Spartanburg, SC 
USC Upstate Share
Uploaded By: atay87 Hole #4 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bring the map

1    10/10/2014   12/2/2014
Review By: thirstydisc
Played: 142  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Nice campus, I was alone and felt secure. Plenty of paved parking
+ The course was well maintained, the grass was mowed. Little litter.
+ Tee signs were good, except I found no sign for #5. Distances on signs seemed way off on some holes.
+ Baskets in good shape
Cons: - Dirt tee pads. it was dry when I played so they were OK for the shots required.
- Bring a map as there are no directional aids.
- As mentioned above, some signs had inaccurate distances or disc path depictions. I assume some hole redesigns moved tees or baskets, but no new signs were made. Hole #16 sign says 373 feet, it is actually around 130 feet.
- Hole 18 is a new player trap. DO NOT follow the high (right) path as there is no opening to the basket. The rough is a hill with boulders covered in briars.

Other Thoughts: A nice place to practice upshots with a few chances for a 100% drive. Based on my score and rating, par would be an 830 rated round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good

1    11/9/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: ryno
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: some easy holes
more quiet private feel
nice layout
well maintained
Cons: first hole hidden in the woods hard to find
tee pads not so great
Other Thoughts: had a fun time and didnt make as bad a score as im used to from tyger river

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Upstate Upshots

1    9/15/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a full 18 hole course. The natural tees are ok, and there are pretty good baskets. There are tee signs, but some distances are inaccurate. Fairways are open for the most part. Elevation is a bit of a factor on some holes, and water comes into play a couple of times. The first hole is wooded, maybe the tightest fairway on the course. 5 is short, with the basket protected by the posts of a climbing wall. 9 is a tricky, short downhill throw into a wooded pocket, with water behind the pin. 10 is a difficult drive, with a slightly elevated tee on the left side of a straight and narrow fairway with trees on both sides. The basket is on the right, and there was some mud around it due to recent heavy rains. 14 is a longer hole, a long RHBH hyzer around a stand of big trees. 15 is a fun downhill putter throw, I overshot the basket, but made a good 25 footer out of the low hanging tree branches right behind it. 17 is another long open drive. 18 is one of the tougher holes, with very thick rough on the hillside between the tee and the basket. I recommend taking a glance at the pin position before taking a tee shot there, if you're unfamiliar.
Cons: Not super challenging, with some ridiculous short holes (4, 8, 16). Hardly have to get th drivers out of the bag. The first hole is well hidden in the woods, to the right of the kiosk.
Other Thoughts: USC Upstate is a quick round, with a couple of fun holes. The casual, college campus vibe, not seriously challenging. Ok, but Va-Du-Mar is less than 4 miles away, and a much better course. If you want a round in between classes, I suppose this may be a good option.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lots of thorns!

1    2/1/2014   2/2/2014
Review By: clynns108
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We only played front nine. Some shorter holes for beginners. We had several par shots on first nine. The signs are decent. Nice location near the campus.
Cons: Looks like a lot of construction was recently done. There are piles of dirt, wood, brush around most holes. The rough is TOUGH! There are many places with thorns. If we played during the spring/summer with everything grown in, we probably would have lost a Frisbee or 2. It's a bit strange to me to be playing around a bunch of powerlines, they go right through the first nine.
Other Thoughts: Thorns need to be cleared out better. It is a nice idea to have this on campus. Maybe update the tee boxes. Lots of potential here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has Potential!

