Disc Golf Store
Portland, OR 
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #11
3 / 155ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 'B' Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cramped, but fun.

2-4    4/4/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Fletcher
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Despite this course's shortcomings, it's still very fun to play, and has a great deal of charm.

* Lunchtime has a nice variety of holes with some favoring a RHFH, and others favoring RHBH.
* The course has nice baskets, and decent tee pads.
* Lots of character.
Cons: While Lunchtime is fun to play, its layout can be frustrating at times.

* The course feels cramped with some walkouts passing through other holes' fairways.
* Poor signage - many of the tees are improperly labeled, and it's not always clear which basket you're supposed to be shooting at, or where the next tee pad is.
* The course plays very close to houses, gardens, roads, and backyards, so be sure to pick your shots well.
* About half of the holes (#1, #3, #4, #5, #6, #12, #13) at Lunchtime require you to throw over large areas of pavement. These shots have a higher likelihood of chewing up disks, so play accordingly.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course would be better if the church removed the shots over the parking lot (#4,#5, and #6), and rearranged some of the holes on the east end of the property. As it stands right now the course is quite fun, but it can be confusing to navigate for a first time player. If the course were reduced to 12 holes instead of 15 it would make for a better overall experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/5/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: shipleyrobinson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few courses where you need to bust out a distance throw. Nice elevation changes, and a decent mix of open / tight holes. Fairly challenging with all of the OB. I played here during a tournament, so I got the full 18-hole treatment (and the temporary holes were always really fun--not a standard feature though). You can get here by public transportation!
Cons: Lots of pavement on this course. I would imagine the course is relatively crowded during even a semi-decent day of weather.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Portland Lunchtime DGC

2-4    4/2/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Portland Lunchtime DGC is located on a moderately wooded 21 acre plot of land with rolling hills surrounding a church. Over the years this course has been reconfigured a few times but still has the same feeling…a place where you come to practice, play a casual round with friends, and perhaps walk away with an ace!

Established in 2000, this fifteen hole course was installed with duel tee pads, DISCatchers, and a combination of cement, asphalt, and rubber tee pads. Holes on the course range anywhere from 155-511 feet on the short tees, making par for the course 56. From the long tees, holes range anywhere from 160-598 feet, making par for the course 45. Many of the holes on the course are wide open, having players work on approach shots and at times, distance. A few of the holes on the course play into/through the woods and although fairly short, require accuracy and precision.
Cons:
Like previous reviewers stated, there are a lot of opportunities for your disc to hit pavement. Although those holes didn't bother me very much since I was just visiting and liked that it was something a little different, I would imagine the wear and tear on my discs if I were a local would get old quick. Throwing over parking lots when it is empty is no big deal but when cars are around it gets dicey quick. Just be aware of your surroundings and if you think there is a good chance to hit a car then just skip the hole!

The other issue that seemed apparent when I played was how congested the course got at times, especially in the woods. Fifteen holes at Lunchtime feels a bit forced in my opinion. The amount of land that this course offers is ideal for a professional nine or twelve hole course. Sometimes less is best. Although I enjoyed many of the holes, there were times where I felt that some of the fairways were too close together or that the walkouts to the next tee were, although necessary, awkward at times.
Other Thoughts:
I know this course has come a long way since its original installation due to the hard work of the church, local clubs, and the weekend warriors, and it is much appreciated. The redesign of the course, the addition of the new holes, and the new baskets, have all helped make this course much more enjoyable for all skill levels. I was excited to finally play the last remaining course in Portland and no matter what the course, ALWAYS enjoy disc golfing in the beautiful state of Oregon. Even though this is not a top tier course like some of the others nearby, it does have a purpose for the DG community and is a perfect place to learn this great game and/or get out and just throw. Thank you to all that help keep this place going!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good LUNCH TIME break course!

5+    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick and easy. Play 1-3 and then 11-12 to keep your game extra short.
Easy enough for beginners.
Nice people all the time.
Cons: Grass is a real pain in the butt. Prepare to look for discs that you threw straight ahead of yourself as they'll get buried.

Out of bound are rugged... if you play that seriously.

The wooded area likes to encourage rollers. A nice little fabric fence would put an end to a lot of that heacache, but of couse costs money.
Other Thoughts: I've got no complaints about the baskets. Works fine for me. Birdied a bunch from a good ways out too!

The course isn't mind blowing, but it's really appreciated, and the church whose property it's own are awesome for allowing us to waltz around their beautiful property like that! THANKS!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 OK course...

2-4    8/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Elivation change, fun placements, good variation of lengths, not too full...
Cons: A little too hilly could brake an ankle...not really thoung...I left not thinking it was amazing but not thinking it was bad either so..

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Entertaining course close to the city.
Local league that plays through the summer.
A few very long and challenging holes. (500'+)
Am and Pro Tees.
Some elevation and distance variety.
Offers a good challenge for am players.
Cons: Lots of Concrete parking lots which can hurt discs.
Some holes which are easy and straight forward.
Not so great baskets, (discs can go through the top!)
Trash problem, (though they're working on it.)
Only 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: I think lunchtime has some charm in it, with the wind, OB factor and longer pro tees the course can offer a good challenge for am players. If you live in the Portland area I'd say definitely check it out, if you're coming in from out of town you're better off trekking to Pier, Milo or Dabney.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.