East Ridge, TN
Camp Jordan DGC Share
Uploaded By: kevinturner73 Hole #13 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 303ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Potential not yet realized

1    3/30/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded holes - I thought some of the low ceiling tunnel shots on this course were a great use of the land they had. In particular I really enjoyed holes 4-7 (4 isn't that wooded but it was still a good hole). I also thought that hole 16 did a great job of giving you the choice of two different fairways.
Distance - Although it felt overused, I wish more intermediate/advanced courses put holes out longer than 450'. I appreciated that they did this, however, I think they could have reworked hole 10/12 and 18/19. It felt like two identical holes pretty close together both times.
Location/Maintenance - This felt like a very nice course. It felt very well taken care of and the scenery was beautiful. It was a little muddy but I actually don't have a problem with that (it might be a problem in heavy rain). The signs were helpful and the teepads/baskets were all good.
Elevation - I love elevated baskets (when used in moderation). I also enjoy a good downhill or uphill shot. I think the uphill shot (9 I believe) with an island green is one the best uses of space I have seen for a disc golf hole. It is so challenging yet rewards an ambitious throw if executed.
Cons: Shot variety/Repetition - The shot variety on this course is what prevented me from rating this higher. 17,18,19 are all pretty much 450+ straight shots with no real obstacle. (800+, 450+ 500+). Hole 9, 10, 11, 12 were also pretty wide open but they had some elevation change. The only real "dogleg rights" were holes 15, and 16 and hole 15 was a 250' that rewarded a high FH shot or a thumber (rhfh). It seems like comments in the other reviews favored this course as a course with a lot of varieyt, but I just didn't see it.

Shared Park - There is always some amount of danger for bystanders on a shared park, there is also the potential for cross-traffic.

Potential - I think this course could use some tweaking and become a 4-4.5 star course. The property they have is really incredible. But there were way too many times that I had to throw a 200-375 shot either straight through an open field or a small hyzer. (see hole 2, 3, 11, 12, 13)
Other Thoughts: My bias may come from not being a local. The locals seem to really like this course. I am from Nashville and I am reviewing this as someone who only played it once.

There really isn't that much "wrong" with this course. It felt like a decent course for any target audience but not a great course for any of them. Some holes are way too easy for any advanced player (2,3,5,11 etc.) , yet the long distance holes (17,18,19) would make it difficult for a beginner. I hope this critique doesn't seem harsh, I think Camp Jordan is a good course, but I would like to see a little re-working to add more obstacles. Until then I can't justify giving this course higher than a 3 because I think it has so much potential to become a better course as time goes on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent

5+    7/3/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fairly open course, good for beginners.
-some wooded holes, to round out the course and give beginners a sense of different types of disc golf experiences
-longer alternative to other area courses


Cons: -while good for beginners, there are way too many holes where you throw across an open field. Making the hole longer doesn't make it any more interesting. Players with a 325' controlled drive will probably not find this course very challenging.
-wooded holes are choked with underbrush and small trees, which creates a single alley to throw through. No multiple lines through trees available.. And getting more than 3 feet off the fairway means simply pitching it right back on with no real opportunity for a great "save" upshot. Underbrush and THORNS on hole 15, combined with a blind drive, make for several lost discs.
-hole 17 is just a long walk across a field back to the parking lot. I'd rather play an interesting hole and take a long walk back to the car after the round.
-different pars for pro/am. This is silly. Par is certainly always the Pro option on this course, or less. Par is always a relative number, and as you improve you are glad to see your score drop.. If a hole is obviously a par 3 everywhere in the world, then scoring a four doesn't feel better just because that's the "Am" par.
Other Thoughts: There is a very nice selection of discs at the fireworks shop near the entrance to the park.. Certainly the only place I've found around Chattanooga for MVP or Westside or Latitude 64 discs. Good spot to replace a disc you threw in the river that is much closer than you think to holes 4,5 and 6.

I do enjoy playing here, and am glad to have a course near an area I grew up in and visit often to see family. I'd certainly recommend it to beginners trying to learn different types of throws. More advanced players will probably find more of a challenge at The Sinks, which is relatively nearby.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/12/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course, it demands a player to have a full bag of skills and shots in order to score well on every hole. It is by far the toughest course in the Chattanooga area.

