Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Keep Discin'

5+    7/23/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: player7217
Played: 104  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course in the middle of a big park with mostly all grass. Can work on your technical shots and bring different discs out of your bag. Lots of shade on course due to all of the trees and it stays pretty cool with the creek running through the course.
Cons: Will get very crowded when people begin to get off work and on weekends. Even during the day there will be a lot of people. No signs to tell you where to go for the next holes although it is manageable for first time players. The creek can get deep in spots and you wont even be able to tell the difference until you are neck deep in it. Don't play after a big rainstorm because the creek is flowing so hard in some spots that you will have a hard time finding your disc. Hole number 8 has been taken out due to people throwing discs and damaging cars and houses.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses that I have played and I can say that it can be challenging to both new and long time throwers. I try to play in the early mornings due to the crowd that begins to form later in the day. If you get a chance go throw this course and I promise that you wont be disappointed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cop Shop

5+    4/4/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: Ghetto B
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For being an old course it's very well kept By both the City and the Locals. well maped out and very challenging with all the water hazards.
Cons: During spring and early summer months the creek can run pretty fast and deep. Be ready to take a dip. Also bring a tool to fish out disc's. the water hazards are brutal.
This course is VERY well known so be ready to play quickly.
Other Thoughts: An AMAZING 18 hole course. The pictures uploaded do not show how nice this park really is. Thank you Arvada. Keep up the good work.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 excellent when not overcrowded

2-4    10/1/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - clean, well kept course
- concrete tee pads
- easy parking
- plenty of trash cans
- centrally located to shopping/food/disc golf store
- creek provides a challenge while not being a disc gobbler (if the water is low)
- some good players are regulars here
- great baskets
- unique layout, lots of variety, holes as short as 99 feet, but many 325+, all crammed in tightly. You need every shot in your bag.
Cons: - busy. Lots of foot, bike traffic, kids, oblivious parents, and passer bys.
- (personal experience) some of the regulars are friendly, some have attitudes
- skate park kids have been known to swipe the occasional disc - keep your eyes on your disc.
- nasty port-o-potties
- well known as the best course in town, really busy during peak hours, excessive waiting can result.
Other Thoughts: Best played in the morning when park is scarcely populated (mornings, week days before 3). Aside from that, now that construction is complete, this is a GREAT course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 amazing course

5+    7/14/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: inuse23
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course follows Ralston Creek with beautiful trees lining the whole way.
Great variety of obstacles although its a flat course.
Cons: Can be very busy in the afternoons with people lining up to tee off. Also because its a park there are a lot of kids and other people that can get in the way.
If the creek is high there is a possibility that you could lose you disc.
Other Thoughts: As of right now, this is my favorite course in the denver metro. I haven't tried all of them but this one keeps me coming back every week. I love the park setting and how generally chill everyone is. I have had a few instances of d-bag golfers practicing poor etiquette but its been rare.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great everytime

5+    5/24/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: ChingyChing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great short course. Easy to navigate. Easy but technical. Lots of shade. Nice paths. Friendly people.
Cons: Can't think of any its always a good time.
Other Thoughts: Have fun. Get those aces. Carry more versatile discs for more technical shots.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 On the riverside.

1    5/31/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well-kept and maintained course
- Course makes great use of the features available.
- Not a particularly long course, but quite technical and forces you to use a large variety of throws throughout. A lot of shaping precise lines through course hazards.
- Water is comes into play on almost every hole, upping the difficulty and accuracy needed.
- Nice, accurate signs and large concrete tee boxes at every hole.
- Plenty of birdie opportunities throughout the course and holes with a decent amount of risk/reward.
Cons: - The park can be quite crowded with disc golfers, pedestrians, and skateboarders alike. I actually accidentally hit a pedestrian that i could not see from the tee.
- There is one thing about some of the the tee boxes that bothers me however; some of them are part of the sidewalk itself with a painted white line marking the foul line. At times it can interfere with pedestrian traffic in the park.
- In a few places, the fairways of different holes can interfere with one another.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course in Colorado that I have played and was really impressed. Whoever designed it did a great job fitting in a short, technical course into the space available. Great job of incorporating water hazards into play. Even though the course can be quite crowded, I am still happy to see so many people that enjoy playing disc golf in this park. All in all, I had an enjoyable experience and would definitely play here again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a GREAT PLACE

5+    4/8/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: Jonnysweetness
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The community for starts. I had the pleasure of walking the course with the Colorado PDGA coordinator while I had my first round on Friday. The conclusion of my day was with a mixed, random draw, doubles tournament. Everyone in the park that day was very polite and helpful with pin positions, next tee locations, and strats for each basket.

