Layout Extinct

Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #18 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good course for your short game, but that's about it...

5+    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course while very short is relatively easy to navigate. Good course for beginners looking to master their short game. There are several holes with relatively tight technical shots and the creek can come into play on several holes. I also like that there are plenty of trees which offer shade from the intense CO sun.
Cons: Advanced players need only a putter to play this course. The holes are too short in my opinion and outside of a few tight holes does not present much of a challenge for advanced players. I wasn't a fan of throwing over walking paths where there are often pedestrians and bikers also enjoying the great outdoors.
Other Thoughts: In playing this course 6 or 7 times now, I feel every time I go there it's usually crowded and was disappointed with the amount of groups that had 6 or more players in a single group. Where's the etiquette y'all?

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Arvada Classic

5+    3/31/2011   4/1/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A cool lay out with a chance to throw into the stream on just about every hole. I think just about every disc golfer in town learned to play here. Still a great course for beginners to hone the craft. Oh yeah I saw a dude with a tramp stamp.
Cons: Too many kids, dogs, bikers, and disc golfers, all in one place. Leave the drivers at home.
Other Thoughts: Cool place to throw. I recommend going during the weekdays to avoid the crowds. Go have some fun at J.R.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but dangerous

1    3/7/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the holes on this short course feature enough danger that even the big dogs are likely to make at least one 4. There are quite a few shots that will make you pucker up with the creek and OB sidewalks.

There is a good variety to the ideal shot shapes and you'll certainly be challenged to pay attention to how you land the disc with many baskets in close proximity to the creek.

The locals I encountered were very friendly.

Good cement to throw from and Mach III's all in good shape.

I'd agree that the course is best described a white level course, but more advanced players can still get a good short game workout here. It definitely will develop shot shaping, distance control and "touch".
Cons: This is one of the most dangerous courses in existence concerning player and pedestrian safety. The space is way too small to accommodate 18 holes of disc golf and other park users safely. The course gets a lot of play and the park sidewalk has a lot of traffic. It's only a matter of time before someone gets hurt with a disc.

Some of the tee shots require a throw that passes very close to another basket. One or two of the holes put a road very much into play. A house along the 17th fairway has had many boards in its wooden fence replaced due to disc damage. Two of the holes put a basketball court very much into play.

Luck can come into play frequently around the baskets with some good lay-up shots bouncing and/or hitting a root or a rock and then standing up and rolling into the creek.
Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed my round at this course, but the dangerous layout detracts greatly from the course rating. There's absolutely no way that I would sign off on a design like that.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 short and risky

2-4    1/25/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 64  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: There are decent tee pads
Good baskets
Very nice signs, thanks to the Mile High Disc Golf club, an awesome local disc club.
Cons: Very short
Didn't like the layout: criss-crossing a river/creek with steep banks. Very easy to ended up in the water even on a good shot. Most holes are placed within feet of a steep dirt slope leading to a river. Discs easily skip and rll down the bank.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure why so many holes are placed so close to a steep bank leading to a river. The entire course just makes you lay-up over and over. But, to be fair, the course was quite busy so my opinion is probably the minority opinion.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.