Disc Golf Store
Goose Creek, SC
Naval Weapons Station Charleston Share
Uploaded By: JoshuaWayneHester Hole #4 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 242ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: filobedo
Played: 160  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Love the redesign and addition of 9 holes for the front! Course now starts across from the commissary in the wooded area and finishes at back of parking lot. Signage and teepads are fantastic and lots of work appears to have gone into this. Designers and helpers, thanks for all of the hardwork. Hole descriptions are for rhbh,

#1 - Short midrange into gap in woods with elevated basket.

#2 - Super quick fish hook anhyzer in woods with no room for error off tee and low ceiling due to low lying hidden branches. Beat putter or midrange.

#3 - Fun, slow hyzer with midrange in woods

#7 - Longer hole for course (350' possibly) with large hanging limb at the end of the main fairway. Hyzer out at 300' and you should have a chance at 2 or 3.

#8 - Fun, tight tunnel shot. Up the middle 150' and straight through trees.

#9 - Straight up the middle under major low lying branch with basket to right. Almost a tunnel shot due to tree branch. This is the only hole that I think could possibly be revised due to the girth and weight of the branch.

#11 - Fun, blind anhyzer with sidewalk in play.

#15 and #16 best two holes on the course.

#15 - Uphill for the Lowcountry with an anhyzer around the trees on right.

#16 - Tight and straight downhill through trees into open field to protected green.

#17 - Fun, tight wooded tunnel shot to small green.

#18 - 400' and tight behind softball fields with 8' high fences on the right and tree line on left to an elevated basket.
Cons: i#6 could benefit from moving the basket away from the baseball field due to their being no way to get in the ball field near the basket and the only entrance is near the tee. #18 is disappointing due to the ball field and tight approach to the basket between the ball field and tree line. I think moving the tee up would make this a much better hole because it is very difficult to throw over the fences and I am sure this hole would be almost unplayable during softball games in the current tee position. The only hole I have ever seen similar with challenging aspects such as a this was at Wills Park and James Island where you throw near and over the tennis courts. Crooked Creek has ball fields nearby on #10 or #11 but they really are not in play like this is.
Other Thoughts: I had only played the course when 9 baskets were present about 4 years ago and the addition of the front 9 makes this course 3rd best in the Charleston area behind Trophy Lakes and Sewee. I am not familiar with the designers other than Derrick but I would like to see their input for any other public courses in the Charleston area (existing or new). On the base, so not sure how much hassle you may receive about playing. I would love to see this course used for a one day sanctioned tournament like Redstone Arsenal is in Huntsville which is also on a base. Disc golf is growing rapidly in Charleston and I would like to get to know some of the regulars that play this course. It seems I know more players around the country than I do in my local club now because I do not play many casual rounds locally anymore and I am no longer on the BOD. If anyone is ever interested in playing this one, please let me know.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best course in goose creek

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I am going to cheat a little and score based on the 2 baskets that will be there next week.
Nice teepads wide long smooth and grippy
Baskets....see above the older models still work fine.
Lots of birdie ops and a couple of ace runs.
There are several holes with multiple routes to the basket offering risk and reward.
The tight holes have actual fairways. Excellent job of limiting chuck and pray.
A couple of nice par 4s that can be birdied with strategic placement.
Nice variety and flow.
Just a fun layout.
Update: new baskets are in and awesome
A practice basket was added as well.
This course is a must play. Love the finishing hole, it can be birdied or doubled very easily.
Cons: Sharing with the rest of the park. I am not to keen on artificial boundaries like fences, but they do present obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I cant believe i waited this long to play this course. I really think it is about a 3.7 but i rounded up. Thanks for the awesome efforts to put together a cool 18.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Solid Work in Progress

2-4    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am really excited to see a completely new, improved layout at the NWS. This new layout has some serious potential. There is a very nice variety of wooden and open holes. Good variety of doglegs left and right. Overall considering the available terrain, this is a quite nicely designed loop.

All new Innova discatcher goals...always a plus.

Long concrete tee pads and nice hole signs.

Hole 6 is a really nice par 4 with a double dogleg. Great basket position.

New back nine is in and is a nice complement to the front with a great balance of open and wooded holes.

Love the elevated baskets on 1 and 18.

Great maintenance and course updates. Love the new path from 8 to 9 - really improves flow through the course. Also glad to see the baskets now have the correct numbers after some solid maintenance work by the guys that run the course!

Looks like there is now a practice basket in the grove of trees that originally held the #1 basket. As you come in to the course, it is about 50-60 yds back and to the right of the first tee in the trees across the entry road.

A big pro is that the people working on the course are really interested in feedback, and this course is continually evolving as a result of that feedback. Thanks to all the guys involved in making this place fun for everyone.
Cons: Navigation is a bit difficult the first time around...it is easy to miss the new #3.

Lots of potential for interference as this course plays in between and around softball fields, playgrounds, and the parking lot.

Watch your step...the terrain has a lot of holes that you could twist an ankle and some of the biggest fireant mounds I have seen.

