Baltimore, MD 
Pine Grove Middle School Share
Uploaded By: huskie2husker Hole #4 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 405ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Fairway



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good Use of Space

5+    7/2/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great use of space reusing 9 baskets.
- Challenging course.
- Not crowded.
- Baskets in good shape.
- School has plenty of open area if you want to get in some field practice
Cons: - Course is overgrown in a lot of areas, very easy to lose discs simply because you would get sliced by sticker bushes/trees.
- Doesn't get a lot of attention when trees are fallen or a lot of debris as a result of storms.
- With baskets used for multiple holes, has the potential to be overlap. Have had some close calls.
- Natural tee pads are pretty worn in, and water makes them even worse.
- No signage and most of the hole tee markers are missing.
Other Thoughts: Whenever there is a bad storm this course seems to get hit HARD. So I would avoid for a few weeks after bad storms.

I went to school here, and it seemed like the course was in a little better shape back then. Wish it got some more lovin because it would be a good, tough course in the area. But because of the overgrowth and lack of TLC, it seems more of a chore to play than fun and I'd rather make the drive to Druid or one of the other courses a little further away.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work...but nice

2-4    3/21/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: dashiellx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: Not too crowded
Park setting
Plenty of Parking
Cons: Signage almost non-existent
Some Vandalism
Other Thoughts: I went to school where this course is located, but never played the game back then when I was in 6-8th grade. As a beginner, I found this course to be very challenging. Fairways are very narrow and there is not much margin for error. It is also a tough course to walk.
While playing, we met a man and his son who were surveying the course. We spoke to them for a bit and found out that as part of the son's community service project for school they plan to redo all the signage on the course and clean it up a bit. They said by mid summer 2012 they will be completed. I'm really looking forward to playing it again.
Use the map #2 for this course.

 Tough 9-basket course

5+    3/17/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: The otto
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the oldest in the state, if not country. There is a great variety of shots and elevation change. Shooting a par 54 is a challenge to the most experienced golfer, as there are holes that are definite par 4s (hole 9b and 16 come to mind). The course itself is usually pretty empty too, as there are several superior courses within a 20-30 min drive. Holes 1/18 and 9/10 have 2 baskets each, so I usually play to one of the baskets for one of the holes and the other basket for it's counterpart.
Cons: 1 - layout of the course. If you do not play with someone who knows the course, chances are you will get discouraged and leave. The best way to explain the layout is that each basket is played twice, and the sum of the holes that play to that basket is always 19. Therefore, holes 1 and 18 play to the same basket, holes 2 and 17 play to the same basket, and so forth. Signage for the next hole is minimal at best, so knowing which basket to shoot for and from what tee can be tricky. Also, the course plays around some athletic fields, so if you can't keep your disc in the fairway, you may have the unluckiness to interrupt a 9-10 yr old baseball game to retrieve your wayward drive.
2 - Tees. Most of the time, the tees are dry. However, with natural tees come the potential for mud and general slipperiness. This is a course to avoid a day or 2 after heavy rains.
3- Surrounding Area. I live next door to the course, and I feel quite safe even playing a glo round. However, the riff raff in the area love to destroy baskets, so some of the are bent/dented/broken to some extent.
Other Thoughts: I think my rating of 3.5 may be a bit high, but as I said, this is a challenging course for players of all skill levels. In fact, I think this course is more challenging than Druid, Lake Montebello, and Scarboro.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good for a quick round

2-4    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: VTerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, good open and wooded shots, 2 very elevated tees, varied shots required, plenty of parking. Fairly close to major highways. Easy if you have the map on DGCR (use the II version)
Cons: Inconsistent course maintenance, close to ball fields, area is a little tight, brush is fairly gnarly.
Other Thoughts: This is an easy course to stop in and throw some holes but it's banged up and not maintained very well. A few holes are memorable (big downhill shots on 10 & 11) and the Mach 3 baskets are nice. The rough is pretty scary on #2-3, 18, keep an eye or bring a friend with a weed whacker. I hope this course can get some attention, it's in a good spot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  "Uhhh....Where are we going?"

1    6/30/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: ProfDuck
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Challenging without being ridiculous (for inexperienced players)
-Good use of limited space
-Hole layout is decent
Cons: -Most signage is gone/missing. No indication as to where you're going for the next tee/hole
-Playing to the same pin for 2 holes can cause traffic issues
-A couple of baskets could use some repairs
Other Thoughts: This could be a decent course if the signs would just be replaced. The fact that you couldn't intuitively figure out where you were supposed to go next took away some of the fun. While a few holes had some kind of indication, most didn't. The arrows that are mentioned to be in the baskets to point the way to the next hole are gone. If there was some kind of markings, this would have gotten a much better rating.

ok course, only play it because it is close to me.

