Portland, OR 
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: beleet Hole #8 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 'B' Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/13/2016   8/16/2016
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course makes really good use of the land it has to work with. Most of the drives here are pretty fun. Hole 1 starts with a downhill drive to a basket behind a mound. Hole 3 has a challenging uphill shot straight ahead with the fairway sloping to the left toward the road, so you need a big forehand or probably need to lay up to avoid fading OB.

The middle portion of the course goes through the woods, and these holes are well designed with a couple of routes on many of the drives.

The tee pads are concrete, and there are two pads on most holes. From what I understand, most holes have multiple basket positions as well.

Baskets are good.
Cons: Several of the holes have throws over parking lots. The lot is for a church, so most days this may not be an issue. On the Saturday evening I was playing, there were a lot of cars. We opted not to play the long tee for hole 6 to avoid the chance of nailing cars. I suspect other people are not as considerate.

A couple holes are missing (4 and 5, I think), apparently having been removed. The last hole has the B tee blocked off with boards strung up between trees with chains to make sure no one throws from there (again, over a lot). I feel like these few holes could have been done without. Feels like they're tempting fate.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel out of your way, but I'd love to have this as my neighborhood course. This easily could have been a series of boring, open shots. A few are long bombers, but shot placement is rewarded here. I'd come back.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad If your in the area

1    4/5/2016   4/5/2016
Review By: Oregon32
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's an easy course if your new or just want to keep your arm warmed up. good tee's and baskets
Cons: Lots of throwing over pavement and confusing to find the holes if your not familiar with it. Watch for Cars and other players

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 59  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 2, 3, 8, 12, and 15.
Cons: Holes 4,5,6 that tee off and play in/over the parking lots. The walk from 6 to 7 crosses13 and first timers are not warned by any sign. Holes 8, 9, 10 seemed crammed into the back corner. Can get crowded! Whole course was packed when I was there.
Other Thoughts: Very cool that they were able to work out a course on the churches land and they used all of it to make the loop. I must likely will not return.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ill Conceived

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: lokirising
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alternate pads
par and "pro" par for both beginning and advanced players.
Variety of elevation changes and lengths.
Cons: The baskets are garbage. They're also too high and don't catch very well, making even short puts a pain.
Finding holes can be maddening. Finding Hole 5 was like hunting with Ray Charles.
The OB's were insane with some fairways being right next to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: It's location is convenient, and it could be challenging to an advanced player and beginner.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't play on Sundays

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 239  Reviewed: 229  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great name for a disc golf course as this is good course for someone with 30 minutes to kill. There is lots of elevation change which helps with the lack of obstacles. Hole number four is a fun shot across the parking lot (which is o.b.) and up the side of a hill where the basket is placed. You have to be able to clear 225 feet or so of parking lot (guessing) to be in bounds and this is a psychological hazard more than a physical one. Speaking of parking lots and concrete, there are plenty of chances to skip off the concrete to make a "local route" and get you closer to the basket or make you look cool. :) Most tees are next to last basket you played with the few exceptions being marked out well for fast play. There are a couple of holes to air out a big drive but if you can't throw 500 feet than you're always going to get a three. (no scoring separation)
Cons: Some courses laid out on church property are closed on Sundays and this course is no exception. The majority of the course is wide open and the two holes with trees are exceptional short and easy. If you're worried about score and trying to play a serious round some might be frustrated by the baskets as mentioned in other reviews.
Other Thoughts: I believe the idea behind this course originally was for the church members to play this course and that is why it is short and open however it looks as if disc golfers have taken over. I'm not sure how the church feels about a redesign to fit the golfers but if they did I could see shortening the course to nine holes, making it longer and using more of the trees in a fun and unique way. Not a place to road trip to but if you live close and and don't want to drive you could play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just play somewhere else.

6/8/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.4 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good elevation practice.
Good wind practice.
Good variety of lengths.
Decent tee pads.
2 sets of tee pads.
Several tough holes.
Cons: There are tons of people there on a nice day and since you can't see if the hole is clear on many holes, you really have to keep your head up and watch out.
During my first round there I had to walk almost all the way to the basket just to see where it was.
There is trash everywhere (mostly beer bottles and bottle caps).
The baskets are home made and definately aren't great.
The baskets are so much higher than other baskets that it really becomes frustrating and not good for putting practice at all.
Some of the holes are just dumb (really short or really long across an open field).
The elevation changes are very tiring especially after a couple rounds.
Also, many parking lots and a few buildings come into play so try not to hit cars and windows.
Other Thoughts: With nice baskets and a new layout, this could defiantely be good disc golf course. For now, it's not really worth a visit unless you live close.
Handicap league on mondays at around 6 if you do decide to come out and play.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 It's OK.....

5/30/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 27 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Close to town
Back tees add challenge
Cons: Baskets do not hold discs!
Lost my number one Beast on the church roof.
Other Thoughts: This is an OK course. It is the closest basket course to my house, but I don't play here too much. The back tees make the course a little more challenging. There are also a couple of pretty deep (400+ feet) holes, and some real short ones in the woods, which are ace-able. It gets crowded, but depends on the night. The baskets do suck (better than nothing though) and will spit out even the most perfectly laid-in putt.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Love The Name!

7/20/2003   3/7/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course works it's way around a church up and down some small hills. The first eight or nine holes are on grass with no real trees to worry about just a some elevation change. The designers of the this course did the best with the area which they had. There are chances for us weaker arms to air it out. Then you move into a thicket of trees for the remainder of the course. I really liked one or two of the shorter ace possibility holes in the trees. It's well marked and easy to follow. It's just an enjoyable, little 15 hole course in the city.
Cons: This is nit picky but you would like it to be an 18 hole course. Not a championship course, just like the name says, a course to get some practice in.
Other Thoughts: A decent enough place to practice your game. And kudos to whoever came up with one of the more clever Disc Golf Course names in America!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.