Course Extinct
Arvada, CO
Johnny Roberts DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee aka "Avery's Hole"



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Walking Path & Water Runs Through It

2-4    3/14/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent location. Many birdable holes. Signs are well made and marked. Good technical routes around trees and near water. Tee pads are all concrete with a few extra wide ones. Multiple pin placements keep it interesting. The grass is short and well maintained. Has a small skate park so bring your board.
Cons: Is over crowded and slow playing. The walking path is in line with many shots through out the course. The walking path is OB. Just when you think your parked the path can make you out. Lacks elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This course is made for accuracy. Due to short grass and dirt, discs can skip and roll near water. The water is clean looking and not too deep in most places which makes retrieving discs doable. I have heard from locals that after a storm the water can get high and fast moving. Keep an eye out for walkers and bike riders along the path. Be careful where you park your car. There are many small signs that say city worker parking only in rows of parking spots. Good course to check out in the Denver area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great course for beginners and pros

5+    2/5/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Johnny Roberts is, in short, an excellently designed course with natural obstacles that couldn't be better placed. Most of the holes are short so those who are new to disc golf or those who can't throw for much distance will feel at ease. If you want to ace or birdie the baskets, you will need to have some very accurate throws. Playing this course a few times can improve confidence and accuracy. Knowing a few types of throws will really help. Some holes have many throwing options that can play with your head and a few holes have few or just a single option to favor one arm or the other. Just a note: The camper on the very short five is out-of-bounds. The use of the creek is very creative and it comes in to play often. Some holes are fairly heavily wooded and others are field-ish so there is a nice variety. The tee shot on one has a playground-like space to the left, so be careful. Several tee shots are directly into the woods parallel to the shallow creek with blind and partially blind shots. Elevation changes are slight but nice and not too abrupt or confusing. Several shots on the back nine look easy, but large and over-grown trees add complexity and difficulty. The back nine are some of the best holes I have seen. Johnny Roberts is an awesome location and is a challenging course. It is one of the best walks interrupted by frustration that one can take.
Cons: It's in the Denver area so it gets crowded with non-disc golf activities. Park users sometimes don't get that they are on the fairway of a disc golf course. Signs are needed to inform and protect the public.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

2-4    3/9/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 67  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What doesn't this course have. The tee signs are in great condition and show the lay out of the hole very well. Tee boxes are great and line you up for your drive. This course requires you to shot some technical shots and also has some where you can grip it and rip it. This park is well maintained and the course is in a prime location.
Cons: The only real con that I can think of is that this park is very busy. There are always lots of disc golfers there and there can be a lot of other people there as well. There is a skate park around a few holes and a path goes through the course that lots of people are using.
Other Thoughts: If this course wasn't a 30 min drive I would play this course all the time. This is my favorite course that I have played to date. A MUST play in the Denver area.

Update: hole 8 is unplayable

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Too nice of a course in such a convenient location...

5+    2/26/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Beginners can enjoy the shorter fairways and veterans can take numerous shots at aces. The course is well manicured.
Cons: Due to its convenient location, the course is busy most afternoons and weekends and it attracts all kinds of players. Normally I would say this is a good thing, but often the course can't handle the numbers. Players get rude. They skip ahead and end up slowing down the people the skipped. It is also a regular park and I have spoken with numerous pedestrians who have gotten hit by discs. This happens daily and often from open (nonblind) drives where the player felt rushed and refused to wait for the old man with the walking stick to move out of the way. This was a pedestrian park first and disc golf park later and I think even Johnny Roberts would be disappointed in how some disc golfers are treating others on this beautiful course. Respect with the community is necessary to keep the City of Arvada on board with supporting disc golf.
Other Thoughts: You will likely hit the water once a round. Most downed branches get cleaned up by park maintenance, so go pick up a "Golden Retriever" or equivalent disc retriever. If you go in the water on #6 or #9, the water likely pulled your disc under the roots of the large tree on the south bank.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, classic, mature course

