Course Extinct
Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
OK...

1    5/23/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Water in play on 12 out of 18 holes, but no real danger of losing a disc

Challenging without being brutal.

Concrete tees, multiple pin positions, port-a-pots on site, etc. All the basic amenities for a course you'd want to play repeatedly.

Fun! This is often an overlooked part of reviewing a course (imho) but I left wishing I had time to play another round here.
Cons: Fairly tight layouts, with a couple holes playing directly over another basket, and a couple more play over sidewalks.

Even at 10am on a weekday there was a bit of traffic through this park, so I can understand where other reviewers worry about traffic here. It was busier than some Ohio course are on the weekend!

Missing the 8th pin. I'm not sure if this got stolen or permanently pulled due to the way 8 plays over the 7th fairway. Either way, I'd have liked to have played 8.
Other Thoughts: On the advice of the fine people over at Phenix I played Johnny Roberts, and I'm glad I did. While the course is short and not very terribly challenging (I shot 4 over pro par my first time through) it does force you to think and hit specific lines. Additionally, with many pins perched on the edge of the shallow creek running through the park you really have to have confidence in your driving game to be aggressive going after 2's. This was a different style of course compared to what I'd played previously. In Ohio or Michigan a "technical" course is usually one that plays through tightly wooded fairways. Johnny Roberts requires similar precision, but uses strategically placed trees, other fairways, and a small creek to force lines. It's no less effective, and is significantly more fun to play, as errant shots tend to still be in play as opposed to buried in the woods. With fewer obstacles and vertical limits I was able to be more creative in my line shaping. This is any easy course to post 3's on every hole, but you will risk bogeys if you want to take a shot at birdie on many holes. Overall a nice city course that I'd play again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tourneylicious!

2-4    12/8/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 23.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ---Awesome tee signs that show all possible positions as well as a "from the teepad" photo that gives you the lay of the land
---Intuitive layout that makes it very easy to follow
---Good selection of shots, with no real wide open bombers, so you have to put your skills on point
---Creek down the middle provides a good challenge as well as "risk vs. reward" shots, without being too intrusive or too hardcore so as to take your discs
---Famous course in the middle of downtown Arvada...other courses nearby as well as some fabulous adult beverage-serving establishments
Cons: ---It's in a public park, it's a famous course; it gets crowded early and often, no matter the season, with DGers and Walkers alike (please be respectful)
---Upkeep is somewhat lacking. The baskets and teepads (what teepads there are) are still pretty good, but there is lots of little bits of trash i.e. cigarette butts
---Short course. No need to bring a distance driver. A good fairway and some mids will suffice
---Hole 8 no longer exists...not sure why, but it's not there so don't bother looking
Other Thoughts: A classic CO course, it's a course that really must be played for completions sake. Johnny Roberts' huge, boisterous personality infects the place (in a good way) and you won't find any bad vibes here. It's pretty hard not to have fun, no matter your skill level.

Tournaments are frequently played here, as well as weekly tags, so it would be a good idea to double-check what's going on before heading to Johnny. We did a tournament there last Saturday with 110 players and the place was packed. A few non-tourney players showed up and politely waited until we finished to begin their round...like I said, very positive vibes here.

I almost rated this a 3, but the good feelings and the fun factor raise it up a half point.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course in the midst of the Masses

1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 60  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some great lines you need to hit to stay out of the creek. The creek is a positive in my book, as some shots i kind of puckered while my disc was in flight. Hole #2 and #15 were my favorites (basket within a few feet of the water, and i parked #15!). Plenty of grass and shade for hot days. Also has some of the best course signage i've seen. Being a Steady Ed course adds an aura to it. Locals were cool and let me play through on my solo round with no hassle.
Cons: crossing fairways, as mentioned in other reviews. The course has a success problem in that it's a fine course and a lot of people want to play it. It was even crowded (but not insane) on a Thursday at noon. It's packed in to a pretty small parcel so heads up.
Other Thoughts: When i pulled up to the course, i was disappointed how compact the layout was, but the quality of the design quickly put that to rest. I thought it might be a historical course that wasn't all that (see Huntington Beach), so i'm glad it was a nice challenge. Police were given a guy a ticket on #1 for not having his dog on a leash. Bummed the mini-ramps aren't at the skatepark anymore.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course The Way I Like It!

