East Ridge, TN 
Camp Jordan DGC Share
Uploaded By: kevinturner73 Hole #15 (Taken 10/2012)
4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Mando madness

5+    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 72  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you enjoy throwing drivers and mid-ranges in open spaces, Camp Jordan might be a good option. Most of the holes are fairly open with few obstacles.

The first hole is an excellent starting hole. With a narrow gap off the tee before reaching an open field after 100 feet, your first throw will strongly influence whether you begin with a birdie or bogey.

Nice Chainstar baskets.
Cons: Too many mandos. Unfortunately, most of the mandos at Camp Jordan are a result of poorly-designed holes. The mandos include random trees, utility poles and road signs. And Hole 9 is in the process of having a forced "island hex" built around the basket. Camp Jordan features many gimmicks, most of which diminish the course's appeal.

In fact, nearly half the holes at Camp Jordan have a mando sign on them - as if the local flea market had a closeout on such signage. On several holes, the mandos are completely unnecessary as there's no advantage to be gained by seeking an alternate line.

The forced redesign has resulted in several holes where the fairways are dirt fields filled with weeds. While the dirt fields may be temporary, Camp Jordan is currently one of the ugliest courses around. (I'm willing to edit my review if/when changes are made.)
Other Thoughts: Rating this course as a 2.0 may seem harsh, but the quality of Camp Jordan takes an appalling hit on several of the redesigned holes, which are awful. Lazily-designed mandos, including utility poles, road signs and out-of-the-way trees is one definition of horrible disc golf.

Besides lacking in creativity, Camp Jordan offers very little diversity and no elevation changes (unless you trip and fall). Nearly half the holes on this course feel like "filler" holes, but there's no reward waiting at the end - just another terrible and pointless mando on the final hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lots of potential

1    7/22/2016   7/24/2016
Review By: Moose33
Played: 53  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really well maintained park with baseball, soccer, football and a long walking tail. Like the rest of the park the course is fairly well maintained and looks recently mowed.

the baskets are chainstars, which are fine though not my favorite and a few are elevated which adds some interest. I like most of the holes, throwing in and out of the woods and avoiding some tricky mandos.

Would have liked to have played it when all of the holes were in.
Cons: There is no elevation, and most of the water is the river which if you throw one in makes it unlikely to find it. The woods are used fairly well, but over never seen a course with so many mandos. It's kind of excessive.

Holes 8-12 are gone as well as 17-18. That was a bummer.
Other Thoughts: Could be really cool when two other holes get put back in. Needs a summer haircut but has potential.

When you put the holes that are missing back, no more mandos please!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/11/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: DRJOE
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Cons: Snakes for one, seen a snake every hole that is by the river so watch for moving sticks when looking for disc.
Went the weekend 7/9/16 and after hole 6 good luck 7-11 aren't even there. I think 12-13 and maybe 14 but not worth the walk. No signs at start to indicate this so don't waste your time. Looks like they were just bulldozed down for a project and stopped,

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Needs Updating

1    4/30/2016   4/30/2016
Review By: SuperDave1981
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like courses that have wide open holes and wooded ones as well, this meets those expectations. Hole one starts out with a narrow path through the trees into a wide open field, where the next 3 holes are also located. The only possible obstacles might be other park visitors walking around. There are wooden boardwalks to help navigate over possible wet conditions. Concrete tee pads are also in great condition. The course is also free to play, which is always nice. This course doesn't have a pro-shop, but less than a mile from the park entrance is a fireworks store which has a pretty decent selection of disc and other DG Gear. (Dixieland Fireworks)
Cons: Navigating this course for the first time is very difficult. There is a sign at hole 1 with a map of the course, which I took a picture of with my phone, but even with that - I had to guess where the next hole started. I'm sure this is only temporary, but a large tree fell across the fairway on hole #5. There is also some VERY thick brush along this course, which makes it very easy to loose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This could be a much nicer course if more thought was put into the way it flows. Putting arrows on the baskets that point to the next hole or creating pathways that lead to them would really take out the need for second guessing. Being that Camp Jordan is such a big facility, finding the course for the first time was very difficult. I was there on a Thursday afternoon around 4:30pm and the main facility building wasn't even open. There were also no phone numbers listed to call. I saw no signage of where the course started and had to ask another park member for help. I'll eventually go back and try this course again eventually, but in my opinion - there are nicer courses that aren't too far away. I don't understand why the course rating on here is so high.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Half course

