. It was great to throw tons of forehand throws but a LHBT would have higher percentage on some of those holes for birdies that would just take a killer forehand to mimic.
4) There is no posted OB that on at least 3 of the holes (2 with roads, 1 with a creek) I believe would make those holes so much more interesting if there was OB posted beyond those markers.
5) I know some people like the long country Amish drives but this place is another one of those courses that is like 35 minutes from any reputable highway and at least 20 minutes from your local convenience store.
6) Trash cans were sparse on the course.
7) Hole 10 to hole 11 is tricky to find
Other Thoughts: Pike Lake is a great course. I would recommend this course and venture to say its in the top ten of all of Ohio. Each hole has a great fun factor and feels different then the other state park wooded courses I have played. It is a hike to get there but definitely has the grounds to be a great disc golf camping destination.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great And Fun Course

1    8/7/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 65  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is just great but fun at the same time. It is located in a nice state park that gets alot of people. So far all of the courses that i have played in state parks are nothing but pure fun. This course was amazing, starting with the first hole and ending with the last. I have no idea where to begin, this course just has too many good things. Well might as well start with the sign at the tee. The sign shows exactly where the pins location is. Some courses that i have played dont show the location so you have to look all over for it. That is definately not the case here. Then they show the par like most courses. Then they give the distance. Also on there thay have the red tee placement. This is good so that if your playing from the red tee you know exactly where to throw from. Well that brings me to the multiple tees that they have. The red tee is nice so that if you are less expierenced you can just throw from there. If you are more expierenced you may throw from the blue tee. The one main thing i liked was how they had an orange sticker on the inside part of the pin. That made it easier to see when you got into very wooded areas. This is not a too challenging course. Some holes are a little bit harder while others are easier. This is the case at most courses. The one thing that i like most is the concrete launch pad. Not every hole has a concrete launch pad, but for the most part they do have them. Even when they dont have one they will have rocks down so that it is easy to throw on. It is very easy to navigate your way through this course. As i always do when i go to a new course. But that really is not needed here. The vegitation is nice here. They have got alot of it. Many courses dont but this one really does. The elevation changes are great. Not every course has them, but this one really does. The parking lot is right by the first hole and the last, so that at the end when your tired you can just go straight to your car. The shelter and the water fountain in between the first and the last hole is nice. This course is well taken care of. There are no big tree limbs hanging out in the middle of the fairway. It is very clean throughout the course. Also on the holes with grass as the fairway, the grass is cut neatly and very often. Not two holes are the same. By this i mean every hole is different. There are no two holes that are exactly alike. They all challenge you in a new and different way. Wow well it made me tired thinking of all the pros for this course, so it must be easy for the little amount of cons that we will have.
Cons: Well where better to start than the launch pads. Not every hole has a concrete launch pad, so it can be different. This really didn't effect me, but others it might. On the sides of the holes that are deeply wooded there are just long leaves. This makes it somewhat hard to get through there to find your disc. None of the pins have a number on them representing what hole the pin goes to. There is water in play on many holes. Good thing that when i went there had not been rain in a while. So if you go right after it rains you better be very careful. Well i really cant think of anything else bad to say about this course, it is just a great and fun course.
Other Thoughts: Well what a course this is. I live a couple hours away from this course. I will be back within a few months. Hey while i was there i lost a couple of discs. I lost an innova orange champion beast and an innova pink dx eagle. I lost both of them on the seventh hole here. I was just throwing all of my discs trying to ace it and it was getting dark so i just left them. So if you find them could you just contact me. Well now lets get back to the actual course. Hole #7 was my favorite. You drop about seventy-five feet. It really is an amazing hole. I bet it has been aced many times. So i hope you enjoy this course as much as i did. Like i had said earlier i will be back soon and i hope to see all of you there too.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pike is a Short Nature Hike

