Layout Extinct

Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #10 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 J. Roberts DGC

2-4    9/22/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: FUN! This course has many different shots to explore your bag. Some open up, others can be pretty tight and short for putters. Most all of the holes require great accuracy.
Cons: BUSY! lots of traffic here. Popular communal park behind the cop shop in Arvada. Shorter holes. No long shots here.
Did I mention it's always busy??
Other Thoughts: Although it is busy, I love playing here. Just bring a couple friends with. It'll make the traffic less noticeable.
Hole variety is awesome, plus multiple pin placements!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: SensationProductions
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short technical holes. Slotting channels and keeping your disc in the right place is necessary to avoid the water, but makes it fun. Great for building your short game up and cooling off with a dip to chase your disc in the summer.
Cons: Super crowded with a small amount of overlapping holes. We were the only ones I heard all day who called fore due to a bad shot. Keep your head on a swivel if you want to avoid a dome shot. As mentioned before, lacks any distance holes that requires a real arm.
Other Thoughts: There was a guy selling used discs on the course for a good deal, mostly unmarked......

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: Nate
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice atmosphere. Green grass, trees, etc. The holes provide a great challenge for accuracy. Parking is very close to the first hole, and although there is a stream, its so shallow that discs wont get lost easily.
Cons: Most of the holes are fairly short, so don't bring your Surge or Katana. The water can get frustrating because a good portion of the holes are right along the stream.
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses I have played at

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Denver

2-4    6/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Big Gun
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good tight game. It's a fun coarse. Good shade. Every thing can be birdied or bogeyed
Cons: It's on a decent sized stream. You won't loose discs so much as you'll spend a chunk of time fishing them out. You can get through with out hitting the water, but to birdie you'll have to get pretty close

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite

2-4    6/23/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: Freakyjazer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging throws on most holes. Great scenary and phenominal atmosphere. The creek is in play on every shot but 1 and 18 but is shallow and slow moving enough to retrieve wet discs (also very clean water compared to other city courses). Can be played in shorts and flip flops (recommended due to the creek). Usually people by the first hole selling discs if you need a replacement for a previously lost or damaged disc.
Cons: Very crowded. Don't plan on running through the course. Could use a small bridge across the creek halfway down so you don't have to walk to either end of the course to get to the other side.
Other Thoughts: My favorite city course in the Denver Metro area right now. Good people, good atmosphere. Really works the short game and allows you to experiment with multiple shots/discs.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Revenge of the Crowds

5+    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Many of the holes play near the river and several force you to throw over the river (and discs are pretty easy to retrieve from the river
-Many holes require accuracy
-Well-marked, easy to read signs and good course flow
-Nice clean park
Cons: -Many of the holes play back on each (For example Hole Number 2 throws pretty much directly over the basket of number 1), which can be dangerous and cause congestion waiting for other players to throw
-Hole number 8 basket has been pulled and is gone until further notice
-This park is extremely crowded both with disc golfers and non disc golfers. Course plays right near a skate park and basketball course which can lead to safety issues. Both of these make the park really crowded. ( I swear every middle schooler within 20 miles was hanging out near the skate park
-Many holes cross over sidewalks which with the amount of pedestrian traffic in the park makes some holes frustrating to throw on.
-Most of the holes are relatively short
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course and every time I play it I have a great time, but it is definitely starting to show its age

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Scenery

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: snwbrdr301
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park, the trees and stream are beautiful. You have to have decent accuracy, a lot of the pins are put in challenging spots. The maps are helpful since a lot of the pins are hidden. A lot of the holes require you to cross the stream which makes for fun and difficult shots. Locals are super friendly, went by myself and joined up with another local.
Cons: Very crowded. The park was filled with kids playing in the playground and pedestrians around the walkway. A few of the tees are so close to the previous hole's pin that you have to wait for players to drive, or hope you don't hit them.
Other Thoughts: Great scenery! Tight course makes for some difficult shots but very fun. You have to appreciate the course history. Stream is great for hot days and not too fast so you can easily get a disc out of it. Bring flip flops and shorts for sure.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in cramped space

2-4    5/22/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: AtomicCEO
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout, fun holes, friendly folks
Cons: Crowded, missing hole 8 this year for some reason.
Other Thoughts: This course is kinda short, no really long holes, but great challenge in and around the stream. Wear sandals or flip flops so you can hop in the river to get discs... it will happen. But the river is so nice I don't mind at all.

It's always crowded, groups on top of groups, but I've never met anyone there who was unpleasant so no problems unless you're in a big hurry.

Lots of pedestrians can get in the way, again... don't be in a hurry.

For some reason, hole 8 is closed until further notice. No idea why.

Update: June '11, hole #2 is fenced off for some reason as well, so it's only 16 holes now.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tha River

5+    4/26/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite "Non-Rugged" courses. (Rugged being Conifer, HP, Birds Nest). Its got everything from long drive shots, to tight bends around the river. The river is especially nice in the summer when you get too hot, just hop in for a minute. Also with all the trees it make this the prime course for some cool summer discin'. There are a lot of people there but if you like to smoke and drink (like most normal disc golfers do) then it gives you time to relax. This is one of the best courses that Denver has.
Cons: 1. Between the skate park, the basketball court, the walking trail and the park patrons, there are way too many people there.
2. Right by a cop station. They don't care about the drinking so much but you may want to be indiscreet while "medicating".
Other Thoughts: Everyone said this course was not real long. Really? You can overdrive 5? How about 17? Doubt it. And if you do, you are not an average player. This course definatley uses all the discs.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Sick course

2-4    5/19/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: tbush
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Me and my friends went on a three day Colorado tour and colectively we felt this course was the most fun out of about 200 holes. As far as challenging city park courses go this has to be one of the best in Colorado.
- River/stream that runs through the course adds some difficulty, but isn't a disc eater like many of the lakes on other courses.
- Great course for shorts or even flip flops, no need to worry about tall weeds.
- Definitely a technical course that offers lots of variety.
- Overall just a blast, we had a great time and played three times in two days before moving on to other courses.
Cons:
- Can get crowded with lost of players and pedestrians, but if you get there earlier you should be fine. We played during the week and even at night we didn't feel too rushed. My friend did hit another player so beware.
- Short course, few opportunities to really bomb it
Other Thoughts:
Definitely a must play course in colorado. Johnny Roberts, Epic, and Camenisch/Blair Witch are all great park courses!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.