2-4    10/3/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 56  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Might be a nice course when all the baskets are there. Challenging--very technical with some narrow alleys between trees with major penalties for missing the alley.
Cons: Touted as being in Perfect condition, but almost half the course is at least temporarily non-existent. Hole 1-6 and 12-16 were playable, but then 7-11 and 17-19 did not exist and it's a considerable walk between the two sets of playable holes, and then again back to the parking lot with nothing to throw to. So that was disappointing. But I did go back the second day as I was in a hotel within a 5-min drive and the next nearest course was about half hour away.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if the course review was updated by the local club who obviously knows that the course in partially non-existent currently. I would not drive any distance to play this course until I could be assured that the entire course was back in functioning order.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Big Arms and Tight Shots

1    7/5/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I loved this course. Absolutely loved it. Baskets were great. Signs were amazing. Everything was great. No complaints.
Cons: Nothing except maybe the tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course. Huge hyzer and anhyzer bombs. Nice tight shots. Plenty of dog legs. Great course for advance players.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    6/1/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: doddworley
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great use of land and woods. Some real thought was put in this course, and it was tough. Excellent information on the tee boxes detailing OB, length of hole, etc. Nice touch with the pictures of the hole
Cons: It was a little swampy/muddy in parts, however it had just rained a lot.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Potential not yet realized

1    3/30/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded holes - I thought some of the low ceiling tunnel shots on this course were a great use of the land they had. In particular I really enjoyed holes 4-7 (4 isn't that wooded but it was still a good hole). I also thought that hole 16 did a great job of giving you the choice of two different fairways.
Distance - Although it felt overused, I wish more intermediate/advanced courses put holes out longer than 450'. I appreciated that they did this, however, I think they could have reworked hole 10/12 and 18/19. It felt like two identical holes pretty close together both times.
Location/Maintenance - This felt like a very nice course. It felt very well taken care of and the scenery was beautiful. It was a little muddy but I actually don't have a problem with that (it might be a problem in heavy rain). The signs were helpful and the teepads/baskets were all good.
Elevation - I love elevated baskets (when used in moderation). I also enjoy a good downhill or uphill shot. I think the uphill shot (9 I believe) with an island green is one the best uses of space I have seen for a disc golf hole. It is so challenging yet rewards an ambitious throw if executed.
Cons: Shot variety/Repetition - The shot variety on this course is what prevented me from rating this higher. 17,18,19 are all pretty much 450+ straight shots with no real obstacle. (800+, 450+ 500+). Hole 9, 10, 11, 12 were also pretty wide open but they had some elevation change. The only real "dogleg rights" were holes 15, and 16 and hole 15 was a 250' that rewarded a high FH shot or a thumber (rhfh). It seems like comments in the other reviews favored this course as a course with a lot of varieyt, but I just didn't see it.

Shared Park - There is always some amount of danger for bystanders on a shared park, there is also the potential for cross-traffic.

Potential - I think this course could use some tweaking and become a 4-4.5 star course. The property they have is really incredible. But there were way too many times that I had to throw a 200-375 shot either straight through an open field or a small hyzer. (see hole 2, 3, 11, 12, 13)
Other Thoughts: My bias may come from not being a local. The locals seem to really like this course. I am from Nashville and I am reviewing this as someone who only played it once.

There really isn't that much "wrong" with this course. It felt like a decent course for any target audience but not a great course for any of them. Some holes are way too easy for any advanced player (2,3,5,11 etc.) , yet the long distance holes (17,18,19) would make it difficult for a beginner. I hope this critique doesn't seem harsh, I think Camp Jordan is a good course, but I would like to see a little re-working to add more obstacles. Until then I can't justify giving this course higher than a 3 because I think it has so much potential to become a better course as time goes on.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/3/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -fairly open course, good for beginners.
-some wooded holes, to round out the course and give beginners a sense of different types of disc golf experiences
-longer alternative to other area courses

