Course Extinct
Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #10 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Cool Course vs. Crowded Park

1    7/16/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design - Steady Ed was on to something. Johnny Roberts is a very well-designed course that plays alongside, and occsional over, a meandering creek. While it wasn't necessarily long, the variety of shots required was great. Lots of midrange work to be enjoyed at the course. Occasional blind shots, but scouting is not too difficult.

Park - The park was very neat and well-kept. Some guys were selling discs out of their trunk near #1 and #18. Landscaping was good. Creek was beautiful.

Tee Signs - some of the best tee signs I have ever seen. They were informative and accurate. No guesswork required and this was the main reason that scouting was so easy. You may have to walk about 25-30 feet up the fairway to get a "visual" of the basket if you like, but you at least know where you should be looking.
Cons: Too Many Bystanders - This is the biggest "con" and it really isn't close. The walking trails were full of folks and many of the holes border or traverse these trails. We waited at one hole for nearly 5 minutes while two small girls (around age 4) played around a sign on the path that read "Watch out for Disc Golfers" Eventually their mother came and they moved on and my tee shot clanged into that very sign as they were about 30 feet away...they all looked back at us shocked. Oh well, the sign was in the middle of the fairway, so I didn't feel that bad about hitting it.

Too Many Other Players - Arvada is a cool little town, and I can see why disc golf is popular there. However, it's really hard to enjoy a round when there are players on every tee pad with others waiting. There were also far more "one-disc wonders" than I have ever seen on a course. My friends and I decided we were going to let the guy behind us play through, as he was just chucking a disc and had a girl with him who wasn't playing. Well we waited for him at the next tee, but he never came. He simply decided to hop around to other holes that happened to be vacant.

Lack of Etiquette - There were a lot of recreational/newbies on the course who ended up in the creek on nearly every shot. Since the couse is "tight" and not a lot of land was available, they should all simply stand off the fairway while one looks for or retrieves their disc. But this is definitely not the case at JR. Multiple times, there were groups standing in the fairway, occasionally telling us to go ahead and tee off...while they are still standing and jumping around in the fairway.

Other Thoughts: Johnny Roberts is definitely a cool course, and I enjoyed it despite all of the other "distractions". However, we were told by some folks "in the know" that the course is likely to be pulled in the near future. I wish I could say that this historical course should be fought for by all disc golfers everywhere as a means of preserving a great Steady Ed design...but it is dangerous for other park patrons. That's just the simple truth of the matter. I am very glad I had the opportunity to play it, and if I am in Denver and it's still open, I will gladly play it again.

#8 is currently pulled, but we knew that going in, so no need to list that as a "con". Just thought it should be mentioned.

Disc retrieval from the creek is very possible. However, please be smart and look carefully at the best way to get down into the creek. There are some slippery slopes down the steep banks. Use caution.

I think the course design at Johnny Roberts is deserving of a 3.5, but I feel it's necessary to factor in the inherent danger and distractions caused by the many people in the park. It is definitely a good course and one that should be played if you have opportunity. Just be aware of the potential issues going into your round and try not to get frustrated.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/18/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent park style course designed by the legendary Steady Ed that plays across lush green fairways, around several mature trees and along a scenic creek that comes into play on many holes. The concrete tees are very nice and most are attached to the paved walkway. Excellent baskets in good shape and catch very well. The tee signs are very informative with hole map + an actual photo showing each of the possible pin placements (same style found at Beaver Ranch and I think are the model for what a tee sign should be.)

The course is superbly designed, as one might expect from Steady Ed, making the most of the land and natural obstacles. There are holes of varying lengths, some wide open, others more narrow, every basket is strategically placed for risk/reward, a straight shot is best, but there are places where a left or right shot can improve you score by a shot, and it is a good test of distance control as many times you do not want to run too far past the hole. The creek that runs through the middle of the course is a disc funnel (not a matter of if you will throw in the creek, but when and how often!) It is pretty shallow and clear so you have a good chance of retrieving your disc.

I love playing courses like this- it is so much fun and in a beautiful setting. This was the only course during my week in Denver that I went back and played on a different day.
Cons: This course seems to always be very crowded (understandable). The downside is there is the constant fear of people throwing into you. The negative to the creek is that everyone is landing discs in there and then looking for discs on most holes, so things get backed up, or people are just standing in the fairways waiting on others to find their disc. We were told several times just to go ahead and throw despite the fact they were in our line of fire (we politely refused until they moved, but this just backed things up more.)

Also, there is a walkway that borders or cuts across many holes. Many people use it and there are lots of little kids, strollers, etc. so you often have to wait a long time to be able to throw without a chance of hitting somebody.

The course was missing hole 8, not sure why, I knew that going in so not a huge deal.
Other Thoughts: I heard from several people in the know in Denver that there was a good chance this course may be pulled soon for forever which would be a big time shame- as it interferes with the walking trail coupled with the large number of people I witnessed playing that seemed clueless about how dangerous a disc can be it is no wonder people are complaining. Which is too bad because it truly is a great course. I am glad I got a chance to play here.