As a civilian, I initially had an apprehensive feeling about being there. As I understand it, civilians are welcome, but it just felt a little weird the first time I was there...though the people I met on base could not have been any nicer or more welcoming.

Hole 18 is a bit of a mess. Its almost a triple dogleg, teeshot through a chute, over/around a baseball diamond, back up a hill, and to an elevated basket. There was a lot of open terrain near the 18th tee, and I wonder if a better hole couldn't be made there. Its a anticlimactic finish to an otherwise well designed course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great new course and awesome work in progress. Thanks to everyone involved. Its nice to see the layout has been updated to create a very nice layout of 18 holes. Looking forward to further maintenance and updates.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A big improvement over the old layout

1    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The new 9-hole layout at the Naval Weapons Station is a big improvement over the old one. It's still nothing special; but, at least now, members of the military have a more challenging & more fun course.
- There are going to be a lot of references to the old layout. So, if you never played the old layout, they won't mean a thing. Also, keep in mind this is a beginner-level course.
- Good variety of hole layouts. There are now three wooded holes, with fairways cut in the woods. Throw in a couple doglegs and open holes, and the course offers a little bit of everything.
- There were a couple of fun and challenging hole layouts. The old layout was pretty open, pretty straight and not a lot of challenge, so this is a major improvement.
- Three holes stood out to me as the best. #5 is a dogleg right around a baseball field - teeing off down the left field foul line to a basket around the outfield to the first base side of the field. Even with a good tee shot, you may have to throw around a series of several trees to the basket.
- #6 was my favorite hole on the course. It's also the most challenging, where you'll actually have to work for your 3. Tee off to a slight dogleg left through an opening in the trees. Your approach shot is slight dogleg right back to a basket that is buried back in the edge of the woods.
- #7 is a short, straight shot that starts in field to a basket in the woods. If you throw straight, you should have a birdie putt. Miss your line, however, and you'll be scrambling for a three.
- Course was easy to navigate. I had no problem playing the nine holes without a map or tee signs. There was a little bit of confusion going from one's basket to #2, but course area is small enough that I was able to find it in less than 30 seconds. FYI, after #1's basket, go to the left, past #3's basket and the tee for #2 is right there.
Cons: This is another course without major problems. They do a pretty job at achieving their goal of being a fun, beginner-level course, with enough challenge thrown in. That said, there were a couple issues that could be improved.
- Navigation could be improved. Pulling into the parking lot, the first thing you see is the basket #1, so at least you know where to begin; although, a sign for the first tee would make sense. Then you walk past #3's basket to get to the second hole (as mentioned above). On holes #5 & 7, after you finish the hole, you turn around, walk back down the fairway to get to the next hole.
- There are still tee signs for some of the holes on the old course layout. For example, on #9, you can see the tee sign for the old #4. If you get lost on the course, the old tee signs are really going to throw you for a major loop. The solution would be to either pull the old ones or put in new signs for the new holes.
- The tee pads are still dirt. They are framed, which is a good sign they may be filled in soon. Maybe once they're filled, new tee signs will be added.
- This seems to be a lefty-heavy course. Three of the nine holes are doglegs right - #2, 5 & 8.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised by the improvement of this course from the original layout. The designers realized that longer, open holes aren't as much fun as slightly shorter holes that have some element of challenge - doglegs, woods, etc.
- This is a much better representation of disc golf for people stationed at the base. The variety of holes should offer something that anyone would like. It'd be great if the base has loaner discs for people living here, to really get some foot traffic on the course.
- I get the feeling this course doesn't get played much, so some of the flow problems won't be as much of an issue, specifically having to back track on holes #5 & 7 to get to the next tee.
- This is a pretty decent course. It's about as average as 9-holer as one can get. I didn't have a problem playing here, so who knows how stringent they are about having outsiders on the course. If you're close by, it's worth a quick round or two.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Now 18 Holes!

5+    8/13/2013   10/13/2012
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * All 18 Innova Discatchers

*All Concrete tee pads in great shape!

*Great new layout allowing disc golfers to play even when events are held at this same park.

*Great use of wooded holes and open layout.

*This new holes are longer distances than the orginal layout allowing better skill players to have a challenge. The 18 hole course is "ace races" for pros, however challenging enough for the average player.

*Quiet, and relaxing with it being near the base, plus it now open to the public.
Cons: *On busy days due to the baseball fields, hole 4 and 5 may be hard to play. Due to family's not understanding that they are standing in a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: A great place to play 18 holes and have fun. When I write a review I try to focus on all player skill levels to determine the best way to score a course. Although I feel some of the holes are short in length, this new layout utilizes the wooded sections perfectly to counteract that for someone of my skill level. I generally drive 250 to 300ft depending on wind. So, if you are like me, I think you will love this course. If you shoot 300 and above, well then come get your ace record higher. Before you decide I rated this course too high, please play it first and you will see, pictures can not capture the unique holes feautured here.

SPECIAL NOTE:
I would like to thank anyone involved with this redesign and congratulate them for a great job! Your hard work, and time has saved this course. Thanks- Joshua

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.