Course Extinct
Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #13 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun, but dangerous

1    3/7/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the holes on this short course feature enough danger that even the big dogs are likely to make at least one 4. There are quite a few shots that will make you pucker up with the creek and OB sidewalks.

There is a good variety to the ideal shot shapes and you'll certainly be challenged to pay attention to how you land the disc with many baskets in close proximity to the creek.

The locals I encountered were very friendly.

Good cement to throw from and Mach III's all in good shape.

I'd agree that the course is best described a white level course, but more advanced players can still get a good short game workout here. It definitely will develop shot shaping, distance control and "touch".
Cons: This is one of the most dangerous courses in existence concerning player and pedestrian safety. The space is way too small to accommodate 18 holes of disc golf and other park users safely. The course gets a lot of play and the park sidewalk has a lot of traffic. It's only a matter of time before someone gets hurt with a disc.

Some of the tee shots require a throw that passes very close to another basket. One or two of the holes put a road very much into play. A house along the 17th fairway has had many boards in its wooden fence replaced due to disc damage. Two of the holes put a basketball court very much into play.

Luck can come into play frequently around the baskets with some good lay-up shots bouncing and/or hitting a root or a rock and then standing up and rolling into the creek.
Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed my round at this course, but the dangerous layout detracts greatly from the course rating. There's absolutely no way that I would sign off on a design like that.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/22/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My second stop on my Denver tour; well-maintained, nice creek running throughout the course, excellent signage, baskets in good shape, beautiful little tight course. Could see myself playing that course daily, being so close my sis's house.
Cons: White tee lines were slightly fade on some holes; hole 1 was out-of-service due to park improvements. Disc golf courtesy needed with walkers and joggers close by most of the time.
Other Thoughts: Go early, not crowded; met a nice local that recommended and met me at the Badlands/Blairwitch- see my review on that beast of a course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short and risky

2-4    1/25/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: There are decent tee pads
Good baskets
Very nice signs, thanks to the Mile High Disc Golf club, an awesome local disc club.
Cons: Very short
Didn't like the layout: criss-crossing a river/creek with steep banks. Very easy to ended up in the water even on a good shot. Most holes are placed within feet of a steep dirt slope leading to a river. Discs easily skip and rll down the bank.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure why so many holes are placed so close to a steep bank leading to a river. The entire course just makes you lay-up over and over. But, to be fair, the course was quite busy so my opinion is probably the minority opinion.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course but watch out for crossing holes.

2-4    12/30/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tees.Only one set of tees but they are of very high quality.The current tees make this course of amateur length.An added set of pro tees would be welcome as there were only a few holes that I didn't feel I could reach with a good drive.

Layout.You have to be aware of the other groups with the crossing holes.Other than that this is a very good use of the land at hand.

Signs.Great signs topped only by Beaver ranch out of the courses I've played in Colorado since I moved here a month ago.

fav holes.
1.Great way to start a round that gives you a chance to shake the rust of your throw without much risk.But beware of the creek behind the hole.

5.Fun little hyzer hole or if you dare to throw it between the trees off the tee.

9.Great example of a short hole executed to perfection.Plenty of obstructions of the tee and a creek on three sides of the pin.

15.200 ft carry over a bend in the creek with plenty of trees looking to knock your disc back in the creek.A true risk/reward hole.
Cons: Not a whole lot of amenities avaible.Very few benches and trash cans.

You have a higher than average chance of getting beaned by a disc here.Namely the 4th,7th,8th,10th,11th,12th and 17.But just keep an eye out and you should be ok.

Very crowded.This is a very popular course and it's best to hit it up early if you can.

The parking lot is a little close to 18.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course that is more than worth the drive.It is also a great course to take someone just learning with length not being a big factor.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful sceneries come with a price

1    11/3/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: lburns13
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Park is beautiful. Big trees, a river, green grass. The fall time looks amazing here. Good moderately difficult holes. Not too long. Open fairways.
Cons: The course is great but the people it attracts arent the greatest. If you want to smoke, get drunk drinking beer, and get hit in the head with a disc then this is a place for you. Mostly it attracts groups who all have beer in their hands. The holes are so close that if you dont know where your going then you are most likely in the line of someone elses shot. Dont expect to stay behind the same group the entire round. people would all of a sudden be putting at the same hole when i was putting. Maybe they just had too much to drink at 3 00 in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: The creek is a good but annoying hazard. If your not use to water hazards then be careful. I had my disc role into the river and almost be swept away in the current. And another time it landed in the middle of the river and got stuck. i had some cold wet feet for a time. i would advise playing this course when its really cold out. maybe thatll lose some crowds so the course is better appreciative.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A stream runs through it

1    7/19/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Design
*A nice stream comes into play on 9 holes. To me, this creek is the most outstanding feature of the course.
*Multiple basket placements allow for lots of variety. The layout I played was a mixture of A & B positions.