5+    2/19/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good structure provided by mature hardwood trees; stream comes into play on several holes making for a challenging round. Several tee positions. Well-constructed tee signs with good information and pictures.
Cons: Relatively short although challenging. Can get very busy so you can expect waits at each hole. Not a lot of elevation change.
Other Thoughts: As the name suggests, a classic disc course in CO that captures the imagination of Johnny Roberts himself. If traveling through, a course to take the time to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    1/11/2009   1/15/2009
Review By: Kuba
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course running through a park. Both short and long holes but more short holes. Very challenging due to a stream running through a bunch of holes. Many holes have the stream to the left or right which poses a water hazard. A good variety of tree shots and anhyzer opportunities. Plenty of parking because it is right near the civic center of Arvada. Tee pads are nice concrete with good signs to navigate you.
Cons: Sometimes you have to wait in the summer due to a bunch of people.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/16/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has fresh looking tee signs and tee pads/concrete for every hole. From what I hear, it's a really old course and they made some good use of the land. A pretty good variety of shots too.
Cons: It's tight layout has a few holes overlap. Your target is in the fairway of the next tee. It can interrupt the flow of play. Also, the creek that runs through it is nice, but I don't really like that almost every single hole puts water into play - I'm talking about within 20 feet of the forced line. I'm all about risk-reward, but I think risk should mean losing strokes, not your trusted discs into water. Basically, I feel like two people could throw identical shots and one could catch and roll in the water and another could be parked. Some say "tough, deal", I say a little unfair an frustrating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 on a tough course

1    11/9/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: philipbatalion@gmail
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: obstacles, water hazards ( a creek runs through the course) nice signs that describe each hole, they even have a picture of your view from the tee
Cons: played on a sunday and the course was very packed, but it spread out after the 1st and 2nd holes, walking to tees required walking through holes (could be dangerous)
Other Thoughts: this was a great course, very challenging for me, a self proclaimed beginner, i only played the front nine because i was with someone who had never played and her discs kept going in the water, and we were in need of something a little less challenging that we could play around at, i cant wait to go back and play this course when it is less full, a week day is probably best

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place

2-4    10/10/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 20.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice creek running through the middle of the course, making every shot vulnerable. I think thats a pro, challenging courses make you a better player. Great signs, great big huge tee pads, some of the largest I've seen. Tight shots, require accuracy and finesse.
Cons: The course is shared with a skate park which put a ton of kids in play on several holes. There are neighborhoods surrounding the park so bad shots could end up on a roof or fenced yard.
Other Thoughts: This park has been crowded pretty heavy the times I've gone and some of the holes switchback which causes even more delay. Best to go early. The neighbors seem to be cool, so just knock on the door before you climb someones fence or walk into their yard. This shouldn't be a problem for your above average player.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the greats

5+    8/14/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are so many technical shots that it forces you to improve your game. This park is well used so you can always find someone to play a round with. There are shots in this course for every player. The design is well laid out so that it does not favor any players. It is easy to over estimate some holes so you have to consider your shots very carefully. This is course that anyone in Denver will tell you is great. It combines many great strategies on throwing disc. Multiple pin placements make playing this course often a different challenge.
Cons: The sidewalks pose a problem when it is old lady with small dog walking day. Holes 7 & 8 overlap. This can cause a bit of a backup because you have to wait for other players to clear the area, pedestrians and people retrieving their lost discs from OB and the creek. Hole 17 had a blind fairway that shoots over the creek and busy sidewalks from a lower area. While this is a good shot, a spotter or a loud warning must be given before teeing off to ensure that no one gets hit.
Other Thoughts: Every time I play this course I have a unique experience. Do not miss this one! Play this one earlier in the morning (before 11) to get a quicker round in. Bring a Golden Retriever, shorts, or a pole. There are high chances of having to make a water rescue.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.