1    5/3/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Primarily wooded course in a clean State Park far away from civilization. The course plays short but makes up for that in technical challenges that include woods, streams and elevation. The woods play fair and if you get a high score its most likely thrower error. The shallow streams come into play off the tee and around baskets on 7 holes, most notably #15 where the entire fairway is basically a drive over the water. Not deep water but wider than a creek and healthy so disc loss is not an issue but challenge and beauty apparent. (might dry up in a drought) The elevation holes were the most enjoyable with #3 being a straight up drive over the stream and #7 being a drop in floater back down steeply for a fun ace run over the stream. #14 was also special, a right turning downhill to a basket nestled away with a huge bank rising to the right of the hole to gobble up my too tight anny. The first 2 holes are quality drives through trees with only grass below, no schule, and incorporate the stream to the right. There are a couple longer holes in the woods that will test your ability to keep it straight. Seems a safe park and definetely has a lot of natural beauty. Concrete tees on the base holes were nice.Course opens with 2 non woods holes and finishes with 3 non woods holes so you get a break from the schule. Course loops back to lot and bathrooms well. Water available.
Cons: I don't think this is quite destination disc golf for a few reasons. It doesn't have much length so weaker armed or beginners may enjoy the course moreso than those seeking a longer test of skills. While half of the holes are either challenging or aesthetically pleasing...the others seem to be just ordinary holes. Not bad holes but not truly special. I was expecting a bit more based on the 4+ rating. #8 simply plays down the street...challenging oob yes but with all this nature, water and hills I end up driving down an access road..pffft. The course ends very weakly with 16-18 being very short holes you could find in 9/10 of the parks in America. Don't get me wrong it's a fun little course but think of it as 8-10 good holes linked by a bunch of average holes. I also got mauled by insects. I was actually amazed by how much life was in this environment.
Other Thoughts: I love a course thats fun and has some cool shots. This course provided that for me. I also enjoy ace runs and there are those here as well. Rumor is 9 more holes will be added. If these are good holes I would imagine it would be worth the long trip out here for a round.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Love the woods!!!

1    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a wooded course!!!!but with defined fairways and accuracy is needed here more than distance.
Very challenging with some good elevation changes and water hazards. This is a very scenic course in the middle of no where. Leave your cell phones in the car because they won't work!!
This course has some cement tees. Probably 70% of the course.
It has some long and short tees.
Great baskets that all were in great shape.
Not very busy. We only saw a few other people there for the three days we were there.
You can stay in a cottage for 60$ a night for an economy or 80$ a night for a preferred. The course is within walking distance from a few cottages and the camp ground.
Cons: If you don't like wooded courses don't go here. It is not for you. Some dirt tees that could be slippery in the rain.
Could lose some disc when the foliage comes in.
These really are not cons but more just things to be aware of
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It was maybe just a bit more challenging than my experience level but that takes nothing away from this course. Although some holes where short the trees made it very challenging. If you need to beat in a disc this is the place to go. This a disc golfers dream if you like a wooded course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    9/9/2008   10/9/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 151  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Variety of shots
Good for Beginners and Experienced players
Nice Park
Well Maintained Course
Not overcrowded
Cons: I don't consider this a Con although some people might . The course is almost entirely wooded

At certain times of the year you can be overrun by insects

Easy to lose discs
Other Thoughts: This course is just about neck and neck with Brett Hambric as my favorite Ohio Course. Almost Entirely wooded, it can be dangerous navigating some of the terrain especially after it rains. It has a great mix of shots and is challengeing but not frustrating. If you are within driving distance of this course then it's a definite must play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites!

2-4    8/3/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: Dunksmooth
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park itself seems to be well maintained and clean. There are one or two restrooms and several trash containers.
The course is very well laid out: Open fairways, rolling hills, light to heavily wooded holes, challenging elevation changes, majestic downhill drives, water hazards, etc. Name it, this course has it. Every hole seems unique and well thought out. No wasted space or "filler" holes.
The parks department has installed lots of footbridges and stairways to make the course safe and direction signs are conveniently placed to make the course easily navigatable.
Cons: Lots of work needs to be done to improve the tee pads. Most, if not all, are either gravel or dirt and can make for unstable footing.
Several amateur tees are either unmarked or non-existant.
May want to skip if it has recently rained - standing water and mud not uncommon.
Other Thoughts: A very active and safe park. Rangers patrol the area regularly and there is a campgrounds and park nearby...neither of which interfere in any way with the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 129  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Great Layout
Heavily Wooded But Defined Fairways
Beautiful Scenery
Amazing Elevation Changes
Great Water Hazards (Disc Are Retreivable)
Very Well-Maintained
Park Store Nearby
Camping and Cabins in Park
Small Lake with Swimming in Park
Never Crowded
Great Variety
Great Tee Signs
Concrete Tees On Many Holes
Benches Throughout the Course
Ample Parking
Short Tees Could Use Work (Natural/Hard to Find)
Navigation Can Be Tough For First Timers
Discs Can Get Lost in the Rough
Tee Signs Have Been Vandalized
Other Thoughts:
Pike Lake DGC is a beautiful and challenging course in southern Ohio. The course is more for the intermediate to advance player. While a majority of the holes are on the rather short side, the are also heavily wooded which adds a lot of extra challenge.

