Course Extinct
Hanahan, SC 
Eagle Landing DGC Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester   (Taken 10/2012)
Hole #11 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Place to Live

1    7/26/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Eagle Landing has a really interesting, residential vibe. It's like a country club community only it's a disc golf course that runs through it. I can only imagine living there, walking out your back yard to hole five and throwing a disc. Nine holes later, you're back home again. Quite the lifestyle.

I was surprisingly impressed with a majority of the holes in Eagle Landing. It's very much an everyday type of course, replete with opportunities to try out a number of shots and techniques.

There is some impressive hole design here, especially in the way that many mimic a ball golf course, (or were designed to be? I don't know, it seems like there isn't quite enough space on any of the holes to play ball golf without putting a lot of property a risk.)

In particular, hole 2 is impressive, with two lakes separated by a narrow causeway. Landing on the path is impossible so a layup is almost necessary to get across safely.

There is also a lot of length here. For a quick course, having two of the holes reach over 800 feet is pretty nice. It's a fantastic opportunity to try out drivers, with the space to do it.

It's also a pretty nice loop with each hole leading logically to the next. Without a sign, I had no trouble finding each tee and basket. There are no signs here, but there are posts which indicate the tee location and distance to the hole. While not entirely informative, they fit in with the aesthetic of the course extremely well.

You can play a round of 18 by playing two loops, from each of the tees. Strangely, this almost doesn't feel like a copout, as the tees are different enough to provide a significantly different approach.
Cons: The problem is on three of the holes. 3 is crazy, the mando keeps you from throwing across the lake, and the large U that you essentially throw is very awkward.

Later on, there is a hole that throws dangerously close to homes and fenced in backyards. I felt uncomfortable throwing there.

8 is also an issue. It's an over water throw but its very short. I think it would be much better if the tee was moved back, so that you threw over the water and then still had further to go. As it is now, one large tree essentially spoils the hole.

As much as I like a lot about this course, three duds out of nine is too much to rate this course highly. But if I lived there, I would probably love it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

pleasant surprise

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Update 8-3-13...Course has been redesigned. Same flow as before but with a better mix of holes. 1st hole is 798 par 5 and that seems a little daunting at first. Not sure if this is permanent, but i like it. Lots of chances for birdies if you keep it in the fairways. Well laid out, manicured, although for the most part wide open there is still emphasis on placement.
New disccatchers. A very pleasant and quiet walk in the park. You can kind of get into your own little world out there. Good combination of bombs as well as a couple of ace runs.
Cons: Only con is the condition of tee boxes. They are a little inconsistent and you have to step carefully.
Other Thoughts: Although I dinged the teepads I also like how they force thought processes with their proximity to trees. Fun factor is high here. Thanks for bringing this course to north charleston.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: arloucks
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Water hazards aren't a direct threat unless you seriously mess up your drive, peaceful and scenic walk, old golf course means plenty chances for good distance shots, easy to find next teepad
Cons: 9 holes, no parking

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Blend of Old and New

1    11/5/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Insanely well manicured course, especially considering it is no longer an active ball golf course. The old green complexes really make for great basket positions.

All brand new Innova Discatchers!

Parking @ the first tee/last green.

Awesomely wide open holes, especially for the Charleston area. Allows for a great blend of bombing drives and some precision shots over and around water.

It is really interesting to see how well an old ball golf course layout makes for a great disc golf course. The slight doglegs really make for interesting play. And the designer of this course has somehow managed to keep the water hazards in play! Really clever

Very nice,clear navigation. Old tee signs are now out of date, but the teepads are spraypainted with new info. The cart path makes navigation a breeze. Also, the intended 18 hole layout alternates long and short holes, so it really makes for good variety.

This is one of the few courses in the area that has such long holes that allow for great long drives.
Cons: The course is plagued by inconsistent tee pads...some have very short run-ups because of the angle of the paths.

Only 9 holes.

Few of the tees have overhanging branches too close to the tee which are very low to the ground. It really puts a lot of emphasis on rollers, especially from the white tees. Not beginner-friendly
Other Thoughts: This is a really great new course. I can't wait to see it mature. Great baskets, great tees, great hole variation.

On an unrelated note, as an avid golfer first and only a recent convert to disc golf, it does make me a bit sad to see the shell of an old, dying course. But to see it repuposed as such is really cool. It is the combination of two of my favorite pastimes and makes for a very enjoyable loop.

