Portland, OR
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #11
3 / 155ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 'B' Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 challenging fun course

5+    10/15/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are A and B tee offs w/ markers and hole length info either concrete or rubber surfaces. A nice community contribution from a church w/ 12 holes offered. The course flows very well. Challenging holes in the back wooded areas (B tees offer ace potential in these areas). Great diversity in terrain lengths and heights levels!!! Friendly locals. A few park benches to sit and relax on by the wooded area.
Cons: Lots of gopher holes and tall grass in the open fields so be careful where you step. The baskets are really tall and seem to have an excess of tight chains… thus I think seems to be the reason they deflect the discs often. Also the back wooded area baskets would be great w/ a flag top marker due to some visibility problems. also course is hard to find for 1st timers (you have to drive thru a apartment complex to get to it)
Other Thoughts: A league plays every summer on Mondays from 6:00 pm so it may either encourage you to join if you want to play during that time... or turn you off. The league goes out to dinner after playing ( sorry I have no other info on the league as im not a part of it ). It is a fun course and challenging but could use some TLC also in my opinion hole #4 you throw across a parking lot and for me its fun but for others it may not be ( I recommend not parking in this area… but rather the upper parking lot located @ hole #1) and the last hole coming out of the wooded area has a real nifty tee (A) next aside an old rusty 1930's car frame that you throw across a dried up old river/ or dirt road? I find it cool to just hang out and chill there toss a few discs and enjoy a blast from the past. People drink a lot here so please dispose of your cans in the buckets provided rather than toss them in the trees as trash is a problem at this park. If you are heading south you can hit up "greenway" (about 5 miles drive) and if you go north you can hit "pier park" (about 15-20 miles drive)

all hole pics uploaded by me

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good, not great

5+    8/9/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: PDXDuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course accommodating for all skill levels.
Multiple tee pads for each hole.
Mix of open area and tighter wooded holes.
Quick to play through.
Cons: Layout not that interesting overall.
Big arms won't be airing it out much.
Homemade baskets occasionally spit a disc out.
Needs additional trash bins.
Other Thoughts: This being the closest course to where I live, I practice here quite a bit. Holes 3, 8 & 9 offer a bit more technical challenge than the rest. Holes 5 & 10 test out your arm a bit (for the average arm). All in all a fun course for a quick play through. Can get quite busy on a nice afternoon. Also not the easiest to find if you were looking for it without the detailed directions. Many other courses are better, but this one serves the are well enough.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just play somewhere else.

6/8/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good elevation practice.
Good wind practice.
Good variety of lengths.
Decent tee pads.
2 sets of tee pads.
Several tough holes.
Cons: There are tons of people there on a nice day and since you can't see if the hole is clear on many holes, you really have to keep your head up and watch out.
During my first round there I had to walk almost all the way to the basket just to see where it was.
There is trash everywhere (mostly beer bottles and bottle caps).
The baskets are home made and definately aren't great.
The baskets are so much higher than other baskets that it really becomes frustrating and not good for putting practice at all.
Some of the holes are just dumb (really short or really long across an open field).
The elevation changes are very tiring especially after a couple rounds.
Also, many parking lots and a few buildings come into play so try not to hit cars and windows.
Other Thoughts: With nice baskets and a new layout, this could defiantely be good disc golf course. For now, it's not really worth a visit unless you live close.
Handicap league on mondays at around 6 if you do decide to come out and play.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Entertaining course close to the city.
Local league that plays through the summer.
A few very long and challenging holes. (500'+)
Am and Pro Tees.
Some elevation and distance variety.
Offers a good challenge for am players.
Cons: Lots of Concrete parking lots which can hurt discs.
Some holes which are easy and straight forward.
Not so great baskets, (discs can go through the top!)
Trash problem, (though they're working on it.)
Only 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: I think lunchtime has some charm in it, with the wind, OB factor and longer pro tees the course can offer a good challenge for am players. If you live in the Portland area I'd say definitely check it out, if you're coming in from out of town you're better off trekking to Pier, Milo or Dabney.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 It's OK.....

5/30/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.4 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Close to town
Back tees add challenge
Cons: Baskets do not hold discs!
Lost my number one Beast on the church roof.
Other Thoughts: This is an OK course. It is the closest basket course to my house, but I don't play here too much. The back tees make the course a little more challenging. There are also a couple of pretty deep (400+ feet) holes, and some real short ones in the woods, which are ace-able. It gets crowded, but depends on the night. The baskets do suck (better than nothing though) and will spit out even the most perfectly laid-in putt.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

3/8/2008   3/8/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 155  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 12.9 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Elevation on a few of the holes
-Close to downtown Portland
-Variety of hole length from less than 200' to over 500'
-A few fun drives
-OB to consider on a couple holes
Cons: -Baskets are horrible. They are homemade and very awkward. Some of the baskets are 2 1/2 feet higher than they should be! The catching area is ridiculously small, probably 25-30% smaller than a normal basket, add that to the height problem and they are very frustrating to putt on.
-Lots of trash (beer bottles/cans) strewn out in the lower wooded portion.
-Some really dumb holes...160' wide open?
Other Thoughts: I'm assuming the course was put up originally for the youth of the church to play on. And for that purpose it's great. For advance to pro golfers, it's not very fun, and the baskets keep people away like the plague.
I live two blocks away from Lunchtime, and I couldn't tell you the last time I played there, I'd rather take the 10 minutes and drive to Greenway anyday.

Bottomline: New baskets installed correctly would do wonders for this course, but as I stated earlier, the church probably is more interested in the recreation aspect of it, which I totally respect.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Love The Name!

7/20/2003   3/7/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course works it's way around a church up and down some small hills. The first eight or nine holes are on grass with no real trees to worry about just a some elevation change. The designers of the this course did the best with the area which they had. There are chances for us weaker arms to air it out. Then you move into a thicket of trees for the remainder of the course. I really liked one or two of the shorter ace possibility holes in the trees. It's well marked and easy to follow. It's just an enjoyable, little 15 hole course in the city.
Cons: This is nit picky but you would like it to be an 18 hole course. Not a championship course, just like the name says, a course to get some practice in.
Other Thoughts: A decent enough place to practice your game. And kudos to whoever came up with one of the more clever Disc Golf Course names in America!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

11/10/2007   11/10/2007
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Ok course. better than most
Cons: hard to find.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 They call it lunchtime for a reason

8/20/2004   8/20/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: You can play on your lunchbreak! 15 hole course with some elevation, multiple t's and good variety make it fun.
Cons: With so many other great courses in the area this one doesn't really stand out.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.