Layout Extinct

Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My local fave

5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: progolfer33
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is short, but makes you focus much more on finesse. If you want to score well here you need to play the percentages on your drives and work the disc many different ways to achieve those high percentage shots.

My favorite aspect of this course is the "fun factor." This course is packed with regulars because of the fun atmosphere this course creates. The many pin placements keep this great course fresh.

Finally, the signs indicating yardage and pin positions are the best I've seen. Every hole has a picture showing the multiple pin placements and yardages.
Cons: This course can be very short if the tees are in the short positions. Also, the course can be very busy at peak times, especially with pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: Prepare to get wet as pretty much every hole lines the creek. Also, do not play after a heavy storm because it is near impossible to find discs in the raging creek.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An Iconic Link to Disc Golf's Past

1    7/7/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With its impressive age and durability, Johnny Roberts is a beautiful, short, water filled course that still holds a challenge to today's modern golfer. Built along a good size creek, I felt as if I was back in Dallas Texas playing Alex Clark Memorial DGC. However, unlike Alex Clark's "disc golf creek of death" filled with murky brown water, poisonous snakes, and lined with steep unforgiving edges - Johnny Roberts creek is fairly tame. There are only a few areas that your disc couldn't be retrieved if it got wet. Granted, you will get wet trying to get a lost disc, but you just won't have to kill yourself trying to do it.

It's short length still stands the test of time with large old growth trees serving as guardians around the pins, coupled with interesting shot selections that can prove to be big risks versus rewards like hole #7.

The other major pro about this course is its signage. Besides the high quality John Houck signs I've seen on some Texas courses - these may be the finest quality sign I've laid my eyes on. What sets them apart is the fact that not only do it include a picture and the usual information, but also the information and look of the every hole in proximity to that sign. This is a huge help to first timers on the course, and an extra you just don't see many other places. With a practice basket and bathrooms, this course has all the fundamentals a person needs to make it a day.

BEST HOLE/S: #7; #15
Cons: The course is short. Again, much like Alex Clark in Dallas, this was designed as a superior course thirty years ago. It's the granddaddy that keeps giving, however the length and technical difficulty with today's equipment has dropped tremendously, which can serve as a con to more experienced players.

The actual design of this tight course along the creek is it's biggest con and worst limitation. I have never experienced a course that plays back on itself as much as this one. It plays through multiple busy walking paths, and back over previous fairways like holes #7 and #8 or #10, #11, and #12. With such a high volume of people using the park walkways, grass areas, and disc golf course - I understand why the heavy traffic can get very frustrating very fast. The walkways themselves even double as tee boxes at times, so an errant throw can prove dangerous.

WORST HOLE/S: #12; #18
Other Thoughts: I glad to see a course with such rich disc golf history stand the test of time. I went very early in the morning, as I suggest you do, to beat the large crowds that can make for an unnecessarily long day. And sure, Johnny Roberts isn't a top rated course as it once was, and it general design severely limits it from ever being considered tournament caliber - but here that doesn't seem to be the point. Rather Johnny Roberts serves as a standard to so many people who began there disc golf careers here, and who still show it the love and respect it deserves today.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course in the Park

2-4    6/11/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an enjoyable and frustrating course to play. The course being frustrating is a pro because it keeps you coming back, thinking you can shoot better the next time. It has two pin locations per hole. The variety of holes is solid. You have shots that are toward water, over water, beside water, surrounded by water, and near water. The front side seems much easier than the back, although it might just be that my skill set plays the front side better than the back. I also can't think of two holes that are nearly the same. The variety is solid, requiring left, right, and straight shots, with water on different sides many times, and trees in all sort of places around them, with some small hills here and there. If you want a short course (although i have seen much shorter) that forces a good variety of shots and is somewhat difficult, then this is a good place to go. It's a place that I could take a beginner, and build them up into a solid player. Oh yeah, there's a practice basket, a great addition to any course.
Cons: When people aren't at work and kids aren't at school, this course will get crowded quickly. The River, along with being a great place to build a course around, is also a con because of losing discs, as all water can be. Although you can get the discs back fairly easily out of most parts of the water, going down the bank and back up it several times becomes quite tiring and wet. It's also bad when you are doing it for other people time and time again, or if people ahead of you keep throwing theirs in the water and trying to find it. Some people also find it quite appropriate to practice their drives in the field on holes 1 and 18. if you are teeing off at hole 1, they usually notice you and will stop for you to tee off. But if you are on 18, you are right behind two trees, and they won't know you are there unless you tell them. There are also very few elevation changes, and no holes longer than 350. I think two holes changed elevation more than 5', and those were maybe 7'-10' uphill. And as always, the park pedestrians have the right of way.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that I could spend all of one day playing it. It doesn't tear your arm up, and it is a fun course that leaves you thinking you can only do better-especially when you go in the water on #9 and get a 4 or 5 on a 100' hole. It plays slightly downhill, and the pole is about 10'-15' from the stream/riverwhich is behind and left of the hole. There are trees guarding the hole, and bumps in the terrain and small grass before the hole. The putting area is very smooth with packed dirt. any drive to the putting area or putt toward the water has a chance of going into the stream. it's the best hole under 160' that i've seen. Fun course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and fun