It has shorter holes, very long holes, and everything in between. Some holes are tightly wooded, some are lightly wooded, and others are very open. Many holes have water hazards- mainly a small river bordering the holes. The wooded holes have shapes of straight, left, and right. The open holes require a big arm in order to score low.

Course has concrete tees, good baskets, excellent tee signs. Navigation was good, only a couple of spots where I had to look for a minute, but nothing confusing. You can usually see the upcoming tee sign from the previous basket.

This course is in a very big and nice park, and very easy to get to and close to I-75/I-24.
Cons: Even though this is a solid and challenging course, there are a good amount of flaws:

This course is set in a major flood plain of a major feeder to the TN River. The river has the potential to take over many of the holes after a heavy rain, or at least making many of the holes very swampy for days. There will be many days throughout the year where this course will be unplayable. (I played the day after a good rain, it wasn't too bad, the creeks/river were high but not quite out of their banks, but holes 1-3 were super marshy in a field of standing water and it appears that these holes might be bad most of the year.)

There were several of the open holes here that are nothing more than a basket in a wide open field of grass. And the last 3 holes are like this but also very long. I viewed this as poor design- after hole #16 you are at the furthest point from the parking area with only a long open field between you and your car. It was as if the designer realized "oh no, we only have 2 holes left yet we are a mile from the car with only an open field with 2 trees between them!" The fact the course is an odd 19 holes just adds to my theory.

There is a walking trail around most of the holes, and each hole has a huge warning sign telling you not to throw when people are in view- seems extreme to me- in range? Sure. In view??? Rule gave me a smothered and limited feel throughout my round. Trail was very busy on a weekday afternoon- so good luck playing on the weekends.

Course is mostly flat. I think the best courses have some holes going up and down. Not the courses fault, just the land that happens to be here.

Hole #9 was a little confusing from the tee- the tee sign shows 2 basket locations (this is the only hole that does this) and you can see two baskets from the tee--- however as you get close you see that one is for #9 and the other is for #19, rather than having both basket locations in place. Confusing because multiple pin locations was not the norm up to that point.

#15 is a blind left to right curved hole, but then you have to walk back up the fairway to get to #16- this is a dangerous set-up. When on 15's tee you better check to make sure no one is out there. And when you are finished watch for incoming drives.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, very challenging, and it can/will beat you up. There are several holes where 4 (or even 5) is a pretty good score. It will be a good place for tournaments and a place to really test your game. It is not good, however, for a relaxing fun round or for newer players. It is very different from the other area courses, I really like that the Chattanooga courses offer something for all different skill levels and style preferences.

I had a little trouble finding the course once in the park, but after you enter the park area and cross the walking trail take an immediate left into the gravel drive right. The parking area appears double as an RV campground.

*This is a tough course to rate, it has potential, but it does have cons. I can see why others rate it higher and really like it. I decided on a strong 3.0 (good) when compared to other 200+ courses I have played. But definitely worth a play- just be sure to check the recent rain levels first.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: jonray82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers every kind of throw availiable for every kind of thrower. Carefully thought out for tee pads and pin placement. Some holes are short and some very long, which makes for a good mix of disc usage. I personally love having to think about a shot for a minute. The tee pads are in great shape and the tee signs are very detailed into how far you are throwing into which direction (ex: 260ft to field 330 ft to basket from field) to me this kept me from walking the hole and finding the basket before I threw.....saves time....loved the river flowing...great landscape...all in all an awesome course!!!!
Cons: Cant think of any cons...
Other Thoughts: If u are driving through nearby I would reccomend playing this course..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

it is good

5+    11/16/2012   3/19/2013
Review By: Discjunkie89
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a long course, and thus provides diversity to the Chattanooga area. Some of the holes are really long, yet still require you to play smart.
Cons: a creek runs behind holes 4-6 and if you get an unlucky bounce off a tree or the ground you can easily lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: a lot of fun and challenging. It is a long course so bring something to drink!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    12/22/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: asp002
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some very unique shots and a great mix of power and finesse. Multiple lanes on several holes, which is great for different play styles. Great T boxes.
Cons: Very flat. A couple very straight holes that lack any challenge. Once the markers and everything are put up its going to be a lot less confusing. Not particularly challenging on most holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course for intermediate player. The power holes are great for practicing long distance drives.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

World Class Chatt.

