Sacramento, CA 
McClatchy Park Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #8 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Nice Little Course, Sketchy Neighborhood!

1    5/23/2016   5/24/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 941  Exp: 38.3 Years
Pros: The grounds here used to be a major amusement park back from 1889 until 1927, complete with a large wooden roller coaster, swimming pool and a small zoo. Now it's part of a revitalization project in the neighborhood. It now features a swimming pool, ball fields, skate park (Another strange choice for an inner city park?) and an excellent themed children's playground. The theme of which is zoo animals, which harkens back to the turn of the century and the zoo that once stood here.

The course has concrete teepads, DGA baskets (most of which have the red # on top) and seven holes have the old school fiberglass tee signs. Don't be misled by the distances on the signs, both # 4 and # 7 are currently about 200' shorter the listed distance. The course is totally flat but mature trees do add some challenge to most holes.

The course starts beside the baseball field. This tee pad does not have a tee sign. After that, navigation is fairly easy and instinctive. # 5 is a very short (175') ACE run. There is a Mando on # 8.
Cons: Kinda tricky finding the # 1 teepad.
Tee signs missing on # 1 and # 8.
Some baskets have numbers on top, others don't.
# 8 tee pad is right next to the on-going dice/card game.
Sketchy neighborhood, homeless guys.
Other Thoughts: This is fun little course. I have to question the wisdom of building a course here in the inner city. I don't envision disc golf replacing basketball anytime soon here in the hood. I felt perfectly secure playing this course at 11 am on a Monday morn but probably wouldn't be comfortable trying to finish my round as the sun goes down or on a busy weekend day, either.

Good starter

2-4    2/28/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: nathanbutgame
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've never had to wait on any groups
Decently set up to get you around the park and away from the populated areas
Shorter with not too many obstacles so a good beginner course
Cons: The first hole doesn't have a tee marker so just know it's next to the baseball field
I don't trust any of the signs for how long a hole is. One says like 400 ft, and it's not even 200.
It's a ghetto park so get there in the morning or mid-week for best results, otherwise make sure you're good enough not to hit someone who will hit you back with something other than a disc
Other Thoughts: I like it cuz it's close to my house and I'm new to the sport. It's always encouraging when you have a good chance to birdie multiple holes without having to have the drive of your life.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quaint course for field work

1    1/30/2015   1/31/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1) Bathroom on site
2) Nice layout of the course, able to traverse in and around the park with great ease
3) Signs on almost every hole
4) Practice basket
5) Signs also give location of other baskets/teepads within the vicinity of the current hole
6) Can be accessed by public transportation (Bus 51, Stop: Broadway and 38th Street)
Cons:
1) No sign on hole 1
2) Distances for holes 4 and 6 might be flip flopped
3) Wait time for the occasional pedestrian that may cross your path
Other Thoughts: The course was a lot better than I expected, given the area in which it is in. No hole over 350 feet, which gives new players a challenge and players like myself with a little bit of experience some practice with approach shots.

If you ever get bored or waiting for a group ahead of you to play through, some of the holes have exercise type equipment that can be used. The park is a part of the revitalization of the Oak Park area. It is a major improvement from way that area used to look.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beware of Park People

1    11/12/2014   11/13/2014
Review By: Taz Michael
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Trees, clean, easy to navigate.
Cons: High volume of persons at the park that looked like gang members and/or transients
Other Thoughts: I was there on a Wednesday = less people.
Wouldn't want to play on a weekend.
Was okay for a short course but won't play again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great park course

2-4    11/8/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out and marked. The play structure for the kids was recently finished adding value to this park as a family outing. Skate park is near tee pad for hole #4 which is fun to watch skaters of all levels.

Oak Park Brewing Company is less than three blocks away, soft opening on Nov. 8-9, 2014.
Cons: Busy with other people enjoying the park.
Other Thoughts: Beginner to intermediate player course. Some obstacles other than moving ones come into play. Hole #6 plays along the road to the right, so discs might land in the street if not careful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all

5+    7/5/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Dude Dudeson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, course plays way better than you'd expect at first. Extra nine tees to make 18 holes but you probably need to ask the locals to find them all, or spend some time walking around. Bathrooms, but not very nice ones. Decent variety of shots. Almost impossible to lose a disc unless you manage to get caught in a tree (20+ rounds and I haven't seen it happen yet though).
Cons: Can be a mudfest after it rains on the dirt tees - extremely thick mud that practically requires a hose to get rid of. Play a couple feet to the side of the vaguely defined tees to solve that problem.
Other Thoughts: This place is definitely worth a round for any reasonably experienced player who's in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Park

1    3/13/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 26.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes, no extra pin positions yet, but hardware in place for future location. Tee-pads are coming soon. Hole 1 has a great Mandatory. Good use of this Park, Amy done a great job. Long, medium, and short shots, with many obstacles
Cons: needs t-pads installed. Some of the neighborhood locals(non discgolfers) can be a handful, but pretty harmless. just ignore them
Other Thoughts: this is the 3rd course for this park district, along with the Mackey DGC and the one in Natomas. That brings it up to 6 in sacramento. Amy did a great job planning, and installling this course, good club members

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice step-up course for beginners

