Sacramento, CA
McClatchy Park Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #9 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 275ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad at all

5+    7/5/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Dude Dudeson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Good layout, course plays way better than you'd expect at first. Extra nine tees to make 18 holes but you probably need to ask the locals to find them all, or spend some time walking around. Bathrooms, but not very nice ones. Decent variety of shots. Almost impossible to lose a disc unless you manage to get caught in a tree (20+ rounds and I haven't seen it happen yet though).
Cons: Can be a mudfest after it rains on the dirt tees - extremely thick mud that practically requires a hose to get rid of. Play a couple feet to the side of the vaguely defined tees to solve that problem.
Other Thoughts: This place is definitely worth a round for any reasonably experienced player who's in the area.

Oak Park

1    3/13/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes, no extra pin positions yet, but hardware in place for future location. Tee-pads are coming soon. Hole 1 has a great Mandatory. Good use of this Park, Amy done a great job. Long, medium, and short shots, with many obstacles
Cons: needs t-pads installed. Some of the neighborhood locals(non discgolfers) can be a handful, but pretty harmless. just ignore them
Other Thoughts: this is the 3rd course for this park district, along with the Mackey DGC and the one in Natomas. That brings it up to 6 in sacramento. Amy did a great job planning, and installling this course, good club members

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice step-up course for beginners

5+    11/3/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Micronaut
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice step-up course for beginners. When you've mastered Santa Anita, but don't yet have the distance for John Mackey, come play here. You'll love it, and it will improve your game. The grass is nicely kept, the trees provide nice shade for hotter days, and it's an all-around good looking park/course. There is no water to eat your discs.
Cons: As others have mentioned, there are occasional problems with the locals. I haven't had any major issues, but you sure have to watch out for small children who will pick up your disc and walk off with it if you're not too careful. Some of the holes play very close to the street. I'm kind of surprised that I haven't seen anyone hit a car and set off an alarm yet. Hitting a moving car would be worse. :-p Signage is okay, but could be better. There are a few mandos, and an island hole that you wouldn't know about unless somebody told ya. I hope they mark those one of these days. There are as yet no tee pads or tee board. You just tee off anywhere behind the signs. Maybe it's just me, but the baskets seem a little low to the ground.
Other Thoughts: This course is a work in progress, and already very nice. I understand that future improvements are also in the works. In my opinion this is a course that's good for most players. Not too hard for beginners; not too easy for experienced players. Probably boring for advanced players. But I wouldn't know personally. :-)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short 9 Hole in the Ghetto

1    10/26/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent mix of short and mid-range holes. Clean, mowed fairways with some big trees in play. Easy to navigate with bathrooms (not the cleanest) and water fountains on-site. Completely flat with no tall grass or rough areas so it is nearly impossible to lose a disk (unless you get stuck high in a tree). Grass tees throughout but many of the tees are next to the sidewalk or walking paths so you can throw from pavement on most holes (6 of the 9 I believe). Good for beginners that don't throw far but for the less accurate players that can throw for distance it could be a very dangerous course (see cons).
Cons: It is in a bad neighborhood and there are many groups of people that congregate in the park on a daily basis to play cards, throw dice, and loiter. The people in the park did not seem happy that there were now people throwing discs around their hangout spot. Several very young children were running all over the fairways so I had to wait to throw on a few occasions. The children seemed to be on their own with no parents around midday on a Thursday. This is a new course so I'm sure the locals will become more aware of disc golfers as time goes on but for the moment the course does not feel very welcoming for disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: None of the holes are very challenging although some play very close to the road, a few are near or over 300', and hole 1 has an interesting "island" style green surrounded by out-of-bounds areas. I would get to the course early in the morning if possible as it seems to become more and more crowded with locals just hanging out around midday and in the afternoon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ghetto Fabulous

5+    10/18/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 140  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 29.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Hole Course in inner city. Typical multi-use city park course. Completely flat course with nicely mowed grass. Old growth oak trees. Fairly easy to navigate. Good practice course. Short holes for beginners although some 350' holes. Can easily be knocked out in under 20 minutes.
Cons: Difficult to play during most of the day with large amounts of non disc golfers on the course recreating on the fairways. The course is new, may change as people become accustumed to the course being there. When we played several holes were unplayable due to groups in fairways. Hole 4 ran along a very busy street and could be dangerous to oncoming traffic. Hole 5, 6, and 7 play through areas that are heavily congreated with picnic tables and step like structures. Not really challenging holes. No real memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: Difficult course to review. The idea of putting a nine hole course in this neighborhood is noble, however execution is difficult. Lot of groups that gather in the park everyday. They BBQ play cards, dominoes, and socialize. Large criminal activity in the park. Work in progress lets see if it helps clean it up. This could be a good beginner course as it is near impossible to lose a disc, but several of the cons make it difficult for beginners. During our visit we got to interact with several very young neighborhood children, and we actually had a group of about 10 at one time playing with us. I didn't bring nearly enough discs for all of them to play with. All of the children were under the age of 6 and there were no parents anywhere to be found the entire time the kids were with us and we played several rounds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.