Portland, OR 
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #12
4 / 206ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 'B' Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Need more of these courses...

1    7/30/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.1 Years
Pros: Varied shots required
Nice baskets and tee areas
Some longer holes, some finesse holes
Different parts of the course feel different.
Up and coming landscaping
nice scenery and views.
Church is very accepting of disc golfers
Cons: In talking with another player, over crowding can be an issue.
some holes are through the parking lot
confusing course layout - non logical progression of holes sometimes (3 -6 mostly)
Neighbors are close on some holes.
Other Thoughts: We need more courses like this. Creative, open, friendly, local. Some wooded, some wide open holes, some short, some longer...

Course plays a bit longer time wise than I expected.

Respect thy neighbor!

Improving almost daily

5+    3/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: -Pro/Am tee pads
-Baskets that catch quiet well
-Multiple pin locations
-Groomed well
-Variety of challenges, including a few parking lot holes where OB comes into play.
Cons: -Can get crowded at times
-Pretty soggy during the winter months, but that is a given almost every where if you are playing golf during winter months in Oregon
-A few more garbage cans would be nice
Other Thoughts: This course keeps getting better and better. The people that take care of this course have put a lot of time and effort into making this a pretty darn nice course. Every time I have gone out there, there has been some sort of improvement on the course.

Cramped, but fun.

2-4    4/4/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Fletcher
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Despite this course's shortcomings, it's still very fun to play, and has a great deal of charm.

* Lunchtime has a nice variety of holes with some favoring a RHFH, and others favoring RHBH.
* The course has nice baskets, and decent tee pads.
* Lots of character.
Cons: While Lunchtime is fun to play, its layout can be frustrating at times.

* The course feels cramped with some walkouts passing through other holes' fairways.
* Poor signage - many of the tees are improperly labeled, and it's not always clear which basket you're supposed to be shooting at, or where the next tee pad is.
* The course plays very close to houses, gardens, roads, and backyards, so be sure to pick your shots well.
* About half of the holes (#1, #3, #4, #5, #6, #12, #13) at Lunchtime require you to throw over large areas of pavement. These shots have a higher likelihood of chewing up disks, so play accordingly.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course would be better if the church removed the shots over the parking lot (#4,#5, and #6), and rearranged some of the holes on the east end of the property. As it stands right now the course is quite fun, but it can be confusing to navigate for a first time player. If the course were reduced to 12 holes instead of 15 it would make for a better overall experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/5/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: shipleyrobinson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few courses where you need to bust out a distance throw. Nice elevation changes, and a decent mix of open / tight holes. Fairly challenging with all of the OB. I played here during a tournament, so I got the full 18-hole treatment (and the temporary holes were always really fun--not a standard feature though). You can get here by public transportation!
Cons: Lots of pavement on this course. I would imagine the course is relatively crowded during even a semi-decent day of weather.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ups and Downs

5+    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is obviously a course that quite a bit of TLC and local pride goes into, the church grounds are very well kept and it also seems to be in a constant state of improvement.

-Tee Pads, from the new launching pad at hole 13 the pads out here are great, multiple pads on almost every hole offer both beginner and more advanced looks at most holes.

-Parking, thanks to the church side lot you should never be left looking for a space out here.

-Friendly local players, thre ALWAYS seems to be a group of people hanging out here, and they have never been anything but super friendly to me.

-League and events, probably the best run weekly league I have ever seen happens out here, along with pdga and ace race events.

-Holes 7-12 for me are the most fun/entertaining out here, shorter, more technical holes that reward placement and punish chucking as hard as you can with no plan.
Cons: -Plastic Wear, with the amount of holes that happen over parking lots this place can beat the hell out of your discs quick!

-First time navigation, the holes have changed places and numbers a few times, if you dont already know where you are going there are probably a few spots that will leave you a little lost. There are also wrong hole numbers on a few signs that dont tend to help the course newbie.

-Crossing hole hazards, the worst spot being 6/13, you have to keep your head on a swivel while putting at 6, never know when some big bomber on 13 has let loose and maybe not seen you.