Basics
*The tee signs are first class. They have a picture, excellent maps the various layouts, and location of the next tees.
*The concrete tees are in good shape.
*Navigation- the course flows well, and there are only a couple of spots where it's not clear where to find the next tee.

Amenities
*There's a very clear map available on DGCR and the Mile High Disc club. Go to http://www.mhdgc.org/courses.php?courseMap=1
*There were lots of benches and trash cans.

*The course is very popular.
Cons:
Terrain
-Many of the holes have only a few scattered trees and were a bit too open for my taste.
-There aren't many elevation changes. In the mixed layout I played 12 were flat, and the greatest elevation change was +5 ft.

Design
-The hole variety is a bit below average, with too many straight shots. The layout I played had 12 Straight/ 4 Left/ 3 Right.

Amenities
-With multiple basket positions it would help if they would put in a way to mark which layout the basket is in.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)
The hole lengths were on the short side, but shorter throwers (like me) might not mind that too much. The layout when I played had 5 of 145-199/ 9 of 200-299/ 4 of 300-340.

My favorite hole: 15. A short but challenging tee shot over the creek with plenty of risk vs. reward.

Because the course is so popular so there were tons of people playing on the Sunday I was there.
The course is set in a neighborhood and several of the holes have houses very close by, so it has a "city park" feel. Combine that with all of the players on the course, plus lots of other park users, and you don't really feel like you're out in nature and away from it all.
There were a few safety issues, so be careful in places. (Crossing fairways on 7 & 8, blind drive on 17.)

Overall, my enjoyment factor was above average. The course didn't "Wow" me, but it was a pretty fun round, especially the holes where the stream was in play.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 short

2-4    9/16/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: fullturn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Jonny Roberts granite head stone by tree, say world champion.... nice park. well maintained. Great signs and t pads, well marked. plays through a small creek. ob almost on every hole make it challanging. has a practice basket to put.
Cons: nothing real long, and lots of people playing always waiting on a group of people.practice basket not straight up and down
Other Thoughts: was there 4 days and bird every hole but my best was 9 down

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A True Memorial

5+    9/3/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: DUrich
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Get out your sandals, cause you might get wet. When I first moved to Denver I remember playing from the steam and loving every minute of it. Now I stay in the fairways. I'd say you really have to have a game where you have to throw both directions. Wether its anheizer or forehand - who cares. You really have to navigate the trees. That's what gets me coming back for more and more....It's got the technical difficulty of a Mt. course in the middle of Denver. If you really want to bomb a drive, there are a couple of holes that might fit your taste, but you better be able to navigate a little. Do some history research on disc sports and you'll find out that Johnny Roberts was a class act back in the hay day when this sport took off. Its a true tribute to him and an inspiration to play his Memorial course every time.
Cons: Its a short course for the current PDGA standards, but again you've gotta know how to throw around objects. The traffic is an issue, but timing is key in that regard. Give me a Super Class disc any day on this course and I'll have a fun time......I've even seen a few Ultimate players bringin' out their discs for an afternoon of fun.
Other Thoughts: A top notch course, Mile High Disc Golf does a great job working with the community in all respects with this course. Its no walk in the park, but if you wanna make it that way ..... "no worries" its that as well - just go out and have fun. No T-times, just a little patience and you are in.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just like olde times

5+    8/27/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Oldest course in CO
-Really fun shots, but it is a birdie course
-Playing through the trees and along the creek requires precision
-Great course to work on your short game
Cons: -LOTS of ppl play here and it's pretty crowded most of the time. Along with other park users it can be kind of stressful.
-Lots of short holes, but it was designed back when discs only flew as far as modern putters and mid ranges.
Other Thoughts: I learned to play on this course and then moved to CA 5.5yrs ago. I came back and really wanted to play it to see if it was as fun as I remembered. The good news is that it is still a really fun course. The redesign took away some of my favorite holes, but it was probably necessary due to safety and playability issues. I recommend playing it to anyone going to play in the Denver area, only bring your putter and a midrange and enjoy the course as it was intended to be played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/21/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you want to play a course and have a lot of good shots and have FUN then this is your place. Everyhole is a possible ace run. The creek that flows through it is not deep (6-8 in ) so any water shot you can retrieve easily. Sign are very well informed. I stoped in to check it out and ended up playing 3 round in less that 5 hrs.
Cons: Cop shop right across the street is intimidating for a golfer like me who likes to drink some "aiming fluid", but all is good oncwe you get familiar with the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.