1    8/13/2008   6/10/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is laid out in a mostly flat park with a creek and many mature trees. There is a nice mix of more open shots and technical shots with tight windows. The layout of the course forces all kinds of different shots to be successful, and accuracy is very important on many of the holes. The design makes good use of the trees in the park to define fairways and to protect many of the pins. The creek comes into play often, and makes for a lot of great risk reward decisions.

The tee signs here were just about the best I've seen. Each had a picture of the hole with the various pin locations marked. They had clearly marked distance and par, and made the course extremely easy to follow. The alternate pin placements looked like they would really change up the course and offer different challenges.

The tee pads were a decent size, and were nice concrete that offered good footing. The grounds were very nicely taken care of, with nice grass on the fairways, and no downed limbs or brush around on the course. It's clear that a lot of work goes into keeping up the course, and it makes a difference.
Cons: The one thing that's missing from the course design is length. There wasn't enough room in the park to safely put in longer holes, and so the drivers don't come out on this course hardly at all.

The park was very busy with other users when we played, and this created some safety hazards on a few holes. The course plays over a walking path numerous times, so we ended up waiting for walkers and joggers to clear the hole a few times. The course was also pretty crowded with other players, though this wasn't a big deal as they were all very friendly and seemed to play with good course etiquette.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, and would definitely recommend playing this one. It's accessible to beginning players, but offers many challenges to more experienced throwers. Though there is not a lot of length, it uses the space very well to test different types of shots.

I would definitely recommend this course if you're anywhere near the Denver area, it's worth a drive to play. The course is fun, and the locals were very friendly. This course has held up very well to the years and the large number of players, and despite it's age is still a fun and challenging play.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Johnny Roberts

1    5/27/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was in a really beautiful park that the city works hard to keep nice. The signage is the best, and the concrete tee pads were nice as well. The creek that runs through the entire course makes every shot interesting, but it will generously return your discs. When the course was designed, they made sure to use all of the unique landmarks in the park, but they didn't make shots too difficult. There were alternate pin positions marked on the sign, so I'm sure that the city keeps the course fresh. It was mostly open, but some holes are fairly wooded, and there are a ton of birdie opportunities. The course is extremely easy to navigate. There were lots of friendly locals of all skill levels out having a good time.
Cons: Course Layout is one of my buttons, I guess...A few of the holes had the baskets of the previous hole in their fairways. Sidewalks run through the whole course, so played can be slow at times. Not really much room to let fly a bomb...All the holes are pretty short.
Other Thoughts: I hit this one up along with three others during a day in the denver area, and this one was overall really nice. I had a very enjoyable round. My friend and I chatted with a few locals, both disc golfers and non-disc golfers, and found some good people. I would definately recommend paying this one a visit if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice and short

2-4    6/20/2007   4/25/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice little park. well done with what there was to work with, fun little stream. Enough big trees to make it bearable in the summer, plenty of shade and down near a little stream to splash around in if too hot.
Cons: short but challenging,
Other Thoughts: It's been a while since I have been there, but I remember it was overall nice.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/15/2007   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course overall. Lots of mature trees make it great to look at. Lots of people to look at as well.
Cons: Lots of people are in play all the time. You'll find yourself waiting around a fair amount for pedestrians to clear the lanes.
Other Thoughts: Very cool to be able to play a course this old. Our local courses are all much newer and it's interesting to see how things are different now.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Tight