UPDATE 10/12/13 - new layout is in place. Not sure if I love it. Lots of the tees have super low ceilings...this has turned into a rollers course. Also I'm not thrilled about how some of the old holes were chopped up. Tee signs are now out of date but there is spraypaint on the cart paths to mark hole distances. There is a nice new Kiosk in place but the map on it is out of date.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Discs are landing at Eagle Landing

2-4    10/28/2012   10/31/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Eagle Landing is a long and open nine-hole course. It's designed on an old golf course, with water hazards, sand traps and putting greens still visible, and in play.
- The course is pretty straight forward: it follows the old golf/walking path and is mostly long and mostly open. Unlike most courses in the region, big arms actually have a chance to air it out here.
- Good use of limited obstacles throughout the layout. Baskets are placed near/behind trees (best example is #1), or behind water hazards/ponds (#2 & 8). #2 is a fun hole especially that makes players either go for the basket, or lay up short of the water. The first time I played this hole, my tee shot sailed left. Without a water hazard, I could have been aggressive, and maybe ended up 40 - 60 feet from the hole. With water, I knew my disc would probably end up wet, so I had to lay up short, essentially wasting a stroke. The water clearly played a factor, punishing me for a poorly placed tee shot.
- The designers did a good job incorporating the old course's putting greens into the layout. Several holes have baskets on the old putting greens (#2, 3, 7 & 9). It gives the psychological feel of actually putting, or having an approach shot land on the green. We often have a vague concept of 'putting greens' in disc golf, so it's cool to see actual greens when putting.
- There are some good risk/reward holes here. The water holes are the most two obvious examples of this. On #8, from the long tees, you either have to play a dogleg right shot to avoid the water, or throw over the water, and play it as a dogleg left. The same water hazard comes into play on #2 & 8, and talking to the main course designer, he said plenty of discs have already been retrieved from this hazard. The course hadn't officially been opened yet, and already people were paying the price for being too aggressive. #3 is another good risk/reward hole, with a separate hazard coming into play.
-Great practice course. You can use some of the longer open holes (#4, 7 & 9) to practice throwing. You can use some of the 'putting green' baskets to practice short approach shots. *The old 'putting greens' have golf course dynamics that aren't seen in disc golf greens - mainly having more elevation variety than a standard, flat disc golf green area.* And you can practice shots over water by going back and forth to #2 & 8's baskets.
Cons: This course is still considered a work in progress, so some issues are still temporary.
- Signage could be improved, even things as simple as where to park. Driving into the neighborhood, I first saw the old golf course clubhouse and it's parking lot, figuring that's where I needed to park. No baskets in sight. I drove a little further and saw a basket, but no parking spots. I drove a little further; saw another basket, but still no signage. It ended up taking a little time to figure out which side was the first hole versus the middle of the course. Once I did, it was pretty straight forward.
- One other suggestion was to have signage markers to water hazards and greens. When you're throwing on wide open holes, depth perception can be an issue. Knowing the basket is 300 feet versus 250 feet, especially when throwing over water, is greatly appreciated.
- This course is somewhat spread out. You cross the road twice - going from #4 to 5 and then from #7 back to 8 - so there's more walking than most nine holers.
- Some people are going to think the course is too repetitive and not enough challenge. From the long tees, there are no holes less than 300 feet, and only three less than 300 from the short tees. If you don't have a big arm, you might not enjoy open holes that are more than 700 feet.
Other Thoughts: This course was much better than I expected. It's the best addition to the Charleston disc golf scene in a while.
- There's a definite feel of Trophy Lakes here, especially with the water holes. If only this was 18 holes, it would easily be the second best course in the area, behind TL.
- Talking to the course designer, there are talks of adding holes. One idea is a separate, very short (think pitch-n-putt) nine hole course for kids and beginners. Another is trying to find a way to make this 18, without a dramatic drop-off in quality with additional holes. Still, at the point, enjoy the nine holes that are here.
- The course is 10 minutes from Park Circle, so you can get a solid one-two punch in one afternoon. This is the longer version of Park Circle with fewer streets to cross.
- It's great Charleston keeps adding courses; it would just be nice if some would be 18 holes instead of nine. That said, it's one of the best nine-hole course I've played anywhere. After Trophy Lakes, this is probably as much of a 'must play' as there is in the Charleston region.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Great Change!

5+    8/11/2013   10/13/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *All Innova DiscCatchers.
*This course uses the old ball golf course Cart Roads to tee off, very grippy.

*Very well maintained greens with nice use of sandtraps, hills and water placement.

*Very quiet compared to the other local courses with good buffer room betweens holes. Even on a busy day, this course still feels comfortable because of it's huge layout.

*This is considered a red course. Which means it has 9 holes but 18 tees. The white post are for the am's, the blue are for the pro's, or it can be played as an 18.

*Far distances, require more accuracy and power off the tee, several holes over 500ft.

*Great course for beginners and advanced players. Although there are watershots, am's can play the white tee's helping to eliminate chances of losing a disc.

*Hole 1 is a long and demanding hole that travels through a narrow walkway before opening into the disc golf circle. Very fun!
Cons: *Houses should not be a factor, however several yards have privacy fences up, therefore a bad shot might be a lost disc.

*Even though the white tee's were designed for newer players, the water hazzards on hole #2, 3, and 8 do still pose a threat. I would recommend bringing some cheap disc for those holes.
Other Thoughts: Eagle Landing DGC offers the most beautiful, challenging, best price (free) and friendlest enviroment in the Charleston area. This is a must-play course featuring a huge-layout that will make you laugh and cry, all while having a great time. You will want to bring some hazzard disc that float, but do not worry, the course management crew along with the cdgc, have always done a great job of returning the disc to their rightful owners. Hats off to the great job, that everybody involved has done to this course. Every time I play here, someone is working hard to keep it looking great. I will be update pics soon!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.