Course Extinct
Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #13 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great tight course!

2-4    4/21/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one busy course, but well worth the wait. The open areas are great minus some ppl you might have to dodge on a throw or two. As you get further through the course the trees begin to close in on you. Tons of short holes good for up'ing your mid game and putting. Water isnt really a big factor, unless your disc starts floating down the creek.
Cons: None really beyond lines, but thats expected at a course like this. I guess fairway crossing is a bit of an eye opener, so make sure your yelling FORE.
Other Thoughts: Earlier is better at this course. As the day goes on, it starts getting packed. Watch for the houses along 17ish... The ppl that own it have signs that state "DO NOT ENTER" so getting a disc back may require a knock on the door. I would imagine they arent too fond of their house getting pelted with discs....

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

why go to johnny?

5+    7/30/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: there are some trees and water hazards which are rare in a CO course. #7 and #17 are good holes but i don't really enjoy any of the other ones at all.
Cons: short, flat, kids that steal your discs off the fairway, crowded, skate punks, cyclist, roller-bladers, runners, walkers, smelly porta-potty, lots of opportunities to hit the teepad of the next hole with your drive, when the river runs fast it is pretty murky and hard to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: i used to play here in 2000 and i much preferred that layout to the one there is now. i don't understand why people like this course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2006   7/23/2012
Review By: Hyzer Soze
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Needed some TLC last I played it in '06. Short course and a lot of potential to put up a good score. Good course to escape those front range winds.
Cons: Not extremely challenging & crowded.
Other Thoughts: Still a favorite nonetheless. I learned how to play on this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course The Way I Like It!

1    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 677  Reviewed: 607  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Johnny Roberts DGC is an old school disc golf course that is showing her age. The baskets are old, the tee pads are old, the signs are old, the distances are not up to today's lofty standards. But I love the fact that this course has not been tinkered with. Today's advance/pro players haven't been able to totally redesign the course adding distance and moving the baskets to even more difficult positions. They're already often enough in difficult enough positions next the creek.
Cons: By today's standards, this course is probably a little tame. Some players might complain about the difficult and tight nature of the course. I normally dislike tight, technical courses but I really enjoyed my round here this morning. But I think I may have been lucky to have been playing in July during a drought when the creek was way low.
Other Thoughts: As a 60 year Recreational player, this course suits my level of play to a tee. I'm sure it would frustrate me at times but this morning I was happy to have finally had the chance to play the legend of Colorado courses.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate Relationship.

5+    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Streaker52
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging course that will improve your game.
- Free to play.
- Ample shade, great for sunny/hot days.
Cons: - Hole #8 is missing.
- Mistakes are punished severely.
- Can be very crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is a very technical course. Every hole either has trees, water or both. If there are any weaknesses to your game, this course will be more than happy to not only show them to you, but beat you senseless with them.

Don't go to Johnny Roberts if you are looking for a fun, confidence building day of disc golf. You won't find it. If you are looking for a challenge, maybe you've reached a plateau and need to see where your games needs improving, or if you need some tweaking before a competition this would be a great course to play.

J-Rob's is a very beloved course by many disc golfers locally. It's a must play! Just be aware of what your getting yourself into, otherwise you will not understand what all the "fuss" is about.

P.S. This course is literally in the backyard of the Arvada Police department, and it is not uncommon to see police officers on bike or on foot patrolling the course. Common sense is a must!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Dying Old Man

5+    6/13/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: h0pe
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -JR is a challenging, technical course that uses every square inch of a multi-use park in creative ways. A classic DGC!

-There's something for everyone on this course. Beginners will enjoy the reachable distances while Pros can still thread the needle on the tough technical shots.

-Short distances to the pin. But JR will force you to use every shot in your bag. S-out between some mando trees on one hole, then hyzer over the creek next hole.

-A multi-use park. So there's friendly green grass and a well-maintained creek. Quite pretty and shady.