5+    11/3/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: Micronaut
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice step-up course for beginners. When you've mastered Santa Anita, but don't yet have the distance for John Mackey, come play here. You'll love it, and it will improve your game. The grass is nicely kept, the trees provide nice shade for hotter days, and it's an all-around good looking park/course. There is no water to eat your discs.
Cons: As others have mentioned, there are occasional problems with the locals. I haven't had any major issues, but you sure have to watch out for small children who will pick up your disc and walk off with it if you're not too careful. Some of the holes play very close to the street. I'm kind of surprised that I haven't seen anyone hit a car and set off an alarm yet. Hitting a moving car would be worse. :-p Signage is okay, but could be better. There are a few mandos, and an island hole that you wouldn't know about unless somebody told ya. I hope they mark those one of these days. There are as yet no tee pads or tee board. You just tee off anywhere behind the signs. Maybe it's just me, but the baskets seem a little low to the ground.
Other Thoughts: This course is a work in progress, and already very nice. I understand that future improvements are also in the works. In my opinion this is a course that's good for most players. Not too hard for beginners; not too easy for experienced players. Probably boring for advanced players. But I wouldn't know personally. :-)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short 9 Hole City Course

1    10/26/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 159  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent mix of short and mid-range holes. Clean, mowed fairways with some big trees in play. Easy to navigate with bathrooms (not the cleanest) and water fountains on-site. Completely flat with no tall grass or rough areas so it is nearly impossible to lose a disk (unless you get stuck high in a tree). Grass tees throughout but many of the tees are next to the sidewalk or walking paths so you can throw from pavement on most holes (6 of the 9 I believe). Good for beginners that don't throw far but for the less accurate players that can throw for distance it could be a very dangerous course (see cons).

UPDATED 02/07/2015: The course now has 3'x'6' cement tees on all holes and the entire park went through some major renovations. Hole's 1 & 2 are completely new, the old hole 2 is now hole 3, the old hole 3 has been removed, and hole 4 has been shortened. Holes 5-9 remain as they were before the renovations with the exception of now having cement tees. The renovations of the park also included new basketball courts, a new and much larger playground, and a skate park. Although the footprint of the disc golf course is now smaller, overall the park seems much nicer and cleaner after the renovations.
Cons: It is in a bad neighborhood and there are many groups of people that congregate in the park on a daily basis to play cards, throw dice, and loiter. The people in the park did not seem happy that there were now people throwing discs around their hangout spot. Several very young children were running all over the fairways so I had to wait to throw on a few occasions. The children seemed to be on their own with no parents around midday on a Thursday. This is a new course so I'm sure the locals will become more aware of disc golfers as time goes on but for the moment the course does not feel very welcoming for disc golfers.

UPDATED 02/07/2015: The locals now are certainly aware of the disc golf course but there still is a decent amount of foot traffic through the park so waiting to throw at times is normal.
Other Thoughts: None of the holes are very challenging although some play very close to the road, a few are near or over 300', and hole 1 has an interesting "island" style green surrounded by out-of-bounds areas. I would get to the course early in the morning if possible as it seems to become more and more crowded with locals just hanging out around midday and in the afternoon.

UPDATED 02/07/2015: Hole 1 has been replaced with a new hole and there is no longer an "island" green.

Weekly Random Doubles on Sundays: 20 holes, the standard 9 plus "hole 10" which shoots to the practice basket, followed by 10 holes of Safari. 9:30AM sign ups, 10:00AM start. $6 to play ($5 goes to payout and $1 to the club) plus a $1 optional ace pot.

Werewolf Night Golf every Full Moon: Two rounds of the standard 9 holes. Start time varies throughout the year; currently 6:30PM sign ups, 7:00PM start. $6 to play ($5 goes to payout and $1 to the club) plus a $1 optional ace pot.

To receive text messages regarding the above money rounds please contact Remy at (916)730-3281 and request to be put on the text message list for McClatchy Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ghetto Fabulous

5+    10/18/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 380  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 32.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Hole Course in inner city. Typical multi-use city park course. Completely flat course with nicely mowed grass. Old growth oak trees. Fairly easy to navigate. Good practice course. Short holes for beginners although some 350' holes. Can easily be knocked out in under 20 minutes.
Cons: Difficult to play during most of the day with large amounts of non disc golfers on the course recreating on the fairways. The course is new, may change as people become accustumed to the course being there. When we played several holes were unplayable due to groups in fairways. Hole 4 ran along a very busy street and could be dangerous to oncoming traffic. Hole 5, 6, and 7 play through areas that are heavily congreated with picnic tables and step like structures. Not really challenging holes. No real memorable holes.
Other Thoughts: Difficult course to review. The idea of putting a nine hole course in this neighborhood is noble, however execution is difficult. Lot of groups that gather in the park everyday. They BBQ play cards, dominoes, and socialize. Large criminal activity in the park. Work in progress lets see if it helps clean it up. This could be a good beginner course as it is near impossible to lose a disc, but several of the cons make it difficult for beginners. During our visit we got to interact with several very young neighborhood children, and we actually had a group of about 10 at one time playing with us. I didn't bring nearly enough discs for all of them to play with. All of the children were under the age of 6 and there were no parents anywhere to be found the entire time the kids were with us and we played several rounds.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.