The course itself was very well laid out stretching from one end of the park to the other. Great usage of tree, hills, and of course, the river.

This is a very technical course. Although each hole was shorter than expected that didn't take away from its difficulty. The positions I played had most of the baskets dangerously close to the river. Many shots offered multiple angles of attack, which I truly enjoyed.

I had the pleasure of playing 4 rounds back to back followed by the doubles mix at the conclusion of my day.

The tee pads were all concrete which are a personal favorite of mine, except for the last hole (not 18, i'll explain later). An easy standing shot so no run up required. All of the tees were accompanied by beautiful signs, showing current tee location, subsiquent tee locations, pin positions, distances, and a photo of what the shot looks like from the tee box with the letters A, B, and or C superimposed over it to give even the most novice of thrower a complete layout of the shot infront of them (sentense structure?). This was a first for me in all of my disc golf adventures and I must say that it was simply perfect.

There is a public lot butted up against the edge of the park that has ample parking even when it was crowded.

I played a day before a local "Spring Fling" tournament, so the course masters had everything in tip top shape. Some shots required double mandos, which were clearly marked, making for some interesting shots.

Simply a great course.
Cons: Very few cons come to mind.

First, the baskets are very old and out dated. I did hear talk of upgrades to MACH baskets in the future, that would benefit the course substantially.

The layout I played had every pin in the short position. I never needed to grab a disc bigger than a Buzzz except for one shot that required a long anhyzer, Avenger SS. I wouldn't call this a "con" but maybe throw some of the baskets into the C locations. This also could have been because of the tournament, maybe they wanted to change the morning of so everyone would have a fresh start, or because the A pins required pin point accuracy to avoid trees and water.

Only 1 practice basket. Got pretty crowded.

Still, a great course
Other Thoughts: Basket #8 was removed due to some stupid golfers climbing on the roofs of residential housing to retrieve discs......seriously people, don't be dumb and ruin it for us. The 18th hole they had set up behind the 1st hole which everyone called "the A-hole." (most likely named after the kid that fell off that lady's roof)

Still an 18 hole course that I will play again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I Heart Johnny

5+    3/26/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: petsounds85
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great park- plenty of trees. Great mix of Easy, Intermediate, and Hard holes. Fun for everyone- all skill levels.
Cons: Slow families. Slow people in general. Sometimes it gets really packed.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A little tight, but thats not all bad

5+    11/18/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: aaronoutside
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course with a lot of varied shots and challenges
-Difficult course with the river there
-Discs that go in the creek are easily retrieved at low water
-great baskets and fantastic upkeep
-hard to loose discs
-Some fun mandos if you play them
-Easy to follow signs
Cons: -Cramped space.
-A lot of people play this course so sometimes you have to wait to tee off.
-On a nice day, the park is packed with people not playing disc.
-The creek can get frustrating if you end up in it more than a few times
- #8 basket is missing
Other Thoughts: This is a great course as long as it is not busy. I go after work and it is great, but on a sunny weekend, it can get frustrating. My favorite holes are 7 and 15. They both have the creek in play and you have to make a good drive or else you are screwed. I use every disc in my bag for this one, but it is a little tight so you can't rip long shots too many places.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 J. Roberts DGC

2-4    9/22/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: FUN! This course has many different shots to explore your bag. Some open up, others can be pretty tight and short for putters. Most all of the holes require great accuracy.
Cons: BUSY! lots of traffic here. Popular communal park behind the cop shop in Arvada. Shorter holes. No long shots here.
Did I mention it's always busy??
Other Thoughts: Although it is busy, I love playing here. Just bring a couple friends with. It'll make the traffic less noticeable.
Hole variety is awesome, plus multiple pin placements!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.