Portland, OR 
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: beleet Hole #8 (Taken 5/2015)
5 / 416ft.   3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Pretty good

1    4/25/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 36  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice place, there really isn't anything negative to say about the location.
- Loved the island holes #5, 7. Haven't got to play on many of those, so I enjoyed getting to here (Even though, they aren't too difficult).
- A lot of mixture on types of holes. There is a lot of possible birdies, but there are a few that will eat your lunch.
- The tee signs were good that I noticed. I was playing with locals, who would point out the baskets to me, so I only used the signs for a distance. I don't know who accurate their locations were.
- I never had a issue with the tee boxes, but I would start my walk-up off the back of them.
Cons: - I had the locals to navigate with, so I don't know if the map is accurate or not. If you don't have the map or locals, I could see the course being really hard to navigate.
- #4's teebox is weird. It is in the middle of the parking lot, spray painted on the ground. I never would have noticed it, if not for the locals I was with.
- One of the tee boxes is right next to a house with some massive pit bulls. They never bothered us, but the locals said, if they don't know you, they will bark. I don't know if they would ever come at someone, but could see someone being very uncomfortable if they started barking.
If you're staying near the airport, avoid going near rush hour. It took me so long to get back to my hotel afterwards. I should've known better, but it would've been nice to have had a warning before I went.
Other Thoughts: - If I lived in the area, I would be fine playing this course constantly. However, next time I travel to Portland, it probably won't make the list.
- There is a ton of OB (at least according to the locals), and I'm not sure the tee signs had all of it. There were drop zones for the two Island holes, I don't know if they were on the tee signs, but they are just off to the right on each hole. Hopefully, they are on the tee sign.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad If your in the area

1    4/5/2016   4/5/2016
Review By: Oregon32
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's an easy course if your new or just want to keep your arm warmed up. good tee's and baskets
Cons: Lots of throwing over pavement and confusing to find the holes if your not familiar with it. Watch for Cars and other players

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hilly, open, wooded, and a Home Depot-sized parking lot

5+    2/6/2016   9/10/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice 15 hole course, with a good variety of holes close to the city on church grounds. It's nice they put a course in here. Many holes lend themselves to either forehand or backhand shots.
-Multiple tee pads on most holes.
-The open holes, #1-7, 13-15 are all pretty easy birdie chances, #s 8-12 are the fun ones. They test all shot shapes. But watch out for rollers on those holes, discs can roll down a hill onto a road.
-Parking is very ample. I estimate ~ 400 spots.
-Stays pretty dry during the winter months, since it's on the top of a hill. But, this makes it windy.
Cons: -Can be difficult to find. You have to to watch for the Bible Church sign on Vermont Ave and drive through an apartment complex and around the left side of the church, past #3, #4, #14, and #15 before getting to the 1st hole on the right side of the church.
-On #3 watch for cars. Too big of a hyzer and you're down at the bottom of the hill on the entrance road.
-Scraggly grass will tickle your calves. Wear pants or be prepared to pick things out of your socks.
-Many holes are over or near large expanses of concrete. Bring crummy discs or be prepared to screw up your good ones. #1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 14, and 15 all present a chance to throw it into the parking lot (OB) while #s 9, 10, and 11 have the possibility of throwing into the road (also OB)
-The course could be better if some of the Home Depot-size parking lot were removed. The lot isn't even full on Church Sundays.
-Can get very windy on the open holes.
-Tee pads are small
-It doesn't appear to get super frequent maintenance. The hole locations are only changed every couple of months or so.
Other Thoughts: -The course seemed very forehand-friendly. Holes 1, 2, 3, 8, 10, 12, and 15, all lend themselves heavily to forehands, where as only holes 4, 9, 13, and 14 lend themselves heavily to backhand shots.
-Terrible routing. I think the course would be better if holes 4 and 5 were removed, and the loop of holes 7-13 were turned around, so you played them backwards. This way you would not have to throw across the parking lot or have to cut across #13 fairway to get to #7 tee. Or they could remove part of the parking lot, it's so huge and never full, even on Sunday.
-There's a big field next to #1. If the church owns this property, they could add 3 holes there and make it a legit 18-hole course.
-Overall it's a decent course, nothing special, but fine. I play it frequently only because it is convenient.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Aptly named - good for a quick game

5+    6/11/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: pdx-disc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 23.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Decent tees (some concrete, some rubber), DISCatcher baskets, some signage. Some alternate tees.

* Ample free parking, free to play, friendly locals.

* Nice variety of longer drives and short technical shots.

* Some very challenging holes even on a short course. These will keep you guessing and recalculating your shots. This really adds to the rating for me, as a lot of short community courses lack challenging shots. I have seen very, very good players seriously challenged at this course.

Cons:
* A map is definitely needed for this course - layout can be confusing for getting from one hole to the next.