5+    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 38  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Camp Jordan is the Chattanooga areas newest course and this is one that is not to be skipped. Located less than a half mile off I-75, this course will not disappoint. This course has a huge parking lot that can accommodate larger vehicles such as motorhomes.

Course navigation is quite easy now thanks to the "Next Tee" arrows that are located on each of the baskets. The first 9 holes create a loop as well as the last 10 to allow you to start on either the front or back.

Concrete tee pads have been poured on each hole and are of generous size. There are a few longer pads on the longer holes that are much appreciated. Brand new Chainstar baskets are on each hole and a few are elevated (3, 15 & 18). Tee signs are being made and should be up soon. Trash cans are on every few holes. I think I saw 4 or 5 of them and none were overflowing. Many people do course maintenance here and this course is quite clean.

Each hole has it's own unique challenges and no two are exactly alike. This course is long and requires accuracy and distance to score well. Definitely not for the newbie but if you can throw 300' you will enjoy yourself. I would say the majority of this course is open but thanks to well placed pins and tees, obstacles (trees, creeks, mounds of dirt) come into play and only 3 holes are completely open. The wooded holes are a bit intimidating but fairways are wide enough to not be overly frustrating and brush has been cleared out when needed.

A variety of shots are needed to do well on this course. There are dogleg rights and left and one that even has both (Hole 14). A few straight holes are a good relief but require the distance. Tunnel shots, water behind baskets, drop-offs behind baskets, shooting over a large ditch and an island green all test your nerves and concentration.
Cons: It's hard to find anything wrong with this course. The only thing missing right now is tee signs and benches. *UPDATE: Tee Signs are now in place* A few more trash cans could be placed and bag hooks at the tees would be nice as well.

A few of the holes are a bit swampy when it rains or a few days after rain.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be a championship level course and they succeeded in all ways. It is hard to rate this course a 5 because there are a few things that could make this spectacular. Don't get me wrong, I throughly enjoyed this course, I could not have done a better job and I'm sure the "cons" will be addressed.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding course!

2-4    11/9/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: bama9125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything u need is there. It's not for newbie, suggestion for immediate or up in level players. Some hole required accuracy, technical, and, wise shot.
1st hole threw thru 125 feet narrow tunnel before clear out next 300feet left to basket. 2nd &3rd hole open shot. 4th uphill about 20 ft then straight ahead. 5th hole narrow but watch out river!
6th hole, wooden, required tech shot. 7 &8 th hole open. 9th hole up hilly but wide open. 10-12 holes wide open, 13 th hole, demand accuracy thru tunnel.
14th hole, required throw 1st 200feet include tunnel before threw left anyher(sp) . 15th hole, basically throw blind. Throw left anyher 265 feet. 16th hole, straight 1st 150+feet then turn right and throw straight.
17th hole, LONG throw! 853 feet. 18 & 19 th wide open all are variety shot but beautiful course. Easy access to from interstate.
Cons: Direction as to next tee can be tricky but once u know where whole course, it's peachy. None about it that negative but it's hard course.
Other Thoughts: It has concrete pad but sign has not put up as of yet. I got 77 but I enjoy that course. The first review above that I read, if it was Facebook, I would click "like" for sure!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

OMFG! Floored me

1    10/10/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -brand new course, no concrete yet but still had the feel of a top calibur course.
-All variety of shots
-The first few holes allow you to warm up before it shows its teeth (hole 6) ouch. Loved every hole and how each one had a curtain uniqueness to it. hole 6, and the whole back 9 rocked my balls...tip for the newbies that never played this course...bring your big boy pants.
-you get everything here...woods, open air, water, big rough, long drives, tech shots, elevated tees, and list goes on.
Cons: -none that i can say now that I see concrete tees are in.
-oh yeah, navigation was tricky but im sure they are rectifying that or already have.
Other Thoughts: so easy to get to. right off the interstate...I wouldnt be suprised to see this course being an A-Tier to the PDGA soon. Dont forget your water bottles, its a long course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.