Disc Golf Store
Goose Creek, SC 
Naval Weapons Station Charleston Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester Hole #18 (Taken 1/2014)
4 / 524ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: filobedo
Played: 168  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the redesign and addition of 9 holes for the front! Course now starts across from the commissary in the wooded area and finishes at back of parking lot. Signage and teepads are fantastic and lots of work appears to have gone into this. Designers and helpers, thanks for all of the hardwork. Hole descriptions are for rhbh,

#1 - Short midrange into gap in woods with elevated basket.

#2 - Super quick fish hook anhyzer in woods with no room for error off tee and low ceiling due to low lying hidden branches. Beat putter or midrange.

#3 - Fun, slow hyzer with midrange in woods

#7 - Longer hole for course (350' possibly) with large hanging limb at the end of the main fairway. Hyzer out at 300' and you should have a chance at 2 or 3.

#8 - Fun, tight tunnel shot. Up the middle 150' and straight through trees.

#9 - Straight up the middle under major low lying branch with basket to right. Almost a tunnel shot due to tree branch. This is the only hole that I think could possibly be revised due to the girth and weight of the branch.

#11 - Fun, blind anhyzer with sidewalk in play.

#15 and #16 best two holes on the course.

#15 - Uphill for the Lowcountry with an anhyzer around the trees on right.

#16 - Tight and straight downhill through trees into open field to protected green.

#17 - Fun, tight wooded tunnel shot to small green.

#18 - 400' and tight behind softball fields with 8' high fences on the right and tree line on left to an elevated basket.
Cons: i#6 could benefit from moving the basket away from the baseball field due to their being no way to get in the ball field near the basket and the only entrance is near the tee. #18 is disappointing due to the ball field and tight approach to the basket between the ball field and tree line. I think moving the tee up would make this a much better hole because it is very difficult to throw over the fences and I am sure this hole would be almost unplayable during softball games in the current tee position. The only hole I have ever seen similar with challenging aspects such as a this was at Wills Park and James Island where you throw near and over the tennis courts. Crooked Creek has ball fields nearby on #10 or #11 but they really are not in play like this is.
Other Thoughts: I had only played the course when 9 baskets were present about 4 years ago and the addition of the front 9 makes this course 3rd best in the Charleston area behind Trophy Lakes and Sewee. I am not familiar with the designers other than Derrick but I would like to see their input for any other public courses in the Charleston area (existing or new). On the base, so not sure how much hassle you may receive about playing. I would love to see this course used for a one day sanctioned tournament like Redstone Arsenal is in Huntsville which is also on a base. Disc golf is growing rapidly in Charleston and I would like to get to know some of the regulars that play this course. It seems I know more players around the country than I do in my local club now because I do not play many casual rounds locally anymore and I am no longer on the BOD. If anyone is ever interested in playing this one, please let me know.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best course in goose creek

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 22 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I am going to cheat a little and score based on the 2 baskets that will be there next week.
Nice teepads wide long smooth and grippy
Baskets....see above the older models still work fine.
Lots of birdie ops and a couple of ace runs.
There are several holes with multiple routes to the basket offering risk and reward.
The tight holes have actual fairways. Excellent job of limiting chuck and pray.
A couple of nice par 4s that can be birdied with strategic placement.
Nice variety and flow.
Just a fun layout.
Update: new baskets are in and awesome
A practice basket was added as well.
This course is a must play. Love the finishing hole, it can be birdied or doubled very easily.
Cons: Sharing with the rest of the park. I am not to keen on artificial boundaries like fences, but they do present obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I cant believe i waited this long to play this course. I really think it is about a 3.7 but i rounded up. Thanks for the awesome efforts to put together a cool 18.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Solid Work in Progress

2-4    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am really excited to see a completely new, improved layout at the NWS. This new layout has some serious potential. There is a very nice variety of wooden and open holes. Good variety of doglegs left and right. Overall considering the available terrain, this is a quite nicely designed loop.

All new Innova discatcher goals...always a plus.

Long concrete tee pads and nice hole signs.

