Portland, OR 
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: beleet Hole #14 (Taken 5/2015)
4 / 282ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 'B' Tee

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Not good for newbies

1    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: DuckFiasco
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The grounds themselves are well kept.
- Variety of holes: uphill, downhill, curved, very long, very short.
- If you want to practice elevation, this course has that in spades.
- Two sets of tee pads for (I think?) differing skill levels.
- Very close to town.
Cons: - Confusing layout. I could not for the life of me find #5.
- Several holes are in trees on a slope with Capitol Highway right nearby. Get ready to make a mad dash if your disc starts rolling that way.
- The part of the course in the trees didn't make much sense. I couldn't tell what the order was or where to throw sometimes.
- Pretty brutal OB areas. If your disc lists a little on some holes, get ready for a search in chest-high grass, or say goodbye when it lands on a roof or goes in a yard.
- Several holes are very unforgiving to newbies. If you don't throw just right on one of the later holes, it'll go down a steep incline into the parking lot. Good exercise, I suppose.
- Elevation changes on practically every hole.
- Lots of concrete.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure this course is a lot better for experienced players, but as a casual newbie, this course is too confusing and too unforgiving. I probably won't be returning, even when I get a lot better.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't play on Sundays

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great name for a disc golf course as this is good course for someone with 30 minutes to kill. There is lots of elevation change which helps with the lack of obstacles. Hole number four is a fun shot across the parking lot (which is o.b.) and up the side of a hill where the basket is placed. You have to be able to clear 225 feet or so of parking lot (guessing) to be in bounds and this is a psychological hazard more than a physical one. Speaking of parking lots and concrete, there are plenty of chances to skip off the concrete to make a "local route" and get you closer to the basket or make you look cool. :) Most tees are next to last basket you played with the few exceptions being marked out well for fast play. There are a couple of holes to air out a big drive but if you can't throw 500 feet than you're always going to get a three. (no scoring separation)
Cons: Some courses laid out on church property are closed on Sundays and this course is no exception. The majority of the course is wide open and the two holes with trees are exceptional short and easy. If you're worried about score and trying to play a serious round some might be frustrated by the baskets as mentioned in other reviews.
Other Thoughts: I believe the idea behind this course originally was for the church members to play this course and that is why it is short and open however it looks as if disc golfers have taken over. I'm not sure how the church feels about a redesign to fit the golfers but if they did I could see shortening the course to nine holes, making it longer and using more of the trees in a fun and unique way. Not a place to road trip to but if you live close and and don't want to drive you could play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 OK course...

2-4    8/17/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Elivation change, fun placements, good variation of lengths, not too full...
Cons: A little too hilly could brake an ankle...not really thoung...I left not thinking it was amazing but not thinking it was bad either so..

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Homegrown Course, with cautions

5+    8/22/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: bakodaboarder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Varied elevation changes
- Good mix of long and short Par 3's
- A welcome all atmosphere
- Summer league on Mondays @ 6, $5 buy-in
- Most holes have amateur and pro tees
- Amateur tees are all concrete
- Pro tees are mostly concrete
- Can be played as a technical course
requiring a variety of shoot techniques

Cons: - Basket height varies throughout the
- Lack of responsible golfers that pick up
their trash and beer bottles
- OB is the parking lot and Capitol Hwy.

- Pro Tees are mostly rubber; * Hole
5 pro tee has been vandalized
now throw from grass
Other Thoughts: This course is around the corner from where I moved. I was discouraged at first from lunchtime. I have become a daily regular since playing through a few times. Many disc golfers do not like this course because of the homemade baskets and lack of management. I found the course to be well maintained in most cases, atleast by the church. My grips are with the players that frequent the course who disrespect the church's property by leaving bottles and trash. I have heard rumors of the church thinking about removing the course due to the most obvious being litter but also due to foul language when near the neighbors and church as well as awry discs hitting houses on hole 5.