The only real downside to this course is it can be pretty tough to navigate on your first trip here. Be sure to stop by the park store and pick up and map and scorecard. The also have a nice selection of discs, beverages, and snacks available for purchase. If you have any questions feel free to ask the folks at the store, they love having the course there and can be very helpful.

This course, besides being in a very wooded area, has many other challenges as well. There is a small creek that runs the length of the course. It can come into play on a few holes, and during certain times of the year can have a good amount of water and can be rushing pretty steadily. Another great obstacle to over come are the awesome elevation changes. The first real nice elevation change is on hole #3. You throw through the woods, over a small stream and then up a pretty steep hill, at the very least about a 50ft bank, miss the top and you can really pay for it here.

The elevation changes continue throughout the course and provide each golfer with a good work out. Be sure you are prepared, bring plenty of beverages and wear comfortable shoes with good traction, no flip flops here.

Overall I think that anyone who loves disc golf will love this course. Even if you are having an awful round the surroundings are amazing. Its very peaceful and quiet and every time I have played it, we were the only people on the course. The location can be a bit out of the way for most, but well worth the drive. If you have a couple days there is camping and cabins nearby. There are two pretty good courses within a 40 minute drive in Great Seal, and Rocky Fork DGC. I would recommend any of these course to anyone looking for a challenge, but Pike Lake is by far the best in my opinion.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: spookytay
Played: 29  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great challenge. There is a good mixture of short and long holes. Many many trees and elevation changes will challenge you. There is also a little creek that runs through many of the holes. Print out the map layout as this will help you find a couple of holes.
Cons: Most pads are concrete but the hard to reach tees are natural. Short tees, if you play them weren't easily spotted and it looks like an ice storm has caused some trees to bend over the tees. I played from the pro tees as most of them were concrete.
Other Thoughts: I played this in the early spring. I could only imagine how much more difficult this would be once the trees are in bloom. For a similar challenge check out Great Seal.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A serene hike in the woods

1    5/26/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 340  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.5 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my kind of course! If you love woods courses with hills and streams then you should love this course.
There's lots to like here, so my Euphoria Factor was high when I finished (and it still is now).
I only played the long tees, so my review reflects that layout.
There's plenty of serenity and solitude. Even though I played on Memorial Day, I was the only person on the course.
The fairways are well cut with very good variety (8 St/ 1 Lt/ 7 R/ 1 S/ 1L), even if they do favor lefties.
Nice elevation changes (7 Flat/ 6 Up/ 5 Down) with several big ups or downs (e.g.: +30 ft or -36 ft.).
There's water in play on 7 holes, but my favorites were 15, with a stream down the middle of the fairway, and 10, with a pretty stream that crosses it.
I like the Chainstar baskets a lot; tee signs are good on the long tees, and there are 10 concrete trapezoidal tee pads. The 8 holes up the hills still have dirt tees, but one can understand the difficulty of getting concrete to them.
There are lots of amenities too: a map and score card online, basic restrooms, a warm up basket, a message board, and tons of benches and trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: -Tee 11 is a very long walk from hole 10. It's essential to follow the map. You have to walk back up 10's fairway. Tees 17 and 18 would also be hard to find without a map.
-The short tees were poorly marked; I only found 3.
-There are a few safety issues. Hole 8 is next to a park road but there's high visibility. Hole 18 is more serious with the basket too close to a picnic area.
-The length variety is low; 13 holes are in the 170-260 ft. range. (2<199/ 11<299/ 4<399/ 1 of 540).
-Some baskets were hard to see because of hills or trees.
-The pars listed on the score card can be goofy. I've never heard of a par 5 on a 369 ft hole with a 20 ft downhill
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975) It's short for a Blue level course, but the woods add lots of challenge to boost the Blue Score Avg.
Course Difficulty: 7 (out of 10)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 15. Stunning beauty of a creek in the fairway that runs the entire length of the hole.

-The course is great for lefties, since it has 7 dogleg right holes and only one dogleg left.
-Hole 12 has 3 tees. There's a white tee of 420 ft.
-Several holes may be longer than the length listed on the tees signs.
-The course is way out in the country, so it's a long, yet scenic, drive from any larger cities, but it's well worth driving even several hours to play. Make the trip if you can.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


7/18/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: thezac
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Other Thoughts: the course is great, i just wanted to add that the 9 additional holes are NOT installed. the original 18 are GREAT, but if you read the other review you will be mislead. they are planning 9-18 more holes, but they are not in the ground yet.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.