Portland, OR
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #6
4 / 213ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 'B' Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Thank God, or at least the Church

5+    8/25/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: yawpstang64
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~There are a wide variety of holes on this course of 12, with decent elevation changes, open fields for strength (#10B is 598'), and wooded holes for precision.
~Dual tees on all but #11, where B was closed due to discs landing in the neighbors garden, and cement and sign of #5B were removed, but is still played by many.
~Decent but small signage at each tee.
~Its hard to find a course of this quality in the middle of a metro area, especially ones which do not have networks of running paths and the subsequent pedestrians and picnickers.
~Personally, the pavement OB zones prevent holes such as #11 and #12 from being mundane shots.
~Grass has been kept especially low this summer!
~Blackberry bushes (first ripe mid summer) throughout the course, and the remnants of a pear orchard (ripe early to mid autumn) between the basket of #5 and tee of #6. Yum!
~Dog friendly, and a portapotty at #1.
Cons: ~Can be confusing the first time, but the uploaded map is current.
~Some of the tees are starting to break down.
~No water on-site, and benches may be nice, but its rarely overcrowded.

CAUTION AREAS:
~Immediately left of the #1 fairway is a field of tall grass - just avoid ending up there or you'll be looking forever.
~Discs inevitably roll down to the street on #7 and #8, whether you hit metal or a tree 30' in front of you. These holes are also unfriendly to forehand shots.
~Be wary of the blackberry bushes on #9. You'll probably come out with a disc, but it won't be the one you threw.
Other Thoughts: ~Overall, I think this course is underrated. Its appreciated by much of PDX, and I have never been completely alone on the course, whether its at 9am or 11pm.
~Be careful to not park next to the #12 basket.
~I have dreams of the unused field next to #1 being acquired and expanding the course to a full 18 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Andrew332
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to downtown Portland so a quick game is possible with the course location. Course is clean and free of garbage.
Cons: Be sure to look at course map before playing because finding tee pads is an annoying task particularly hole 5. Baskets need numbers put back on them because some baskets are close and your not sure which one to shoot at!
Watch your disk grass is long enough to hide your throw.
Other Thoughts: Lots of parking lot to throw around and through. If their are cars in the lots this is not the course to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good LUNCH TIME break course!

5+    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: jnicola
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick and easy. Play 1-3 and then 11-12 to keep your game extra short.
Easy enough for beginners.
Nice people all the time.
Cons: Grass is a real pain in the butt. Prepare to look for discs that you threw straight ahead of yourself as they'll get buried.

Out of bound are rugged... if you play that seriously.

The wooded area likes to encourage rollers. A nice little fabric fence would put an end to a lot of that heacache, but of couse costs money.
Other Thoughts: I've got no complaints about the baskets. Works fine for me. Birdied a bunch from a good ways out too!

The course isn't mind blowing, but it's really appreciated, and the church whose property it's own are awesome for allowing us to waltz around their beautiful property like that! THANKS!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ill Conceived

1    6/29/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: lokirising
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alternate pads
par and "pro" par for both beginning and advanced players.
Variety of elevation changes and lengths.
Cons: The baskets are garbage. They're also too high and don't catch very well, making even short puts a pain.
Finding holes can be maddening. Finding Hole 5 was like hunting with Ray Charles.
The OB's were insane with some fairways being right next to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: It's location is convenient, and it could be challenging to an advanced player and beginner.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Not good for newbies

1    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: DuckFiasco
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The grounds themselves are well kept.
- Variety of holes: uphill, downhill, curved, very long, very short.
- If you want to practice elevation, this course has that in spades.
- Two sets of tee pads for (I think?) differing skill levels.
- Very close to town.
Cons: - Confusing layout. I could not for the life of me find #5.
- Several holes are in trees on a slope with Capitol Highway right nearby. Get ready to make a mad dash if your disc starts rolling that way.
- The part of the course in the trees didn't make much sense. I couldn't tell what the order was or where to throw sometimes.
- Pretty brutal OB areas. If your disc lists a little on some holes, get ready for a search in chest-high grass, or say goodbye when it lands on a roof or goes in a yard.
- Several holes are very unforgiving to newbies. If you don't throw just right on one of the later holes, it'll go down a steep incline into the parking lot. Good exercise, I suppose.
- Elevation changes on practically every hole.
- Lots of concrete.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure this course is a lot better for experienced players, but as a casual newbie, this course is too confusing and too unforgiving. I probably won't be returning, even when I get a lot better.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't play on Sundays