* Going from #6 to #7 requires crossing the fairway of #13 - be careful!

* Asphalt hazards - #3, 4, 5, and 6 all require throwing over asphalt, and #1, 14, and 15 have asphalt hazards to the right hand side. Bring old discs you don't care about.

* No restrooms or water available, few benches.

* Alternate tees can be hard to find.

* Entrance can be hard to find, which is from the north through an apartment complex. Then you drive all the way around the church and park on the west side of it.

* Closed most of Sunday due to church services, and too many cars parked on the asphalt holes.

* Some people say it can get crowded, but I've never had an issue myself.
Other Thoughts:
* Good course for: locals wanting to fit in a quick round, and players looking for something a little different

* Bad course for: people with brand new discs, and people who haven't played some of the other courses in the area (Pier Park, Milo McIver, etc.)

* King for a day: I'd rework this course as 9-hole course with clearly marked, concrete alternate tees that are significantly different from the main tees. I'd remove #4 and #5 entirely and rework the layout so you don't have to walk across the fairway of #13.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    3/2/2015   3/3/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 61  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well kept fairways. DISCatcher baskets. Concrete tees. Variety of wooded and open holes. Some elevation changes.
Cons: A few holes had lots of brambles. Way too much OB.
Other Thoughts: It's just kind of another disc golf course. Nothing really outstanding or horrible.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/11/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: Rakoz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.1 Years
Pros: - Quick play when not crowded
- excellent baskets
-solid tee pads
- A challenge for what it is
-great mix of long and short
-OB rewards shot placement
- Private property
- Awesome club that does great by the course and community
-Beginner friendly
Cons: -Crowded
-only room for 15...maybe 18...maybe
-
-some problematic elements
-
Other Thoughts: The added 3 holes really add a lot to the course. OB makes it a challenge every time. Some easily birdied holes and a few really rough ones. Solid overall course. Play an event here for a real treat. Was my home course for 2 years.

Need more of these courses...

5+    11/30/2015   7/31/2014
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2016
Pros: Varied shots required
Nice baskets and tee areas
Some longer holes, some finesse holes
Different parts of the course feel different.
Up and coming landscaping
Nice wooded holes
nice scenery and views.
Church is very accepting of disc golfers
Cons: - Over crowding can be an issue.
- Some holes play through the parking lot
confusing course layout - non logical progression of holes sometimes (3 -6 mostly)
Neighbors are close on some holes.
Other Thoughts: We need more courses like this. Creative, open, friendly, local. Some wooded, some wide open holes, some short, some longer...

Course plays a bit longer time wise than I expected.
Worth playing, and great for a local course

Respect thy neighbor!

 Improving almost daily

5+    3/18/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: -Pro/Am tee pads
-Baskets that catch quiet well
-Multiple pin locations
-Groomed well
-Variety of challenges, including a few parking lot holes where OB comes into play.
Cons: -Can get crowded at times
-Pretty soggy during the winter months, but that is a given almost every where if you are playing golf during winter months in Oregon
-A few more garbage cans would be nice
Other Thoughts: This course keeps getting better and better. The people that take care of this course have put a lot of time and effort into making this a pretty darn nice course. Every time I have gone out there, there has been some sort of improvement on the course.

 Cramped, but fun.

2-4    4/4/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Fletcher
Played: 66  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Despite this course's shortcomings, it's still very fun to play, and has a great deal of charm.

* Lunchtime has a nice variety of holes with some favoring a RHFH, and others favoring RHBH.
* The course has nice baskets, and decent tee pads.
* Lots of character.
Cons: While Lunchtime is fun to play, its layout can be frustrating at times.

* The course feels cramped with some walkouts passing through other holes' fairways.
* Poor signage - many of the tees are improperly labeled, and it's not always clear which basket you're supposed to be shooting at, or where the next tee pad is.
* The course plays very close to houses, gardens, roads, and backyards, so be sure to pick your shots well.
* About half of the holes (#1, #3, #4, #5, #6, #12, #13) at Lunchtime require you to throw over large areas of pavement. These shots have a higher likelihood of chewing up disks, so play accordingly.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course would be better if the church removed the shots over the parking lot (#4,#5, and #6), and rearranged some of the holes on the east end of the property. As it stands right now the course is quite fun, but it can be confusing to navigate for a first time player. If the course were reduced to 12 holes instead of 15 it would make for a better overall experience.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/5/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: shipleyrobinson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few courses where you need to bust out a distance throw. Nice elevation changes, and a decent mix of open / tight holes. Fairly challenging with all of the OB. I played here during a tournament, so I got the full 18-hole treatment (and the temporary holes were always really fun--not a standard feature though). You can get here by public transportation!
Cons: Lots of pavement on this course. I would imagine the course is relatively crowded during even a semi-decent day of weather.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.