Course Extinct
Arvada, CO 
Johnny Roberts DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next >
 Always a fun experience

5+    10/8/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: jbehm20
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very easy to navigate (even has pictures with pin placements), multiple pin placements (some very, very challenging and near water hazards), very technical with trees and water, parking and bathroom on site, tee pads and pins in pristine condition, lots of variety to the course requiring a variety of shots and strategy, players who play here are generally very nice and courteous.
Cons: Not a lot of longer holes, very little elevation change. Water can be annoying at times, especially when a big group is looking for their discs and holds up those behind them, very crowded at times, Is a public park so having a high pedestrian awareness is a must! Some pins have a lot of mud around them during wet months.
Other Thoughts: This has become my favorite course as of late. Every time I come it presents a new challenge or intrigue that I always go away with. Having a water on most holes has made me a better, concervative disc golfer and I am very thankful for the lessons this course has taught me. Course also hosts annual tourney, so that is a true testimant to the calliber of course this really is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 High Fun Factor

5+    10/8/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The reason Johnny Roberts is the most popular disc golf course in the Denver area is that it's flat out fun. Most holes are reachable for birdies and at least two holes, 10 and 11, are always ace opportunities. Risk/Reward high with OB on every hole: street, sidewalks, skate board park, basketball court. Basket placements near Ralston Creek, so lots of death putts. (Miss and you're wet.) If you throw straight as an arrow and stay dry, several strokes under par is possible. (Putting is the key to scoring well since all baskets are reachable.) Big bonus: If you play off peak hours, you can play a lot of holes in a very short period of time. Mile High Disc Golf Club, the City of Arvada and Tom Hamilton do an excellent job of keeping the course fresh with different pin placements and park maintenance.
Cons: TRAFFIC: Be aware it's a mult-use park so watch out for walkers, bikers, kids, dogs, strollers. If playing in traffic bothers you, Bird's Nest or Badlands are better choices.
Other Thoughts: Sunday morning random doubles is a Denver tradition. You may get paired with a top pro, or a beginner, either way, always a lot of fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad way to spend the morning

1    9/11/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Quality benches and restroom on premises.
- Long tee pads allow you to stretch out.
- Several intimidating holes that test your nerve. You'll find yourself throwing over the creek multiple times, and in at least one case your disc must fly over the creek twice on the way to the basket.
- Nicely manicured and laid out. You never lose track of where you're going.

Cons: - Was hard for me to find. Directions seemed to be misleading. YMMV.
- When you do go into the water expect difficulty in getting down and back up. The steep banks are challenging.
- While you will find a lot of variance in how you have to get through the trees and over the creek you won't see a lot of differences in hole distance. Most seemed to be in the 250-300 feet area. Not necessarily a bad thing, but if you enjoy seeing how far you can throw this might not be your cup of tea.
Other Thoughts: Played with three locals... Miles, Jamie, and Jedidiah the dog. From their scores and mine it seems like shooting right around par your first time here should be an atainable goal. Don't let that fool you, however, as this will likely be the most fun 54 shots you'll attempt in the Denver area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Denver's best?

1    8/23/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Johnny Roberts differed from the other eight Denver courses I've played in that it's short, technical, and still challenging. There's a decent shot variety required to score well, but more mid-range tee shots than drivers. Unlike a lot of other Denver courses there's very little room for error requiring tee shots on very specific lines. The concrete tees are acceptable sized. The double chain, DGA baskets are in good condition. The tee signs are fantastic with map, annotated photo, and distances (see photos). The course has an OB creek flowing through the middle that often comes into play with respect to challenging pin placements. Unlike most of the Houston water I'm used to, the creek water was shallow and clear making wet discs easily retrievable. The parking lot was large and restrooms were available.
Cons:
Being a popular course in a public park it was crowded; and not everyone there were experienced players with knowledge of golf courtesy. This is a multi use park and the course plays dangerously close to the walking/jogging path, basketball court, and skate park. #17 is an especially dangerous blind hole throwing directly across a walking path. There are a couple crossing fairways which is never preferable but often a necessity to plan a course in a small area.
Other Thoughts:
Johnny Roberts was a frustrating course for me to play right now because my long game is much better than my technical ability. I think as my skills progress I would come to appreciate this course more than some other long but wide open, "how far can you throw", Denver courses. But even then I would still like to see a couple more longer holes to balance the course for power players.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Special Course

2-4    9/1/2008   9/4/2008
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course and very unique. Most of the holes are relatively short with a lot of risk/reward due to the creek. The teepads were very nice, as were the baskets. I've never played another course that demanded so much strategy/accuracy.
Cons: Can be difficult to account for fellow players or pedestrians. I imagine the creek can take errant discs.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Denver area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

7/22/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: weatherbill
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: best marked ever with pictures of where the baskets are. Not too many holes too long, so you have a chance at an ace on most of the holes, yet not too close....lots of 280-300 footers!
Other Thoughts: this is a great course, well laid out and lots of diverse shots, sparcely wooded with some shorter holes for hopes of acing some. I;ve played about 30 different courses across the US and this is one of the best!, especially becasue it is well manicured and well marked..... hate it when holes aren't marked out well adn you get lost on some of these courses. This is the opposite......so refreshing!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

4/20/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: tommy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Punishes you for errant shots into the creek.
Cons: Punishes you for errant shots into the creek.
Other Thoughts: Seriously though, the front 9 may make you a bit gunshy with your drives - but overall, this is an excellent, well thought out course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.