5+    10/3/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: MarkNizzle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 5/10/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Spot to practice, by first tee there is a soccer field providing a good space to throw and work on drives and shots. this course Makes the best use out limited space around the perimeter of the schools property,
Cons: Each basket is used for 2 tee pads, you often run into a group shooting for same basket and this stalls play. The fields around the school are used for rec leagues and can put alot of people in play around the course, often i skip some holes because i dont want to hit a person with a disc. This course is getting run down. Some baskets are crooked, missing the inner ring of chains or are 12-16" lower to the ground than standard basket heights. This course is tough to navigate at first. when retrieving your disc from the basket there is white arrow tabs pointing to next basket.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to me so i have played it alot. I really go here just to practice as its falling apart. Wear long Sport Socks or pants because: Poision Ivy,Oak and Sumac run heavily along the woods and stream. There is alot of trees in play here and can really mess up your score! I often tee in the woods with a roc now for that reason.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 hidden gem

5+    9/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 53  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Layout is on the perimeter of a middle school's recreation fields.
- Course is 9 holes that is turned into 18 holes by playing the holes in reverse.
-Reverse layout is very good. You don't get the feeling that you have already played the holes.
- Good mix of open fairways and trees. Trees are enough to be challenging but not impenetrable.
- There is a good amount of elevation change too. Holes go up hill as well as down hill.
- Course nevers seems to be crowded.
Cons: - Recommend visiting the course's map on this site to see hole/tee locations if you are unfamiliar with the couse.
- Holes 4 and 15 share the basket. Hole 4 players at tee off do not see players on 15. Players on 15 need to be careful. Same is true for holes 3 and 16.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice and Close

2-4    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: BmoreFerris
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open with some woods. Good use of middle school field, you can play during school hours
Cons: Tees could have the pictures updated. Hole 8 is to the left not right. Some of the baskets are not as clear as possible.
Other Thoughts: Could paint blue/red square on the walls of 10 an 11

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Plays more like 18

2-4    4/12/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creative layout to get 18 holes out of 11 baskets. Example for other 9 hole courses that could expand to 18 with 9 baskets. As a beginner this course is very challenging. The elevation changes and a really good mix of wooded to open terrain make this a excellent learning course for me. Well worth the visit if your in the area. I was fortunate to play with an experience Pine Grove player who knew where all the tees & baskets were so there was no confusion but once you play it one time its easy enough to follow. There is a course map on here and that is very helpfull. Not overly crowded during the week, have not played on a weekend. To me it plays more like a 18 hole course than a 9 hole. Lots of parking in school lot plus a port-a-pot by the first hole. Nice field to practice driving if there are no sports games going on.
Cons: Fields, people watching baseball games could come into play on holes 1, 2, 4, 16. Can become a problem playing around each other on a few holes if course becomes crowded. Missing 2 tee signs 7th or 9th is one of them, can't remember the other one. Dirt tees. Watch Poisen Ivy holes 1, 2, 17, 18. Holes 6 & 14 plays thru mud most of the time.Tee signs don't always list distance. Watch for lots of sticker bush.
Other Thoughts: I counted 11 baskets, Again 18 completly different holes. Back 9 seem more difficult than front nine with hole 16 (par 4 525 ft) the most difficult on the course in my opinion. Hole 9 & 11 has a white arrow marker on a tree showing where the fairway must be played, look for it as I missed it the first time. My favorite hole on the course is #3. Elevated tee looking down to rolling fairway to a downhill tree hidden Basket. A little bit of work on this course (tee signs, t-pads) would go a long way to making this a must play course in this area.

Nearby resturants, fast food.

Playability of the course I rate as 4 stars, just lacks quality tees and signage

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    9/7/2009   3/14/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 baskets, 18 tees, variety and challenging layout, glow-golf, some singage on tees, porta-potties.
Cons: Only nine baskets for 18 holes. Course navigation was frustrating and couldn't find one of the tees. Playing around the ball field on holes 1 and 2 were rough on the knees and ankles with the steep sideways elevation slope. Natural tees. School property.
Other Thoughts: I might rate the course higher if I knew the layout better. Its probably the best course around northern Baltimore behind Druid Hill. Its not far off I-95 and 695 so if you are traveling through its a decent fix, but just don't expect to be wowed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.