If you are in the Denver area and need a break from the higher elevation hilly mountain courses like Phantom Falls you will want to check this one out for sure before it goes away. I recommend avoiding weekends and late afternoons (though it was still surprisingly busy on a weekday morning.)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not a bad course to play on vacation

1    9/17/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty easy to navigate - somewhat challenging - good variety of shots used - nice tee signs - water holes that offer OB, without necessarily loosing your disc - restrooms

This course is in a nice, clean, well maintained with plenty of challenging shots once you factor all the OB into play. It is not an epic course that is tough to play, so we enjoyed a quick round before moving on to another local course. Lots of stuff to do in the area if you're just visiting. Lots of locals to point you in the right direction if you need some help. Seems to be a very popular course as it is in the city.
Cons: Crowded park & course - lots of pedestrians - some holes seem to criss cross, so watch out or errant throws

There was quite a bit of non-disc golf traffic in the park as well as numerous holes that had potential for hitting someone on another hole
Other Thoughts: There were a couple tee signs missing when we played, so we got a little turned around, but i'm sure that is just a temporary issue.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Tight

2-4    1/9/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: RibDaddy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I am told this is a Classic Course and it has some very fun shots. They have done a very good job of putting 18 holes in such a tight space. Nice Park
Cons: This course gets extreme use and lots of traffic from walkers and bikers. #8 is no longer in play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Grand Dame of Metro Denver

2-4    12/23/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tucked away in a little valley, lack of wind when most other area courses were being crushed by gusts up to 35 mph.

Really pretty, neighborhood setting.

Lots of use, but DG is acknowledged and respected. Course is maintained well, park users are respectful and aware of one another. Very cool vibe given the high usage.

You gotta be on your techinical game, there's a lot to get caught up in if you are not paying attention.

Muskrat swims around the creek by hole 8.
Cons: High usage might be a pain (not for me, playing solo, today)

Location in a valley impedes snow melt. It was wet and sloppy today.
Other Thoughts:
I was a schlub, today, and got a disc lost under the ice in the creek (?@#$#@!!!), and another wedged tight in a tree. I got a mild soaker, and had to climb a bit to where I could shake my disc free. Mighty embarrassing in front of all the locals (who were kind enough to ignore my folly).



I picked up a beat-on old Banshee in the snow. Two names written, but no phone. If you want it back, let me know your name. It makes a pretty good putter...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great tight course!

2-4    4/21/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one busy course, but well worth the wait. The open areas are great minus some ppl you might have to dodge on a throw or two. As you get further through the course the trees begin to close in on you. Tons of short holes good for up'ing your mid game and putting. Water isnt really a big factor, unless your disc starts floating down the creek.
Cons: None really beyond lines, but thats expected at a course like this. I guess fairway crossing is a bit of an eye opener, so make sure your yelling FORE.
Other Thoughts: Earlier is better at this course. As the day goes on, it starts getting packed. Watch for the houses along 17ish... The ppl that own it have signs that state "DO NOT ENTER" so getting a disc back may require a knock on the door. I would imagine they arent too fond of their house getting pelted with discs....

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate Relationship.

5+    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Streaker52
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging course that will improve your game.
- Free to play.
- Ample shade, great for sunny/hot days.
Cons: - Hole #8 is missing.
- Mistakes are punished severely.
- Can be very crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is a very technical course. Every hole either has trees, water or both. If there are any weaknesses to your game, this course will be more than happy to not only show them to you, but beat you senseless with them.

Don't go to Johnny Roberts if you are looking for a fun, confidence building day of disc golf. You won't find it. If you are looking for a challenge, maybe you've reached a plateau and need to see where your games needs improving, or if you need some tweaking before a competition this would be a great course to play.

J-Rob's is a very beloved course by many disc golfers locally. It's a must play! Just be aware of what your getting yourself into, otherwise you will not understand what all the "fuss" is about.

P.S. This course is literally in the backyard of the Arvada Police department, and it is not uncommon to see police officers on bike or on foot patrolling the course. Common sense is a must!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Real nice park. Lots of garbage cans and benches. A few interesting shot. Good tee pads and baskets.
Cons: Flat and not too many technical shots. Very crowded with lots of pedestrians. Basket 8 is currently missing
Other Thoughts: A good course to play but just too many people for me to want to play it more.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/17/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: tbrown
Played: 63  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Descent variety of shots
A few great basket placements
Nice park
Not congested if you play before noon
Good baskets
Sheltered for the most part making it playable on windy days
Cons: Not many long holes - could have got through course with mids and putters
Missing hole 8 ..
Couple short short holes
Other Thoughts: Good course overall. Would recommend playing if you are in the area and have a hour or an hour and a half. Hole 15 gets a thumbs up!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Dubbel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of fun. You can throw almost every type of shot; the only limits are your imagination & ability. It's has well marked maps, and each hole is easy to find. It's also in a nice neighborhood.
Cons: It's a very easy course. It is also very crowded.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course to teach someone who hasn't played before, but is also fun for experienced players.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.