I love this game for many reasons and am very thankful for grassroots efforts such is provided here. IF and WHEN you come you will be welcomed, but please take care of the course by being respectful of the posted rules and guidelines.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing spectacular

2-4    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 42  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
- Lots of variation in hole length. There are two ~180', 2 >500', and the rest are 200-300'.
- Elevation changes make the course more difficult, but not too difficult.
- Hole 4 features a throw, from the long tee, over ~250' of OB.
- The course requires a variety of big arm shots and finesse shots.
- The baskets are super awkward. They are really tall for some unknown reason.
- A few of the long tees are surrounded by trees so it's hard for people the use big hyzer shots.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun course, but I would only recommend to people that are intermediate or above. The short tees are good for beginners, but the long holes can be daunting.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2012
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Close into town.
Long and short holes
Two sets of tees.
Cons: Can be very windy.
Lot of concrete that has broken one of my disc.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the first real courses that I ever played. I still have fun playing this course even with the bad sides. You need to watch the building on # 3, because I know I have hit it a couple times and they do not like it when you do.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 challenging fun course

5+    10/15/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are A and B tee offs w/ markers and hole length info either concrete or rubber surfaces. A nice community contribution from a church w/ 12 holes offered. The course flows very well. Challenging holes in the back wooded areas (B tees offer ace potential in these areas). Great diversity in terrain lengths and heights levels!!! Friendly locals. A few park benches to sit and relax on by the wooded area.
Cons: Lots of gopher holes and tall grass in the open fields so be careful where you step. The baskets are really tall and seem to have an excess of tight chains... thus I think seems to be the reason they deflect the discs often. Also the back wooded area baskets would be great w/ a flag top marker due to some visibility problems. also course is hard to find for 1st timers (you have to drive thru a apartment complex to get to it)
Other Thoughts: A league plays every summer on Mondays from 6:00 pm so it may either encourage you to join if you want to play during that time... or turn you off. The league goes out to dinner after playing ( sorry I have no other info on the league as im not a part of it ). It is a fun course and challenging but could use some TLC also in my opinion hole #4 you throw across a parking lot and for me its fun but for others it may not be ( I recommend not parking in this area... but rather the upper parking lot located @ hole #1) and the last hole coming out of the wooded area has a real nifty tee (A) next aside an old rusty 1930's car frame that you throw across a dried up old river/ or dirt road? I find it cool to just hang out and chill there toss a few discs and enjoy a blast from the past. People drink a lot here so please dispose of your cans in the buckets provided rather than toss them in the trees as trash is a problem at this park. If you are heading south you can hit up "greenway" (about 5 miles drive) and if you go north you can hit "pier park" (about 15-20 miles drive)

all hole pics uploaded by me

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good, not great

5+    8/9/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: PDXDuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course accommodating for all skill levels.
Multiple tee pads for each hole.
Mix of open area and tighter wooded holes.
Quick to play through.
Cons: Layout not that interesting overall.
Big arms won't be airing it out much.
Homemade baskets occasionally spit a disc out.
Needs additional trash bins.
Other Thoughts: This being the closest course to where I live, I practice here quite a bit. Holes 3, 8 & 9 offer a bit more technical challenge than the rest. Holes 5 & 10 test out your arm a bit (for the average arm). All in all a fun course for a quick play through. Can get quite busy on a nice afternoon. Also not the easiest to find if you were looking for it without the detailed directions. Many other courses are better, but this one serves the are well enough.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just play somewhere else.

6/8/2008   6/9/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good elevation practice.
Good wind practice.
Good variety of lengths.
Decent tee pads.
2 sets of tee pads.
Several tough holes.
Cons: There are tons of people there on a nice day and since you can't see if the hole is clear on many holes, you really have to keep your head up and watch out.
During my first round there I had to walk almost all the way to the basket just to see where it was.
There is trash everywhere (mostly beer bottles and bottle caps).
The baskets are home made and definately aren't great.
The baskets are so much higher than other baskets that it really becomes frustrating and not good for putting practice at all.
Some of the holes are just dumb (really short or really long across an open field).
The elevation changes are very tiring especially after a couple rounds.
Also, many parking lots and a few buildings come into play so try not to hit cars and windows.
Other Thoughts: With nice baskets and a new layout, this could defiantely be good disc golf course. For now, it's not really worth a visit unless you live close.
Handicap league on mondays at around 6 if you do decide to come out and play.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.


6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 124  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Entertaining course close to the city.
Local league that plays through the summer.
A few very long and challenging holes. (500'+)
Am and Pro Tees.
Some elevation and distance variety.
Offers a good challenge for am players.
Cons: Lots of Concrete parking lots which can hurt discs.
Some holes which are easy and straight forward.
Not so great baskets, (discs can go through the top!)
Trash problem, (though they're working on it.)
Only 12 holes.
Other Thoughts: I think lunchtime has some charm in it, with the wind, OB factor and longer pro tees the course can offer a good challenge for am players. If you live in the Portland area I'd say definitely check it out, if you're coming in from out of town you're better off trekking to Pier, Milo or Dabney.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.