Portland, OR 
Portland Lunchtime DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matt aka N.G.S.P. Hole #10
3 / 170ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 'A' Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Ups and Downs

5+    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 37  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is obviously a course that quite a bit of TLC and local pride goes into, the church grounds are very well kept and it also seems to be in a constant state of improvement.

-Tee Pads, from the new launching pad at hole 13 the pads out here are great, multiple pads on almost every hole offer both beginner and more advanced looks at most holes.

-Parking, thanks to the church side lot you should never be left looking for a space out here.

-Friendly local players, thre ALWAYS seems to be a group of people hanging out here, and they have never been anything but super friendly to me.

-League and events, probably the best run weekly league I have ever seen happens out here, along with pdga and ace race events.

-Holes 7-12 for me are the most fun/entertaining out here, shorter, more technical holes that reward placement and punish chucking as hard as you can with no plan.
Cons: -Plastic Wear, with the amount of holes that happen over parking lots this place can beat the hell out of your discs quick!

-First time navigation, the holes have changed places and numbers a few times, if you dont already know where you are going there are probably a few spots that will leave you a little lost. There are also wrong hole numbers on a few signs that dont tend to help the course newbie.

-Crossing hole hazards, the worst spot being 6/13, you have to keep your head on a swivel while putting at 6, never know when some big bomber on 13 has let loose and maybe not seen you.

-Random casual people wandering through the course, seems to happen at least once a round that some random casual wanders into a fairway and decides to hang out or really take their time getting out of the way.
Other Thoughts: A fun course that is great for a quick round or some upshot practice. While not my favorite in the area I still find myself coming to play here often because of the fun environment and its easy access.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Portland Lunchtime DGC

2-4    4/2/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 197  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Portland Lunchtime DGC is located on a moderately wooded 21 acre plot of land with rolling hills surrounding a church. Over the years this course has been reconfigured a few times but still has the same feeling...a place where you come to practice, play a casual round with friends, and perhaps walk away with an ace!

Established in 2000, this fifteen hole course was installed with duel tee pads, DISCatchers, and a combination of cement, asphalt, and rubber tee pads. Holes on the course range anywhere from 155-511 feet on the short tees, making par for the course 56. From the long tees, holes range anywhere from 160-598 feet, making par for the course 45. Many of the holes on the course are wide open, having players work on approach shots and at times, distance. A few of the holes on the course play into/through the woods and although fairly short, require accuracy and precision.
Cons:
Like previous reviewers stated, there are a lot of opportunities for your disc to hit pavement. Although those holes didn't bother me very much since I was just visiting and liked that it was something a little different, I would imagine the wear and tear on my discs if I were a local would get old quick. Throwing over parking lots when it is empty is no big deal but when cars are around it gets dicey quick. Just be aware of your surroundings and if you think there is a good chance to hit a car then just skip the hole!

The other issue that seemed apparent when I played was how congested the course got at times, especially in the woods. Fifteen holes at Lunchtime feels a bit forced in my opinion. The amount of land that this course offers is ideal for a professional nine or twelve hole course. Sometimes less is best. Although I enjoyed many of the holes, there were times where I felt that some of the fairways were too close together or that the walkouts to the next tee were, although necessary, awkward at times.
Other Thoughts:
I know this course has come a long way since its original installation due to the hard work of the church, local clubs, and the weekend warriors, and it is much appreciated. The redesign of the course, the addition of the new holes, and the new baskets, have all helped make this course much more enjoyable for all skill levels. I was excited to finally play the last remaining course in Portland and no matter what the course, ALWAYS enjoy disc golfing in the beautiful state of Oregon. Even though this is not a top tier course like some of the others nearby, it does have a purpose for the DG community and is a perfect place to learn this great game and/or get out and just throw. Thank you to all that help keep this place going!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta work with what you got

