Baltimore, MD 
Pine Grove Middle School Share
Uploaded By: Radarx Hole #2 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 441ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee (Hole #2 Basket)



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Needs some work...but nice

2-4    3/21/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: dashiellx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: Not too crowded
Park setting
Plenty of Parking
Cons: Signage almost non-existent
Some Vandalism
Other Thoughts: I went to school where this course is located, but never played the game back then when I was in 6-8th grade. As a beginner, I found this course to be very challenging. Fairways are very narrow and there is not much margin for error. It is also a tough course to walk.
While playing, we met a man and his son who were surveying the course. We spoke to them for a bit and found out that as part of the son's community service project for school they plan to redo all the signage on the course and clean it up a bit. They said by mid summer 2012 they will be completed. I'm really looking forward to playing it again.
Use the map #2 for this course.

  Nice and Close

2-4    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: BmoreFerris
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open with some woods. Good use of middle school field, you can play during school hours
Cons: Tees could have the pictures updated. Hole 8 is to the left not right. Some of the baskets are not as clear as possible.
Other Thoughts: Could paint blue/red square on the walls of 10 an 11

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Plays more like 18

2-4    4/12/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: Radarx
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative layout to get 18 holes out of 11 baskets. Example for other 9 hole courses that could expand to 18 with 9 baskets. As a beginner this course is very challenging. The elevation changes and a really good mix of wooded to open terrain make this a excellent learning course for me. Well worth the visit if your in the area. I was fortunate to play with an experience Pine Grove player who knew where all the tees & baskets were so there was no confusion but once you play it one time its easy enough to follow. There is a course map on here and that is very helpfull. Not overly crowded during the week, have not played on a weekend. To me it plays more like a 18 hole course than a 9 hole. Lots of parking in school lot plus a port-a-pot by the first hole. Nice field to practice driving if there are no sports games going on.
Cons: Fields, people watching baseball games could come into play on holes 1, 2, 4, 16. Can become a problem playing around each other on a few holes if course becomes crowded. Missing 2 tee signs 7th or 9th is one of them, can't remember the other one. Dirt tees. Watch Poisen Ivy holes 1, 2, 17, 18. Holes 6 & 14 plays thru mud most of the time.Tee signs don't always list distance. Watch for lots of sticker bush.
Other Thoughts: I counted 11 baskets, Again 18 completly different holes. Back 9 seem more difficult than front nine with hole 16 (par 4 525 ft) the most difficult on the course in my opinion. Hole 9 & 11 has a white arrow marker on a tree showing where the fairway must be played, look for it as I missed it the first time. My favorite hole on the course is #3. Elevated tee looking down to rolling fairway to a downhill tree hidden Basket. A little bit of work on this course (tee signs, t-pads) would go a long way to making this a must play course in this area.

Nearby resturants, fast food.

Playability of the course I rate as 4 stars, just lacks quality tees and signage

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9 holers anywhere

5+    5/7/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a middle school property, this is one of the best 9 hole courses I've played. It's set up to play forward and backward in a very creative way so 18 holes is both fun and challenging.
Surprisingly tough for the amount of space the course occupies, with nice elevation, and a good mix of open and tight technical holes.
The course wraps around a couple of ball fields and then down into a lightly wooded area on the edge of the school property, but it has relatively little conflict with the ballfields and flows very well.
Cons: No course information (kiosk or sign map), so it's a little tough to follow without help your first time through.
Other Thoughts: PG has played host to the MD State overall tournament a number of times, and the playing fields make for pretty good field event fields (MTA, distance, accuracy).
It's not far off the Baltimore Beltway, so is for the most part pretty convenient/easy to get to.
Being only nine holes, it doesn't host to many events, but definitely a lot of fun to play. I would recommend Pine Grove to anybody.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.