5+    1/17/2013   1/24/2013
Review By: mdickins
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - this course offers a challenge for experienced players without being too intimidating for beginners.
- a lot of shorty holes to bag a bunch of birdies if you're on your game. if you're off a little, you can get in trouble quick.
- the college seems dedicated to maintaining the course.
- a great mix of shots for RHBH and LHBH throwers.
- some nice elevation changes.
- a nice course to utilize your bag of tricks - especially if you get off the fairway.
- easy to get to.
- course map at entrance.
- a nice addition to the Spartanburg area. It's a great course that finds its place between the short 9 hole beginner course at Wofford College (downtown) and the 18 hole advanced course at Va-Du-Mar (Boiling Springs).
Cons: - not crazy about the tee pads, though i've seen a lot worse.
- distances/pin locations on tee signs need to be adjusted.
- a couple of blind holes.
- don't like the cross-up when finishing 18 and having to cross in front of the basket on 7, which is a blind hole, to get back to the parking lot. definitely keeps a heads up on that one.
Other Thoughts: - if the course is not maintained in the coming Spring and Summer months, you'll spend a good bit of your time looking for discs.
- the tee signs are nice and easy to find - the graphic designer did a good job, but think that he/she was given wrong information on a few holes.
- they've recently removed a few "player" trees which takes the guesswork out on a couple of holes. That's great for beginners, but not as challenging for others.
- i've played this course about 25 times (since before the tee boxes were put in - and both during the summer/winter) and it's nice to watch the course develop. It has potential to be a real nice one as long as the college/club maintains it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Much Better Than Expected

5+    5/30/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: JBryant
Played: 70  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes of fun relaxing disc golf with a private feel. We were the only disc golfers there.

-The front 9 plays a lot shorter so you can quickly pick up some birdies here if you have good tee shots. You can easily be seven down by hole 9. I've seen it happen. The back 9 is longer and lends the advantage to your longer throwers. You can still get in trouble on the back 9 if you aren't throwing accurate. You can easily give some of that seven down from the front away. I've seen it happen.

-There are some sweet shorter ace opportunites here.

-Lots of TLC has been put into this course to make it an excellent 18 holes. I'd say this course is one of the best kept secrets of the upstate. There is potential for a 36 hole layout or two distinct 18 hole course.
Cons: -Tee signs lack proper distance. Just pay attention.

-Lots of while here. Some cutting needs to be done. If it were groomed better some of the holes would be more memorable.

-Rough is serious. You need a spotter on several holes.
Other Thoughts: -Teepads are woodchips. They did not bother me at all. I can see how some people don't like them. I did not like the slopes on some of them though. If you are going to make it woodchips make sure they are 10 feet long of woodchips.

A gem of the upstate.

I don't see what all the sad faces are about. I actually enjoyed myself here.

It is within 10 minutes of Boiling Springs so take a road trip and you can play the more technical/harder course there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

2 Courses in One

2-4    1/21/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 87  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is an intermediate level course that enables that level of player to work on skills to get to the next level.

-The front plays to the more technical player whereas the back 9 gives the advantage to the long bombers. This course really has two distinct feels.

-Fairways are well defined for the most part. Most holes have clear lines you are expected to hit.

-Shorter course (but not overly short) that can be a self-esteem booster.

-There are few holes that offer solid ace opportunities.

-Plenty of room to expand the course.

-Private Feel
Cons: -Tee signs appear to be well done, but some don't give you a real feel for where the hole is.

-Several blind shots with rough nearby. I would utilize a spotter at times and, as has been stated before, definitely on 18.

-The "rough" at times can really be rough. Briars abound! However, this should get better as the course is played.

-The silt fence comes into play on several shots.

-Teepads are not the end all be all, but are workable. You will end up with a woodchip or tow in your shoe.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very fun course to play. It's not terribly difficult, but I don't think it's meant to be. It's a great course to learn on and develop skills. This is a good course to hit if you're in the area and makes a great day trip when paired with the course at Va-Du-Mar Park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 USC Upstate

1    11/28/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: JeffShearsmith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Just 5 minutes from the house. Set in the woods but not a lot of trees in your flight paths.
Cons: Tee boxes are horrific. I can easily see some sprained ankles.
Other Thoughts: Has a lot of potential. Just needs a few tweaks and some TLC.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rough and short, but there's hope

1    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: TheOtherBill
Played: 115  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of potential here, and ace runs every couple holes. Will post more later with hole details.
Cons: USE A SPOTTER, especially on 18 but anywhere there's a chance of some deep thorns or blind throws.
Other Thoughts: I think a 2-Reasonable rating fits, nothing really unreasonable except perhaps the fairway on 1. There are some fun shots and good basket placements, but lots of work needed.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.