-Random casual people wandering through the course, seems to happen at least once a round that some random casual wanders into a fairway and decides to hang out or really take their time getting out of the way.
Other Thoughts: A fun course that is great for a quick round or some upshot practice. While not my favorite in the area I still find myself coming to play here often because of the fun environment and its easy access.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Portland Lunchtime DGC

2-4    4/2/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Portland Lunchtime DGC is located on a moderately wooded 21 acre plot of land with rolling hills surrounding a church. Over the years this course has been reconfigured a few times but still has the same feeling…a place where you come to practice, play a casual round with friends, and perhaps walk away with an ace!

Established in 2000, this fifteen hole course was installed with duel tee pads, DISCatchers, and a combination of cement, asphalt, and rubber tee pads. Holes on the course range anywhere from 155-511 feet on the short tees, making par for the course 56. From the long tees, holes range anywhere from 160-598 feet, making par for the course 45. Many of the holes on the course are wide open, having players work on approach shots and at times, distance. A few of the holes on the course play into/through the woods and although fairly short, require accuracy and precision.
Cons:
Like previous reviewers stated, there are a lot of opportunities for your disc to hit pavement. Although those holes didn't bother me very much since I was just visiting and liked that it was something a little different, I would imagine the wear and tear on my discs if I were a local would get old quick. Throwing over parking lots when it is empty is no big deal but when cars are around it gets dicey quick. Just be aware of your surroundings and if you think there is a good chance to hit a car then just skip the hole!

The other issue that seemed apparent when I played was how congested the course got at times, especially in the woods. Fifteen holes at Lunchtime feels a bit forced in my opinion. The amount of land that this course offers is ideal for a professional nine or twelve hole course. Sometimes less is best. Although I enjoyed many of the holes, there were times where I felt that some of the fairways were too close together or that the walkouts to the next tee were, although necessary, awkward at times.
Other Thoughts:
I know this course has come a long way since its original installation due to the hard work of the church, local clubs, and the weekend warriors, and it is much appreciated. The redesign of the course, the addition of the new holes, and the new baskets, have all helped make this course much more enjoyable for all skill levels. I was excited to finally play the last remaining course in Portland and no matter what the course, ALWAYS enjoy disc golfing in the beautiful state of Oregon. Even though this is not a top tier course like some of the others nearby, it does have a purpose for the DG community and is a perfect place to learn this great game and/or get out and just throw. Thank you to all that help keep this place going!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Gotta work with what you got

1    9/19/2012   2/25/2013
Review By: SKizzUMATIK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes in the latter part of the course that go through a wooded area are a bit challenging and a great deal of fun.
Cons: The holes that shoot over the parking lot are... dumb.
Other Thoughts: It's nice that the powers that be put up a disc golf course where they were able to, but sometimes more is not better. They worked with what they had and ended up with a real dichotomy. Half the course is lame, the other half is really quite fun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

5+    11/5/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: asshamburgers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is really great, has gotten a lot more dynamic over the years. It has great baskets, and the environment is wonderful. It's pretty long too, it uses the trees and forests to make some holes a real challenge. They also change the basket positions frequently.
Cons: Teepads in poor condition. Hard to find. Not much else...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 2, 3, 8, 12, and 15.
Cons: Holes 4,5,6 that tee off and play in/over the parking lots. The walk from 6 to 7 crosses13 and first timers are not warned by any sign. Holes 8, 9, 10 seemed crammed into the back corner. Can get crowded! Whole course was packed when I was there.
Other Thoughts: Very cool that they were able to work out a course on the churches land and they used all of it to make the loop. I must likely will not return.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  less than Ok.

1    5/7/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: RipCityJon
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: dry course and wide open. I don't know why it is asking for a more descriptive review. There are not many pros that i can think of. Location maybe.
Cons: Horrible layout. Across parking lots. very poor tee box markings on new holes. With the land available, a much better course could be designed.
Other Thoughts: needs better signage.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.