Goose Creek, SC 
Naval Weapons Station Charleston Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester Hole #10 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: filobedo
Played: 174  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the redesign and addition of 9 holes for the front! Course now starts across from the commissary in the wooded area and finishes at back of parking lot. Signage and teepads are fantastic and lots of work appears to have gone into this. Designers and helpers, thanks for all of the hardwork. Hole descriptions are for rhbh,

#1 - Short midrange into gap in woods with elevated basket.

#2 - Super quick fish hook anhyzer in woods with no room for error off tee and low ceiling due to low lying hidden branches. Beat putter or midrange.

#3 - Fun, slow hyzer with midrange in woods

#7 - Longer hole for course (350' possibly) with large hanging limb at the end of the main fairway. Hyzer out at 300' and you should have a chance at 2 or 3.

#8 - Fun, tight tunnel shot. Up the middle 150' and straight through trees.

#9 - Straight up the middle under major low lying branch with basket to right. Almost a tunnel shot due to tree branch. This is the only hole that I think could possibly be revised due to the girth and weight of the branch.

#11 - Fun, blind anhyzer with sidewalk in play.

#15 and #16 best two holes on the course.

#15 - Uphill for the Lowcountry with an anhyzer around the trees on right.

#16 - Tight and straight downhill through trees into open field to protected green.

#17 - Fun, tight wooded tunnel shot to small green.

#18 - 400' and tight behind softball fields with 8' high fences on the right and tree line on left to an elevated basket.
Cons: i#6 could benefit from moving the basket away from the baseball field due to their being no way to get in the ball field near the basket and the only entrance is near the tee. #18 is disappointing due to the ball field and tight approach to the basket between the ball field and tree line. I think moving the tee up would make this a much better hole because it is very difficult to throw over the fences and I am sure this hole would be almost unplayable during softball games in the current tee position. The only hole I have ever seen similar with challenging aspects such as a this was at Wills Park and James Island where you throw near and over the tennis courts. Crooked Creek has ball fields nearby on #10 or #11 but they really are not in play like this is.
Other Thoughts: I had only played the course when 9 baskets were present about 4 years ago and the addition of the front 9 makes this course 3rd best in the Charleston area behind Trophy Lakes and Sewee. I am not familiar with the designers other than Derrick but I would like to see their input for any other public courses in the Charleston area (existing or new). On the base, so not sure how much hassle you may receive about playing. I would love to see this course used for a one day sanctioned tournament like Redstone Arsenal is in Huntsville which is also on a base. Disc golf is growing rapidly in Charleston and I would like to get to know some of the regulars that play this course. It seems I know more players around the country than I do in my local club now because I do not play many casual rounds locally anymore and I am no longer on the BOD. If anyone is ever interested in playing this one, please let me know.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Solid Work in Progress

2-4    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am really excited to see a completely new, improved layout at the NWS. This new layout has some serious potential. There is a very nice variety of wooden and open holes. Good variety of doglegs left and right. Overall considering the available terrain, this is a quite nicely designed loop.

All new Innova discatcher goals...always a plus.

Long concrete tee pads and nice hole signs.

Hole 6 is a really nice par 4 with a double dogleg. Great basket position.

New back nine is in and is a nice complement to the front with a great balance of open and wooded holes.

Love the elevated baskets on 1 and 18.

Great maintenance and course updates. Love the new path from 8 to 9 - really improves flow through the course. Also glad to see the baskets now have the correct numbers after some solid maintenance work by the guys that run the course!

Looks like there is now a practice basket in the grove of trees that originally held the #1 basket. As you come in to the course, it is about 50-60 yds back and to the right of the first tee in the trees across the entry road.

A big pro is that the people working on the course are really interested in feedback, and this course is continually evolving as a result of that feedback. Thanks to all the guys involved in making this place fun for everyone.
Cons: Navigation is a bit difficult the first time around...it is easy to miss the new #3.

Lots of potential for interference as this course plays in between and around softball fields, playgrounds, and the parking lot.

Watch your step...the terrain has a lot of holes that you could twist an ankle and some of the biggest fireant mounds I have seen.

As a civilian, I initially had an apprehensive feeling about being there. As I understand it, civilians are welcome, but it just felt a little weird the first time I was there...though the people I met on base could not have been any nicer or more welcoming.

Hole 18 is a bit of a mess. Its almost a triple dogleg, teeshot through a chute, over/around a baseball diamond, back up a hill, and to an elevated basket. There was a lot of open terrain near the 18th tee, and I wonder if a better hole couldn't be made there. Its a anticlimactic finish to an otherwise well designed course.

Update 10/23/14 - It has been a while since I played the course, but I have to say I wasn't in love with the new basket positions on 7 and 11. They definitely added a little difficulty but I'm not sure it helped flow or was a necessary change. Pushing the basket father back into the woods on a more impossible line, especially on 7, doesn't make the hole better in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This is a great new course and awesome work in progress. Thanks to everyone involved. Its nice to see the layout has been updated to create a very nice layout of 18 holes. Looking forward to further maintenance and updates.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.