Cons: -while good for beginners, there are way too many holes where you throw across an open field. Making the hole longer doesn't make it any more interesting. Players with a 325' controlled drive will probably not find this course very challenging.
-wooded holes are choked with underbrush and small trees, which creates a single alley to throw through. No multiple lines through trees available.. And getting more than 3 feet off the fairway means simply pitching it right back on with no real opportunity for a great "save" upshot. Underbrush and THORNS on hole 15, combined with a blind drive, make for several lost discs.
-hole 17 is just a long walk across a field back to the parking lot. I'd rather play an interesting hole and take a long walk back to the car after the round.
-different pars for pro/am. This is silly. Par is certainly always the Pro option on this course, or less. Par is always a relative number, and as you improve you are glad to see your score drop.. If a hole is obviously a par 3 everywhere in the world, then scoring a four doesn't feel better just because that's the "Am" par.
Other Thoughts: There is a very nice selection of discs at the fireworks shop near the entrance to the park.. Certainly the only place I've found around Chattanooga for MVP or Westside or Latitude 64 discs. Good spot to replace a disc you threw in the river that is much closer than you think to holes 4,5 and 6.

I do enjoy playing here, and am glad to have a course near an area I grew up in and visit often to see family. I'd certainly recommend it to beginners trying to learn different types of throws. More advanced players will probably find more of a challenge at The Sinks, which is relatively nearby.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/12/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 264  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course, it demands a player to have a full bag of skills and shots in order to score well on every hole. It is by far the toughest course in the Chattanooga area.

It has shorter holes, very long holes, and everything in between. Some holes are tightly wooded, some are lightly wooded, and others are very open. Many holes have water hazards- mainly a small river bordering the holes. The wooded holes have shapes of straight, left, and right. The open holes require a big arm in order to score low.

Course has concrete tees, good baskets, excellent tee signs. Navigation was good, only a couple of spots where I had to look for a minute, but nothing confusing. You can usually see the upcoming tee sign from the previous basket.

This course is in a very big and nice park, and very easy to get to and close to I-75/I-24.
Cons: Even though this is a solid and challenging course, there are a good amount of flaws:

This course is set in a major flood plain of a major feeder to the TN River. The river has the potential to take over many of the holes after a heavy rain, or at least making many of the holes very swampy for days. There will be many days throughout the year where this course will be unplayable. (I played the day after a good rain, it wasn't too bad, the creeks/river were high but not quite out of their banks, but holes 1-3 were super marshy in a field of standing water and it appears that these holes might be bad most of the year.)

There were several of the open holes here that are nothing more than a basket in a wide open field of grass. And the last 3 holes are like this but also very long. I viewed this as poor design- after hole #16 you are at the furthest point from the parking area with only a long open field between you and your car. It was as if the designer realized "oh no, we only have 2 holes left yet we are a mile from the car with only an open field with 2 trees between them!" The fact the course is an odd 19 holes just adds to my theory.

There is a walking trail around most of the holes, and each hole has a huge warning sign telling you not to throw when people are in view- seems extreme to me- in range? Sure. In view??? Rule gave me a smothered and limited feel throughout my round. Trail was very busy on a weekday afternoon- so good luck playing on the weekends.

Course is mostly flat. I think the best courses have some holes going up and down. Not the courses fault, just the land that happens to be here.

Hole #9 was a little confusing from the tee- the tee sign shows 2 basket locations (this is the only hole that does this) and you can see two baskets from the tee--- however as you get close you see that one is for #9 and the other is for #19, rather than having both basket locations in place. Confusing because multiple pin locations was not the norm up to that point.

#15 is a blind left to right curved hole, but then you have to walk back up the fairway to get to #16- this is a dangerous set-up. When on 15's tee you better check to make sure no one is out there. And when you are finished watch for incoming drives.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, very challenging, and it can/will beat you up. There are several holes where 4 (or even 5) is a pretty good score. It will be a good place for tournaments and a place to really test your game. It is not good, however, for a relaxing fun round or for newer players. It is very different from the other area courses, I really like that the Chattanooga courses offer something for all different skill levels and style preferences.

I had a little trouble finding the course once in the park, but after you enter the park area and cross the walking trail take an immediate left into the gravel drive right. The parking area appears double as an RV campground.

*This is a tough course to rate, it has potential, but it does have cons. I can see why others rate it higher and really like it. I decided on a strong 3.0 (good) when compared to other 200+ courses I have played. But definitely worth a play- just be sure to check the recent rain levels first.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.