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great name for a disc golf course as this is good course for someone with 30 minutes to kill. There is lots of elevation change which helps with the lack of obstacles. Hole number four is a fun shot across the parking lot (which is o.b.) and up the side of a hill where the basket is placed. You have to be able to clear 225 feet or so of parking lot (guessing) to be in bounds and this is a psychological hazard more than a physical one. Speaking of parking lots and concrete, there are plenty of chances to skip off the concrete to make a "local route" and get you closer to the basket or make you look cool. :) Most tees are next to last basket you played with the few exceptions being marked out well for fast play. There are a couple of holes to air out a big drive but if you can't throw 500 feet than you're always going to get a three. (no scoring separation)
Cons: Some courses laid out on church property are closed on Sundays and this course is no exception. The majority of the course is wide open and the two holes with trees are exceptional short and easy. If you're worried about score and trying to play a serious round some might be frustrated by the baskets as mentioned in other reviews.
Other Thoughts: I believe the idea behind this course originally was for the church members to play this course and that is why it is short and open however it looks as if disc golfers have taken over. I'm not sure how the church feels about a redesign to fit the golfers but if they did I could see shortening the course to nine holes, making it longer and using more of the trees in a fun and unique way. Not a place to road trip to but if you live close and and don't want to drive you could play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 OK course...

2-4    8/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Elivation change, fun placements, good variation of lengths, not too full...
Cons: A little too hilly could brake an ankle...not really thoung...I left not thinking it was amazing but not thinking it was bad either so..

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Homegrown Course, with cautions

5+    8/22/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: bakodaboarder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Varied elevation changes
- Good mix of long and short Par 3's
- A welcome all atmosphere
- Summer league on Mondays @ 6, $5 buy-in
- Most holes have amateur and pro tees
- Amateur tees are all concrete
- Pro tees are mostly concrete
- Can be played as a technical course
requiring a variety of shoot techniques

Cons: - Basket height varies throughout the
course
- Lack of responsible golfers that pick up
their trash and beer bottles
- OB is the parking lot and Capitol Hwy.


- Pro Tees are mostly rubber; * Hole
5 pro tee has been vandalized
now throw from grass
Other Thoughts: This course is around the corner from where I moved. I was discouraged at first from lunchtime. I have become a daily regular since playing through a few times. Many disc golfers do not like this course because of the homemade baskets and lack of management. I found the course to be well maintained in most cases, atleast by the church. My grips are with the players that frequent the course who disrespect the church's property by leaving bottles and trash. I have heard rumors of the church thinking about removing the course due to the most obvious being litter but also due to foul language when near the neighbors and church as well as awry discs hitting houses on hole 5.

I love this game for many reasons and am very thankful for grassroots efforts such is provided here. IF and WHEN you come you will be welcomed, but please take care of the course by being respectful of the posted rules and guidelines.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing spectacular

2-4    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Lots of variation in hole length. There are two ~180', 2 >500', and the rest are 200-300'.
- Elevation changes make the course more difficult, but not too difficult.
- Hole 4 features a throw, from the long tee, over ~250' of OB.
- The course requires a variety of big arm shots and finesse shots.
Cons:
- The baskets are super awkward. They are really tall for some unknown reason.
- A few of the long tees are surrounded by trees so it's hard for people the use big hyzer shots.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course, but I would only recommend to people that are intermediate or above. The short tees are good for beginners, but the long holes can be daunting.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 concret

5+    1/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2012
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Close into town.
Long and short holes
Two sets of tees.
Cons: Can be very windy.
Lot of concrete that has broken one of my disc.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first real courses that I ever played. I still have fun playing this course even with the bad sides. You need to watch the building on # 3, because I know I have hit it a couple times and they do not like it when you do.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.