-Pin placement is varied and squeezes every interesting nook out of the park. The course winds back and forth over Ralston Creek and almost every hole uses the mature cottonwoods and elms as obstacles.
Cons: -Very, Very, Very high traffic. Frequented by large groups of amateur players with many, many bottlenecks at the T-pads. So busy the weekends are sometimes unplayable.

-Multi-use park DOES NOT mesh well with Disc Golf. Dog-walkers, Kids, Bicyclists, a SkatePark and a Basketball Court (the occasional volleyball game) all are caught up in your shots. This is a very dangerous course that requires you to be aware of your surroundings.

-Pin placements, while interesting and varied, require you to drive across pedestrians and sidewalks. Plus quite a few drives cross back on previous holes requiring you to drive across other greens or walk through other fairways. Again, very dangerous for the high level of traffic.

-The Arvada police walk the park on foot and are rather hostile to disc golfers. Leash your dog or you'll get a ticket! And never throw near a pedestrian... or you'll get a ticket.

-In late Spring the creek swallows discs like a fat kid swallows McDonalds.

-Hole #8 has been removed for safety reasons.

- The queues are ridiculous and frustrating. Between waiting for large groups of amateur players and the pedestrians, I usually waste a good half hour.
Other Thoughts: -JRs is a disc golf course pulled in too many directions at once. Holes #1, #4, #5, #7, #11, #14 and #17 all drive across heavily used sidewalks. A few holes overlap each other. Too much has been pressed into a very small space. And the large traffic of disc golfers detracts from the experience.

-The course focuses on mid-range control and recently (June 2012) the pin placements have been shortened even further on #6 and #7 to avoid pedestrian/golfer problems.

-This is a park first and a disc golf course second. Way too many things going on in this park. Safety is always an issue here.

-Still JR does a lot of things right, incorporating almost every interesting feature of the park into a varied and technical game.

-An old classic that's slowly being nerfed, occluded with too many people and a dangerous mix of traffic and discs. Once extraordinary, now neglected in its old age. JRs is quickly becoming just another park: a place to walk your dog or have a barbeque, not throw discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Real nice park. Lots of garbage cans and benches. A few interesting shot. Good tee pads and baskets.
Cons: Flat and not too many technical shots. Very crowded with lots of pedestrians. Basket 8 is currently missing
Other Thoughts: A good course to play but just too many people for me to want to play it more.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great, fun course

2-4    4/6/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: cohunter
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variations of shots, multiple basket placement, great use of the creek, open park and trees. The course wasn't boring at all to play and really easy to follow once on and going. Unlike some other courses it isn't located in a big open park that just zig-zags back and forth making for a boring round, the location along Ralston Creek makes for a fun and technical round.
Cons: Throwing across fairways, 17 over 5, 14 over the top of 2's basket. There were a lot of people out and enjoying the weather therefore having to wait to throw until they were clear. 8 was missing, not sure if road construction was the reason for closing it.
Other Thoughts: I have found this to be the best out of the 4 courses I have been to in the Denver area. Two others were wide open and packed with little shade. When waiting here you can stand in the shade while waiting for your shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cop Shop

5+    4/4/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: Ghetto B
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For being an old course it's very well kept By both the City and the Locals. well maped out and very challenging with all the water hazards.
Cons: During spring and early summer months the creek can run pretty fast and deep. Be ready to take a dip. Also bring a tool to fish out disc's. the water hazards are brutal.
This course is VERY well known so be ready to play quickly.
Other Thoughts: An AMAZING 18 hole course. The pictures uploaded do not show how nice this park really is. Thank you Arvada. Keep up the good work.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/17/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: tbrown
Played: 63  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Descent variety of shots
A few great basket placements
Nice park
Not congested if you play before noon
Good baskets
Sheltered for the most part making it playable on windy days
Cons: Not many long holes - could have got through course with mids and putters
Missing hole 8 ..
Couple short short holes
Other Thoughts: Good course overall. Would recommend playing if you are in the area and have a hour or an hour and a half. Hole 15 gets a thumbs up!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.