Baltimore, MD 
Pine Grove Middle School Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #8 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee (Hole #8 Basket)



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  "Uhhh....Where are we going?"

1    6/30/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: ProfDuck
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Challenging without being ridiculous (for inexperienced players)
-Good use of limited space
-Hole layout is decent
Cons: -Most signage is gone/missing. No indication as to where you're going for the next tee/hole
-Playing to the same pin for 2 holes can cause traffic issues
-A couple of baskets could use some repairs
Other Thoughts: This could be a decent course if the signs would just be replaced. The fact that you couldn't intuitively figure out where you were supposed to go next took away some of the fun. While a few holes had some kind of indication, most didn't. The arrows that are mentioned to be in the baskets to point the way to the next hole are gone. If there was some kind of markings, this would have gotten a much better rating.

ok course, only play it because it is close to me.

5+    10/3/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: MarkNizzle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 5/10/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Spot to practice, by first tee there is a soccer field providing a good space to throw and work on drives and shots. this course Makes the best use out limited space around the perimeter of the schools property,
Cons: Each basket is used for 2 tee pads, you often run into a group shooting for same basket and this stalls play. The fields around the school are used for rec leagues and can put alot of people in play around the course, often i skip some holes because i dont want to hit a person with a disc. This course is getting run down. Some baskets are crooked, missing the inner ring of chains or are 12-16" lower to the ground than standard basket heights. This course is tough to navigate at first. when retrieving your disc from the basket there is white arrow tabs pointing to next basket.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to me so i have played it alot. I really go here just to practice as its falling apart. Wear long Sport Socks or pants because: Poision Ivy,Oak and Sumac run heavily along the woods and stream. There is alot of trees in play here and can really mess up your score! I often tee in the woods with a roc now for that reason.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First I ever played

2-4    9/1/2008   6/16/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not very crowded
Holes are fairly open
Cons: -Is really difficult to follow
-Holes are not clearly marked so you find yourself guessing as to where to go
-If I didn't just read another review, I never would have known to play the course backwards because nothing is marked
Other Thoughts: If there are sporting events going on, on the fields, do your best not to take it to the left.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing to Pine Over

1    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: huskie2husker
Played: 96  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Not very crowded (the sunny Saturday afternoon I played)
-Good mix of wooded and open holes
Cons: -Only 9 holes
-Poor/confusing tee signs
-If groups are playing in the opposite direction, you are sure to get in each other's way
Other Thoughts: The course plays around a group of baseball fields, starting in between a swimming pool and tennis courts on the north side of the property and moves counter-clockwise around the fields. Most of the holes are in the grassy areas around the baseball fields and schools, but occasionally you move in to the wooded area surrounding that. The holes vary in length from the shortest holes being around 300 ft and the longest around 450 ft, so beginners shouldn't expect a lot of deuce opportunities.

The course is designed so that after completing hole 9, you can play a different 9 holes to the same baskets you just played in reverse, but I didn't bother with those. Despite what the course information says, this is NOT an 18 hole course. There are only 9 baskets in the ground (actually, a couple more since a few dual positions, but not far from each other).

Navigation can be tricky. I printed out the "Course Navigation Tips" in the "Links/Files" section and was able to figure out all of the front nine holes. Most of the holes have low posts with the number and maybe distance on it, but I could not find these for #1, #7, or #9. Because of the reverse layouts of the front and back 9s, many of the baskets have two numbers on them or there will be 2 tee posts close together. Be careful that you tee off from the right area heading towards the correct basket. I got confused a couple of times because of this.

This course is just a few minutes away from Goucher College DGC, and personally, I liked Goucher better. There just wasn't anything remarkable about Pine Grove that would bring me back to play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.