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Johnny Roberts DGC is an old school disc golf course that is showing her age. The baskets are old, the tee pads are old, the signs are old, the distances are not up to today's lofty standards. But I love the fact that this course has not been tinkered with. Today's advance/pro players haven't been able to totally redesign the course adding distance and moving the baskets to even more difficult positions. They're already often enough in difficult enough positions next the creek.
Cons: By today's standards, this course is probably a little tame. Some players might complain about the difficult and tight nature of the course. I normally dislike tight, technical courses but I really enjoyed my round here this morning. But I think I may have been lucky to have been playing in July during a drought when the creek was way low.
Other Thoughts: As a 60 year Recreational player, this course suits my level of play to a tee. I'm sure it would frustrate me at times but this morning I was happy to have finally had the chance to play the legend of Colorado courses.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great, fun course

2-4    4/6/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: cohunter
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variations of shots, multiple basket placement, great use of the creek, open park and trees. The course wasn't boring at all to play and really easy to follow once on and going. Unlike some other courses it isn't located in a big open park that just zig-zags back and forth making for a boring round, the location along Ralston Creek makes for a fun and technical round.
Cons: Throwing across fairways, 17 over 5, 14 over the top of 2's basket. There were a lot of people out and enjoying the weather therefore having to wait to throw until they were clear. 8 was missing, not sure if road construction was the reason for closing it.
Other Thoughts: I have found this to be the best out of the 4 courses I have been to in the Denver area. Two others were wide open and packed with little shade. When waiting here you can stand in the shade while waiting for your shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

2-4    7/17/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: O1DMBFan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice technical shots
- Water hazards that are for the most part avoidable
- Good course for beginners wanting to venture into the skills of technical throwing.
- Well maintained
Cons: - Course under construction (hole 2 was blocked off)
- Hole 8 completely missing
- Many times shooting over walking/biking paths which caused us to wait several times for a clearing
- Short holes
- Flow can be a little confusing for new discers to the park.
- Too busy of a park
Other Thoughts: I will most likely not make the 20 minute drive to this park very often as it was too busy and it felt like you were waiting more than you were throwing. I really enjoyed that the holes had many obstacles and required strategy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Small, Tight, and Fun

5+    6/20/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Scenery, A good number of shots need a precise shot to get a good final result. Pretty creek, nice tee pads.
Cons: Public park with lots of joggers and the like. Short course thats always crowded. Now that I'm decent this course seems WAY too small.
Other Thoughts: If this course was in my backyard and was all mine I'd LOVE it! Its on of the prettiest courses I've played.. But its WAY too crowded. And a good number of holes double back into the others fairway. Even though its short and crowded its still a blast to play every time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Local course with technicality makes for a great place for beginners and avid DGers alike. Well maintained, a few different pin placements on select holes.
Cons: Course has high traffic, lots of players on the weekends. The worst part is that it is in the middle of a community park where a lot of families and cyclists frequent. Impedes play time and sometimes enjoyment.
Other Thoughts: Still on of my top five courses in CO despite the cons. Met a lot of good friends that I now DG with there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Old Course For a Reason

5+    5/6/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of Colorado's oldest courses for a reason. While you may not need to throw any bombs here, you will be required to throw every shot in your bag with a great deal of accuracy. Fairly long s-curves, hyzer, anhyzer, short finesse holes, and multiple chances for an ace. There is a river that comes into play on nearly every hole, making the course all that much harder and more interesting. You basically start on one side of the creek, play down the creek, and play back on the other side of the creek. There are also multiple pin placements, so those who frequent the course get a good amount of different looks. This course will certainly help you mid-to-long range game, and the river makes sure you have quality touch and accuracy on every shot.
Cons: This is a very crowded park in two ways. First, there are almost always multiple groups in front of you. I have been there on a Wednesday afternoon and been help up by multiple groups of four. Secondly, the park is visited by an absurd amount of bikers, people walking dogs, runners, etc. Since one path runs through holes 1-8, expect some delays here.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly one of the busiest courses I go to, but the shot selection keeps me coming back every once in a while.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Nate
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice atmosphere. Green grass, trees, etc. The holes provide a great challenge for accuracy. Parking is very close to the first hole, and although there is a stream, its so shallow that discs wont get lost easily.
Cons: Most of the holes are fairly short, so don't bring your Surge or Katana. The water can get frustrating because a good portion of the holes are right along the stream.
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses I have played at

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.