1    9/19/2012   2/25/2013
Review By: SKizzUMATIK
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes in the latter part of the course that go through a wooded area are a bit challenging and a great deal of fun.
Cons: The holes that shoot over the parking lot are... dumb.
Other Thoughts: It's nice that the powers that be put up a disc golf course where they were able to, but sometimes more is not better. They worked with what they had and ended up with a real dichotomy. Half the course is lame, the other half is really quite fun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    11/5/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: asshamburgers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is really great, has gotten a lot more dynamic over the years. It has great baskets, and the environment is wonderful. It's pretty long too, it uses the trees and forests to make some holes a real challenge. They also change the basket positions frequently.
Cons: Teepads in poor condition. Hard to find. Not much else...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/29/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 2, 3, 8, 12, and 15.
Cons: Holes 4,5,6 that tee off and play in/over the parking lots. The walk from 6 to 7 crosses13 and first timers are not warned by any sign. Holes 8, 9, 10 seemed crammed into the back corner. Can get crowded! Whole course was packed when I was there.
Other Thoughts: Very cool that they were able to work out a course on the churches land and they used all of it to make the loop. I must likely will not return.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  less than Ok.

1    5/7/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: RipCityJon
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: dry course and wide open. I don't know why it is asking for a more descriptive review. There are not many pros that i can think of. Location maybe.
Cons: Horrible layout. Across parking lots. very poor tee box markings on new holes. With the land available, a much better course could be designed.
Other Thoughts: needs better signage.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Time for Lunch

5+    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: twicetenturns
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
Pros: Easily accessible to all of greater Portland
Plays as its billed - all 15 holes in the span of a "lunchtime"
Mix of distance and technical shots
grounds well maintained
While there is a bunch of concrete, the OB areas make shots more interesting
Dual Tees on most holes
Cons: Not the most beautiful course in the pacific northwest
Course closed saturday evenings and sunday mornings due to services at the church. (this is reasonable but still a con)
Other Thoughts: I think this is an underrated course.
Layout improved
Other holes aren't that hard to find.

 fun course

1    9/12/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: innova disc golfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A and B tees, And a few nice longer shots. there are a few shots that wind through a small patch of woods, with some blackberry vines that can eat discs. this is definately A fun quick course
Cons: lots of concrete, High winds, A few shots are just through an open field
Other Thoughts: i have only played this one once, but i hope to go back soon

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thank God, or at least the Church

5+    8/25/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: yawpstang64
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~There are a wide variety of holes on this course of 12, with decent elevation changes, open fields for strength (#10B is 598'), and wooded holes for precision.
~Dual tees on all but #11, where B was closed due to discs landing in the neighbors garden, and cement and sign of #5B were removed, but is still played by many.
~Decent but small signage at each tee.
~Its hard to find a course of this quality in the middle of a metro area, especially ones which do not have networks of running paths and the subsequent pedestrians and picnickers.
~Personally, the pavement OB zones prevent holes such as #11 and #12 from being mundane shots.
~Grass has been kept especially low this summer!
~Blackberry bushes (first ripe mid summer) throughout the course, and the remnants of a pear orchard (ripe early to mid autumn) between the basket of #5 and tee of #6. Yum!
~Dog friendly, and a portapotty at #1.
Cons: ~Can be confusing the first time, but the uploaded map is current.
~Some of the tees are starting to break down.
~No water on-site, and benches may be nice, but its rarely overcrowded.

CAUTION AREAS:
~Immediately left of the #1 fairway is a field of tall grass - just avoid ending up there or you'll be looking forever.
~Discs inevitably roll down to the street on #7 and #8, whether you hit metal or a tree 30' in front of you. These holes are also unfriendly to forehand shots.
~Be wary of the blackberry bushes on #9. You'll probably come out with a disc, but it won't be the one you threw.
Other Thoughts: ~Overall, I think this course is underrated. Its appreciated by much of PDX, and I have never been completely alone on the course, whether its at 9am or 11pm.
~Be careful to not park next to the #12 basket.
~I have dreams of the unused field next to #1 being acquired and expanding the course to a full 18 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

1    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Andrew332
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to downtown Portland so a quick game is possible with the course location. Course is clean and free of garbage.
Cons: Be sure to look at course map before playing because finding tee pads is an annoying task particularly hole 5. Baskets need numbers put back on them because some baskets are close and your not sure which one to shoot at!
Watch your disk grass is long enough to hide your throw.
Other Thoughts: Lots of parking lot to throw around and through. If their are cars in the lots this is not the course to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.