Hole 6 is a really nice par 4 with a double dogleg. Great basket position.

New back nine is in and is a nice complement to the front with a great balance of open and wooded holes.

Love the elevated baskets on 1 and 18.

Great maintenance and course updates. Love the new path from 8 to 9 - really improves flow through the course. Also glad to see the baskets now have the correct numbers after some solid maintenance work by the guys that run the course!

Looks like there is now a practice basket in the grove of trees that originally held the #1 basket. As you come in to the course, it is about 50-60 yds back and to the right of the first tee in the trees across the entry road.

A big pro is that the people working on the course are really interested in feedback, and this course is continually evolving as a result of that feedback. Thanks to all the guys involved in making this place fun for everyone.
Cons: Navigation is a bit difficult the first time around...it is easy to miss the new #3.

Lots of potential for interference as this course plays in between and around softball fields, playgrounds, and the parking lot.

Watch your step...the terrain has a lot of holes that you could twist an ankle and some of the biggest fireant mounds I have seen.

As a civilian, I initially had an apprehensive feeling about being there. As I understand it, civilians are welcome, but it just felt a little weird the first time I was there...though the people I met on base could not have been any nicer or more welcoming.

Hole 18 is a bit of a mess. Its almost a triple dogleg, teeshot through a chute, over/around a baseball diamond, back up a hill, and to an elevated basket. There was a lot of open terrain near the 18th tee, and I wonder if a better hole couldn't be made there. Its a anticlimactic finish to an otherwise well designed course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great new course and awesome work in progress. Thanks to everyone involved. Its nice to see the layout has been updated to create a very nice layout of 18 holes. Looking forward to further maintenance and updates.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

