Owensville, OH 
Gauche Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #1 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 248ft.   4 / 248ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Gauche Park

1    10/26/2012   6/10/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a nice little small course for a beginner player. Only 1 hole over 300 feet and most are around 250. Their is a few holes that you have to anhizor the shot. However this course is either in its early stages or just not going to get any better. I live in Goshen so about a 25 minute drive.
Cons: This course has a few. There is no concrete tee pads they are dirt or grass that is dead. When it rains this course holds water like crazy. The fence that is around the park is not easy to get over if you throw over it.
Other Thoughts: Almost like this course was forced into this park. I dont mind shooting for aces but this park has no obsticles and it is not really a fun park. A long drive to get there and just not a good quality disc golf course. could have potential if they redesign it. A lot of tees you have to drive past the walking path. Be careful not to hit anyone.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 give it a chance

5+    5/28/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: discdaryl1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets,nice location in between two great courses ....with burg an goshen well laid out in a small area... I like to turn around an play backwards making it 18 holes depending on how busy it is ...more good things to come ... they have mulch for teepads an getting ready to put signs in already have the posts in the ground cmon out an play...an great baskets
Cons: Can be swampy at times but a lot get that way certain times of the year...stay away and on this side of the fence to the right....ya never get your disc back that guy try an keep it...but there getting ready to put big net all way down the fence so we don't lose a disc
Other Thoughts: Its a 9 hole course ...but well done not all ace runners ...there's a couple even for the big arm guys

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

9 hole

1    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent 9 hole course in the middle of a park. Needs some work done to it, but worth checking out. Can complete in about 30 mins if your fast.
Cons: No real tee pads yet, just Brown grass to show where to throw. No signs either to show where the next basket is.
Other Thoughts: Needs some work done, otherwise a decent 9 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Holds water

1    3/15/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: Dettmerb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is nine holes in a nice park. The baskets are disc nation baskets and in excellent shape. There is zero mud on the course, entire course is grass covered, even late winter, early spring. Almost totally flat, but the lone small hill is used nicely with an uphill approach to #8 and a downhill tee shot on # 9.
Cons: This course holds water ridiculously. We did have a little rain a couple days prior to the round, but I played other courses this same day without issue. There was standing water as I walked through the fairways.
Another big issue is that nearly every shot is over or through the walking trail. If this is a crowded day, look out. Also, another hole plays right along a basketball court and picnic table.
The fence that runs along the course looks tough to negotiate, but it would take a pretty bad shot or a real windy day to come into play.
Tee pads are brown spots of worn out grass. With wet conditions, were totally unusable.
Other Thoughts: Not being from the area this was a little tough place to find. Personally, I'd spend more time at the other east side courses if I was in the area. This was one of the least enjoyable rounds of disc golf I've ever played.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Open nine good for Intermediate D

5+    10/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gauche Park DGC, located in the Clermont County village of Owensville, is attractive, new, and has nine holes of reasonable distance for Recreational to Intermediate arms. The course runs counter-clockwise around the half mile perimeter walking path, and just inside the fence line of a gently rolling plot of land. A few of the shots angle across the park and take advantage of what elevation there is here.

Distances range from right about 200' to just under 400', with a fun ninth hole finish coming downhill about 15' back toward the parking lot. There are not many trees to force line shaping, but some control is required to avoid going over the fence, and the 6th hole will require control if anyone is using the half-court basketball area (see below).

Tees are presently visible as grass patches where there were recently pads of some sort, so the grass here is brown and brittle. If I were to hazard a guess, it looks like upgrades may be on the way (?). Even if they are not upgraded, the designated tee areas are fairly level and of appropriate size for the length of drives you'll need. The walking path can also be used as a tee area on many holes. There are definitely options here to make some fun 'safari' style shots, too.
Baskets are attractive, shiny, new Disc Nation Liberty (24 chains in two rings) models that catch fairly well, if not quite as surely as the other top of the line name brands.

The park has a big shelter, trash cans (there and in the parking lot - though none on the course itself), nice bathrooms, a beverage machine, benches around the walking path, a playground area, a half size basketball court, and a log cabin maintained and rented out in conjunction with the historical society, located just by the entrance.
Cons: The walking path is in play for the majority of the holes, so be careful of other park users! Furthermore, the fairway for hole 6 runs 280 feet right over the path, and finishes by the cypress trees at the corner of the basketball court. A bench and a picnic table (both mobile) were sitting within 30' of the basket when I first played here. They should probably be moved to the other corner of the court.

The perimeter fence is rusted and barbed wire-topped, without any gates. Cutting the corner too tightly on hole 1 might have you in the marshy wilderness, or potentially in a neighboring yard (over said fence), which would be the only real likely way to 'lose' a disc here. Yep, I skipped an anny (rhbh) about 10 feet to the right of the basket, and couldn't find it (Note to self: choose discs that aren't the color of fall leaves!). The other troubling infrastructure spot is the drainage ditch to the right of the #9 basket, which (+) acts as a risk-reward opportunity, but which (-) could potentially see an overshot run right up the 3' diameter pipe!
Other Thoughts: If any of the course information I posted when adding Gauche Park to DGCR is inaccurate, I hope the designer(s) and installer(s) will correct it or PM me, so I can help. (I'd like to help if a work day is called, too!) They've put in a really nice, enjoyable park course here only a few miles from my home, and I'm excited to see (even more!) growth going on in Clermont County. Between Gauche Park in Owensville, Osage Grove in Goshen (coming soon), and another course to go in at Stonelick state park (in the planning stages), this area is going to enjoy some very fun courses for years to come.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.