2-4    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good park course that makes use of all the possible land features on this piece of land. This is also a very historic course for the state of Colorado. There is a great number of challenges on different holes and you will be forced or asked to throw many different types of shots. There is a lot of risk and reward shots as this course plays right along a little creek. If you happen to throw a disc in the creek, it should be fairly easy to get you disc back. There are a number of great memorable holes, especially when playing in the tournament format with two extra holes. I particularly like hole A where you are throwing under the bridge there by holes 7 and 8. Hole 7 is an incredible mental challenge and possibly the most memorable hole on the course. These might be some of my favorite tee signs as well as they have a picture of the hole on them so you can really get a good idea for what was going on in the course designers head.
Cons: There are several holes that are built right on top of each other. There is a considerable amount of foot traffic as the course is built right on top of some walking and bike riding paths. This is not a very easy course for beginners and they are going to be changing hole 6 to protect a few of the local homes from discs errently thrown by beginners. It is relatively hard to predict how a disc might skip as the ground is inconsistent from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: I played in the Spring Fling that was held here and so I do not have a good idea on what basic traffic is like on this course but with the number of holes that were built right on top of each other tournament rounds lasted about four hours. I would suspect that any amount of good traffic of players on this course will slow rounds down. The foot traffic also made things interesting and you will have to be very careful looking for pedestrians. Really the only reason that this course is not rated higher is because of how close some of the holes are. It is defiantely worth playing and if you know how to control a disc you will score very well on this course. If you do not know how to control a disc you will have a very long day. There are a ton of Birdie opportunities combined with a few holes that just make you cringe. There is a lack of longer holes on this course and many tee shots are better made with mid range discs as well. The name of the game here is accuracy. There is a great local community around this course. Also, the only bathrooms at this course are portable outhouses. Still this was a great experience.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Timing is everything

5+    4/6/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, fairly wooded, park setting. Different pin positions keep the course fresh. Nice concrete tee pads and signs. Just the right amount of elevation change, for the flatlanders. River penalties and OB, keeps it challenging. Some really nice hole design and they made the most of the available space. If you are used to championship courses, this one plays shorter and is literally a walk in the park! Stay dry and par for the course (or under) is yours for the taking.
Cons: The biggest problem I have with this course is the massive amount of pedestrian traffic. On the weekends, look forward to this course being jam-packed with other players, bikers, skateboarders, dog-walkers and old ladies. The course plays along the sidewalk for most of the front nine, so driving can get tricky at times. The best time to play this course is early morning on weekends or before five on weekdays. For me, it's not worth it when the course is packed.
Other Thoughts: If you are a beginner, or playing with beginners, the river will eat up your discs all day long. It's on the left, most of the time and for the RHBH beginners, that means your disc is wet all day long. Bring a stick or Golden Retriever for less of a headache. Johnny Roberts is one of the staple Denver area courses and a great time!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Work on your short game here

2-4    2/17/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out in a city park. Holes are short, you probably want to leave your drivers at home.Nice large trees throughout the park that are place just right to give enough of a challenge but not too difficult to frustrate most players.Baskets are in great condition. Teepads are large cement, no issues with these. Signage is great, some say the best around, but either way, you won't have any problems knowing where to throw. Good mix of right and left shots. Trees of various sizes throughout the course come onto play on many of the shots. Work on your short game here. Since it is in a city park, it is well mowed. No real chance for losing a disc here. That is except if you throw it in the creek that runs through the park. Not too deep that you can't fish it out though. It presents a good challenge on a few of the holes as well.
Cons: Longer holes would have made it more of a challenge but there just isnt any more space available here. It is a very popular park, lots of people here, so your round could take longer than you would have planned. There are a number of other park users that walk and use the park as well. Be careful of these people. It can slow you down a little bit, but that is the price you pay sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Great fun little course to take a beginner to. This course doesn't have a lot that it can improve on but not a course that should be passed up either. This is what I call a "classic" disc golf course. Though it is a shorter course, it makes up for that with a good design, great pin placement and teepads/signs/baskets. A must play in the area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.