18-hole layout is making this course even better

2-4    3/30/2014   10/28/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: **This is my new, spring 2014 updated review of the 18-hole layout. Review has been completely rewritten to reflect changes and updated hole numbers.**
- A lot of hard work has gone into making Naval Weapons Station into an 18-hole layout. Through the efforts of this team, the course is now a fun layout that should have something that appeals to most skill levels.
- The new layout is a big improvement over the old one. It's still nothing special, not to the level of Trophy Lakes, but it offers a n increased challenge, along with some fun new layouts. Add to that, it is another 18-hole layout, something this area still needs more of.
- In essence the new layout takes the old 9 holes and turns them into holes #1 - 2 & 4 - 10. For those who aren't fans of counting, that means hole #3, 11 - 18 are the new ones; with the last 8 holes laid out in the back portion of this land.
- There's a good mixture of holes from heavily wooded to partial to wide open. Add to that, hole distances range from 192 feet to 524 and you get your taste of everything here. This is definitely more of the buffet-style of variety in that you do get a little bit of everything, all of which is solid, without being stellar.
- The new holes even give the course it's only elevation, albeit, low country elevation. #16 is actually a real good hole, the type where you want to throw multiple shots. It's a 253-foot, downhill (again, low county elevation) shot with trees forcing you to throw either right or left. It's very easy to park your shot next to the basket, but there's also the chance you smack a tree and have to settle for a par.
- This is a great course for beginners and casual players. There's moderate challenge on many holes - from woods to doglegs to obstacles to throw around - ball fields, fences, etc. Even the shortest hole - #8 at 150 feet - is a narrow fairway in the woods, meaning there is challenge for players.
- Course is pretty easy to navigate. The hardest part is finding the first tee. From there, things seemed pretty straightforward. The online map is a great help, plus it has a scorecard, but I'm not sure how much you'll need to be looking at it.
- It's great that there's such a solid course here at the NWS. It's a great course for service members and their families to play the game. Plus, now that they've relaxed the rules about access, anyone can check the course out. That said, this is the type of course we should all being showing respect on, making sure to not leave any trash or causing any problems that could negatively impact the course or access. This would be the type of course I'd be an advocate of having a kiosk with loaner discs at the first tee. You really want to introduce people to the game here, supply them with loaner discs? If/when those disappear, replace them with another 5 - 10 loaner discs. The more good will here, the better it will be for the course and community.
Cons: My biggest beef is the design on #18. It's meant to be the tough, test your mettle, finishing hole. While I always love that idea, the one fails to execute. It does offer challenge, just not in a fair or logical way. Once you get through the trees at the beginning, there's a narrow landing area with a ball field on the right and a line of trees on the left. The concern is the fence on the right and having a disc sail over it. You either have to climb the fence or walk the whole way around to get onto the field. From there, you have a challenge second (or third) shot approaching the basket. To its credit, once you get past the ball field and the risk of a disc sailing over the fence, I think it's a well-designed approach to an elevated basket. With limited space, I'm not sure the option to fix the problem, unless you shorten the hole (easier solution) or have to potentially redesign multiple holes to move the tee away from the ball field (not so easy).
- I've only played this course, in all its formations, on weekend mornings. Half the times I've played (out of 4), there's been a soccer game going on at the field. This can either slightly impact, or make unplayable, holes #5 & 7 - 10.
- No amenities here, from restrooms, benches, drinks or trashcans. It's almost like the NVS expects the public to be as respectful and disciplined as the service members. Go figure.
- More advanced players will have a field day here due to the lack of overall difficulty. #7 & 18 are true par 4s, but everyone other hole is a potential birdie chance for better players. For intermediate level players and up, you should expect to see at least several 2s on your scorecard. I also suspect advanced players will sense there's less variety than I do. If you can control your disc up to 300 feet, it probably doesn't matter to you if a hole has two trees or 10; whether the hole is a slight dogleg or moderate; whether a hole is flat or slightly inclined.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the improvements made to the Naval Weapons Station course. The course isn't as challenging as Trophy Lakes, or even the nine-hole layout at Eagle Landing, but it does serve a great purpose in this community.
- The course is never crowded. The last time I played, I only saw one other group playing. That's been the norm for every time I've played.
- The course has more variety than most Charleston area courses. Of the region's 18-holers, it's more beginner friendly than Trophy Lakes, more wooded than Park Circle and is more open than Tidal Creek or James Island. So, if you're wanting a good variety, at an intermediate level, this is probably the course for you.
- This course always seems to have a cross-breeze, at least the times I've played. Whether is strong gusts, or just a light breeze, the air never seems to be still here. That can really add a challenge, turning a lot of birdie chances into scrambles for par. The last time I played, there were gusts above 30 mph. And as anyone who's played in wind like that, it makes putting an adventure and adds challenge to approach shots. Depending on one's perspective, the wind element can be viewed as a pro or a con, or make no difference. How's that for taking a stand?
- I'm giving this course a solid 2.5. It's a very solid average course. There's fun to be had, along with some challenge, but it's not a killer. It's great having another 18-holer in this area as the Charleston disc golf scene only gets better.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Now 18 Holes!

5+    8/13/2013   10/13/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * All 18 Innova Discatchers

*All Concrete tee pads in great shape!

*Great new layout allowing disc golfers to play even when events are held at this same park.

*Great use of wooded holes and open layout.

*This new holes are longer distances than the orginal layout allowing better skill players to have a challenge. The 18 hole course is "ace races" for pros, however challenging enough for the average player.

*Quiet, and relaxing with it being near the base, plus it now open to the public.
Cons: *On busy days due to the baseball fields, hole 4 and 5 may be hard to play. Due to family's not understanding that they are standing in a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: A great place to play 18 holes and have fun. When I write a review I try to focus on all player skill levels to determine the best way to score a course. Although I feel some of the holes are short in length, this new layout utilizes the wooded sections perfectly to counteract that for someone of my skill level. I generally drive 250 to 300ft depending on wind. So, if you are like me, I think you will love this course. If you shoot 300 and above, well then come get your ace record higher. Before you decide I rated this course too high, please play it first and you will see, pictures can not capture the unique holes feautured here.

SPECIAL NOTE:
I would like to thank anyone involved with this redesign and congratulate them for a great job! Your hard work, and time has saved this course. Thanks- Joshua

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.