Baltimore, MD 
Pine Grove Middle School Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 342ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Very pretty, parklike setting

5+    6/30/2008   7/31/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The hole layouts are interesting, and every one is different. I found the course challenging. The picnic-like setting makes for a pretty course to bring the family to.
Cons: A lot of the holes are very tight -- get into the rough on holes 2 or 3 and you may never see your disc again.
Poison ivy was sprining up in the bottomlands for holes 5 and 6 last time I was there. It was always a risk for 1, 2, and 3 in the rough.
Other Thoughts: The overlaps of the front and back nine have never been a problem for me, with the low usage rate for the course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First I ever played

2-4    9/1/2008   6/16/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not very crowded
Holes are fairly open
Cons: -Is really difficult to follow
-Holes are not clearly marked so you find yourself guessing as to where to go
-If I didn't just read another review, I never would have known to play the course backwards because nothing is marked
Other Thoughts: If there are sporting events going on, on the fields, do your best not to take it to the left.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing to Pine Over

1    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: huskie2husker
Played: 93  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Not very crowded (the sunny Saturday afternoon I played)
-Good mix of wooded and open holes
Cons: -Only 9 holes
-Poor/confusing tee signs
-If groups are playing in the opposite direction, you are sure to get in each other's way
Other Thoughts: The course plays around a group of baseball fields, starting in between a swimming pool and tennis courts on the north side of the property and moves counter-clockwise around the fields. Most of the holes are in the grassy areas around the baseball fields and schools, but occasionally you move in to the wooded area surrounding that. The holes vary in length from the shortest holes being around 300 ft and the longest around 450 ft, so beginners shouldn't expect a lot of deuce opportunities.

The course is designed so that after completing hole 9, you can play a different 9 holes to the same baskets you just played in reverse, but I didn't bother with those. Despite what the course information says, this is NOT an 18 hole course. There are only 9 baskets in the ground (actually, a couple more since a few dual positions, but not far from each other).

Navigation can be tricky. I printed out the "Course Navigation Tips" in the "Links/Files" section and was able to figure out all of the front nine holes. Most of the holes have low posts with the number and maybe distance on it, but I could not find these for #1, #7, or #9. Because of the reverse layouts of the front and back 9s, many of the baskets have two numbers on them or there will be 2 tee posts close together. Be careful that you tee off from the right area heading towards the correct basket. I got confused a couple of times because of this.

This course is just a few minutes away from Goucher College DGC, and personally, I liked Goucher better. There just wasn't anything remarkable about Pine Grove that would bring me back to play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9 holers anywhere

5+    5/7/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a middle school property, this is one of the best 9 hole courses I've played. It's set up to play forward and backward in a very creative way so 18 holes is both fun and challenging.
Surprisingly tough for the amount of space the course occupies, with nice elevation, and a good mix of open and tight technical holes.
The course wraps around a couple of ball fields and then down into a lightly wooded area on the edge of the school property, but it has relatively little conflict with the ballfields and flows very well.
Cons: No course information (kiosk or sign map), so it's a little tough to follow without help your first time through.
Other Thoughts: PG has played host to the MD State overall tournament a number of times, and the playing fields make for pretty good field event fields (MTA, distance, accuracy).
It's not far off the Baltimore Beltway, so is for the most part pretty convenient/easy to get to.
Being only nine holes, it doesn't host to many events, but definitely a lot of fun to play. I would recommend Pine Grove to anybody.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    11/29/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: HyzerSoze
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Incredibly well laid out, especially considering the land the course is built on is pretty much what's left after a school and a bunch of soccer/baseball fields were built.

Great variety of shots needed, very tough ones in woods with lots of trees and long open ones 450+ ft as well.

2 tees start at the top of a big hill out in the open...Its always nice just to watch your discs soar when you throw them from there.
Cons: Tee pads which aren't well defined...Usually just a patch of dirt from where people have their run-ups

Bad or no maps at tees to show you where to throw

Can be hard to navigate if you've never been before and baskets get used twice...Luckily it's not heavily trafficked so that's usually not a problem
Other Thoughts: It has more character than any other course I've played by far...Couldn't tell you exactly why its so fun but it really is a great course.

It can be pretty easy to lose discs almost any time of year if you miss the fairways - just pay attention too where they go after you've thrown.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Around the rim - and back

5+    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Plenty of parking. Near amenities. Soccer/softball fields can be used to loosen-up.

Recently added map and directions make it easy to navigate for a first-time visitor to the course. Don't confuse some of the numbered TREES (part of a nature walk?) with numbered TEES!
Cons:
Dirt tees. Tee signs badly in need of repair. One basket serving as target for two holes, tees in opposite directions.

Proximity of OB busy road.

Other Thoughts: Given the limited amount of space - a small strip of land between various athletic fields and a rim of woods, this course is fairly well done, with some elevation change, and mixture of open/wooded holes.

While two tees sharing one basket could cause some traffic problems, it is a clever way to create an 18-hole course

Favourite hole: #11 - long throw down a hill with a mando on the right, then dogleg right to a basket minimally guarded by some large trees

Imagine this course would be quite difficult when the trees have their leaves.

Rating this course JUST on the difficulty and variety of the holes, this course would be above average, but the tees, signs, and flow (when crowded, and people throwing towards the same basket from opposite directions) are what lowers it to an average score.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Plays forwards then backwards

1    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maps on most tees, most baskets have small arrows on the poles to guide you to the next tee.
Nice use of the creek/ ditch on hole 6.
Decent scenery and variety.
Cons: 18 holes with 9 basket means that when you are on hole 5 the person on hole 14 is shooting for the same basket as you.
No sign for hole 7 tee was very hard to find. Old tee markers created more confusion.
Do not come when a baseball game is in progress. you frequently play close to where spectators would be.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 sign says dog leg right, but it is a far left turn. There were extra baskets at 1 & 9 (I counted 11 baskets on the field).
New signage and better tees are needed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nine Baskets, but 18 Holes

9/27/2003   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, interesting pin placements, length.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised by how nice this course is; even Baltimore's least known course is plenty long, well maintained, and challenging in a variety of ways. Other than a real right-turning hole, this course packs a lot of challenge into a fairly small space, and is great looking too. Also, Pine Grove has nine baskets but really does play like 18, with the second nine playing from completely different tees. But while I found all nine baskets no problem, I did not find four of the nine tees on the back, so you may wish to have a local guide or at least the benefit of local insight before you play this course.

This course also featured some difficult pin placements, with several baskets sitting on the side of steep hills or right behind some big trees. Without a good putting game, makeable pars can turn into doubles with a couple of barely missed downhill putts. But playing around the outer edges of a set of baseball and soccer fields, this course made good use of space, putting a legitimate 18 holes on space for only nine and making good use of the available creek, hills, and trees. Finally, the course doesn't appear to get much use at all, making it a good place for practice or a quiet round. If only I could've found all 18 tees…Oh well, overall, this course just boosted my opinion of the Baltimore area as one of the top places in the whole country for disc golf.

Favorite Hole - #3 - Down and across a couple of small hills to a basket well back in the woods.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center