Portland, OR 
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #2
4 / 208ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 'A' Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  less than Ok.

1    5/7/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: RipCityJon
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: dry course and wide open. I don't know why it is asking for a more descriptive review. There are not many pros that i can think of. Location maybe.
Cons: Horrible layout. Across parking lots. very poor tee box markings on new holes. With the land available, a much better course could be designed.
Other Thoughts: needs better signage.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Andrew332
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to downtown Portland so a quick game is possible with the course location. Course is clean and free of garbage.
Cons: Be sure to look at course map before playing because finding tee pads is an annoying task particularly hole 5. Baskets need numbers put back on them because some baskets are close and your not sure which one to shoot at!
Watch your disk grass is long enough to hide your throw.
Other Thoughts: Lots of parking lot to throw around and through. If their are cars in the lots this is not the course to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Not good for newbies

1    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: DuckFiasco
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The grounds themselves are well kept.
- Variety of holes: uphill, downhill, curved, very long, very short.
- If you want to practice elevation, this course has that in spades.
- Two sets of tee pads for (I think?) differing skill levels.
- Very close to town.
Cons: - Confusing layout. I could not for the life of me find #5.
- Several holes are in trees on a slope with Capitol Highway right nearby. Get ready to make a mad dash if your disc starts rolling that way.
- The part of the course in the trees didn't make much sense. I couldn't tell what the order was or where to throw sometimes.
- Pretty brutal OB areas. If your disc lists a little on some holes, get ready for a search in chest-high grass, or say goodbye when it lands on a roof or goes in a yard.
- Several holes are very unforgiving to newbies. If you don't throw just right on one of the later holes, it'll go down a steep incline into the parking lot. Good exercise, I suppose.
- Elevation changes on practically every hole.
- Lots of concrete.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure this course is a lot better for experienced players, but as a casual newbie, this course is too confusing and too unforgiving. I probably won't be returning, even when I get a lot better.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

3/8/2008   3/8/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Elevation on a few of the holes
-Close to downtown Portland
-Variety of hole length from less than 200' to over 500'
-A few fun drives
-OB to consider on a couple holes
Cons: -Baskets are horrible. They are homemade and very awkward. Some of the baskets are 2 1/2 feet higher than they should be! The catching area is ridiculously small, probably 25-30% smaller than a normal basket, add that to the height problem and they are very frustrating to putt on.
-Lots of trash (beer bottles/cans) strewn out in the lower wooded portion.
-Some really dumb holes...160' wide open?
Other Thoughts: I'm assuming the course was put up originally for the youth of the church to play on. And for that purpose it's great. For advance to pro golfers, it's not very fun, and the baskets keep people away like the plague.
I live two blocks away from Lunchtime, and I couldn't tell you the last time I played there, I'd rather take the 10 minutes and drive to Greenway anyday.

Bottomline: New baskets installed correctly would do wonders for this course, but as I stated earlier, the church probably is more interested in the recreation aspect of it, which I totally respect.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.